Traverse City, MI - HDTV - Page 56 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1760 Old 10-28-2010, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich67 View Post

once again these two channels 7&4, 29, 9&32 or what ever they call themselves are Mickey Mouse operations.. ever watch 9&10 postage stamp highschool football hi lites. Give me a break..

sad thing is that WBKB is much worse... Be happy you don't have them for CBS and FOX.
swiat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1760 Old 10-28-2010, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
rich67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: big rapids,mi
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I feel your pain...
rich67 is offline  
post #1653 of 1760 Old 10-28-2010, 08:39 PM
Member
 
cire2282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mason County
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wonder if I will ever be able to get NBC programming OTA. Tried messing with a tv that we don't have hooked up to our TV service. I can get 9, 13, 14, 21, and 32 and the various sub channels that go with them. Still no 7 though.
cire2282 is offline  
post #1654 of 1760 Old 10-29-2010, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cire2282 View Post

I just wonder if I will ever be able to get NBC programming OTA. Tried messing with a tv that we don't have hooked up to our TV service. I can get 9, 13, 14, 21, and 32 and the various sub channels that go with them. Still no 7 though.


Back in April, you said you were getting 50 out of Harrietta. What happened?
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1655 of 1760 Old 10-29-2010, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cire2282 View Post

I just wonder if I will ever be able to get NBC programming OTA. Tried messing with a tv that we don't have hooked up to our TV service. I can get 9, 13, 14, 21, and 32 and the various sub channels that go with them. Still no 7 though.

Wow... you're smack between the Traverse, Grand Rapids, Green Bay, and Milwaukee transmitters. What kind of UHF antenna and preamp do you have? Rabbit ears or some other cheapo antenna doesn't cut it anymore.

Here is another suggestion: Maybe try WGBA (RF41, virtual 26.1) Green Bay.

But, WPBN's Harietta translator on RF50 should be your best bet for NBC and ABC.
swiat is offline  
post #1656 of 1760 Old 10-29-2010, 11:23 AM
Member
 
cire2282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mason County
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I am using indoor antenna. Right now a Radio Shack Loop and Rabbit ears that is amplified. I might also be using the amplifier / splitter right now. I use that with the db-2 style antenna I tried to get 7 with. My nearest 7 is the translator in Harrietta on 50. I rent and I guess I could get permission to have an external antenna put up, but can't justify the cost of having one installed. Especially since I have access to DSL and IPTV. http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...a5435a77e449b8 There is my TV Fool report. All my channels are in the red/yellow. I have been able to get all but 42 and 50. I have been able to get 2-3 Wisconsin stations, the Christian station out of Muskegon, and something must aligned right because I was able to get WZPX a couple times.
cire2282 is offline  
post #1657 of 1760 Old 11-05-2010, 08:37 AM
Newbie
 
cvclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, but I am new to the forum and can not seem to find the right area to ask a question regarding audio delay on channel 28 (788 HD Charter)......can you direct me? Thx!
cvclub is offline  
post #1658 of 1760 Old 11-13-2010, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From http://www.theticker.tc/story/new-hd-tv-coming-to-tc

The entrepreneur who first brought high-definition radio to northern Michigan is planning more high-tech broadcasting moves - including new HD TV channels for the region.

The FCC [Federal Communications Commission] has opened a window of opportunity for community TV channels, explains Roy Henderson, president of Great Northern Broadcasting and owner of WLDR-FM, Sunny Country 101.9, the TC radio station that was the area's HD radio pioneer in 2008.

We have applied for seven construction permits for TV channels in Petoskey, Charlevoix and Traverse City and have received two for Traverse City, for channels 7 and 4, he tells The Ticker.

Construction of the HD TV channels would begin early in 2011, with broadcasting to begin later in the year, according to Henderson. Programming would be varied but will include a lot of local and regional news, according to Henderson.



Anyone still have a VHF-low antenna?
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1659 of 1760 Old 11-14-2010, 05:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Wow, what a terrible article.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1660 of 1760 Old 11-14-2010, 12:18 PM
Member
 
cire2282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mason County
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would be nice if he tried building a full power station that I might be able to get.
cire2282 is offline  
post #1661 of 1760 Old 11-19-2010, 06:16 AM
Member
 
KingsleyRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingsley, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off 4 years ago when we had analog channel 2 out of Green Bay and analog 69 out of Leelanau County I put up a 2~69 separate VHF & UHF antenna system knowing full well that digital TV stations would be on 2~6 even though radio & TV engineers stated "NO WAY" I would even get into heated arguments with pretty intelligent people on this forum. Real smart people in the know said digital 2~6 wouldn't work and yet on the very day analog shut down I watched Digital channel 2 out of Rapid City, SD for about 6 hours and it was perfect until the conditions ended. Now analog channel 2 and 5 out of Canada comes in most everyday and is watchable. Speaking of watchable, analog channel 12 WLLZ is a favorite here in this household. The kids love watching it in thier bedrooms on the old 19 inch tube TV.
KingsleyRob is offline  
post #1662 of 1760 Old 11-19-2010, 06:35 AM
Member
 
KingsleyRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingsley, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since nothing analog or digital is on either channel 4 or 7 locally these should be great spots to put up some tv stations so everyone get to ordering those 2~13 VHF monster antennas just like in the old days. It is actually fun to put up an antenna system that the winds and winter won't destroy from year to year.
KingsleyRob is offline  
post #1663 of 1760 Old 11-19-2010, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
aeblank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are NBC/ABC still having issues due to that fiber line from Charter?
I'm having cut-outs on them pretty badly from time to time. I even switched from 29.x to 7.x with my DVRs because of it. Both channels seem to have the problem though.

So, is it a signal issue? or is it a broadcaster issue? or is it stinkin' Charter and their fiber line?

I haven't heard any updates on it of late.........

Thanks.
aeblank is offline  
post #1664 of 1760 Old 11-19-2010, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeblank View Post

Are NBC/ABC still having issues due to that fiber line from Charter?

I asked WPBN/WGTU's engineers earlier this week the same question. Here's their reponse:

Our tower climber was put about two weeks behind schedule by the high winds and bad weather that we had recently, but we're getting things back on track now. We have the equipment and we're working with the vendor on configuration.

We hope to have the new system up in a week or so.

Thanks for you submission.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1665 of 1760 Old 12-12-2010, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Charter sends FSDHD over QAM anymore?

Also could someone please give me the channel # if so? And also the channel #'s for Fox and CBS vis QAM. Thanks guys!
guffy1 is offline  
post #1666 of 1760 Old 12-12-2010, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
107-3 CBS, 07-2 FOX, and no FSN via QAM on my tv.
tvb6171 is offline  
post #1667 of 1760 Old 12-13-2010, 05:33 PM
Member
 
JedFRaybould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just wondering why 9&10 doesn't have the CBS network programming in DD 5.1. For the FOX network programming on Fox 32 it is in DD 5.1.

Jed "Freddy" Raybould
JedFRaybould is offline  
post #1668 of 1760 Old 12-14-2010, 02:00 AM
Member
 
larkor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JedFRaybould View Post

I am just wondering why 9&10 doesn't have the CBS network programming in DD 5.1. For the FOX network programming on Fox 32 it is in DD 5.1.

Or why 7&29 no longer has DD 5.1 either.
larkor is offline  
post #1669 of 1760 Old 12-14-2010, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JedFRaybould View Post

I am just wondering why 9&10 doesn't have the CBS network programming in DD 5.1. For the FOX network programming on Fox 32 it is in DD 5.1.

I asked them that before analog went away and again earlier this year. The last response was that they have plans to do a Dolby 5.1 build out, but don't know when. FOX was already broadcasting DD 5.1 when Cadillac Telecasting took over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by larkor View Post

Or why 7&29 no longer has DD 5.1 either.

They probably ran out of bits when they started multicasting ABC & NBC both at 720p.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1670 of 1760 Old 01-01-2011, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Could someone please list the current QAM HD channels in the clear for Charter? Haven't looked in awhile and the only one still in the same spot I have saved is NBC 107-1.

Thanks in advance as it's kind of a pain to run the scan and delete all of the junk noise channels it picks up too.

“A great thunderstorm of sound gushed from the walls. Music bombarded him at such an immense volume that his bones were almost shaken from their tendons; he felt his jaw vibrate, his eyes wobble in his head. He was a victim of concussion.” ― Fahrenheit 451
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1671 of 1760 Old 01-03-2011, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post

Could someone please list the current QAM HD channels in the clear for Charter? Haven't looked in awhile and the only one still in the same spot I have saved is NBC 107-1.

Thanks in advance as it's kind of a pain to run the scan and delete all of the junk noise channels it picks up too.

