New Hampshire - Comcast - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2507 Old 04-21-2004, 06:13 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have an idea how much the OnDemand service will cost/month?

Still waiting for EPSN HD, and must say I enjoy NESN HD immensely. Too bad the Bruins didn't go further, it would have made a great spring.
Its going to be weird going back to SD for the Sox Yanks this weekend. It really makes a difference-even my wife watches the games in HD, but complains when they are in SD
richm99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2507 Old 04-26-2004, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, last night my wife & I watched Alias on WMUR-HD and the audio was perfect! About time!! Of course, last night the PQ was about the worst it's ever been so it wasn't Nirvana.

When will we get INHD? I can't wait.

I E-mailed NESN and complained about the stretched SD picture. Has anyone heard back from them? They never replied to my e-mail. The Sox/Yanks games from the Bronx this weekend were all stretched SD. I watched them all on channel 37, the SD NESN channel. PQ was pretty good on the SD anyway but it would have been even better if I could have stretched the HD channel as it's digital.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #183 of 2507 Old 04-26-2004, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't received any replies lately from the GM for Adelphia. Maybe they're trying to figure out what to do considering they're up for sale. Hope they still come thru. Haven't gotten a response from NESN either. Looks like they're going to continue stretching SD programming. At least they're not stretching commercials during HD games anymore...that's a plus.
perrycom is offline  
post #184 of 2507 Old 04-26-2004, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No reply here either. Really hate that stretched video.

Perry,
Adelphia is up for sale?
DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #185 of 2507 Old 04-27-2004, 07:55 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DJ, the board of directors has been instructed to try and sell the company as a whole, but this would probably take a year or so. The fact that it won't be chopped up may make any transition to a new cable co. easier.

BTW, your HT room came out awesome! Good work.
richm99 is offline  
post #186 of 2507 Old 04-27-2004, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by richm99
DJ, the board of directors has been instructed to try and sell the company as a whole, but this would probably take a year or so. The fact that it won't be chopped up may make any transition to a new cable co. easier.

BTW, your HT room came out awesome! Good work.

Thanks Rich.

The room represents the last 7 mths of my life...lol. A total DIY project, but the goal was to save enough on the project to buy some nice toys to put in it .

I'd like to see them bought out. Maybe someone with some deep pockets will take them over, most likely will be comcast.
dj81462 is offline  
post #187 of 2507 Old 04-28-2004, 11:09 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that Adelphia is advertising the DVR service is available (in Hudson, NH anyway). Is this the unit that doesn't receive HD mentioned in earlier posts? I don't want the hassle until it is a true HD/DVR box.
Anyone have it yet? What is the cost, and does it receive HD?
Thanks
richm99 is offline  
post #188 of 2507 Old 04-28-2004, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HD DVR for Hudson, NH. I don't have the SD unit as I already own a TIVO. Was disappointed to learn that after the big roll out and high demand for HD, they don't bother to offer the HD DVR.
dj81462 is offline  
post #189 of 2507 Old 04-28-2004, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
DeathOpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greenfield, Ma
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They keep saying that the HD-DVR will be out within a couple of months. That's what they told be when I signed up a couple of weeks ago. I have both the HD box and the dvr right now, while I wait for the HD version. I tell you, I've always heard that once you get a DVR that you'll never go back to watching tv without one. Now I'm convinced.
DeathOpie is offline  
post #190 of 2507 Old 04-29-2004, 11:25 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonderful-I have the day off and NESN HD is not working (or most of the other stations in the HD tier). I call them and they'll send over someone on Tuesday? Five days of no HD? Hopefully this is a problem that will get fixed sooner than that. I know the box got a software update today as well. Anyone else having issues (Hudson, NH)?
richm99 is offline  
post #191 of 2507 Old 04-29-2004, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
flstcnh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Hudson as well and have not experienced any HD problems. I watched the game on NESN HD yesterday as well as today.
flstcnh is offline  
post #192 of 2507 Old 04-30-2004, 04:39 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, my HD tier is back to normal this morning. I started to get some picture back last night, but it was really pixelated. The only stations not affected were HBO, Showtime, and MAX. Everything else was black, or pixelated.
Well, no worries now.

Welcome, flstcnh. I think you'll find this site helpful.
richm99 is offline  
post #193 of 2507 Old 04-30-2004, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I clicked through the HD channels in between innings of the Sox game and when I saw PBS-HD, I thought I was watching WMUR-HD! The audio was way, way off. I guess it's good to finally see that this problem is not restricted to WMUR-HD. In fact, the other night I was watching "My Wife and Kids" on WMUR-HD and the audio was once again perfect. Maybe they finally got those bugs worked out.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #194 of 2507 Old 04-30-2004, 11:53 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD tier is screwed up again! I spoke too soon.
richm99 is offline  
post #195 of 2507 Old 05-01-2004, 10:06 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it seems that the HD tier is OK in the morning, but the later in the day it gets, I start losing them. NESN, Starz, and all network HD is black, and the other movie stations are OK, with occasional pixelation issues. In the evening, the bad sations start coming in heavily pixelated, and by morning all are fine, then the cycle begins again. I hope this is not a line issue-maybe during the day the signal gets split too much? If so, I know I will have problems trying to get it resolved, because I don't think they'll spend to upgrade the lines.
Its just funny that this started the day after the software update.

