Roanoke, VA / Bluefield, WV - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 6117 Old 01-21-2005, 06:55 PM
Member
 
TheDPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to buy a new antenna and am trying to decide between a yagi or bowtie style. Just to confirm, NBC, CBS, PAX, and FOX all broadcast from the same mountain, correct?

So the wider reception angle of a bowtie-style antenna probably isn't necessary for me. Or is it?
(I'm looking at the Antenna's Direct XG91 or DB8. I'm in Wytheville.)
TheDPR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 6117 Old 01-21-2005, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Loker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan,

I receive the Sunday Ticket HD games through DirecTV. I can tell you that the DirecTV feeds (via CBS) I have seen in the past did not exibit the pixelization that WDBJ has on their broadcasts. Live action events just take up so much bandwidth I don't think your re-encoding is providing what is necessary.
Chris Loker is offline  
post #723 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
wilbur1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan

I'm seeing the same thing Chris described. On D*, there isn't the macroblocking there is with the WDBJ's HD football broadcasts. Some of the games I've seen this year aren't as bad as last year's (the Chiefs-Colts playoff game and Super Bowl from last year were as bad as I've seen in terms of macroblocking on any broadcast, including the PBS stuff), but it's still apparent when CBS has graphics move across the screen this season during games on WDBJ. The CBS games broadcast by DirecTV don't have this issue.
wilbur1972 is offline  
post #724 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 08:35 AM
Member
 
TheDPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my current situation in Wytheville:
Sat, 1/22/05, 11:30am, using an OLD, beat up Radio Shack antenna with most of the VHF elements broken off:

I am currently getting perfect HD picture and sound from channels 7-1, 10-1, and 36-1. I check the signal meter on the Samsung TS360 receiver and they are all between 45 and 70, with an occasional split-second drop to 0, then back up to 45 again.
When I try 27-1, I get the sound of static and a blank screen. Check the signal meter and it is also fairly steady between 36 and 60, with an occasional split-second drop to 0, just like the others.

Doesn't seem like enough of a difference to spoil the picture, does it? Or is Fox broadcasting dead air? Any ideas?
TheDPR is offline  
post #725 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
vintonalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wilbur1972
Alan

I'm seeing the same thing Chris described. On D*, there isn't the macroblocking there is with the WDBJ's HD football broadcasts. Some of the games I've seen this year aren't as bad as last year's (the Chiefs-Colts playoff game and Super Bowl from last year were as bad as I've seen in terms of macroblocking on any broadcast, including the PBS stuff), but it's still apparent when CBS has graphics move across the screen this season during games on WDBJ. The CBS games broadcast by DirecTV don't have this issue.

OK I see what you guys are talking about. ( BTW, this is my home account ). I don't know what the sat guys are using for their HD bandwidth. ( I can find out with a phone call ). We are limited to as you all probably know a 6Mhz wide channel for broadcast. In the building, on the HD master control switcher and router, we pump around HD at 1.5Gb/sec. This is the HD SDI as it is called out of the CBS HD receivers. This is uncompressed HD. Then after the switcher and keying and all that junk it goes to the HD encoder and then to the multiplexing and mixed into the stream. The stream at THAT point is ASI which is 45Mb/sec. There is compression here. Then after this it goes to an ASI to SMPTE 310 converter which is the 19.39Mb/sec and sent to the mountain. Sooooo you are coming from a 1.5Gb/sec signal to 19.39Mb. That's a WHOLE lotta compression. But again, the ATSC committee set these rules and we gotta obey them..

Alan
vintonalan is offline  
post #726 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 11:04 AM
Member
 
mpmosdell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox HD is now on cox cable as channel 708. Thank you Fox & Cox for getting an agreement so fast.
mpmosdell is offline  
post #727 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
elspence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep... saw this around noon today!


Thanks to everyone involved!

Now I can't get rid of all the antennas, cables, amps, preamps, and aluminum foil!
elspence is offline  
post #728 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
chopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rocky Mount, VA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WSLS DT available on any local cable systems? Why is it not available?
chopkins is offline  
post #729 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
wilbur1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chopkins
The best thing to do is to delete all of them and do a rescan so you will only have the correct channels listed.

