Traverse City, MI - HDTV - Page 51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 1760 Old 11-22-2009, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news! Now only if they can fix WTOM similarly so it broadcasts to more than 2 1/2 counties.
swiat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 1760 Old 12-01-2009, 07:15 AM
Member
 
eyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if WWTV is running at reduced power? I live in southern Muskegon county and am able to pick up this station on a very reliable basis during the morning hours. The power increase the FCC granted them made all the difference. However for the past few days, the station hasn't been coming in at all.

Quite a few OTA viewers in Muskegon, Kent, and Ottawa counties have come to rely on this station because our local affliate, WWMT is completely unable to air any syndicated programming in HD and their SD up-conversion is so far out of calibration that it looks like VHS.
eyager is offline  
post #1503 of 1760 Old 12-01-2009, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyager View Post

Does anyone know if WWTV is running at reduced power? I live in southern Muskegon county and am able to pick up this station on a very reliable basis during the morning hours. The power increase the FCC granted them made all the difference. However for the past few days, the station hasn't been coming in at all.

Quite a few OTA viewers in Muskegon, Kent, and Ottawa counties have come to rely on this station because our local affliate, WWMT is completely unable to air any syndicated programming in HD and their SD up-conversion is so far out of calibration that it looks like VHS.

WWTV fried their channel 9 exciter last Wednesday during a power outage. They got it fixed within a few hours, but were running on generator power for a while. Supposedly, they got everything back up and are skating at full strength, now. Just checked and they have the same pre-outage signal at my location.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1504 of 1760 Old 12-01-2009, 11:11 PM
Member
 
SonyLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to one of their engineers yesterday. The power surge also did damage to their PSIP and they had to do some reprogramming. They told me to rescan for the station. I did, and now they are there.
SonyLCD is offline  
post #1505 of 1760 Old 12-03-2009, 05:32 PM
Member
 
larkor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 47 (7.1 NBC & 7.2 ABC) is up and running in Kalkaska. Signal is strong here on the west side of Traverse City with just rabbit ears.
larkor is offline  
post #1506 of 1760 Old 12-03-2009, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larkor View Post

Channel 47 (7.1 NBC & 7.2 ABC) is up and running in Kalkaska. Signal is strong here on the west side of Traverse City with just rabbit ears.

Their signal is 100% here in Mesick, some 36 miles from Kalkaska tower and the bonus is the station doesn't break up when the microwave oven is running as it does with 7 (10.5 mi. away).
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1507 of 1760 Old 12-03-2009, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
aeblank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's awesome!
29.x is still up and running too.
I can't re-scan till after Private Practice.
aeblank is offline  
post #1508 of 1760 Old 12-03-2009, 10:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Any idea if 50 has moved yet? Or is that still to come?

And is 7 still up?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1509 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 07:15 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by larkor View Post

Channel 47 (7.1 NBC & 7.2 ABC) is up and running in Kalkaska. Signal is strong here on the west side of Traverse City with just rabbit ears.

Hopefully they will drop 29.2 now so we can have full HD on 29.1 again. Or at least put it back to SD. It looked much better before they tried to do HD on both channels.
knightc2 is offline  
post #1510 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
aeblank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightc2 View Post

Hopefully they will drop 29.2 now so we can have full HD on 29.1 again. Or at least put it back to SD. It looked much better before they tried to do HD on both channels.

Yeah, I was going to ask....

I get 29.x and 47.x great. 47 might have 5% more signal, but its meaningless.

So what's the benefit to 47? Or to 29? I don't have any HD sets, nor can I get my DTV boxes to tell me what/how it's broadcasting. I'll pick the best signal, but I don't know which it is.
aeblank is offline  
post #1511 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 11:57 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
47 and 29 are broadcast from the same location and therefore have similar coverage areas. Since Fox is no longer using 47, NBC is now using it. This will allow them to move NBC from 29.2 (hopefully) to their own separate channel and fill in the coverage gap between 7 and 4. This would allow 29 to restore full HD on 29.1 and broadcast something else on 29.2 if they so choose. In my opinion it would be stupid to continue broadcasting NBC on both 47 and 29.2 since they are coming from the same location with very similar coverage ranges.

To answer your question the benefit to using 47 means NBC has their own full bandwidth channel with almost the same coverage they now have with 29.2. This frees up the bandwidth on 29 as well. It probably won't matter much to those without HD sets but this move should allow 29.1 to go back to their full bandwidth and allow 47 to also broadcast full HD. Both ABC and NBC should have better HD picture quality without sacrificing coverage area.
knightc2 is offline  
post #1512 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
aeblank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightc2 View Post

This will allow them to move NBC from 29.2 (hopefully) to their own separate channel and fill in the coverage gap between 7 and 4. This would allow 29 to restore full HD on 29.1

IF that's what they end up doing (I'd agree that they almost surely will).
For right now, flip a coin and be happy?
aeblank is offline  
post #1513 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
wb8tgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't WGTU run the CW network before on 29.2? They could put that on 29.2, and if they have been running both ABC and NBC in "HD", they could try CW in HD on 29.2.
wb8tgy is offline  
post #1514 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Any idea if 50 has moved yet? Or is that still to come?

