Grand Rapids, MI - HDTV - Page 268 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8011 of 8055 Old 02-13-2014, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23

Thanks.  Don't know why then that WMC isn't picking up the guide data for 50-1 or 50-2.  Kamakzie, 15.1 doesn't come in at my location so doesn't show up in the guide so I don't know if it has full/proper guide data or not.  I may try to manually add it and see if it shows up.  I may also try a zip code farther north and see if 15.1 will appear and if it has guide data.


Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8012 of 8055 Old 02-13-2014, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23

Got is resolved!

 

Did some research online and the issue with just one channel missing guide data (when it should have it) with WMC is resolved (sometimes) by doing the TV setup again and/or choosing a zip code nearby.  So I reran the full TV setup which took about 15 minutes and that seemed to resolve the issue, 50.1 now has guide data.

 

Hope this helps anyone else that might have the same issue.

 

On another note, really enjoying Ion Life, has many cooking and "HGTV like" shows.  

 

Who needs cable.  ;)


Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #8013 of 8055 Old 03-18-2014, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
grnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to be that guy, and I don't blame you for blasting me, but I am also daunted by reading 269 pages of posts looking for an answer. So here goes...

I live in Eastown, and am in the process of cutting the cable. What are your recommendations for an antenna that will pick up CBS from the south as well as the other networks? I don't know a whole ton about antennas in the first place, but I do know that the indoor one I picked up does not get CBS, and that just will not work for my wife smile.gif Her morning routine involves a cup of coffee and the CBS news. I really do not want to have to get one that we have to rotate, so is there an omni directional one that will pick up from both directions?

Secondly, when an antenna claims to have a 30 mile range, for example, does that mean that WOTV which is 27 miles away will come in clearly, or will it be fuzzy?

Thank you in advance for your recommendations!
grnerd is offline  
post #8014 of 8055 Old 03-18-2014, 01:55 PM
TV8
Member
 
TV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no such thing as fuzzy. That is an analog term, in digital It is a perfect picture if there is enough signal for the decoder to function. Anymore than it needs does no good except it will give you more margin for variations in signal strength due to weather. If the signal is right at the edge you will see pixelization, a little less signal and all you see is black. Antennas tend to exaggerate the range they are good for. Just about any traditional antenna will pull in a signal 30 miles away however.

Mike L.
TV8 is offline  
post #8015 of 8055 Old 03-18-2014, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by grnerd View Post

I hate to be that guy, and I don't blame you for blasting me, but I am also daunted by reading 269 pages of posts looking for an answer. So here goes...

I live in Eastown, and am in the process of cutting the cable. What are your recommendations for an antenna that will pick up CBS from the south as well as the other networks? I don't know a whole ton about antennas in the first place, but I do know that the indoor one I picked up does not get CBS, and that just will not work for my wife smile.gif Her morning routine involves a cup of coffee and the CBS news. I really do not want to have to get one that we have to rotate, so is there an omni directional one that will pick up from both directions?

Secondly, when an antenna claims to have a 30 mile range, for example, does that mean that WOTV which is 27 miles away will come in clearly, or will it be fuzzy?

Thank you in advance for your recommendations!

 

People in your local area will be able to offer advice about specific channels, but the first thing to know is what the physical channel numbers (RF numbers) are for the stations in your market. That will tell you whether you need an antenna that has VHF capabilities. VHF signals tend to travel farther than UHF, but it is often hard to receive VHF with an indoor antenna. Sometimes you can receive VHF with a traditional dipole (rabbit ears), if you are reasonably close to the transmitter.

 

The following link shows the info for your area. It looks as though there are several VHF stations.

 

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=station_search&callsign=wood

 

For details about transmitter locations, try a site such as TVFool.

veedon is offline  
post #8016 of 8055 Old 03-23-2014, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
XZphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Eastown and have a rooftop antenna. It's the three piece antenna known as the "Royal 17" made specifically for the Grand Rapids area. For 3, 8, 13, 17, 41, and 64 it works great. WGVU is good, but does break up sometimes. I have an analog era antenna, though, designed to pick up WGVU on 35, their current channel is 11. Channel 43 does not come in at all.

