Grand Rapids, MI - HDTV - Page 261 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7801 of 8054 Old 04-05-2012, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjwgrr View Post

WWMT-Channel 3 acquired by Baltimore-based Sinclair Broadcast Group

http://www.mlive.com/business/west-m...ong_eight.html

Hopefully a change for the better.

It couldn't be any worse or could it?
Rduce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7802 of 8054 Old 04-14-2012, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is going on with Antenna TV on 17.2 for the past week or so it freezes for a few seconds and then continues. Some days seem worse than others.
Rduce is offline  
post #7803 of 8054 Old 04-14-2012, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rduce View Post

What is going on with Antenna TV on 17.2 for the past week or so it freezes for a few seconds and then continues. Some days seem worse than others.

I noticed that too last night. Wally and the Beaver were paused while the vocals were still working properly.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #7804 of 8054 Old 04-15-2012, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I saw issues with the main WXMI feed Friday night during the finder. Especially during the last half it keep dropping out of HD to SD and back. Did it at least 4 times on my recording.

17 may be having an issue in general.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #7805 of 8054 Old 04-15-2012, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonscott87 View Post

I saw issues with the main WXMI feed Friday night during the finder. Especially during the last half it keep dropping out of HD to SD and back. Did it at least 4 times on my recording.

17 may be having an issue in general.

Same here same issues with 17 on Directv.
Kamakzie is offline  
post #7806 of 8054 Old 04-20-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well just dandy. Was watching Touch from last night via Directv and at the 32 minute mark it became unwatchable. Get your stuff together WXMI!
Kamakzie is offline  
post #7807 of 8054 Old 05-01-2012, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the location Direct chose to uplink. They receive the locals via antenna and then uplink. Same problem for WWMT intermittently - it used to be a lot worse when WWMT-DT was on channel 2.
Gassy56 is offline  
post #7808 of 8054 Old 05-06-2012, 05:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I know WWMT probably doesn't watch this forum but....

You cut out the first 2 minutes of Big Bang Theory...your 2nd highest rated show on the network...to tell us it's raining hard? Seriously?

Get your head of our your @#$@# for crying out loud. IT'S RAINING HARD! There weren't even any tornadoes! I ended up watching it on the CBS.com web site and saw none of your commercials. Congrats.

Sorry, had to vent. These silly weather alerts cutting into programming just has to stop.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #7809 of 8054 Old 05-06-2012, 05:22 AM
 
2 Bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that on Fringe Friday at around 9.20 or so, something happened to the show and it turned into a tiny box on the screen. The FOX17 logo was still in the corner, but the show was reduced to a much smaller size than it was before. It took them about twenty minutes to fix it, but that's just not acceptable. I had heard that "the big bang theory" was out on CBS for a few minutes as well, but this was much much worse. Fringe is more important then "the big bang theory" if you ask me, and WXMI is the only FOX network in HD on ClearQAM, at least that our tuner can see, so we're at their mercy whenever they "accidentally" leave the "standard def switch" on.

What a letdown.

- 2B
2 Bunny is offline  
post #7810 of 8054 Old 05-06-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They had an Amber Alert going on the locals. It seems that for some of our locals a screen scrawl messes up the HD..
Kamakzie is offline  
post #7811 of 8054 Old 05-07-2012, 04:24 AM
 
2 Bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The United States
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakzie View Post

They had an Amber Alert going on the locals. It seems that for some of our locals a screen scrawl messes up the HD..

I'd seen that too. The funny thing is that the picture was just fine when the ticker was going. I guess it's in the past now though and we've just gotta keep our fingers crossed that Fringe plays through fine this Friday.

Good luck!

- 2B

2 Bunny is offline  
post #7812 of 8054 Old 05-09-2012, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonscott87 View Post

I know WWMT probably doesn't watch this forum but....

You cut out the first 2 minutes of Big Bang Theory...your 2nd highest rated show on the network...to tell us it's raining hard? Seriously?

Get your head of our your @#$@# for crying out loud. IT'S RAINING HARD! There weren't even any tornadoes! I ended up watching it on the CBS.com web site and saw none of your commercials. Congrats.

Sorry, had to vent. These silly weather alerts cutting into programming just has to stop.

