Chattanooga, TN - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2195 Old 04-06-2006, 07:17 AM
Member
 
yellowmattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
might want to try an amp. be careful as might make the ones you now get good have problems but you don't know till you try.
yellowmattie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2195 Old 04-15-2006, 07:35 AM
Member
 
indian123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ki4cgs View Post

Just found this little note on the new fox61tv.com:

Digital? You bet. We're broadcasting in digital for the highest quailty picture and sound right through the air. Ask your electronics store how you can receive FOX61 digital television over the air. And the answer is yes, FOX61 HD is coming soon. The hardware is here, and we can't wait for you to see it shine!

If you have questions or comments about FOX61tv.com or FOX61 television please send them to comments@fox61tv.com.

Received an e-mail from Tracye McCarthy: She stated that they were working diligently on HD and they would most certainly have it working by the time the NFL season begins, She didn't say which seaon as you probaly know they can give you a lot of good BS.
indian123 is offline  
post #543 of 2195 Old 04-26-2006, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Mocs123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here use a HD recorder with the TV Guide OSD software? My Sony DVR has been almost useless the past few weeks becouse it has not been recieving updates from TV Guide. I was wondering if I was the only one who was having problems. Also, does anyone know which channel is the "host channel"?
Mocs123 is offline  
post #544 of 2195 Old 05-09-2006, 07:52 AM
Member
 
yellowmattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noticed last night (5-8-06) did not have channel 9 digital signal. Had everything else. Is there a problem or do I have a problem?
yellowmattie is offline  
post #545 of 2195 Old 05-09-2006, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowmattie View Post

Noticed last night (5-8-06) did not have channel 9 digital signal. Had everything else. Is there a problem or do I have a problem?

I don't think they were transmitting a digital signal last night or this morning.

For the past three weeks they have been having some strange issues. They sometimes show HD shows in SD for half the show before switching them to HD...
ColdBrew is offline  
post #546 of 2195 Old 05-09-2006, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same problem here with Ch 9. Hopefully it's fixed before LOST tomorrow night!!
maharg18 is offline  
post #547 of 2195 Old 05-10-2006, 04:57 AM
Member
 
yellowmattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had channel 9 digital signal back last night but noticed much decreased strength on channel 12. Didn't notice any break-ups but didn't watch long. My signal strength has been in the low 90's on a Dish 211 but last night was in the high 60's. Anyone else notice this?
yellowmattie is offline  
post #548 of 2195 Old 05-10-2006, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowmattie View Post

Had channel 9 digital signal back last night but noticed much decreased strength on channel 12. Didn't notice any break-ups but didn't watch long. My signal strength has been in the low 90's on a Dish 211 but last night was in the high 60's. Anyone else notice this?


Ch.12 is at low power due to some cooling system problems that started Tuesday morning. Should hopefully be back to full power sometime today if everything goes as planned.
maharg18 is offline  
post #549 of 2195 Old 05-10-2006, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been having problems with PBS lately myself. I'm guessing because of the change in season or something. I started having problems with WB last night too, but only the last 15 minutes of the show I was watching. Around 9:45 PM... So that might have been a problem with their signal.

Luckly I haven't noticed any problems with CBS.
ColdBrew is offline  
post #550 of 2195 Old 05-10-2006, 11:02 AM
Member
 
yellowmattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks maharg18. Didn't know if I had problem or not.
yellowmattie is offline  
post #551 of 2195 Old 05-11-2006, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
wmessin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just emailed Patrick Motley at Fox 61 about their HDTV plans and got this reply back immediately. I wish they would put some sort of actual time frame to this prediction:

Quote:


Yes we will...very soon. We had some equipment delays and should be up
before long.

Patrick Motley
Chief Engineer
WDSI Fox61
(423)386-2361
(423)265-3636 fax


GEAUX LSU Tigers!!!!
wmessin is offline  
post #552 of 2195 Old 05-12-2006, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Equipment delays... Hurricane Katrina... We got no money... Look, we are broadcasting a digital signal, what more do you want from us?