You could try installing a single antenna in your attic, if you only want the Middleville stations (3, 8, 17, 41, 64) or call Ottawa-Kent antenna service for a rooftop installation. They have a redisigned Royal 17D that should pick up WGVU very well.
XZphotog is offline  
post #8017 of 8055 Old 03-23-2014, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gary, IN
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by XZphotog View Post

I live in Eastown and have a rooftop antenna. It's the three piece antenna known as the "Royal 17" made specifically for the Grand Rapids area. For 3, 8, 13, 17, 41, and 64 it works great. WGVU is good, but does break up sometimes. I have an analog era antenna, though, designed to pick up WGVU on 35, their current channel is 11. Channel 43 does not come in at all.

You could try installing a single antenna in your attic, if you only want the Middleville stations (3, 8, 17, 41, 64) or call Ottawa-Kent antenna service for a rooftop installation. They have a redisigned Royal 17D that should pick up WGVU very well.

I looked at where 43's tower is located (WZPX on RF 44), you basically need another antenna, or rotate your set to point toward their tower. Keep in mind that WLS-TV Chicago can interfere with WZPX, as both stations broadcast on RF 44. Don't even get me started on this one, as WLS-TV interferes with my Ion station on 1st adjacent RF 43 (WCPX 38.1 - 38.6), & still does to this day (mainly after sunset) in Gary, IN. I highly doubt Ion Media would even consider seeing if they could move their tower closer to the other Grand Rapids stations, since they can claim to cover 2 markets (Grand Rapids & Lansing) with their signal (even if only part of each market).
dave73 is offline  
post #8018 of 8055 Old 03-23-2014, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am curious if any one has a Tivo OTA setup out there. My main concern is how well the GUIDE data is and if it covers all the channels. I am thinking about cutting the cord and getting a TIVO or similar device as I have seen that Channel Master has come out with a OTA DVR, however it does look to have a few teething problems to work out. Thanks in advance!
Rduce is offline  
post #8019 of 8055 Old 03-24-2014, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guide info from TVGuide is no longer OTA, but via internet connection.
Gassy56 is offline  
post #8020 of 8055 Old 03-25-2014, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by grnerd View Post

I hate to be that guy, and I don't blame you for blasting me, but I am also daunted by reading 269 pages of posts looking for an answer. So here goes...

I live in Eastown, and am in the process of cutting the cable. What are your recommendations for an antenna that will pick up CBS from the south as well as the other networks? I don't know a whole ton about antennas in the first place, but I do know that the indoor one I picked up does not get CBS, and that just will not work for my wife smile.gif Her morning routine involves a cup of coffee and the CBS news. I really do not want to have to get one that we have to rotate, so is there an omni directional one that will pick up from both directions?

Secondly, when an antenna claims to have a 30 mile range, for example, does that mean that WOTV which is 27 miles away will come in clearly, or will it be fuzzy?

Thank you in advance for your recommendations!

I am about 5 minutes from you, Beltline/Leonard area. I have a med sized VHF/UHF antenna that dates back to 1996. I had it put on the roof with a rotator (which I rarely need to use for TV). Mine points to Gun Lake where the majority of the transmitters are. I get channels 3, 8, 13, 15, 17, 35, 41, 43, 54 and 64 plus all of their sub-channels. It also doubles as my FM antenna. As I said, rarely I will need to turn it because maybe 35 or 13 is dropping. I mostly use the rotator for HD Radio.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8021 of 8055 Old 04-20-2014, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post

Guide info from TVGuide is no longer OTA, but via internet connection.

I realize that, what I am wondering does the TIVO guide cover all the subchannels here in the locals Like MeTV, THis TV ect.
Rduce is offline  
post #8022 of 8055 Old 04-20-2014, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rduce View Post

I realize that, what I am wondering does the TIVO guide cover all the subchannels here in the locals Like MeTV, THis TV ect.

check zap2it for your zip code. Tivo basically uses the same guide data as zap2it. I have a Tivo and it works great with subchannels.

