Washington, DC - Comcast - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 703 Old 12-06-2011, 06:40 AM
Member
 
jklarfeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo View Post

I just received notice from Comcast that Montgomery County. MD will be discontinuing all analog channels and going all digital on or about December, 6, 2011. At the bottom of the notice Comcast states that the limited basic channels will not be scrambled and can be received with a QAM tuner. Although it is not stated in this communication I assume this also means that we will be adding additional HD channels.

Just got notice from Comcrap that the new channels in DC are . . . wait for it . . . Newschannel 8-HD and HSN-HD.

Seriously? I'm a soccer fan so I really, really wanted to see FSC-HD and/or GolTV-HD, but it's not like we have BBCA-HD either. Or any of the secondary premium channels in HD. I will now put my head through a plate glass window.
jklarfeld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 703 Old 12-08-2011, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLEEEG View Post

Same problem in MOCO for me.

If you have not already done so, would you please be so kind as to call comcast and report the problem. When I do, they say no one else has called so it can't really be much of a problem ...
Ladd is offline  
post #693 of 703 Old 02-08-2012, 09:20 PM
Member
 
MRG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have updated

http://mgrunes.com/comcast.html

which is a list of Comcast Preferred Channel Lineup channels, available from Comcast in North College Park, with some notes on which channels were included the Digital Starter package.

It also includes the clear QAM channels from the same cable service.

Quite a few channels now require the cable box that didn't used to. A message appears on the screen indicating that you need a digital cable box to see [most] channels. I guess that means they must be using about the same bandwidth to transmit that message as it would have taken to transmit the channel itself in NTSC format.

In addition, some channels, like Universal Sports (which I like), that used to be available are no longer available.
MRG1 is offline  
 
post #694 of 703 Old 02-09-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Topics merged.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #695 of 703 Old 02-09-2012, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRG1 View Post

I have updated

http://mgrunes.com/comcast.html

which is a list of Comcast Preferred Channel Lineup channels, available from Comcast in North College Park, with some notes on which channels were included the Digital Starter package.

That could use some simplification. It's very confusing.


Quote:


Quite a few channels now require the cable box that didn't used to.

Yes, this is old news. Since 2008, Comcast has been implementing Project Cavalry, which removes analog channels and encrypts digital ones except for locals, gov/edu/shop/public service, and a very few others that vary from area to area.

Next up they will eliminate all analog channels and encrypt all digital channels, which has already started in some areas.

Quote:


A message appears on the screen indicating that you need a digital cable box to see [most] channels. I guess that means they must be using about the same bandwidth to transmit that message as it would have taken to transmit the channel itself in NTSC format.

Keep guessing. It uses about zero bandwidth, much less than one analog channel, which uses as much as 10-15 digital SD channels.

Quote:


In addition, some channels, like Universal Sports (which I like), that used to be available are no longer available.

This has nothing directly to do with Comcast. Universal Sports was carried by local OTA stations across the country, and subsequently on Comcast systems, but as of 1/1/12 it's no longer available via OTA. Since Comcast owns NBCUniversal, which is the minority owner of Universal Sports, expect to see it show up again, in HD, on one of your Comcast system's digital tiers. The only question is when. Best guess at this point is sometime between now and the Olympics in July.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #696 of 703 Old 05-27-2017, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Scott_111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Silver Springs: Lost Video on HD Channels 817 and up. Audio is Fine.

I have recently lost the video on many (but not all) of the HD channels I normally receive from Comcast. On HD channels from about 817 and up, I receive the audio on the channels fine but there is no video. On HD channels 816 and below, I receive both audio and video. Those channels work normally. If I go to Comcast’s alternate channel numbers for the problem HD channels, I have the same problem on them.

Also, if I go to the SD version of the same HD channels I am receiving no video on, I receive both audio and video. In other words, the SD versions of the problem HD channels work fine, receiving both audio AND video. I have both a 3 tuner MOXI and a Comcast DCH3200 STB and since the problem occurs identically on both devices, it is not device specific. I tried disconnecting the router to see if that could be impacting the problem but it had no effect.

Comcast has tried everything they can think of from their remote locations and cannot find the problem. They are convinced that the problem lies in my equipment even though it is occurring in identical fashion on both boxes. They say the only thing they have left to try is to send a service tech out but it will be several days until they can get one here at a time when I can also be here. I would like to get this running before then if possible.

Does anyone here have any idea on what could be going on here? Thanks for any help.