Thanks for the tip. I did that today, and the extra 21- subchannels are gone. I now get only one subchannel at 21-1 (the WJPR feed I can't pick up a signal on), with 21-2 and 21-3 no longer there. Also, I'm getting the Fox HD signal only at 27-1, and the WBVA subchannel at 27-2.
wilbur1972 is offline  
post #730 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
vintonalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mpmosdell
Fox HD is now on cox cable as channel 708. Thank you Fox & Cox for getting an agreement so fast.

Great! I just checked also. Now I can watch the Eagles in HD tomorrow?? (maybe?).

Nascar as well. Good thing, I can't pick up either of thier signals. I get 13 off the back of my antenna, I see the towers in Thaxton.
vintonalan is offline  
post #731 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
elspence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its my understanding that COX in Roanoke and WSLS can't come to an agreement with the number of channels. WSLS wants several channels of thier content to be available and COX seems to only want the main HD content.
elspence is offline  
post #732 of 6117 Old 01-22-2005, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Wow, just made it through a whole X-Files without a single reset of my Zenith HDV420 to 20-1 or any nonsense like I'd been having. Excellent work those guys did.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #733 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 10:24 AM
Member
 
fredinva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Botetourt, near CC
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, has 10-2 (viper radar) been off a couple days, or did my antenna blow over? lol

fred
fredinva is offline  
post #734 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
d33bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody's Eagles-Falcon game on Cox today not coming in on HD on 108???
Mine is regular.
d33bo is offline  
post #735 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
elspence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Mine is too. I was wondering if it was just Cox's feed or is Fox National not broadcasting in HD for this game for some reason.

Do any of you guys getting Fox OTA have it in HD?
elspence is offline  
post #736 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
wilbur1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspence
Yes Mine is too. I was wondering if it was just Cox's feed or is Fox National not broadcasting in HD for this game for some reason.

Do any of you guys getting Fox OTA have it in HD?

The WFXR 27-1 feed is in HD, as are the D* feeds on channels 88 and 89.
wilbur1972 is offline  
post #737 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
elspence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm... wonder where the problem lies? Is Cox having trouble with thier equipment?

Here is hoping they get the kinks worked out in the next two weeks.
elspence is offline  
post #738 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:


Originally posted by fredinva
Hey, has 10-2 (viper radar) been off a couple days, or did my antenna blow over? lol

fred

Yeah, it's been dead for me too. I think the blank screen is more useful than the radar they usually have on it, which never seems to be anywhere near me. 7-3 is much better.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #739 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
KeithMoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vinton, Va.
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great ota game picture on Fox!

Keith
KeithMoore is offline  
post #740 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
vintonalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by d33bo
Anybody's Eagles-Falcon game on Cox today not coming in on HD on 108???
Mine is regular.

Nope same here. 708 HD. No HD.. And my EAGLES are playing!
vintonalan is offline  
post #741 of 6117 Old 01-23-2005, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Amazing... one of the few cases where e-mail is faster than the phone is with WDRL. I e-mailed Mel around 5PM today, he sent a response at 8PM! In fact, every time I've e-mailed Mel I've gotten a very quick response.

Anyway, he told me that the Smith Mountain transmitter will take another 3-6 months. He said that the transmitter has been delivered, but there's still much work that has to be done before they can get it running.

Oh well, at least there's progress.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #742 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
KeithMoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vinton, Va.
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Trip if WDRL can reach up here with the new stick that would be cool. For once in my Star Trek viewing life I will be able to view it without a grainy, fuzzy, multi-path plagued picture and that goes back to the original series. No wait, there was about a year or so when WDBJ aired Voyager as I remember but that one was my least favorite.
Here's to positive progression and thanks to all involved.

Keith
KeithMoore is offline  
post #743 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 11:50 AM
Member
 
FOX TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Roanoke Va.
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello HDTV Fans,

Fox 21/27 in Roanoke Va. is now available in High Definition.
We are utilizing the following RF Channels.

Roanoke is on 17-3 for FOX, and 17-4 for the WB Network.