And is 7 still up?

- Trip

7, 47 and 50 are all up. Nothing has moved, yet. I was getting all three last night.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1515 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wb8tgy View Post

Didn't WGTU run the CW network before on 29.2? They could put that on 29.2, and if they have been running both ABC and NBC in "HD", they could try CW in HD on 29.2.

Yes, WGTU had CW and WPBN had The Tube until it went belly up and then RTN. Barrington dropped those sub channels when they started managing both stations.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1516 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 06:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wb8tgy View Post

Didn't WGTU run the CW network before on 29.2? They could put that on 29.2, and if they have been running both ABC and NBC in "HD", they could try CW in HD on 29.2.

The CW+ service that WGTU used is not yet available in HD.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1517 of 1760 Old 12-04-2009, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
aeblank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some alternative stations would be great. It would make this whole transition thing worth it. =)
aeblank is offline  
post #1518 of 1760 Old 12-05-2009, 09:27 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeblank View Post

Some alternative stations would be great. It would make this whole transition thing worth it. =)

I would welcome new subchannels but having two HD subchannels crammed onto one channel as 29 is now doing reduces the image quality quite a bit. If they kept the subchannel to SD then it might be worth it.
knightc2 is offline  
post #1519 of 1760 Old 12-09-2009, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
tvbobn12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The CW network in this market is cable only. In markets 100 or smaller, it's cable only. The local station can only add advertising to it. They can't broadcast it on a digital sub channel because the CW only bought the cable rights for the other programs on that cable channel.
tvbobn12 is offline  
post #1520 of 1760 Old 12-09-2009, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Actually, the CW+ (the small-market feed) is carried on subchannels in most markets. It was the WB+ which was cable-only.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #1521 of 1760 Old 12-10-2009, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
wb8tgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lansing is a smaller than 100 market and the local ABC station has the CW network on it's subchannel.
wb8tgy is offline  
post #1522 of 1760 Old 12-11-2009, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
dylanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you guys noticed that WWTV is starting to move some of there graphics (Ticker/Storm Warnings) into HD?

Does anyone know if WWTV is going to start to move there news into HD...

Just think if they did, they would have a hudge advantage over all the other stations!!!
dylanr is offline  
post #1523 of 1760 Old 12-11-2009, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that too. Oddly Fox 33 still had to drop out of HD to put the crawls on the screen. It's progress anyway!

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #1524 of 1760 Old 12-12-2009, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHuibregtse View Post

I noticed that too. Oddly Fox 33 still had to drop out of HD to put the crawls on the screen. It's progress anyway!

Keep in mind that Fox stations cannot crawl over Fox network HD without use of the new splicer which I'm told is still not fully operating properly at this time.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1525 of 1760 Old 12-14-2009, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvbobn12 View Post

The CW network in this market is cable only. In markets 100 or smaller, it's cable only. The local station can only add advertising to it. They can't broadcast it on a digital sub channel because the CW only bought the cable rights for the other programs on that cable channel.

It would be nice to see WPBN put CW+ on 7-2 and WTOM (or should I say WTOM-Fisher Price Transmitter) put it on 4-2. WBUP has CW+ on 10-2, FYI.
swiat is offline  
post #1526 of 1760 Old 12-24-2009, 03:52 AM
Member
 
cire2282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mason County
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has WPBN finished moving everything and boosting power? Can't get them still on the upstairs tv with an antenna.
cire2282 is offline  
post #1527 of 1760 Old 12-24-2009, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cire2282 View Post

Has WPBN finished moving everything and boosting power? Can't get them still on the upstairs tv with an antenna.

Not yet. 47 is up in Kalkaska. 50 is no longer broadcasting from TC, but hasn't been moved to Harrietta. 7 is still broadcasting from there.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1528 of 1760 Old 12-24-2009, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you're in the Manton area, check out Bob Helsel's light display that's synchronized to music. Even if you're not, it's worth the trip. It's about a mile east of US-131 at the M-42 exit. It's well worth the time to check it out. Tune your radio to 107.9 FM and enjoy the show. He has a clip on YouTube. Search for "bobhelsel" to see.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1529 of 1760 Old 12-31-2009, 06:21 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An interesting discussion going on over at the Grand Rapids forum about the future of OTA stations. Could change OTA in the Traverse City market if some of these things happen.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...49584&page=233
falcon7 is offline  
post #1530 of 1760 Old 01-11-2010, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like channel 50 will fire up in Harrietta in February:

We continue to work to improve our signal to viewers in our southern broadcast area and hope to have those improvements completed by the end of February, 2010.

http://www.upnorthlive.com/about/about.aspx?id=97103
Mesickstan is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off