Fox 61 in a nutshell.
Puwaha is offline  
post #553 of 2195 Old 05-12-2006, 08:20 PM
Newbie
 
Brauchtw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just emailed Patrick Motley at Fox 61 about their HDTV plans and got this reply back immediately. I wish they would put some sort of actual time frame to this prediction:


Quote:
Yes we will...very soon. We had some equipment delays and should be up
before long.

Patrick Motley
Chief Engineer
WDSI Fox61
(423)386-2361
(423)265-3636 fax

I got the same response last year before football season. I am not getting my hopes up this year, which really stinks because FOX has the BCS games this year. ABC football looked awesome last year I will miss it. I need them to increase power anyhow WB breaks up too much and is unwatchable. FOX usually does not come in at all. I get all the other locals in the 90's. WDSI is a joke and they will not give a waiver to anyone.
Brauchtw is offline  
post #554 of 2195 Old 05-15-2006, 02:41 PM
Member
 
srrobinson2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone get a clear picture from WFLI with in-sync audio? Everytime I record Smallville or Supernatural, the audio is out of sync with the video, so I switch over and watched the SD version.

I've sent repeated emails to the station manager and chief engineer, but never get a reply.
srrobinson2 is offline  
post #555 of 2195 Old 05-19-2006, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
jakalsucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does season change affect reception? This is stressing me out. I am in Hixson within 5 miles of all the towers. At first I used my old antenna, and it worked for Fox and WB. After a few days it stopped working. Then I got a slightly better antenna, and it worked for a few days. Then I got a Silver Sensor, and the same thing happened. I've put an inline amplifier on the Silver Sensor, and now it is more or less watchable, but has a lot of breakups. I'm not confident that it will stay watchable for long though. It is driving me insane. They will have to start broadcasting at full power at the end or the year, right? Maybe it will get better then.
jakalsucks is offline  
post #556 of 2195 Old 05-20-2006, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakalsucks View Post

Does season change affect reception? This is stressing me out. I am in Hixson within 5 miles of all the towers. At first I used my old antenna, and it worked for Fox and WB. After a few days it stopped working. Then I got a slightly better antenna, and it worked for a few days. Then I got a Silver Sensor, and the same thing happened. I've put an inline amplifier on the Silver Sensor, and now it is more or less watchable, but has a lot of breakups. I'm not confident that it will stay watchable for long though. It is driving me insane. They will have to start broadcasting at full power at the end or the year, right? Maybe it will get better then.

PBS is the hardest channel for me to receive. During fall and winter I don't seem to have any problems with reception, but spring and summer cause me more problems with PBS.

You can try to get your antenna higher. If you could get your silver sensor in the attic that might solve your problems.
ColdBrew is offline  
post #557 of 2195 Old 05-20-2006, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that WFLI is now listed as a CW affiliate on the CW web site. It seems I missed the announcment back in March...
http://www.chattanoogan.com/articles/article_81618.asp
http://www.cwtv.com/cw-affiliates.html
ColdBrew is offline  
post #558 of 2195 Old 05-21-2006, 01:46 PM
Member
 
esaletnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Detroit Cleveland game is not in HD on channel 9
esaletnik is offline  
post #559 of 2195 Old 05-22-2006, 06:32 AM
Member
 
yellowmattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Live in Cleveland and could not get any Channel 12 digital signal over weekend. Was there a problem or do I have a problem? Thanks
yellowmattie is offline  
post #560 of 2195 Old 05-22-2006, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowmattie View Post

Live in Cleveland and could not get any Channel 12 digital signal over weekend. Was there a problem or do I have a problem? Thanks

There was an equipment problem that caused some receiver models to think there wasn't a signal there. It should be corrected now.
maharg18 is offline  
post #561 of 2195 Old 05-24-2006, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed WDSI advertising My Network TV. It seems they are going to be broadcasting it on a subchannel of their DT broadcast. I hope this doesn't delay their move to HD! I think broadcast starts Sept 5th.
ColdBrew is offline  
post #562 of 2195 Old 05-24-2006, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTF happened to the dialog for the last 10 minutes of Lost tonight? All I could hear was the back ground music.