Kalamazoo zip shows the folllwing
3-1 & 3-2 CBS, CW
8-1 thru 8-3 NBC, BOUNCE, WX
10-1 thru 10-3 (NBC from Lansing)
17-1 thru 17-3 FOX, ANTENNA, THIS
35-1 thru 35-4 PBS
41-1 & 41-2 ABC, RADAR
43-1 thru 43-6 ION
47-1 & 47-2 (FOX Lansing)
50-1 (My Network)
52-1 thru 52-3 PBS
53-1 & 53-2 (ABC from Lansing)
54-1 thru 54-3 TCT
64-1 thru 64-3 Religion, ME, RETRO
unclehonkey is offline  
post #8023 of 8055 Old 04-21-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I've noticed that (for a while now) the standard definition version of channel 7 (WWMT-DT2, The CW7) is all squished. They basically just took the widescreen version of the channel and crushed it horizontally to "fit" the 4:3 aspect ratio. Does anyone know why this happened or made any effort to contact WWMT?

 

::

Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8024 of 8055 Old 04-22-2014, 11:12 AM
Member
 
John J.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post

I've noticed that (for a while now) the standard definition version of channel 7 (WWMT-DT2, The CW7) is all squished. They basically just took the widescreen version of the channel and crushed it horizontally to "fit" the 4:3 aspect ratio. Does anyone know why this happened or made any effort to contact WWMT?

::
It sounds like you don't have your TV set correctly or the TV is ignoring the 16x9 flag that is set. Check your "format" setting. We do the same thing for 8-3, 15-2 and 41-2 for Radar which is 16x9.
John J. is offline  
post #8025 of 8055 Old 04-22-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post

I've noticed that (for a while now) the standard definition version of channel 7 (WWMT-DT2, The CW7) is all squished. They basically just took the widescreen version of the channel and crushed it horizontally to "fit" the 4:3 aspect ratio. Does anyone know why this happened or made any effort to contact WWMT?

::

Not seeing in any other aspect other widescreen 480i on my sets. As stated, you may want to check your aspect ratio settings.
Rduce is offline  
post #8026 of 8055 Old 04-22-2014, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

check zap2it for your zip code. Tivo basically uses the same guide data as zap2it. I have a Tivo and it works great with subchannels.

Kalamazoo zip shows the folllwing
3-1 & 3-2 CBS, CW
8-1 thru 8-3 NBC, BOUNCE, WX
10-1 thru 10-3 (NBC from Lansing)
17-1 thru 17-3 FOX, ANTENNA, THIS
35-1 thru 35-4 PBS
41-1 & 41-2 ABC, RADAR
43-1 thru 43-6 ION
47-1 & 47-2 (FOX Lansing)
50-1 (My Network)
52-1 thru 52-3 PBS
53-1 & 53-2 (ABC from Lansing)
54-1 thru 54-3 TCT
64-1 thru 64-3 Religion, ME, RETRO

Thank you for the info!
Rduce is offline  
post #8027 of 8055 Old 04-22-2014, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by John J. View Post


It sounds like you don't have your TV set correctly or the TV is ignoring the 16x9 flag that is set. Check your "format" setting. We do the same thing for 8-3, 15-2 and 41-2 for Radar which is 16x9.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rduce View Post


Not seeing in any other aspect other widescreen 480i on my sets. As stated, you may want to check your aspect ratio settings.

 

Negatory. I'm talking analog cable - nothing besides 480i and 4:3 can be carried and as such, there is no aspect ratio control whether I'm watching on our 20+ year old standard definition tube set or through the analog standard def tuner on the computer through windows media center in XP, the result is the same. Could this be an anomaly that charter caused to this channel? Could it be only manifested on the analog version of the channel and correct on the digital version (even the digital standard definition version)?

 

::

Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8028 of 8055 Old 04-22-2014, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post



Negatory. I'm talking analog cable - nothing besides 480i and 4:3 can be carried and as such, there is no aspect ratio control whether I'm watching on our 20+ year old standard definition tube set or through the analog standard def tuner on the computer through windows media center in XP, the result is the same. Could this be an anomaly that charter caused to this channel? Could it be only manifested on the analog version of the channel and correct on the digital version (even the digital standard definition version)?