Until someone with Charter chimes in, have you checked here: http://www.silicondust.com/support/channels/
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1672 of 1760 Old 02-12-2011, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone else notice an audio problem with channel 9? What should be directed to the center channel is coming out of all speakers (L, C, R & surrounds). This on national shows and the local news; both OTA and through Ace Comm. IPTV.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1673 of 1760 Old 02-12-2011, 10:12 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes....it started sometime this week. I can get 9 only through Directv signal, no OTA, so cannot check signal, but they did something for sure
falcon7 is offline  
post #1674 of 1760 Old 03-17-2011, 07:47 PM
Member
 
KingsleyRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingsley, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK fellow TV fans...........I see that WMNN is up and transmitting from the Lake City area with three channels. News, Classic TV & Cinema Movies. It is on RF channel 14 and maps as 26.1/26.2/26.3

From Kingsley I had to rotate to the East South East to pull it in but am still able to get all the other digitals. I did lose WLLZ analog channel 12 by rotating from the north but can swing around anytime I need to. I don't have a signal strength meter on my TV tuner so I can't tell how strong the reception is.
KingsleyRob is offline  
post #1675 of 1760 Old 03-19-2011, 12:34 AM
Member
 
cire2282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Mason County
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would be nice to be able to get them.
cire2282 is offline  
post #1676 of 1760 Old 03-19-2011, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post

Could someone please list the current QAM HD channels in the clear for Charter? Haven't looked in awhile and the only one still in the same spot I have saved is NBC 107-1.

Thanks in advance as it's kind of a pain to run the scan and delete all of the junk noise channels it picks up too.

I ran the scan the other day and found none of them. The scan only produced Charter's basic/expanded channel line-up. I guess the QAM channels are all encrypted now.

Not a big deal as I have a Charter box for all of my TVs, however, it was nice to be able to use them when needed for split-screen functions, like going back and forth between different sporting events, etc.

“A great thunderstorm of sound gushed from the walls. Music bombarded him at such an immense volume that his bones were almost shaken from their tendons; he felt his jaw vibrate, his eyes wobble in his head. He was a victim of concussion.” ― Fahrenheit 451
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1677 of 1760 Old 03-19-2011, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingsleyRob View Post

OK fellow TV fans...........I see that WMNN is up and transmitting from the Lake City area with three channels. News, Classic TV & Cinema Movies. It is on RF channel 14 and maps as 26.1/26.2/26.3

From Kingsley I had to rotate to the East South East to pull it in but am still able to get all the other digitals. I did lose WLLZ analog channel 12 by rotating from the north but can swing around anytime I need to. I don't have a signal strength meter on my TV tuner so I can't tell how strong the reception is.

No joy here. I'm only 19 miles from their tower, but there are two hills in the way. Good news, though. TVFool.com says I can get them "line of sight" if I put up at 500' tower. I don't think so, Tim...
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1678 of 1760 Old 04-17-2011, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Anybody watching Stanley Cup playoffs OTA on WPBND this weekend? I'm wondering if they are broadcasting with DD 5.1? I have Charter and for some reason yesterday's Wings/Coyotes game and today's Ranger/Caps are in 2.0. SNFMixer here on AVS confirmed that the NBC transmission is 5.1 and others in the country are receiving it that way. My setup received other NBC shows last night in 5.1 and is currently doing so with other channels on the Charter lineup, so I don't think it's on my end.

I'm just trying to figure out where the issue lies. If that's the way the local affiliate is broadcasting it, then so be it. However, if Charter is changing something, then maybe that can be corrected.

“A great thunderstorm of sound gushed from the walls. Music bombarded him at such an immense volume that his bones were almost shaken from their tendons; he felt his jaw vibrate, his eyes wobble in his head. He was a victim of concussion.” ― Fahrenheit 451
DocCasualty is offline  
post #1679 of 1760 Old 04-17-2011, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post

Anybody watching Stanley Cup playoffs OTA on WPBND this weekend? I'm wondering if they are broadcasting with DD 5.1? I have Charter and for some reason yesterday's Wings/Coyotes game and today's Ranger/Caps are in 2.0. SNFMixer here on AVS confirmed that the NBC transmission is 5.1 and others in the country are receiving it that way. My setup received other NBC shows last night in 5.1 and is currently doing so with other channels on the Charter lineup, so I don't think it's on my end.

I'm just trying to figure out where the issue lies. If that's the way the local affiliate is broadcasting it, then so be it. However, if Charter is changing something, then maybe that can be corrected.

When WPBN and WGTU started multicasting each other (x.1 and x.2 both 720p), Dolby Digital 5.1 went away.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #1680 of 1760 Old 04-17-2011, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesickstan View Post

When WPBN and WGTU started multicasting each other (x.1 and x.2 both 720p), Dolby Digital 5.1 went away.

Guess that explains that! Thanks for the info.

“A great thunderstorm of sound gushed from the walls. Music bombarded him at such an immense volume that his bones were almost shaken from their tendons; he felt his jaw vibrate, his eyes wobble in his head. He was a victim of concussion.” ― Fahrenheit 451
DocCasualty is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off