Roanoke, VA / Bluefield, WV - HDTV - Page 206 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6151 of 6156 Old 12-03-2014, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Ouch. If they have no fiber to cable and satellite companies, then a catastrophic failure in the transmitter would take them out across the board. Wonder what happened. Seems like the wrong time of year for a lightning strike.

Not really related, but I have never thought WOAY had its transmitter in a good location--the tower WSWP is on seems like a much better location.
http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/sign...tuner1/WBRA-TV

- Trip
I actually thought WSWP was on Flat Top (near Winterplace Ski Resort on the Mercer/Raleigh County line), but I looked and it's ENE of Beckley. Is there ANY TV on Flat Top? I know WJLS-FM is on Flat Top.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6152 of 6156 Old 12-03-2014, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
To my knowledge, there is no TV on Flat Top.

Here's a coverage map for WJLS-FM: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...Y&appid=291082

And here's what 1000 kW on channel 25 would look like from Flat Top: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php?appid=317&map=Y

- Trip
eacalhoun likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"


Last edited by Trip in VA; 12-03-2014 at 10:43 AM.
Trip in VA is online now  
post #6153 of 6156 Old 12-08-2014, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WOAY Apparently Still Off the Air -

This is simply amazing, but sad. According to FB posts, ABC-affiliated WOAY in Oak Hill-Beckley is still off the air - for almost 2 weeks now. Think of all the lost revenue from Christmas advertising. No doubt, WVNS (CBS/FOX) and WVVA (NBC) have picked up some local news viewers.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #6154 of 6156 Old 01-08-2015, 11:10 AM
Member
 
lburgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a quick question here. I have a DB-4 on my roof here in Lynchburg aimed at Poor Mountain and I get all of the four majors just fine (54 miles away!!). I'd like to add an antenna to pick up WBRA, I'm guessing it's called a dipole?? I'd then join the two antenna inputs. Could someone point me to a cheap/quick/easy solution? Thanks in advance!
lburgguy is offline  
post #6155 of 6156 Old 01-08-2015, 12:06 PM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I know you are all tired of CH3 questions - but maybe I have missed something.
I am in Altavista - high end of town - get all Roanoke/Bedford channels perfect with a UHF and a channel 3 only antenna joined in the attic.
Channel 3 is perfect - except when it is not - Every night at approximately 6:10 PM terrible horizontal interference occurs - lasts about 15 minutes. We also record a lot of channel 3 and many of the recordings have the same 15 minute breakups. These are usually evening shows. It has also happened in the morning with children's shows when we happen to tune to the, but did not pay attention to them.
Question - do I have a neighbor running some electrical equipment regularly for 15 minutes?
I know I can not control external stuff - but is there anything I can do to filter/clean the signal - or could I send $100 to PBS and ask them to switch to a UHF channel.
I do not expect a solution - just had to say it.
Bernieoc
bernieoc is online now  
post #6156 of 6156 Old 01-16-2015, 07:16 PM
Member
 
DixieGent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lowband VHF Yagi TV Antenna Channels 2-6

Quote:
Originally Posted by lburgguy View Post
I have a quick question here. I have a DB-4 on my roof here in Lynchburg aimed at Poor Mountain and I get all of the four majors just fine (54 miles away!!). I'd like to add an antenna to pick up WBRA, I'm guessing it's called a dipole?? I'd then join the two antenna inputs. Could someone point me to a cheap/quick/easy solution? Thanks in advance!
What I use is a low band VHF antenna such as the AntennaCraft Lowband VHF Yagi TV Antenna Channels 2-6(Y5-2-6) available from Solid Signal for $30. It's a low cost solution if your existing antenna has the connections for an add on antenna. Also, your amp must be compatible with VHF. Be forewarned, low band VHF antennas are LARGE. Hope this helps.
DixieGent is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off