Last edited by DrDon; 05-29-2017 at 02:40 PM.
Scott_111 is offline  
post #697 of 703 Old 05-28-2017, 01:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 153
This isn't MPEG 2 to MPEG 4 (aka AVC aka H264) migration is it? Aren't some US cable companies migrating HD services from MPEG2 to MPEG4/H264 (but not SD)

Pretty certain Moxis are MPEG2 only aren't they? (There is discussion of people losing services on them as cable cos migrate services to new encoders over in the HDTV Recorders thread)

Also your Comcast box is listed as being switched out in areas that are migrating from MPEG2 to MPEG4/H264 http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/C...Upgrade-136047 - so I think that confirms it, and explains why both devices are no longer decoding video.

It sounds like it is because your receivers are not MPEG4 compatible and Comcast have upgraded some of your channels from MPEG2 to MPEG4 (and they are the services you no longer receive). They have left the SD services in MPEG2.

Last edited by sneals2000; 05-28-2017 at 01:34 AM.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #698 of 703 Old 05-29-2017, 07:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,657
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Rather than wait for a truckroll, you could take your Comcast DCH3200 box to the nearest Comcast office and swap it out for a new one. But, yeah, with the conversion, the Moxis won't work. From the Moxi End-of-life statement:

Quote:
Why have select channels stopped working?

Your device is several years old and does not support the latest video codecs. As a result, when your service provider upgrades its programming to the newest formats, it will no longer show up in your guide. If you’re interested in seeing all of your available content, please contact your service provider’s sales department to upgrade to a fully compatible device.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #699 of 703 Old 05-29-2017, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 101
According to my DTA virtual channel map (going into service menu by holding the 0 key) Comcast has not yet implemented MPEG-4 in my area. It will probably be happening before the end of this year and I assume Comcast would notify its customers of the switch over.
PaulGo is online now  
post #700 of 703 Old 05-29-2017, 02:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,657
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Merged.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #701 of 703 Old 05-29-2017, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Scott_111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post
This isn't MPEG 2 to MPEG 4 (aka AVC aka H264) migration is it? Aren't some US cable companies migrating HD services from MPEG2 to MPEG4/H264 (but not SD)

Pretty certain Moxis are MPEG2 only aren't they? (There is discussion of people losing services on them as cable cos migrate services to new encoders over in the HDTV Recorders thread)

Also your Comcast box is listed as being switched out in areas that are migrating from MPEG2 to MPEG4/H264 http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/C...Upgrade-136047 - so I think that confirms it, and explains why both devices are no longer decoding video.

It sounds like it is because your receivers are not MPEG4 compatible and Comcast have upgraded some of your channels from MPEG2 to MPEG4 (and they are the services you no longer receive). They have left the SD services in MPEG2.
Thanks for your feedback. I checked and found that you are right about my problem. It is indeed the MPEG4 upgrade that is causing it. Unbelievably, Comcast tech support had me on the phone for almost an hour several days ago trying to troubleshoot this problem and never once mentioned that it might be caused by the MPEG change. They seemed completely unaware of it when it should have been the first thing they should have had me check.

The only thing that still confuses me about it now is the fact that I am still getting HD channels 818 on down normally with both video and audio while only channels 819 and up don’t get video. Perhaps they are making the change in stages.
Scott_111 is offline  
post #702 of 703 Old 05-29-2017, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_111 View Post
Thanks for your feedback. I checked and found that you are right about my problem. It is indeed the MPEG4 upgrade that is causing it. Unbelievably, Comcast tech support had me on the phone for almost an hour several days ago trying to troubleshoot this problem and never once mentioned that it might be caused by the MPEG change. They seemed completely unaware of it when it should have been the first thing they should have had me check.

The only thing that still confuses me about it now is the fact that I am still getting HD channels 818 on down normally with both video and audio while only channels 819 and up don’t get video. Perhaps they are making the change in stages.
Glad to have been able to help. Slightly scary that a British guy living in London (who has never subscribed to a cable TV service in his life) was able to diagnose the issue on reading your clear report of the issue, yet the Customer Service reps at Comcast, who do this for their living, didn't...
DrDon likes this.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #703 of 703 Old 08-26-2017, 08:19 AM
Member
 
KLEEEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: DC area
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gigabit internet in DC area

Comcast allowed me to upgrade from Blast to Gigabit internet for $17/mo! Docsis 3.1 modem arriving Monday, will update with results. Without a 2 year contract the upgrade would cost $30/mo according to the CSR. I have Premier Double Play and my account now shows Gigabit Internet Tier. I am located in Chevy Chase MD.
KLEEEG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off