Grand Rapids, MI - HDTV - Page 272 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8131 of 8142 Old 04-30-2016, 06:11 PM
TV8
Senior Member
 
TV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gassy56 View Post
A question for TV8. WXSP in Kalamazoo on 50 has no guide data. Are there plans to add that in the future? Also, my Samsung Smart TV ids the channels as 50.3, 50.4, and 50.5. My cheapie Insignia ids them correctly as 50.1, 50.2, and 50.3. Any idea why the Samsung is wrong?
Call WOOD TV and ask for the Chief Engineer. I am recently retired from there so I can't help you. The multiplexer at those sites are quite old and quide data drops out. I doubt those stations will be around much longer than next year. They will probably be put into the spectrum auction currently going on with the FCC.

Mike L.
TV8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8132 of 8142 Old 04-30-2016, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Gassy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV8 View Post
Call WOOD TV and ask for the Chief Engineer. I am recently retired from there so I can't help you. The multiplexer at those sites are quite old and quide data drops out. I doubt those stations will be around much longer than next year. They will probably be put into the spectrum auction currently going on with the FCC.
Thank you for the reply. The PSIP data showed up a couple days ago and now the Samsung tv correctly ids it as 50.1, 50.2, and 50.3. Programming guide data is there also. I had contacted them a week or so after my post here and the CE replied they would look into it. Took a couple weeks or so to work again, but it might have involved replacement equipment, re-licensing, or a body to get to Kalamazoo.
Gassy56 is offline  
post #8133 of 8142 Old 06-20-2016, 09:08 AM
Member
 
tobybul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: near salmon & steelhead streams
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grand Rapids, MI

Cascade/Forest Hills
Hi. Have not posted for a while but just wanted to mention the problem am having. I've had OTA for about 7 years. I had the 3-element antenna area special called Royal 17 by AntennaCraft. Last year, my antenna man convinced me to upgrade to a 2-element. Overall it works fine but there are days (nice days at that) where 35, 3 and 13 are either pixellated or totally out - like yesterday.

The current setup has a preamp at the antenna.

Just wondering if anyone experiences what I experience and any suggestion to keep it stable. Thanks.
tobybul is offline  
post #8134 of 8142 Old 06-20-2016, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Hi, tobybul

Please post a link to your tvfool report so that we can see what the signals look like at your location.

this where you do the report
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=29

the link is in bold type near the top of the report

your report should look something like this
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e2cb27520e4354

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 06-20-2016 at 11:00 AM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #8135 of 8142 Old 06-20-2016, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Last year, my antenna man convinced me to upgrade to a 2-element.
What does the "2-element" antenna look like?
Quote:
The current setup has a preamp at the antenna.
What preamp are you using?

What direction is the antenna aimed?

Quote:
35, 3 and 13 are either pixellated or totally out
What are the callsigns?

35, WGVU PBS, real channel 11, virtual channel 35.1, 279 degrees
3, WWMT CBS, real channel 8, virtual channel 3.1, 188 degrees
13, WZZM ABC, real channel 13, virtual channel 13.1, 322 degrees

Is that right?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 06-20-2016 at 11:02 AM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #8136 of 8142 Old 06-20-2016, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I see a lot of trees in your area; any in the signal paths?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tobybulAVStrees.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	1507153  

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #8137 of 8142 Old 06-24-2016, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
I see a lot of trees in your area; any in the signal paths?
I'm not far from there, those trees are to his North. Channel 3 is to his South, almost a perfect 180 degrees. Channel 3 is 174 degrees for me, 35 is 262 and 13 is 323. His settings can not be far off from mine.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8138 of 8142 Old 06-30-2016, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
kab123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grandville, MI
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having issues with WOODTV this morning? actually I think it started late last night.... I'm getting a really low signal with no picture or very spotty reception.
kab123 is offline  
post #8139 of 8142 Old 06-30-2016, 05:22 AM
Member
 
rcoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kab123 View Post
Is anyone having issues with WOODTV this morning? actually I think it started late last night.... I'm getting a really low signal with no picture or very spotty reception.
Same here was bad enough that I was thinking I might need to climb the tower to check things out. Looks like it is on their end.

Optoma HD33
120" Elite ultra white screen
Denon 4311
INuke 3000
MiniDsp 2x4
SVS PB12 plus/2 & (2) SI HT18 in miniMartys
rcoe is offline  
post #8140 of 8142 Old 06-30-2016, 10:01 AM
Member
 
vando45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alto, MI
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I was getting pixilation and freeze-ups on Charter cable as well.
vando45 is offline  
post #8141 of 8142 Old 07-01-2016, 08:12 AM
Member
 
John J.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears there were/are some atmospheric conditions affecting the WOOD signal.


http://aprs.mountainlake.k12.mn.us/


http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html
John J. is offline  
post #8142 of 8142 Old Today, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First post ... hoping for advice ...

Trying to get local channels (NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX) here in Wyoming Michigan and not having much luck at all. I tried the best indoor options from RCA Flat (17xx), a Terk Trinity and a ClearStream from Best Buy (which was the best). Did not try a Wineguard (saw at Home Depot) before I gave up to try to get smarter.

Found the TV Fool site and got a report confirming the distance is 31 miles or less (can't post a link to the report because I'm new).

I started with a 40 mile antenna thinking the Walmart a few miles away showed everything was 25 miles or less from the store. The others were 50 or 60 and all amplified and I could not get ABC ever, FOX always and the other two hit or miss. I'm guessing an indoor antenna isn't going to work at my house.

So then I got to thinking that I have an old DISH on my roof ... with a mounting pole and coax running in to the house. I could put an antenna on this I think.

Would that work? If so any ideas on a good antenna choice ... one that isn't "fussy" maybe???

Looking forward to feedback! Thanks in advance!!!
GRJimbo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off