Roanoke, VA / Bluefield, WV - HDTV - Page 204 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6091 of 6117 Old 01-21-2014, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yeah, if I turn my antenna around, it's possible to get WSET down in NC! It should be fine up there, where it's "supposed" to come through.
ejb1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6092 of 6117 Old 01-21-2014, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Getting WSET over flat terrain is very different than trying to get it in the mountains. There are plenty of people in the New River Valley that can't receive WSET.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6093 of 6117 Old 01-22-2014, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Peggy1 and prototype3A how is your reception on channel 21? Their antenna is right next to Channel 13.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6094 of 6117 Old 01-22-2014, 06:41 AM
Member
 
peggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I live in a low place, and I have never received channel 21.  My uncle, who used to live on the ridge on the east side of Blacksburg, could get it.

peggy1 is offline  
post #6095 of 6117 Old 01-22-2014, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WWCW is also 400 feet lower than WSET.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6096 of 6117 Old 01-22-2014, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Prototype3a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I moved my DB2 into the attic, 21 comes in great.
Prototype3a is offline  
post #6097 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
DTVPAL OWNERS

Check the DTVPAL calculated time. You may find that it's an hour off. Please report back.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6098 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You are right - What is going on.It also did dropped some of my Sunday morning recordings
bernieoc is online now  
post #6099 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I noticed yesterday that one of the local stations was signaling a DST change for today, but unfortunately I did not note the TSID.

I tried a warm boot and the setup wizard. Neither fixed the problem.

Trip do you have your TS Reader monitoring the local channels?
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6100 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I can give it a look, if you point me in the right direction. Looking at 8 different stations over my parents' Internet connection is rather tedious.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6101 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 07:31 AM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
DTV PAL DVR 1 hr ahead
So much for the weighted average time off all stations . I is exactly 1 hour ahead - looks like it is using one station.
bernieoc is online now  
post #6102 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

I can give it a look, if you point me in the right direction. Looking at 8 different stations over my parents' Internet connection is rather tedious.

- Trip

I am looking to see if any station has the DST flag set. I am pretty sure it is NOT WBRA, WSET, WDBJ, or WWCW.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6103 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
From the DTVPALThread: "Today I see both of my DTVPal DVRs clocks are 1 hour fast. I guess some station in DFW is sending out garbage data..."

Looks like it is a national problem. Is the DST time change really one month away?

edit:
Just looked at a calendar -- yes DST begins in exactly one month. But somebody had the flag set early. Wish I had written down the ID.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6104 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 08:18 AM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You are correct - a bug in the PAl - Manual setting of the time should fix it - or it will fix itself tomorow on its own
bernieoc is online now  
post #6105 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
But I looked at the diagnostic screen yesterday and one station was indicating a DST change for today. I was going to investigate the issue this year but the DST time change kinda snuck up on me.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6106 of 6117 Old 02-09-2014, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not that anyone cares but the Samsung TV display is also one hour off. The Best Buy CECB is correct.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6107 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The Samsung TV is still an hour off. Even after pulling the plug..
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6108 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Enjoy the Olympics in glorious HD




All in favor of 720p say aye
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6109 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Last time I checked, WSLS had the lowest HD bitrate in the market (among major network stations) fixed at 11.7 Mbps. The weather feed was given about 1.7 Mbps, with Me-TV getting the remainder (about 4 Mbps). I suspect it would look at lot better if Me-TV was given about 2.7 Mbps and NBC bumped up to about 13 Mbps. And I don't think it would harm Me-TV that much, either.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6110 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

Enjoy the Olympics in glorious HD




All in favor of 720p say aye

This, for the most part, has nothing to do with 1080i vs 720p. It looks like our NBC station too (well not THIS bad) here in SE VA. They also use a lower bitrate like WSLS...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6111 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Last time I checked, WSLS had the lowest HD bitrate in the market (among major network stations) fixed at 11.7 Mbps. The weather feed was given about 1.7 Mbps, with Me-TV getting the remainder (about 4 Mbps). I suspect it would look at lot better if Me-TV was given about 2.7 Mbps and NBC bumped up to about 13 Mbps. And I don't think it would harm Me-TV that much, either.

- Trip

Yeah, they are giving too much to Me-TV. Bounce, on our NBC station, at times gets ~5!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6112 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

This, for the most part, has nothing to do with 1080i vs 720p. It looks like our NBC station too (well not THIS bad) here in SE VA. They also use a lower bitrate like WSLS...

720p takes less band width than 1080i. This should result in less macro blocking for a given bandwith. Sitting 96 inches from a 46 inch screen I honestly can't tell the difference between a 1080I and 720P picture. But the macro blocking during the Olympics was very visible and extremely distracting.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #6113 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

720p takes less band width than 1080i. This should result in less macro blocking for a given bandwith. Sitting 96 inches from a 46 inch screen I honestly can't tell the difference between a 1080I and 720P picture. But the macro blocking during the Olympics was very visible and extremely distracting.

Maybe so... Didn't think about that. I read somewhere outlets doing 720p will be shifting to 1080p in the future. Trip might want to chime in on that...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6114 of 6117 Old 02-23-2014, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
If I knew anything about that, I might. biggrin.gif

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6115 of 6117 Old 04-05-2014, 02:47 PM
Member
 
jdhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lynchburg, Va
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have info on wi-fi interference? I have a roof-mounted antenna in Lynchburg, but my efforts to receive WBRA seems to be effected by my Belkin wireless about 5 feet from my RF in to a Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder. Other channels easily in the 70s and 80s on the Mag scale, WBRA peaks out at 19. I was getting a definite impact when the wireless was about 18" closer. My Zenith DTT 901 tuner gets a mid-scale reading on WBRA about 12 inches farther away.
jdhdtv is offline  
post #6116 of 6117 Old 04-05-2014, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhdtv View Post

Anyone have info on wi-fi interference?

If your Belkin wireless router does not have that bumpy thing at the end of the DC power supply cord, then you need to install a ferrite bead or core at the end of the cord where the plug is. It's possible that signals internal to the wi-fi router is leaking out and interferes with your reception. The bead/core attenuates these leakage signals. Amazon and others sell these ferrite beads/cores.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #6117 of 6117 Old 06-21-2014, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
If anyone's been using the auto-scanner page on RabbitEars for the tuner at my parents' house to monitor signal strengths of the Roanoke area stations and is concerned by the sudden disappearance of WSET, WBRA, and WPXR, no need to worry. The house took a lighting hit during last night's storms and among many other things (2 TVs, computer, phone wiring/equipment, tree, etc) it appears the amp or something else in the house's antenna system is damaged. All the signal strengths are down significantly, but only 7/10/21/27 are strong enough to decode in its current damaged state. It's on the to-do list.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off