New Hampshire - Comcast - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2507 Old 08-23-2004, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Todd: Yes, the 3250's pass-through mode works...but I thought you said that the HD-DVR's pass through wasn't working. Do you still have the HD-DVR?
perrycom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2507 Old 08-23-2004, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
wdwms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by perrycom
Todd: Yes, the 3250's pass-through mode works...but I thought you said that the HD-DVR's pass through wasn't working. Do you still have the HD-DVR?

No i gave it back to them.. the pass through is disabled by adelphia as far as I can tell.. I have no use for the DVR at this time, my tivo serves me much better..

Sorry..

-t
wdwms is offline  
post #453 of 2507 Old 08-30-2004, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just called WMUR to tell them that we're still getting the left & right signals from the 5.1 audio out of our stereo speakers and found out that their HD tech, Stephan, left the company. Now I've lost even that little "in" to MUR. I'm beginning to think WMUR will never be right.

Later,
Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #454 of 2507 Old 08-31-2004, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My boss finally got his chance to get on the HD bandwagon today. After months of listening to me rave about the picture, he ordered the HD package. He lives in Newton, NH. They're serviced out of the Londonderry office like I am.

The first problem was that they refused to let him go to the office and pick up the box in person like I did. They insisted he needed a service visit (with the associated $25 fee). They said they needed to do something "at the pole".

The next problem is that they showed up at his house with an SA 8000HD DVR! He didn't order this, he simply ordered HD. The service tech claimed that they no longer offer the SA 3250HD box. If you want HD, you have to get the DVR service.

This is rediculous. Now I have to start looking into this box. I've been raving about the picture using the DVI output and I went so far as to get him a DVI cable. Now he has this DVR and it won't even allow him to set the resolution to "pass through", much less use his DVI input.

I'm a bit steamed at Adelphia.

Does anyone know how to find out if they really did discontinue the SA3250HD?

Later,
Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #455 of 2507 Old 08-31-2004, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin,
Sounds strange that they would force DVR service on someone who doesn't want the service and use HDTV as leverage. Maybe they are not charging for the DVR service. Did you call Adelphia CS and ask about the Tech comments? The no pass thru sucks.
DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #456 of 2507 Old 09-03-2004, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
wdwms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by dj81462
Kevin,
Sounds strange that they would force DVR service on someone who doesn't want the service and use HDTV as leverage. Maybe they are not charging for the DVR service. Did you call Adelphia CS and ask about the Tech comments? The no pass thru sucks.
DJ

I called up the CSR and complained about the no pass-through on the 8000, i explained that i had a Tivo and didn't need their DVR capabilities, i then explained (in technical gory detail) why the 3250 is better for me. They listened and sent a tech w/the 3250 to my house at no charge. Also told me i could go to my local office to swap out if I wanted.

So i didn't hear that the 3250 is discontinued, but i'm sure they want to push the DVR crap..in my book the 8000 is worthless right now, maybe firmware updates will fix it, but until then im content w/my 3250

-Todd
wdwms is offline  
post #457 of 2507 Old 09-03-2004, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last report from the regional manager said that they're waiting for the firmware update from SA to allow both pass-thru & DVI support for the 8000....hopefully won't be long. Meanwhile, I'm hangin' on to the 3250, thank you!
perrycom is offline  
post #458 of 2507 Old 09-09-2004, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm keeping my fingers crossed that tonight's Patriots game won't get screwed up by WMUR-HD! I'll be OK if it's just screwed up audio... it'll be another story altogether if they do what they did last year during the hockey playoffs when they switched over to SD.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #459 of 2507 Old 09-09-2004, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second that! Keep MUR's phone # handy...669-9999, just in case!
perrycom is offline  
post #460 of 2507 Old 09-09-2004, 07:42 PM
Member
 
khenault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far So Good at half time.
khenault is offline  
post #461 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought MUR did a great job last night - PQ and 5.1 were almost flawless!
perrycom is offline  
post #462 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by perrycom
I thought MUR did a great job last night - PQ and 5.1 were almost flawless!

PQ and 5.1 may have been flawless but PQ and stereo were just as bunged-up as usual!

The fact that you got good results from 5.1 means that MUR still hasn't gotten their audio decoder working right. Last night was actually the worst I ever heard, with the audio cutting in & out at random. The weird thing is, I think it was perfect right up until kick off when it seemed that they threw some sort of "switch" and then it was garbage.

Later,
Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #463 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
maybe I had too many beers, but I didn't notice the audio problems you're describing.
perrycom is offline  
post #464 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching the game with 5.1 surround and the audio was great. Around 10:00 my GF goes to bed and asks me to turn the sound down (grumble..), so I switch to my TV's stereo speakers and the audio was crappy. It kept fading in and out. You would think they could figure this out.
DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #465 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dj81462
I was watching the game with 5.1 surround and the audio was great. Around 10:00 my GF goes to bed and asks me to turn the sound down (grumble..), so I switch to my TV's stereo speakers and the audio was crappy. It kept fading in and out. You would think they could figure this out.
DJ

It's been that way for months so I wouldn't hold my breath for any fixes. There's also the fact that MUR's "HD guy" left the station so it's likely that there's no one there who can do anything anyway.

