New Hampshire - Comcast - Page 76 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > New Hampshire - Comcast

Local HDTV Info and Reception

bobloblaw's Avatar bobloblaw
09:38 AM Liked: 12
post #2251 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 511
Joined: Oct 2005
Hi all,

I'm very happy with my OTA setup and am considering signing up for an internet connection through Comcast. My main goal is to take advantage of HD Netflix streaming, Hulu, etc to supplement what is available OTA. Is anyone using the Motorola SB6120 modem? I'd like to know if it's compatible before making the investment.
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
12:20 PM Liked: 42
post #2252 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Hi Bob,

I think I have the same modem , the "surfboard" right ?

If so , you will do just fine.

I have had it for about 3 years now and even though DOCSIS 3 is around the corner , if your only paying for 2/12 service , then you will be good to go.

Once you get all set up go to :

http://speedtest.net/

It`s a good safe site to check your speed.

Good luck

Gary 
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
12:26 PM Liked: 42
post #2253 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
O___+BTW ,

Buy , don`t rent !

It will be cheaper in the long run , all you would have to do is give the "Mac Address " on the bottom of the modem to the service rep over the phone.

Just say it`s a self install.

Later

Gary 
PatEllis15's Avatar PatEllis15
12:45 PM Liked: 10
post #2254 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 65
Joined: Jun 2008
Comcast has flipped the switch to off for the old analog channels here in Portsmouth, NH.

Does anyone have a sense as to how long it will take before they start to up the HD selection?

Does Comcast offer BBC or Speed in HD anywhere in New England now?

Thanks in advance!

Pat E
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
01:05 PM Liked: 42
post #2255 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Hi Pat ,

It all depends on where you live and IF < Adelphia > was your prior service provider.

Yes and No !

BBC-HD Yes

Speed HD No

I have the most recent line up , and listed channels that we will someday get are:

Weather HD
Speed HD
WE HD
QVC HD
and a few others , I don`t have the card with me.

Also , Menu News !!

Comcast IS working on a new GUI Menu

Exactly what it will be no ones knows , only that it will be easier.

However , that will be awhile as well.

Seems to be , if you were a Time-Warner customer , the complete digital change over is just about done.

If you get your signal from the Londonderry feed , then it`s gon`a be awhile

That`s all the info I have at the present time.

Later ,

Gary 
PatEllis15's Avatar PatEllis15
01:12 PM Liked: 10
post #2256 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 65
Joined: Jun 2008
Thanks Gary.

I'm in Portsmouth, which from memory was Mediaone/At&T and now Comcast.

Not sure if it was someone before MediaOne though.


Glad to know that I'll get BBC, and perhaps someday, Speed... As for the GUI, I solved that by dropping their box and getting a new Tivo Premiere. Loving it!

Pat E
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
01:19 PM Liked: 42
post #2257 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Hey Pat,

Happy to help !!

Tivo ?? . I`ll have to check them out , you must rent CC`s instead.

Later

Gary 
ScoopsHD's Avatar ScoopsHD
02:02 PM Liked: 10
post #2258 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 461
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatEllis15 View Post

Thanks Gary.

I'm in Portsmouth, which from memory was Mediaone/At&T and now Comcast.

Not sure if it was someone before MediaOne though.


Glad to know that I'll get BBC, and perhaps someday, Speed... As for the GUI, I solved that by dropping their box and getting a new Tivo Premiere. Loving it!

Pat E

Before expecting to get BBC HD... check your mail. Bill notices go out well before the launch dates with what you can expect. AFAIK no one in New England has gotten BBC HD yet.
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
02:08 PM Liked: 42
post #2259 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Sorry

Scoops is right , NO , BBC HD.

But it is on the to be added list , me thinks ! !

Gary 
PatEllis15's Avatar PatEllis15
02:19 PM Liked: 10
post #2260 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 65
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post

Hey Pat,

Happy to help !!

Tivo ?? . I`ll have to check them out , you must rent CC`s instead.

Later

Gary 

Yes, but CC's are cheap... I've never had a comcast box in my house, our first tivo is coming up on 6 years old, so we're certainly ahead as compared to renting equipment.

Pat E
jedi29's Avatar jedi29
02:34 PM Liked: 42
post #2261 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Hey Pat ,

Thanks for the info , I too used to rent CC`s when I had my old 37XS955 Sony plasma , but like so many the Q-Box failed , so Sony traded me an XBR2 .

I remember they were about 4 bucks a month , I think.

Anyway , picture quality with a CC is really great !

I remember after getting my XBR2 , I tried the old style Scientific-Atlanta box , and the picture was no where near as good , so I took the box back , and just had extended basic until about 3 weeks ago.

I now have the new RNG-150 box and it has a "Tru2Way" CC built in , ( with void sticker ) , and the picture quality is amazing !!