For the Lynchburg market, we use 20-3 for FOX, and 20-4
for the WB network

The official roll out date was 8:00 PM 1/20/05 during prime
time.

This weekends playoff games were in HD also, and
of course, the Super Bowl will be offered in HD also.

Our programming will consist of HD for prime time, and
virtually all FOX sports offerings willl be in HD.

Our HD format is 720p, 16 X 9 wide screen.

After days of in house testing, we were finally ready to
go on air with HD on thursday night.

We are still troubleshooting the program guides, and they
will be corrected by the FCC deadline.

Engineering Dept. @ FOX 21/27

FOX TV

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employer.
The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employer.
FOX TV is offline  
post #744 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A message posted up at the top of the Local HDTV thread, presumably by someone from Fox 21/27's engineering department:

-----------
Hello HDTV Fans,

Fox 21/27 in Roanoke Va. is now available in High Definition.
We are utilizing the following RF Channels.

Roanoke is on 17-3 for FOX, and 17-4 for the WB Network.

For the Lynchburg market, we use 20-3 for FOX, and 20-4
for the WB network

The official roll out date was 8:00 PM 1/20/05 during prime
time.

This weekends playoff games were in HD also, and
of course, the Super Bowl will be offered in HD also.

Our programming will consist of HD for prime time, and
virtually all FOX sports offerings willl be in HD.

Our HD format is 720p, 16 X 9 wide screen.

After days of in house testing, we were finally ready to
go on air with HD on thursday night.

We are still troubleshooting the program guides, and they
will be corrected by the FCC deadline.

Engineering Dept. @ FOX 21/27
Inundated is online now  
post #745 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 12:59 PM
Member
 
jcolec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news from Fox...I actually saw an ad promoting their HD coverage of the Superbowl in conjunction with a SuperBowl trip give away.

NFC championship game looked and sounded great!!

Thanks to the WJPR/WFXR guys for their efforts!!
jcolec is offline  
post #746 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
zmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: elon college, n.c. usa
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. Here in Elon NC, I am able to get WDBJ consistently. I know that most of the other Roanoke stations are still only on low power. I've heard that some will go to full power this summer. Is this correct? I would love to be able to pull in the another FOX station prior to Football season.

nick
zmeister is offline  
post #747 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Hey Bob, I've got a suggestion for you.

Would it be possible to put continuous school closings on 7-3? It would really come in handy to have that information on that channel I would think. I tried to check it about an hour ago and it was normal. I had to look at channel 10-1 (someone was using the phone so I couldn't check the WDBJ website) for my info...

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #748 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
wdbjbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Roanoke VA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by zmeister
Hey guys. Here in Elon NC, I am able to get WDBJ consistently. I know that most of the other Roanoke stations are still only on low power. I've heard that some will go to full power this summer. Is this correct? I would love to be able to pull in the another FOX station prior to Football season.

The FCC's entire channel allocation process for the digital conversion is based on coverage assumptions drawn from computer modeling. WFXR's "predicted" 41 dbu coverage area is just about the same as WDBJ's. The laws of physics say it shouldn't be possible to watch WDBJ-DT in Elon, yet you do. I had a screen shot from a guy in Bowling Green KY who was watching it there. If you're in exactly the right place, then you may well get WFXR in Elon.

Bob Lee
retired TV guy
wdbjbob is offline  
post #749 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
wdbjbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Roanoke VA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Trip in VA
Hey Bob, I've got a suggestion for you.

Would it be possible to put continuous school closings on 7-3? It would really come in handy to have that information on that channel I would think. I tried to check it about an hour ago and it was normal. I had to look at channel 10-1 (someone was using the phone so I couldn't check the WDBJ website) for my info...

- Trip

We're working on it, but we don't want it to take away any bits that the HD might need.

Bob Lee
retired TV guy
wdbjbob is offline  
post #750 of 6117 Old 01-24-2005, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Reverenddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by FOX TV
Fox 21/27 in Roanoke Va. is now available in High Definition.
We are utilizing the following RF Channels.

The official roll out date was 8:00 PM 1/20/05 during prime
time.

It's great to see Fox in HD.

Any news/info on the local Adelphia Cable carrying Fox HD?

Thanks.
Reverenddave is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off