Yes, this is becoming the NORM for WWMT. They are constantly coming back from a local spot late so you miss perhaps 3 or 5 seconds of the show you were watching...You know, just gotta squeeze in those local ads into a spot that they do not fit!
Rduce is offline  
post #7813 of 8054 Old 05-14-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kirby Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: White Pigeon, MI
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like we will be at 100 HD channels sometime in June. I didnt count the HD on Demand channels, but did include the HD PPV channel in my counting. Here are the additions scheduled at least down here in Sturgis:


QVC-HD
HSN-HD
G4 HD
GSN HD
MTV2 HD
TV LAND HD
Hallmark Movie Channel HD
HBO 2 HD
HBO Signature HD
HBO Family HD
More Max HD
Action Max HD
Showtime Too HD
SHO Showcase HD
Showtime Extreme HD
Movie Channel Xtra HD
TMC HD
Starz in Black HD
Starz Kids & Family HD
Encore HD

I noticed the first channel was QVC HD, which we already have QVC SD on 786. Maybe they are converting to HD? Was hoping for a few other HD additions, but oh well. Better than nothing.
Kirby Baker is offline  
post #7814 of 8054 Old 05-21-2012, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please tell me the House series finale will be in HD... So far its in SD letterbox on WXMI.. *sigh*

EDIT: 45 minutes into the retrospective they got it working and then back out then back in again..
Kamakzie is offline  
post #7815 of 8054 Old 05-21-2012, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakzie View Post

Please tell me the House series finale will be in HD... So far its in SD letterbox on WXMI.. *sigh*

EDIT: 45 minutes into the retrospective they got it working and then back out then back in again..

I was becoming worried as well. Apparently, with all the local stations the interns are running the place.
Rduce is offline  
post #7816 of 8054 Old 05-22-2012, 09:53 AM
Member
 
vando45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alto, MI
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby Baker View Post

Looks like we will be at 100 HD channels sometime in June. I didnt count the HD on Demand channels, but did include the HD PPV channel in my counting. Here are the additions scheduled at least down here in Sturgis:


QVC-HD
HSN-HD
G4 HD
GSN HD
MTV2 HD
TV LAND HD
Hallmark Movie Channel HD
HBO 2 HD
HBO Signature HD
HBO Family HD
More Max HD
Action Max HD
Showtime Too HD
SHO Showcase HD
Showtime Extreme HD
Movie Channel Xtra HD
TMC HD
Starz in Black HD
Starz Kids & Family HD
Encore HD

I noticed the first channel was QVC HD, which we already have QVC SD on 786. Maybe they are converting to HD? Was hoping for a few other HD additions, but oh well. Better than nothing.

I got the letter also. I count 105 HD total, including all the packages, on demand, pay-per-view, and premium channels. Other than the premium channels which I don't get anyway, I'm not impessed with the new additions, nothing I would watch. Game shows and old TV shows that weren't in HD originally, what's the point? I was hoping for the Outdoor Channel, Sportsman Channel, and WFN in HD and I've seen where other areas are getting those, but not in West MI.
vando45 is offline  
post #7817 of 8054 Old 05-22-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kirby Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: White Pigeon, MI
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vando45 View Post

I got the letter also. I count 105 HD total, including all the packages, on demand, pay-per-view, and premium channels. Other than the premium channels which I don't get anyway, I'm not impessed with the new additions, nothing I would watch. Game shows and old TV shows that weren't in HD originally, what's the point? I was hoping for the Outdoor Channel, Sportsman Channel, and WFN in HD and I've seen where other areas are getting those, but not in West MI.

I have the premium packages as part of my overall package so getting more of them in HD is nice, but I would have chosen other channels too. I guess the thing is, at least they are adding HD's and we are over 100 now. The gap has closed a bit in comparison to the other video providers, I think the highest HD count is TWC at 149. Even the satellite companies are equal to or just slightly ahead of Charter now. Hopefully the removal of analogs continues and more HD is added.
Kirby Baker is offline  
post #7818 of 8054 Old 06-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anybody out there?
Gassy56 is offline  
post #7819 of 8054 Old 06-07-2012, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post

Is there anybody out there?

Out there? This new format is "out there". Does anyone know how to navigate to what used to be the user control panel?