Did anyone watching the HD broadcast hear the dialog the last 10 minutes?
ColdBrew is offline  
post #563 of 2195 Old 05-25-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
timnchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed the same problem with Channel 9 last night. It was annoying. I am having a problem with channel 12 tonight (pixelation and not strong signal).
timnchi is offline  
post #564 of 2195 Old 05-26-2006, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdBrew View Post

WTF happened to the dialog for the last 10 minutes of Lost tonight? All I could hear was the back ground music.

Did anyone watching the HD broadcast hear the dialog the last 10 minutes?


I had the same problem too. Luckily I had my SD Tivo rolling as a backup so I ran in the bedroom and watched the end on it.
maharg18 is offline  
post #565 of 2195 Old 05-26-2006, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maharg18 View Post

I had the same problem too. Luckily I had my SD Tivo rolling as a backup so I ran in the bedroom and watched the end on it.

I was an hour behind (watched American Idol) so by the time I got to the audio problem I had nothing to switch to. I ended up getting a copy off the internet the next day and watching the last 10 minutes. But I was pretty ticked having to wait to figure out what happened the last 10 minutes. Well at least what was said...

I emailed channel 9 but got no response...
ColdBrew is offline  
post #566 of 2195 Old 05-27-2006, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
shrudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hixson, TN
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maharg18 View Post

There was an equipment problem that caused some receiver models to think there wasn't a signal there. It should be corrected now.

I am having this problem with Channel 12 also, and have for the last 2 days. Comes on with a strong signal but then says signal is lost. Are they still having equipment problems, or should I be receiving Channel 12 now?
shrudge is offline  
post #567 of 2195 Old 05-30-2006, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Rail Baron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdBrew View Post

WTF happened to the dialog for the last 10 minutes of Lost tonight? All I could hear was the back ground music.

Did anyone watching the HD broadcast hear the dialog the last 10 minutes?

I had turned to channel 9 OTA and let it record for about 30 minutes then started watching it as it recorded. Been doing that alot lately to time shift while still watching the show the day it airs.

When the last 10 minites crapped out on us, it was about 11:05 and I hit live TV on my Tivo HRS10-250 and it wouldn't go to live TV! I have been having intermittant tuner problems with it lately and I thought this was just something more exotic.
Rail Baron is offline  
post #568 of 2195 Old 05-30-2006, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrudge View Post

I am having this problem with Channel 12 also, and have for the last 2 days. Comes on with a strong signal but then says signal is lost. Are they still having equipment problems, or should I be receiving Channel 12 now?


Should be back again now. Still trying to figure out what is causing these intermittent problems.
maharg18 is offline  
post #569 of 2195 Old 05-30-2006, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
shrudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hixson, TN
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maharg18 View Post

Should be back again now. Still trying to figure out what is causing these intermittent problems.

It is now back. Sent an email to Rick McClain of WDEF and received the following response:

Have you looked at us on DTV today? If not could you?
We re-seated a card this morning to try to clear the problem you reported.
This problem seems to only affect some receiver models.
The problem seems to have some receivers not re-map the channel to 12-1 properly.
We were not having the problem in the control room, I did not see the problem at my home over the weekend.
I did receive one other complaint of the issue.


What brand and model receiver do you use?
When you had the problem were you entering 12-1 or 47-1 on your receiver?


I hope the card was the issue.
shrudge is offline  
post #570 of 2195 Old 05-30-2006, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm the guy that re-seated the card.

I'm curious what receiver you are using. My HD Directivo wasn't receiving, yet other models like Samsung don't seem to have these troubles. The 2 receivers in the control room don't show this problem, so it's hard for us to detect it until I try to tune in from home or someone emails us.
maharg18 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off