I guess no one else on the board is experiencing this, which makes me suspect a local line problem. Plus, I live in the extreme southern part of Hudson, so we are on the end of the line.
richm99 is offline  
post #196 of 2507 Old 05-01-2004, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
dj81462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NH.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also in Hudson, no problems here lately with the HD channels. They had upgraded the system in my area last year. Do you have a lot of splitters or connections in the cable line. I had a similar problem before and it turned out to be a bad splitter. I tried running a cable directly from the outside connection to the TV and pic came in great. At least you would know if it was their end or your home wiring.
DJ
dj81462 is offline  
post #197 of 2507 Old 05-01-2004, 05:16 PM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try that DJ. It's weird though. THe stations are starting to come back again now (8pm). Nothings changed here, and the HD set has one splitter. I have no issues with any other feed using that splitter.

I'll give it a shot so I know before the tech gets here.
richm99 is offline  
post #198 of 2507 Old 05-02-2004, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WMUR-HD (709) was black all day yesterday. I was bummed in the afternoon as I was looking forward to watching some NHL playoff hockey in HD. Last night I had a friend over who had seen MUR's audio sync problems in the past and I was looking forward to showing him that they fixed it... still blank.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
post #199 of 2507 Old 05-02-2004, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WMUR HD is just black here too. I didn't get the hipix out to see if they were still OTA HD or not.
-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #200 of 2507 Old 05-03-2004, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys. just returned from a week in Europe and was hoping to find ESPN-HD on for the Sox game last night...very disappointing considering they've said all along that ESPN & HDNet would be up by the end of April. I've sent an inquiry to my contact...I'll let you know what he says, if he replies.
Cameron
perrycom is offline  
post #201 of 2507 Old 05-03-2004, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dj81462
No reply here either. Really hate that stretched video.

Perry,
Adelphia is up for sale?
DJ

Possible suitors are Comcast or Time Warner. Let's hope for Comcast as I believe they have more HD content.
perrycom is offline  
post #202 of 2507 Old 05-03-2004, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by perrycom
hey guys. just returned from a week in Europe and was hoping to find ESPN-HD on for the Sox game last night...very disappointing considering they've said all along that ESPN & HDNet would be up by the end of April. I've sent an inquiry to my contact...I'll let you know what he says, if he replies.
Cameron

I'm be curious about WSBK-DT and WLVI-DT as well. WLVI's power is too low to get OTA. If you get a chance would you ask about them?

Thanks,

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #203 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 09:07 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a voicemail stating that ESPN, and HDNet are both available now
(channels 770, 771, and 772). I am at work and cannot verify it yet, hoping someone else is home to check it out.

Anyone?
richm99 is offline  
post #204 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received the same message (I'm at my home office). The channels are not there yet. Called a CSR who didn't know anything (sos!). She's trying to confirm and will call me back.
I'll keep you posted.
Cameron
perrycom is offline  
post #205 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 09:47 AM
Member
 
richm99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Cameron
No surprise there. When I was having the issue with the HD tier (it was finally back 100% yesterday through this morning), I called them and the CSR stated that I should have ESPN HD already, and that they were watching it in the office! She goes to check with someone about my problems, and comes back and says, oops, you shouldn't have ESPN yet, but its coming soon.
I cancelled the tech visit for today about my HD channels. Now watch, I'll get home and they'll be screwed up again. Hope I'm wrong. It was 5 days before it was somehow corrected.

Rich
richm99 is offline  
post #206 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No new channels on the guide in Windham. Are you folks in Hudson run out of the Londonderry office? Merrimack has their own office as well right?
-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #207 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The headend for both Hudson & Merrimack is in Londonderry.
perrycom is offline  
post #208 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK so we're all out of the same office in Londonderry. I always thought Merrimack had their own setup since their cable modem dns setup is a little different.
-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #209 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
perrycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Exeter, NH / Ogunquit, ME
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know (and I'm not an expert), the Merrimack office is for customer service only...customer service, what a concept! I'm sure the cable feed is from L'derry.
perrycom is offline  
post #210 of 2507 Old 05-04-2004, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
bresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My town, Atkinson, is also fed out of the Londonderry office. I just called my house and was told that 770, 771 & 772 are all coming up with ??? when typed into the remote so no new channels there.

Kevin
bresna is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off