Crashes if you rush it , but worth the slowness for the picture quality !!

Later ,

Gary 
Paul_S's Avatar Paul_S
02:36 PM Liked: 10
post #2262 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2010
CableCARDs have nothing to do with picture quality. The only thing they do is decrypt data streams.

The differences you're seeing between boxes is the varying quality in those boxes video output sections, and not the CableCARDs.
BLMN's Avatar BLMN
05:55 PM Liked: 10
post #2263 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatEllis15 View Post

Does anyone have a sense as to how long it will take before they start to up the HD selection?

Thanks in advance!

Pat E

Ok here is the complete list of the migration so far, got it from the comcast boston thread.


June 2009: Newburyport, Newbury, West Newbury, Rowley and Ipswich.

September: Ashland, Bellingham, Blackstone, Franklin, Holliston, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Marlboro, Medway, Mendon, Milford, Millis & Plainville

October: Arlington, Belmont, Burlington, Cambridge, Lynnfield, MIT, Nahant, Revere, Peabody, Reading, Saugus, Stoneham, Wilmington, Winchester & Woburn

November: Andover, Attleboro, Avon, Bridgewater, Brockton, Dighton, East Bridgewater, Easton, Georgetown, Groveland, Hanson, Haverhill, Holbrook, Lawrence, Mansfield, Methuen, North Andover, North Attleboro, North Reading, Norton, Raynham, Rehoboth, Seekonk, Somerset, Stoughton, Swansea, Taunton, West Bridgewater & Whitman

January 2010: Acton, Ashburnham, Ashby, Ayer, Baldwinville, Bedford, Bolton, Boxborough, Carlisle, Chelsea, Clinton, Concord, Devens (Ayer) East Templeton, Edgewater Hills, Edgewater Terrance, Everett, Fitchburg, Framingham, Gardner, Hanscomb Air force Base, Hudson, Lancaster, Leominster, Lexington, Lincoln, Littleton, Lunenburg, Lynn, Malden, Maynard, Medford, Melrose, Otter River, Phillipston, Salem, Shirley, Somerville, Southboro, Sterling, Stowe, Sudbury, Swampscott, Templeton, Townsend, Wakefield, Westford, Westminster, Winchendon & Winthrop

February:
Massachusetts:
Barnstable, Brewster, Chatham, Chelmsford, Dennis, Eastham, Harwich, Mashpee, Orleans, Provincetown, Truro, Wellfleet, Yarmouth

New Hampshire:
Allenstown, Antrim, Boscawen, Bow, Canterbury, Chichester, Concord, Deering, Epsom, Henniker, Hillsboro, Hopkinton, Loudon, Pembroke, Weare

March:
Massachusetts:
Berkley, Billerica,* Dartmouth, Dedham, Dracut, Fairhaven, Fall River, Freetown, Lakeville, Lowell*, Marion, Mattapoisett, Middleboro, Natick, Needham, New Bedford, Newton, Rochester, Sherborn, Tewksbury*, Tyngsborough, Waltham, Wareham, Watertown, Wayland, Wellesley, Weston

New Hampshire:
Derry, Hampstead, Nashua, Plaistow, Salem, Sandown

May:
Massachusetts:
Braintree, Cohasset, Hanover, Hingham, Hull, Milton, Norwell, Quincy, Randolph, Scituate, Weymouth

New Hampshire:
Auburn, Bedford, Candia, Goffstown, Hooksett, Manchester

June:
New Hampshire:
Brentwood, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampton Falls, Hampton, Kensington, Lee, Madbury, Newcastle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, North Hampton, Nottingham, Portsmouth, Raymond, Rollinsford, Rye, Seabrook, Somersworth, Stratham


Maine:
Berwick, Eliot, Kittery, South Berwick


I live in epping and i can tell you that the 1st batch of the migration starts tomorrow the 25th and second and final is on june 23rd. Portsmouth should be the same too.

Cheers.
sonicdoommario's Avatar sonicdoommario
06:48 PM Liked: 10
post #2264 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 201
Joined: Oct 2009
Hey, I'm a little curious about something. When I was a kid, my grandparents used to take me up to New Hampshire all the time. We would go to our trailor at the Baxter Lake campgrounds in Rochester. It's been about 6 or 7 years since I've last visited, but my grandparents have since then sold the trailor to their friends, so I don't really have a reason to go up there anymore. Does Comcast serve Rochester, NH? If not, who does?

