Grand Rapids, MI - HDTV - Page 273 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8161 of 8184 Old 09-19-2016, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also after reading what GRjimbo did on facing his north I tried that and was able to pick up a very spotty 3.1(CBS) and 8.1(NBC) but I don't understand why it is facing the opposite way of the stations that it would then pick them up.
Draht184 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8162 of 8184 Old 09-20-2016, 10:09 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draht184 View Post
Also after reading what GRjimbo did on facing his north I tried that and was able to pick up a very spotty 3.1(CBS) and 8.1(NBC) but I don't understand why it is facing the opposite way of the stations that it would then pick them up.
You are probably getting reception off the back of the antenna, which may get you an intermittent signal, good enough if conditions are optimal, but not strong enough for reception all the time. Or the stations you mention are still broadcasting on VHF (3 is actually on channel 7, 8 is actually on channel 8) and the VHF element on your antenna is not as directional as the UHF elements.
JT01 is offline  
post #8163 of 8184 Old 09-20-2016, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I tried again to see if the channels would work this morning and they didn't. So I redirected it back towards the south and did a rescan and did not pick up the channels. should I try moving it further down in the attic away from the siding and shoot it through my roof instead of the siding?
Draht184 is offline  
 
post #8164 of 8184 Old 09-20-2016, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draht184 View Post
I tried again to see if the channels would work this morning and they didn't. So I redirected it back towards the south and did a rescan and did not pick up the channels. should I try moving it further down in the attic away from the siding and shoot it through my roof instead of the siding?
I know you don't want to put it on the roof. Is there a reason why? Mine is on the roof (tripod mount on a 5ft pole slpit 1:4) with a rotator (rarely use it. More for FM than TV reception). I'm not far from you, NE of Leonard & Beltline. You should be getting 3, 8, 13, 15, 17, 29, 35, 41, 43, 54 and 64 plus all their sub-channels.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8165 of 8184 Old 09-20-2016, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post

I know you don't want to put it on the roof. Is there a reason why? Mine is on the roof (tripod mount on a 5ft pole slpit 1:4) with a rotator (rarely use it. More for FM than TV reception). I'm not far from you, NE of Leonard & Beltline. You should be getting 3, 8, 13, 15, 17, 29, 35, 41, 43, 54 and 64 plus all their sub-channels.
I was just trying to avoid having to deal with the mounting/sealing and grounding of everything(plus laziness lol). But I feel like that will be my best option. I moved it further down the attic and I was able to pick up 3 but 8 is still not there. But I guess I'll be giving the roof mount a try this weekend.
Draht184 is offline  
post #8166 of 8184 Old 09-27-2016, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draht184 View Post
I was just trying to avoid having to deal with the mounting/sealing and grounding of everything(plus laziness lol). But I feel like that will be my best option. I moved it further down the attic and I was able to pick up 3 but 8 is still not there. But I guess I'll be giving the roof mount a try this weekend.
Personally, I am afraid of ladders more than 8 ft in height. I paid some one to go up on my roof and install the antenna/rotator. Once they got it mounted, all they had to do was connect it to the grounding block. I had pre-wired from the grounding block to the televisions and FM tuners myself and had the antenna/rotator mounted on the tripod sitting on the grass. This allowed us to watch television until the installer came out and assured me if it did not work that it was on the installer's end before he got paid and left. It's been just over 8 years and going strong. The actual antenna is 20 years old.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8167 of 8184 Old 10-01-2016, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I don't have enough posts to post my TV Fool results, but I'm located in zip 49048.

I've got a ClearStream 2V and couldn't get CBS or NBS so I purchased a Winegard LNA-200 to help the signal and now I can get CBS (as well as a few other stations), but WOOD TV still won't come in. I also tried the 1byone 360 degree Omni-directional amplified antenna purchased through Amazon and got a choppy CBS and, again, no NBC. VERY frustrating!
travman733 is offline  
post #8168 of 8184 Old 10-03-2016, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by travman733 View Post
I don't have enough posts to post my TV Fool results, but I'm located in zip 49048.

I've got a ClearStream 2V and couldn't get CBS or NBS so I purchased a Winegard LNA-200 to help the signal and now I can get CBS (as well as a few other stations), but WOOD TV still won't come in. I also tried the 1byone 360 degree Omni-directional amplified antenna purchased through Amazon and got a choppy CBS and, again, no NBC. VERY frustrating!
Without an exact address it's a more a guess. But using your general zip code with an antenna height of 25ft off the ground, TVFool shows a 2Edge path for WOOD TV. That would indicate something like a hill may be in the way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radar-Digital.png
Views:	80
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	1697673  
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8169 of 8184 Old 11-06-2016, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have an ODD request. Where, locally, can I buy a 1 & 1/4" TV antenna pole. I need a 10 footer. It's not for an antenna. I need it for bird feeders for my wife. Everything I have I brought with me when we moved here from RI. Rylees Ace Hardware on Michigan ST does not have them.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #8170 of 8184 Old 03-09-2017, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WWMT 3.1 off the air or did my antenna get nerfed in the high winds of yesterday?