I'm stuck with stereo... my television is in my living room which is open to the bedrooms upstairs where my daughters sleep. Turning on the HT system to hear 5.1 would get me into hot water ASAP.

Later,
Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #466 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 12:17 PM
Member
 
khenault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bresna
Turning on the HT system to hear 5.1 would get me into hot water ASAP.


I get around this problem by turning the center speaker way up, then turning the main volume down. I can get usable sound without shaking the house. It may not be the optimal way to use the system, but it sounds WAY BETTER than the speakers in the TV.
khenault is offline  
post #467 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 12:19 PM
Member
 
khenault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Especially when watching 5.1 programming on WMUR.
khenault is offline  
post #468 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin: sent you a PM re: new contact at MUR
perrycom is offline  
post #469 of 2507 Old 09-10-2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only audio problem I noticed was an aggravating popping noise (three to five crackles a minute) while it was on SD for the pregame. I switched to 5.1 for that part, but when the game started I switched back to the TV speakers and all was well for the rest of the game. I definitely did not notice any dropouts during play.
The noise definitely was not isolated to WMUR, however.
richm99 is offline  
post #470 of 2507 Old 09-18-2004, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone with the SA8000HD DVR tried using their DVI output lately? I am reading elsewhere in this forum that several cable companies have updated the software in this STB and that DVI is now active. I might switch out my SA 3250HD if this turns out to be true and the picture is OK.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #471 of 2507 Old 09-18-2004, 08:08 AM
Member
 
sarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just plugged inthe DVI cable and still no go.
sarky is offline  
post #472 of 2507 Old 09-24-2004, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
macattackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it just me or does the Yankess/Red Sox game on NESN look very soft? The Orioles series this week looked MUCH better.
macattackman is offline  
post #473 of 2507 Old 09-24-2004, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by macattackman
Is it just me or does the Yankess/Red Sox game on NESN look very soft? The Orioles series this week looked MUCH better.

NESN-HD always shows stretched SD when the game is on channel 38. I don't understand it myself. You know the cameras are there and they go out of their way to broadcast it on NESN-HD. Why not use the HD picture? Makes no sense to me.

Later,
Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #474 of 2507 Old 09-28-2004, 10:14 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone see the Packers-Colts game on FOX-HD Sunday? This was quite possibly the best HD broadcast I have seen yet. The camera angles were great, the colors were amazing, and the game was pretty entertaining as well. Glad Fox has got their act together-they have the Super Bowl this year, correct?
richm99 is offline  
post #475 of 2507 Old 09-28-2004, 10:22 AM
Member
 
mwelicka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vermont
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys have Video on Demand turned on yet?

For those of you that have the 8000HD DVR, have they upgraded your software yet to enable DVI or passthrough resolutions?

The reason I ask is that we seem to be a couple of weeks behind you in when Adelphia pushes out new stuff.

Thanks,
Mel
mwelicka is offline  
post #476 of 2507 Old 09-28-2004, 10:26 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Hudson, NH we have had VOD for about 6 weeks. I have not upgraded to the 8000DVR due to the problems with the passthrough, and I have not seen anyone post that the problem has been fixed.
richm99 is offline  
post #477 of 2507 Old 09-28-2004, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^They are still waiting for the software upgrade to enable pass-through and DVI support. I picked mine up today, set the resolution to 720 (for my DLP) and it seems to work fine via component. 480i stays 4:3 and the HD channels look the same as before...I'll say this, it's quite a toy! BTW, free for 3 months. I've never had a TiVo, so I'm going to enjoy it!
perrycom is offline  
post #478 of 2507 Old 09-28-2004, 12:16 PM
Member
 
mwelicka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vermont
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like mine, I have never had TIVO either so I don't know what I am missing but I am finding I am using the DVR alot. My husband who thought I was crazy when I went and got it is now every once in a while during a show yelling, REWIND I missed that. The only problem is that my sons have figured out how to use and keep recording their stuff.
mwelicka is offline  
post #479 of 2507 Old 09-30-2004, 05:34 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An article in today's Boston Globe confirmed that Adelphia will probably sell their Eastern, MA (including Southern NH) cluster to Comcast and/or Time Warner. A year ago I would have been ecstatic, but now I am actually unsure. I really like the way Adelphia has stepped up to the plate recently and I am uneasy about a change in providers.

How does everyone else feel?
richm99 is offline  
post #480 of 2507 Old 09-30-2004, 06:37 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone watch Lost on WMUR-HD last night? The picture seemed to brighten and dim every few seconds. It was just noticeable enough to be aggravating, and I wound up going to SD. Anyone else see this problem?
richm99 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off