Thanks.
jmoynihan08hm77's Avatar jmoynihan08hm77
08:42 PM Liked: 10
post #2265 of 2507
05-24-2010 | Posts: 9
Joined: Aug 2009
This information comes straight from the Comcast Bill:
The Following HD Channels will be added in the Exeter area on 5/25/10:
784 Travel Channel , 788 Lifetime Movie Network, 791 QVC, 792 Disney XD, 794 Bravo, 795 CNBC, 796 ESPNews, 797 Biography, 834 E!, 843 HLN, 860 Cartoon Network, 902 TruTV, 903 TCM, 904 MGM, 911 Planet Green

The Following HD Channel will be added on 6/1/10:
801 WENH Prime

The Following HD Channels will be added on 6/23/10:
773 HBO Latino, 774 HBO Comedy, 775 HBO Zone, 777 ActionMax, 778 5StarMax, 779ThrillerMax, 780 WMax, 782 OuterMax, 785 Encore, 786 G4, 787 Style, 789 Fox Business 790 Hallmark Movie, 793 Fuse, 798 IFC, 799 WE, 816 WUNI, 817 WUTF, 822 NHL Network, 827 MTV, 829 VH1, 838 Tennis Channel, 847 Weather Channel, 856 CBS College Sports, 858 Comedy Central, 864 CMT, 871 HBO2, 879 Showtime Showcase, 880 Showtime Extreme, 884 TMC Xtra, 885 Big Ten Network, 900 ESPNU, 912 TVOne, 913 NBA TV
bobloblaw's Avatar bobloblaw
05:40 AM Liked: 12
post #2266 of 2507
05-25-2010 | Posts: 511
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicdoommario View Post

Hey, I'm a little curious about something. When I was a kid, my grandparents used to take me up to New Hampshire all the time. We would go to our trailor at the Baxter Lake campgrounds in Rochester. It's been about 6 or 7 years since I've last visited, but my grandparents have since then sold the trailor to their friends, so I don't really have a reason to go up there anymore. Does Comcast serve Rochester, NH? If not, who does?

Thanks.

Metrocast
bobloblaw's Avatar bobloblaw
05:42 AM Liked: 12
post #2267 of 2507
05-25-2010 | Posts: 511
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post

Hi Bob,

I think I have the same modem , the "surfboard" right ?

If so , you will do just fine.

I have had it for about 3 years now and even though DOCSIS 3 is around the corner , if your only paying for 2/12 service , then you will be good to go.

Once you get all set up go to :

http://speedtest.net/

It`s a good safe site to check your speed.

Good luck

Gary 

Thanks for the response Gary. The modem is in the Surfboard family, more details here.

Motorola SB6120

jedi29's Avatar jedi29
07:24 AM Liked: 42
post #2268 of 2507
05-25-2010 | Posts: 1,437
Joined: Jul 2004
Hi Bob ,

That is not what I have

I`m still using the old one :

http://www.motorola.com/Business/US-...s/SB5101_US-EN

If that is your modem , then you will be set for ever , well just about ~~ LOL !

Take care ,

Gary 
nhrider's Avatar nhrider
04:42 PM Liked: 10
post #2269 of 2507
05-28-2010 | Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2004
Landscaper managed to cut my CATV cable (burried outside the house). I've made a temporary repair using an intermediate cable and coax connectors, but I'm not comfortable with this as a permanent repair for a burried cable (currently in a mulch bed).

Is there a weatherproof splice avaliable for coax cable? What would comcast do to repair this type of problem?? Complete new run???

Any suggestions???
ScoopsHD's Avatar ScoopsHD
08:47 PM Liked: 10
post #2270 of 2507
05-28-2010 | Posts: 461
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhrider View Post

Landscaper managed to cut my CATV cable (burried outside the house). I've made a temporary repair using an intermediate cable and coax connectors, but I'm not comfortable with this as a permanent repair for a burried cable (currently in a mulch bed).

Is there a weatherproof splice avaliable for coax cable? What would comcast do to repair this type of problem?? Complete new run???

Any suggestions???

Comcast would likely ditch witch a new run underground to your house. The thing is to get it called in soon as it can take time for them to do it. They might charge you for it, in which case you should probably look at getting your landscaper to pay for it. Patching it will work temporarily, but it won't be something you can bury and when the snow comes again it won't be good. Cable cos use special cable for direct bury undergrounds that if knicked or cracked gel oozes out and seals it. Doesn't do any good for a complete cut, but its good for minor stuff. You don't want to have connectors anywhere on the ground or buried as they will corrode and leak.
BLMN's Avatar BLMN
10:53 AM Liked: 10
post #2271 of 2507
06-01-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoynihan08hm77 View Post

This information comes straight from the Comcast Bill:
The Following HD Channels will be added in the Exeter area on 5/25/10:
784 Travel Channel , 788 Lifetime Movie Network, 791 QVC, 792 Disney XD, 794 Bravo, 795 CNBC, 796 ESPNews, 797 Biography, 834 E!, 843 HLN, 860 Cartoon Network, 902 TruTV, 903 TCM, 904 MGM, 911 Planet Green