::


Probably should contact your cable provider about the problem. OTA displays in the proper ratio.
Rduce is offline  
post #8029 of 8055 Old 05-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by John J. View Post

It sounds like you don't have your TV set correctly or the TV is ignoring the 16x9 flag that is set. Check your "format" setting. We do the same thing for 8-3, 15-2 and 41-2 for Radar which is 16x9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rduce View Post

Not seeing in any other aspect other widescreen 480i on my sets. As stated, you may want to check your aspect ratio settings.

Negatory. I'm talking analog cable - nothing besides 480i and 4:3 can be carried and as such, there is no aspect ratio control whether I'm watching on our 20+ year old standard definition tube set or through the analog standard def tuner on the computer through windows media center in XP, the result is the same. Could this be an anomaly that charter caused to this channel? Could it be only manifested on the analog version of the channel and correct on the digital version (even the digital standard definition version)?

::
CW7 is encoded to 480i 16:9 widescreen from a full 1080i HD master control signal. If your set or cable company or satellite company is displaying it as you state then their method of receiving the signal or the way they are encoding it is the problem.

If Sinclair ever pops for the PSIP license for the new encoder, 3.1 will remain 1080i and 3.2 CW7 will become 720p. Maybe someday. Didn't happen for the year before I retired.
Gassy56 is offline  
post #8030 of 8055 Old 05-12-2014, 06:29 AM
Member
 
Rduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For those of you in the Kalamazoo area FOX17 is now running a LPTV translator off a tower in Oshtemo using channel 30.
Rduce is offline  
post #8031 of 8055 Old 05-31-2014, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rduce View Post


Probably should contact your cable provider about the problem. OTA displays in the proper ratio.

 

I figured as much. It's too bad that they can't fix such a glaring problem, but since they're probably going to be phasing the rest of the analog stuff out anyway, it's probably not a priority for them.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post


CW7 is encoded to 480i 16:9 widescreen from a full 1080i HD master control signal. If your set or cable company or satellite company is displaying it as you state then their method of receiving the signal or the way they are encoding it is the problem.

If Sinclair ever pops for the PSIP license for the new encoder, 3.1 will remain 1080i and 3.2 CW7 will become 720p. Maybe someday. Didn't happen for the year before I retired.

 

I hope they fix it up, for the hour a month that I watch analog sdtv, it's quite annoying to have to look at.

 

::

Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8032 of 8055 Old 06-02-2014, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Another quick update on the "charter squished analog channels" issue, it looks like channel 13, WZZM, has also joined the ranks of the CW7 in "crunched analog video hell", and it too now appears to be nothing more than the 16:9 version of the channel squished to 4:3.

 

::

Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8033 of 8055 Old 06-23-2014, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post
Another quick update on the "charter squished analog channels" issue, it looks like channel 13, WZZM, has also joined the ranks of the CW7 in "crunched analog video hell", and it too now appears to be nothing more than the 16:9 version of the channel squished to 4:3.

::
Since Charter is killing all RF and going IP delivery, it won't matter anymore. LOL
Gassy56 is offline  
post #8034 of 8055 Old 06-23-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post
Another quick update on the "charter squished analog channels" issue, it looks like channel 13, WZZM, has also joined the ranks of the CW7 in "crunched analog video hell", and it too now appears to be nothing more than the 16:9 version of the channel squished to 4:3.

::
Have you called WZZM and talked to the station engineer? Or emailed them?
They are usually very concerned about problems like this....
And have you checked with other people to see if they are seeing the same issues?
texasbrit is offline  
post #8035 of 8055 Old 06-24-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
vando45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alto, MI
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post
Another quick update on the "charter squished analog channels" issue, it looks like channel 13, WZZM, has also joined the ranks of the CW7 in "crunched analog video hell", and it too now appears to be nothing more than the 16:9 version of the channel squished to 4:3.