I will be reporting back over the weekend if I can find the thread. Sat is the Belmont. I had to work for the Derby and Preakness. I just had my new surround speakers installed at the end of April. They will get their first OTA "live sports" test then. Don't blow it NBC (the network)
Dominic26 is offline  
post #7820 of 8054 Old 06-07-2012, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well this layout is different for sure.
Kamakzie is offline  
post #7821 of 8054 Old 06-08-2012, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
kevin79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kentwood, MI USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post

Out there? This new format is "out there". Does anyone know how to navigate to what used to be the user control panel?
I will be reporting back over the weekend if I can find the thread. Sat is the Belmont. I had to work for the Derby and Preakness. I just had my new surround speakers installed at the end of April. They will get their first OTA "live sports" test then. Don't blow it NBC (the network)

After you are logged in, look at the top of the page, right of the middle. You will see subscriptions. That is like the old control panel.

You may have to click on Threads to see your subscribed threads.
Rduce likes this.
kevin79 is offline  
post #7822 of 8054 Old 06-08-2012, 11:10 AM
Member
 
vando45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alto, MI
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post

Is there anybody out there?

I think Roger Waters asked that same question Wed. night.
vando45 is offline  
post #7823 of 8054 Old 06-08-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Is there anybody in there?

Just nod if you can here me.

Is there anyone home?


Ahh, great song!!
Rduce is offline  
post #7824 of 8054 Old 06-08-2012, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin79 View Post

After you are logged in, look at the top of the page, right of the middle. You will see subscriptions. That is like the old control panel.
You may have to click on Threads to see your subscribed threads.

Thanks Kevin. This is the first night it actually worked for me.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #7825 of 8054 Old 06-09-2012, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
kc8dhx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rockford MI
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This really is a different look, we'll see if it grows on me.
kc8dhx is offline  
post #7826 of 8054 Old 06-11-2012, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kirby Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: White Pigeon, MI
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just three more days for Charter subs to get 100 HD's total. My only hope is that they keep adding channels and done rest at 100.
Kirby Baker is offline  
post #7827 of 8054 Old 06-14-2012, 09:16 AM
Member
 
vando45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alto, MI
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby Baker View Post

Just three more days for Charter subs to get 100 HD's total. My only hope is that they keep adding channels and done rest at 100.

The new channels (yawn) were on this morning.
vando45 is offline  
post #7828 of 8054 Old 06-22-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spiff72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I heard that Charter shuffled their lineup around, and the WAF has now declined.

My wife likes to watch E! at night on our bedroom TV (a 32" Sony LCD XBR with a QAM tuner and CableCard slot), but recently the channel number that E! used to be on (67) just shows static/snow. I checked the channel list on Charter's web site, and it shows that E! moved to channel 70, and Style should be on channel 67. When I tried channel 70 on that TV, it was the Style channel. We did an auto-program on the TV and I went through all the digital QAM channels to see if maybe it was in a weird digital location now, but no joy...

I checked on our Tivo (which uses a Cablecard decoder) and even though we watch the HD channel most of the time, if you tune to channel 70, it is indeed the E! channel, and channel 67 is the Style channel. My guess is that Charter has moved the previously analog E! channel to digital location (the Tivo in the living room seems to indicate that the E! channel at location 70 is a digital feed). However, since the TV in the bedroom doesn't have a cable box (or a cablecard), we can't get that channel anymore.

Is the above correct? Charter, are you watching this forum? I am in West Olive, MI - ZIP 49460.

Thanks
spiff72 is offline  
post #7829 of 8054 Old 06-22-2012, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spiff72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One other thought I just had...

Could this be a SDV issue? I was thinking of requesting a "free" cablecard in lieu of a free cable box (I think my subscription may include an HD box as part of the package).

However, I am wondering if I did this would I still have trouble with SDV?
spiff72 is offline  
post #7830 of 8054 Old 06-22-2012, 08:01 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi spiff72,

I checked the lineup changes specific to your area. E! should still be available on the bedroom TV ch. 70 analog. However, Style is now "Digital Only" on ch. 67. I am not aware of any SDV issues in the area, and since re-tuning did not solve the problem I would like to send a technician out to investigate. Please PM your phone number and the best days to set that up.

In regards to your 2nd question: Since your area is SDV, CableCARDs will not provide access to digitally encrypted switched channels on the bedroom TV. You will need a Digital Receiver or an HD Receiver to view digitally encrypted switched channels. Customers using a CableCARD TiVO device, retail MOXI device, or certain supporting CableCARD devices with a Windows Media Center PC can install a CableCARD and Tuning Adapter to view digitally encrypted channels (like your TiVo now).

Thanks,
Abby
Umatter2Charter is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off