The Following HD Channel will be added on 6/1/10:
801 WENH Prime

All of those mentioned above works except for trutv 902 and tcm 903. i already tried to powercycle my cable box but they don't show up. btw, i have the sports package to be able to watch tcm channel.
nhcookyjar's Avatar nhcookyjar
04:59 AM Liked: 10
post #2272 of 2507
06-02-2010 | Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2008
Anyone have any idea when Milford, NH will make the switch?
tveli's Avatar tveli
08:42 AM Liked: 17
post #2273 of 2507
06-02-2010 | Posts: 563
Joined: Dec 2001
a very knowledgeable dude mentioned previously a august 2010 switch for milford & other former-adelphians from the londonderry headend.
later he made a nonspecific comment that it would be a while - not sure if that remains consistent with august which seems just-around-the-corner to me!
Paradoxx's Avatar Paradoxx
12:22 PM Liked: 10
post #2274 of 2507
06-03-2010 | Posts: 20
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLMN View Post

All of those mentioned above works except for trutv 902 and tcm 903. i already tried to powercycle my cable box but they don't show up. btw, i have the sports package to be able to watch tcm channel.


I had the same issue (I live in Nashua) except one box got them and the other didn't (same exact boxes too). I gave Comcast a call and it took about 1 minute to fix.....they had to do a force thru and now everything is perfect.
BLMN's Avatar BLMN
05:49 PM Liked: 10
post #2275 of 2507
06-03-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradoxx View Post

I had the same issue (I live in Nashua) except one box got them and the other didn't (same exact boxes too). I gave Comcast a call and it took about 1 minute to fix.....they had to do a force thru and now everything is perfect.

yeah that was my second option but after waiting the power cycling process for awhile, loaded all guide info and all, they finally showed up
WorldCup2010ESPN's Avatar WorldCup2010ESPN
07:51 AM Liked: 10
post #2276 of 2507
06-04-2010 | Posts: 203
Joined: Mar 2010
Anyone got any letter from Comcast recently about ESPN 3D coming June 11 and in what channel it will come?
BLMN's Avatar BLMN
04:47 PM Liked: 10
post #2277 of 2507
06-04-2010 | Posts: 44
Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldCup2010ESPN View Post

Anyone got any letter from Comcast recently about ESPN 3D coming June 11 and in what channel it will come?

not yet but pretty sure will be in the 900's like the masters in 3d was.
drew7924's Avatar drew7924
01:21 PM Liked: 10
post #2278 of 2507
06-14-2010 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2009
Anyone in portsmouth getting MLB HD (believe they recently switched it over to 908). It has been in my channel lineup for months, and I conintually get a "This channel will be available shortly" message. I get the channel in SD, but would personally like to watch it in HD. I had Comcast come out a few months ago and all the did was replace my box, realized I still did not get it, and then told me that their home office did not get it in HD either and they were going to work on it. I will let you know what I am told tonight. Thanks.

UPDATE: Got home and had MLB HD...not sure what happened between last week and today that fixed it.
wdwms's Avatar wdwms
12:43 PM Liked: 11
post #2279 of 2507
06-15-2010 | Posts: 500
Joined: Nov 2003
Comcast was here today installing M-Cards in my new Tivo Premieres (I have a Tivo S3 and Tivo HD with lifetime and 1TB drives for sale, PM if interested).

The tech had no update or idea on the all digital conversion, but he did confirm that the system is now 850mhz and he felt that was "pushing" it for this system and the chances of 1000mhz was very slim. Also said that the SA boxes should get a new UI in the next month; it will look like the motorolas..

Cable card installs went smooth, took him about an hour and 15 mins to get it all fixed up and nice nice; but we are rolling and all my channels are coming in just fine.

-t
ScoopsHD's Avatar ScoopsHD
04:31 PM Liked: 10
post #2280 of 2507
06-15-2010 | Posts: 461
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdwms View Post

Comcast was here today installing M-Cards in my new Tivo Premieres (I have a Tivo S3 and Tivo HD with lifetime and 1TB drives for sale, PM if interested).

The tech had no update or idea on the all digital conversion, but he did confirm that the system is now 850mhz and he felt that was "pushing" it for this system and the chances of 1000mhz was very slim. Also said that the SA boxes should get a new UI in the next month; it will look like the motorolas..

Cable card installs went smooth, took him about an hour and 15 mins to get it all fixed up and nice nice; but we are rolling and all my channels are coming in just fine.

-t

1ghz is likely a far future (if ever) possibility... it will require really tight RF plant and pushing the fiber nodes out closer to the homes. At the point its probably an overhaul anyways so they would probably consider pushing FTTH or perhaps some form of PON.

What system are you in that they are saying is 850mhz?

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3