::
Charter went all digital at my house last night. Are you still having the issue? Did you have to get a box?
vando45 is offline  
post #8036 of 8055 Old 06-24-2014, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Post charter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post
Since Charter is killing all RF and going IP delivery, it won't matter anymore. LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by vando45 View Post
Charter went all digital at my house last night. Are you still having the issue? Did you have to get a box?

I have been seeing the looping announcement on channel 14 that they're discontinuing analog in late July. I guess with these channels being messed up, it's about time they put them out of their misery.

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
Have you called WZZM and talked to the station engineer? Or emailed them?
They are usually very concerned about problems like this....
And have you checked with other people to see if they are seeing the same issues?
Seeing as both WZZM and WMMT are having the problem, I'm inclined to think the issue was on Charter's end.
Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8037 of 8055 Old 06-24-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel 2012 View Post
I have been seeing the looping announcement on channel 14 that they're discontinuing analog in late July. I guess with these channels being messed up, it's about time they put them out of their misery.



Seeing as both WZZM and WMMT are having the problem, I'm inclined to think the issue was on Charter's end.
Yes, but the station engineer is the best person to talk to Charter and sort out the issue...
texasbrit is offline  
post #8038 of 8055 Old 07-08-2014, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Channel 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Post digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
Yes, but the station engineer is the best person to talk to Charter and sort out the issue...
Well, we just got hooked up with Charter's free year lease on a couple of their Pace DC550DR digital tuners. The problem does not appear to be present when using these units and since they're discontinuing their analog service here in a few weeks anyway, I think it'll be fine if we just let it go. Those DC500DRs are barebones little units (and the standard def out of the coaxial port absolutely sucks), but they get the job done.
Channel 2012 is offline  
post #8039 of 8055 Old 07-11-2014, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Antenna Newbie Question

Hi, I live in Belding and would like to use an antenna to get OTA. So far I have tried about 6 different indoor antennas and have not been able to pick up a single station. I live in an area surrounded by large oak trees so that may pose a problem. I have a 1-1/2 story house and would like to put an antenna in the attic space on the south side of the house because the roof is very steep and I don't feel comfortable climbing up there. The house is aluminum sided with a asphalt shingled roof. I have heard people talk about a "Royal 17D" antenna that is made for West Michigan, can it be purchased locally and if so any idea where to get it the cheapest? Is that even the best solution for me? Sorry for all the basic/vague questions but this is all new to me. Any help would be appreciated. I put a like to my TV Fools report below.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c6ab47595335

Last edited by mflanders300; 07-11-2014 at 06:32 AM.
mflanders300 is offline  
post #8040 of 8055 Old 07-11-2014, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mflanders300 View Post
Hi, I live in Belding and would like to use an antenna to get OTA. So far I have tried about 6 different indoor antennas and have not been able to pick up a single station. I live in an area surrounded by large oak trees so that may pose a problem. I have a 1-1/2 story house and would like to put an antenna in the attic space on the south side of the house because the roof is very steep and I don't feel comfortable climbing up there. The house is aluminum sided with a asphalt shingled roof. I have heard people talk about a "Royal 17D" antenna that is made for West Michigan, can it be purchased locally and if so any idea where to get it the cheapest? Is that even the best solution for me? Sorry for all the basic/vague questions but this is all new to me. Any help would be appreciated. I put a like to my TV Fools report below.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c6ab47595335
I'm not going to be of much help with a solution, because your reception situation is to say the least very challenging. If you look at your TV Fool report you can see the problems.
First, none of the stations can be received with an indoor antenna. TVFool suggests a few could be received with an attic antenna, but you need a rooftop antenna to get at least all the major networks. The stations are in several different directions. And to top it off, NBC is on VHF. So the implication is, you would need a good VHF/UHF combo antenna (or two separate ones) mounted outside, and with a rotor.

Let's see if anyone else has a more hopeful analysis.

The "Royal 17D" is a multi-element antenna that was made to try to pick up stations in multiple directions, which is typically the problem in your area. But as far as I know it has not been made for years, and since the stations have changed frequency the elements would be incorrect for the new frequencies.
texasbrit is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off