New Hampshire - Comcast - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 2507 Old 10-28-2004, 05:54 PM
Member
 
sarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stopped by the local office yesterday to find out when the passthrough and DVI will be activated on the SA 8000hd. The rep stated they are planning on Jan.
sarky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 2507 Old 10-29-2004, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would think that by January, they should be offering the SA 8300 HD box and avoid the hassles of the 8000 altogether.

If they do offer the 8300, I think I'll switch. Right now, I just can't give up my 3250 HD box for an 8000 DVR.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #513 of 2507 Old 11-04-2004, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice an audio screwup for ABC on Wednesday night? Have my DVR set to record "Lost" so tonight I sit down to watch it and guess what.....no F$#@ing audio out of the center channel on the WMUR HD broadcast! All I get is the effect sounds, no voices! Either my DVR screwed up or WMUR can't get it right. Does Adelphia even complain to them about their stupid fuc* ups??? Last Mondays game same sh*t, audio fading in and out on 2 channel stereo. Man they suck! Now I have to record WCVB SD for any ABC shows, WMUR is just plain pitiful for HD. Some dumbass probably forgot to plug in a cable then went back to sleep. It amazes me that this has been going on for so long and hasn't gotten any better.

Anyone have an email address for someone in charge of the engineering crew?

DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #514 of 2507 Old 11-05-2004, 05:17 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I noticed that audio problem also, but it seems to be a national problem. A thread on the HD programming section had quite a few people complaining about the center channel being off.
Had to watch in SD.
richm99 is offline  
post #515 of 2507 Old 11-05-2004, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Rich, guess if it was the national feed WMUR had no control. I pay more for cable than I ever dreamed I would and it gets irritating when you can't count on a reliable broadcasting from a major network. I suppose it will be like this until HD becomes more mainstream.
DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #516 of 2507 Old 11-05-2004, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wednesday night was horrible. I had 4 friends over to watch Lost , with them seeing it in high def for the first time (just bought a 50" panny plasma). I hit pause on my DVR at 8 while people were chatting a bit in the kitchen, and we sat down 10 minutes later to not be able to hear dialogue at all. My original guess was the rear channels were being swapped with the front, though I guess I was assuming some of the dialogue would be present in channels other than just the center. I started recording it in SD and we had to watch the first 10 minutes with close captions before switching over to the SD set.

That just plain ol' sucked.

Mike
Kirka is offline  
post #517 of 2507 Old 11-15-2004, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard if Adelphia will be offering the SA-8300HD anytime soon?

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #518 of 2507 Old 11-15-2004, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, did you guys in New Hampshire (or anywhere else in the US with Adelphia) get Discovery HD Theater yet? Here in CT, we got it on channel 776, and I was wondering if it was just a CT thing, since I heard no announcement about it from Adelphia.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #519 of 2507 Old 11-16-2004, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
bigRazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovery HD just showed up yesterday. At least, that's when I noticed it. There was no Guide info but the channel was there and working.

This was on Adelphia in Pelham.

Just wish they would get DVI working on the 8000.

Ray
bigRazor is offline  
post #520 of 2507 Old 11-16-2004, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^didn't notice it...what channel#?
perrycom is offline  
post #521 of 2507 Old 11-16-2004, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who said Adelphia wasn't going to add any more to their HD tier?
Gotta at least give 'em some props...

Thanks, Adelphia!
perrycom is offline  
post #522 of 2507 Old 11-16-2004, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now we just need Bravo HD, WSBK-DT & WLVI-DT...

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #523 of 2507 Old 11-20-2004, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel is just black here in Windham but I can wait
-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #524 of 2507 Old 11-21-2004, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCVB-DT is available on a QAM tuner at 112-2 even though it is not available on the set-top box (at least for the moment).

I have added the QAM channels to the HD channel list at the start of this thread for the Adelphia rebroadcast of OTA stations. If you have trouble auto-scanning them you can try entering them directly. The numbers are what my Mits TV tuner uses, the assumption is that all QAM tuners will use the same numbers.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #525 of 2507 Old 11-24-2004, 10:30 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovery HD is still dark in Hudson (or am I the only one?).
richm99 is offline  
post #526 of 2507 Old 11-24-2004, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ it's up here in Merrimack
perrycom is offline  
post #527 of 2507 Old 11-24-2004, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
pbiondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching Discovery HD last night in Londonderry
pbiondo is offline  
post #528 of 2507 Old 11-24-2004, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Discovery HD is on in Atkinson.
bresna is offline  
post #529 of 2507 Old 11-24-2004, 07:29 PM
Member
 
sarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't receiving disc hd in Windham, so finally unplugged the box ,waited a couple of minutes and replugged. Disc HD started working!
sarky is offline  
post #530 of 2507 Old 11-27-2004, 11:09 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That did the trick. I am always leery of doing that because it sometimes takes hours for the system to completely reboot, but toda it was 10 minutes.
richm99 is offline  
post #531 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wish they would add WB & UPN. I bought a used DTC-100 off of e-bay to try out my off-air antenna; but it only works on its side! It won't fit into my new credenza that way, and not having DVR controls are killing me! I'd love it if Adelphia added WB & UPN.
Kirka is offline  
post #532 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone else been having trouble with CBS-HD? Every now & then I get freeze-ups and sometimes, it switches my display over to SD mode, which takes several seconds with the SA 3250-HD. It happened yesterday right in the middle of a Patriots running play. If the play had been big, I would have been pretty ticked off. It's also happened a few times during CSI.

BTW, the only way I can get it back into HD is to change channels to a non-1080i channel and then back again. If I simply switch to NBC (one channel up) and then back, it doesn't reset back to HD. I have to switch to ABC or ESPN (720p) and then back to get it to reset.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #533 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sarky, yep when it didn't come in after 3 days I unplugged and reset it. It does take forever at times. I wonder if it's a 3250 thing? You'd think Adelphia would suggest to us to unplug/replug in the guide when a new channel shows up. From now on of course we know what to do
Bresna, not having any probs with CBS here.
-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #534 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't remember having trouble with CBS-HD. I watched the Patriots yesterday and a couple of the CSI eps as well this last week, too. I've been seeing some macroblocks (or whatever term you use for HD); but I think that was after the game during ABC (Desperate Housewives / Boston Legal). I've recently switched from years of Directv where I might attribute that to the rain last night; but that shouldn't happen with cable, right?
Kirka is offline  
post #535 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 06:40 PM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin, I don't recall that HD-SD switch, but I have had issues when changing channels and then back to CBS, where I either get a black screen or the SD, then I just change channels again and it comes back in HD.
A couple of times I've seen the HD-SD switch early in a game, which is most likely due to another game going final, and CBS dropping that audience into the national game (yesterday was a national game, so that's a possibility). I think they definitely have issues with this changeover, because the 4pm game sometimes starts in SD due to other markets having priority or something.

As an aside, I think FOX's HD broadcast kicks *ss over CBS right now.
richm99 is offline  
post #536 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 06:42 PM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Kirka
I've recently switched from years of Directv where I might attribute that to the rain last night; but that shouldn't happen with cable, right?

I was having trouble with the VOD last night (any station, any selection), and figured it had to be the rain affecting it somewhere in the loop.
richm99 is offline  
post #537 of 2507 Old 11-29-2004, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Kirka
I just wish they would add WB & UPN. I bought a used DTC-100 off of e-bay to try out my off-air antenna; but it only works on its side! It won't fit into my new credenza that way, and not having DVR controls are killing me! I'd love it if Adelphia added WB & UPN.

Make your wishes known (I did):
http://www.adelphia.com/contact_us/

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #538 of 2507 Old 11-30-2004, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Done. Thanks Dave!
Kirka is offline  
post #539 of 2507 Old 11-30-2004, 07:23 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What shows are broadcast in HD on UPN and WB?
richm99 is offline  
post #540 of 2507 Old 11-30-2004, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is from the beginning of the season, so some shows have changed nights (and Commando Nanny never aired):

The WB's HDTV offerings:

Monday - EVERWOOD
Tuesday - GILMORE GIRLS; ONE TREE HILL
Wednesday - SMALLVILLE, THE MOUNTAIN
Friday - WHAT I LIKE ABOUT YOU, COMMANDO NANNY, REBA
Sunday - ONE TREE HILL (EasyView), THE MOUNTAIN (EasyView), JACK & BOBBY

UPN HDTV SCHEDULE:

ONE ON ONE MONDAY, 8:00-8:30 PM, ET/PT
HALF & HALF MONDAY, 8:30-9:00 PM, ET/PT
GIRLFRIENDS MONDAY, 9:00-9:30 PM, ET/PT
SECOND TIME AROUND MONDAY, 9:30-10:00 PM, ET/PT
VERONICA MARS TUESDAY, 9:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT
KEVIN HILL WEDNESDAY, 9:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT
STAR TREK: ENTERPRISE FRIDAY, 8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT


Admittedly, I only watch a couple hours on each (Smallville, Enterprise, Veronica Mars, Everwood, Gilmore Girls); but since I'm typically watching Lost with friends, I can't catch the off-air Smallville, etc.
Kirka is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off