WWMT-TVVerified account @wwmtnews 2m2 minutes agoMore



We are experiencing an outage at a transmitter that provides service. Our engineers are working on it. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Last edited by Kamakzie; 03-09-2017 at 05:54 PM.
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8171 of 8184 Old 03-09-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
kab123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grandville, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the same issue here... thought my antenna was having issues, but it's just channel 3.
kab123 is offline  
post #8172 of 8184 Old 03-22-2017, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed any glitches with recordings from over the air stuff with channel 8 and channel 3? I'm watching a recording of the Blindspot and it's glitching like crazy and losing parts of the recording. Really annoying!
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8173 of 8184 Old 07-17-2017, 09:50 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay fellows...Very long time, no post, but I am considering cutting my DirecTV cord, and need a bunch of advice in the GR Forums here. First things first...I believe I need an outdoor antenna, and I live in the Hudsonville/Jenison (49428) area. Which outdoor antenna is the best to get all the locals I can? by locals, I mean everything within about 20ish miles of me....3, 8, 13, 17, 35, 41, 54, 64 etc...and as many sub-channels I can get.

Is the Winegard HD8200U a good antenna for this area? I am quite open where I am at, and I think I can get the antenna about 20 feet off the ground, and put it on my garage. I don't want to have an antenna motor...too much of a hassle to turn IF needed.

Any other information that I am forgetting, please ask.

Looking forward to getting some good input.
The Hornet is offline  
post #8174 of 8184 Old 07-17-2017, 10:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
Okay fellows...Very long time, no post, but I am considering cutting my DirecTV cord, and need a bunch of advice in the GR Forums here. First things first...I believe I need an outdoor antenna, and I live in the Hudsonville/Jenison (49428) area. Which outdoor antenna is the best to get all the locals I can? by locals, I mean everything within about 20ish miles of me....3, 8, 13, 17, 35, 41, 54, 64 etc...and as many sub-channels I can get.

Is the Winegard HD8200U a good antenna for this area? I am quite open where I am at, and I think I can get the antenna about 20 feet off the ground, and put it on my garage. I don't want to have an antenna motor...too much of a hassle to turn IF needed.

Any other information that I am forgetting, please ask.

Looking forward to getting some good input.
Might want to try this first and see http://www.antennaweb.org/address
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8175 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 05:17 AM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick reply, Kamakzie! I already did this ^. What does that mean as far as me picking out an antenna? That the 8200U won't, or will be good for my area? Another antenna suggestion?
The Hornet is offline  
post #8176 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
Thanks for the quick reply, Kamakzie! I already did this ^. What does that mean as far as me picking out an antenna? That the 8200U won't, or will be good for my area? Another antenna suggestion?
Looks like that antenna should be able to handle all the locals. I know channel 13 (Could be an issue picking that up) is to the north and most of the other ones are to the south. I just looked up the antenna on Amazon and it says that it is 4K ready LOL. I don't think any of our stations are 4K ready for a long time!
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8177 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 04:31 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakzie View Post
Looks like that antenna should be able to handle all the locals. I know channel 13 (Could be an issue picking that up) is to the north and most of the other ones are to the south. I just looked up the antenna on Amazon and it says that it is 4K ready LOL. I don't think any of our stations are 4K ready for a long time!
Hi again Kamakzie...I think if I do Cut The Cord, I may try and put it my attic first, and see what I can get in there. I see that Winegard also offers the HD7694P for a lot less, but I'm slightly concerned that antenna might not get all the channels I want from my location. Opinions?
The Hornet is offline  
post #8178 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
Hi again Kamakzie...I think if I do Cut The Cord, I may try and put it my attic first, and see what I can get in there. I see that Winegard also offers the HD7694P for a lot less, but I'm slightly concerned that antenna might not get all the channels I want from my location. Opinions?
Seems like it should be a good antenna. Definitely shouldn't need a preamp for sure.
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8179 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 07:47 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just realized that a few years ago, I bought a RCA ant751r Yagi antenna:

https://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-O.../dp/B0024R4B5C

Going to give that a try first. It might need a pre amp though, but it's worth a try in the attic.
The Hornet is offline  
post #8180 of 8184 Old 07-18-2017, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah might as well give it a try
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8181 of 8184 Old 07-19-2017, 10:57 AM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakzie View Post
Yeah might as well give it a try
How's your reception up there in Cedar Springs? and what type of equipment do you use to get your signals, Kamakzie?
The Hornet is offline  
post #8182 of 8184 Old 07-19-2017, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hornet View Post
How's your reception up there in Cedar Springs? and what type of equipment do you use to get your signals, Kamakzie?
I use a large directional winegard antenna with a Channel Master preamp. I cannot remember the model number
Kamakzie is offline  
post #8183 of 8184 Old 07-21-2017, 05:47 AM
Member
 
kab123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Grandville, MI
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So has anyone noticed over the last couple months, audio dropouts on CBS (WWMT)? I have been recording the Late Show and noticed the audio would sometimes drop down to a lower level and then come back to normal level during those recordings.
kab123 is offline  
post #8184 of 8184 Old 07-23-2017, 08:08 AM
Member
 
LoneWolf15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kab123 View Post
So has anyone noticed over the last couple months, audio dropouts on CBS (WWMT)? I have been recording the Late Show and noticed the audio would sometimes drop down to a lower level and then come back to normal level during those recordings.
I'm trying to remember if CBS is it, but I've been noticing that on at least one channel, and I'm on Comcast. So I have a feeling that this isn't an OTA issue.

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
LoneWolf15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off