Chattanooga, TN - HDTV - Page 74 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2014, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just talked to Comcast (boy was that fun). He said if I want an HD box I will have to pay for it (and that it isn't available for another month). I'm waiting for his manager to call me.

This page says we can have HD adapter/s if we request it.
http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/limited-basic-encryption/
ColdBrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2014, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I'm in Athens, but we are tied to the Chattanooga area for the most part and on the bill it did say that all locals would be encrypted on Jan 7th. On the back of the bill.
rebkell is offline  
Old 01-12-2014, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebkell View Post

I'm in Athens, but we are tied to the Chattanooga area for the most part and on the bill it did say that all locals would be encrypted on Jan 7th. On the back of the bill.

Yeah I looked and it was on the my November bill on their website. Some how they switched me to no paper billing. But last time they did something like this, I got several post cards and emails. I didn't get any of that this time. BTW I still haven't heard from that manager. I tried calling back on Friday, but all I got while holding for someone was a busy signal... Go figure.
ColdBrew is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally talked to a supervisor (they were useless). But she claims the only way to receive HD content now, is to pay $9 for it. Even though their web page states that it is free for 2 years.
ColdBrew is offline  
Old 04-18-2014, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Comcast XFINITY On Demand is now available on TiVo Premiere and Roamio Series DVRs throughout the state of Tennessee.


http://www.tivo.com/discover/cable
wvvolfan is offline  
Old 11-17-2014, 08:41 AM
Member
 
frogwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any other OTA users losing NBC 3.1 signal????

Over the past month or more, my 3.1 signal is randomly losing its signal. nothing's changed with my set-up. I never had a single issue with getting perfect 3.1 reception until recently. I've got a few tvs hooked up to my amp splitter, and each one has issues with 3.1. thanks in advance for anyone's input!!!

(oh, and my antenna & amp are set up in the attic, so no chance of it getting shifted by weather.)
frogwater is offline  
Old 12-10-2014, 08:43 PM
Member
 
smokey982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having any issues for 53.1 and 61.1? I have an antenna run into my Dish Hopper. So I very seldom tune to the OTA channels unless the rain knocks out my satellite. So I really don't know how long those channels haven't been working. But I noticed tonight that neither is working. I ran a new scan thinking they had moved. But after the scan they disappeared completely from my guide. Anyone having issues?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
smokey982 is online now  
Old 01-14-2015, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Any idea of when WDSI-Fox will be back on Directv?
rebkell is offline  
Old 09-02-2015, 09:34 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Sinclair pulling a Tallahassee in Chattanooga?

RabbitEars is saying Sinclair has put a simulcast of WDSI FOX 61 on WTVC 9.2. Right now it's in SD but it could be upgraded to HD. ThisTV, which was on 9.2, is set to go to 61.3. If Sinclair goes through with this plan, Chattanooga would be the largest market (and the first Top 100 market) with a FOX affiliate on a subchannel of a Big 3 station. What would happen to 61.1? And what about WFLI 53? Could this be Tallahassee all over again?

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=22590#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=72060#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=71353#station

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
Old 09-02-2015, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
Sinclair pulling a Tallahassee in Chattanooga?

RabbitEars is saying Sinclair has put a simulcast of WDSI FOX 61 on WTVC 9.2. Right now it's in SD but it could be upgraded to HD. ThisTV, which was on 9.2, is set to go to 61.3. If Sinclair goes through with this plan, Chattanooga would be the largest market (and the first Top 100 market) with a FOX affiliate on a subchannel of a Big 3 station. What would happen to 61.1? And what about WFLI 53? Could this be Tallahassee all over again?

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=22590#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=72060#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=71353#station
Which was actually posted earlier per a member in that area (which says FOX is in HD, NOT SD
http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/wdsi-fox-61-on-wtvc-9-2.353017/

and as noted in the thread
I can see the crossover. VHF tends to travel and bend better in the mountains than UHF. SO this is for the folks who cant get 61 but can get 9
unclehonkey is offline  
Old 09-05-2015, 11:02 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 4
With FOX on 9.2, MNT on 53.2 and ThisTV possibly going away (or moving to WRCB or WDEF), it looks like Sinclair is getting ready to take Channel 61 dark. After all, it has the smallest coverage area of the three stations.

Contour Maps:
WTVC: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1336996&map=Y
WFLI: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1077069&map=Y
WDSI: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1091325&map=Y

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
Old 09-05-2015, 11:53 PM
Member
 
reddog007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Broadcasters getting ready for the 600MHz reallocation auction to cellular!?
reddog007 is offline  
Old 09-07-2015, 05:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 14,974
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
With FOX on 9.2, MNT on 53.2 and ThisTV possibly going away (or moving to WRCB or WDEF), it looks like Sinclair is getting ready to take Channel 61 dark. After all, it has the smallest coverage area of the three stations.

Contour Maps:
WTVC: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1336996&map=Y
WFLI: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1077069&map=Y
WDSI: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1091325&map=Y
There is no information suggesting that WDSI is preparing to go off the air nor that This TV will be going away or moving. No station Sinclair has purchased or been involved in has gone off the air, even if affiliations were shuffled around.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 01:53 PM
Member
 
frogwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone else having issues receiving 12.1 (CBS) in Chattanooga-East Brainerd area recently? It's the only channel I'm having trouble with lately. it's not there at all. I've adjusted antenna direction several times and re-scanned, but no luck. all other local stations are still coming in just fine (3.1, 9.1, 61.1, etc.).
frogwater is offline  
Old 10-30-2015, 02:00 PM
Member
 
SequatchieViewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dunlap, TN
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the deal with Fox 61? They change up there news format going full-time with Newschannel 9 and now Fox 61 is off my DirecTV lineup?
SequatchieViewer is offline  
Old 10-30-2015, 02:07 PM
Member
 
smokey982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got Dish and this week channel 61 changed their call letters to WTVC2 in the guide. And Dish added a channel 62. The guide for 62 shows programming from the ThisTV channel. But when you turn it to 62, it's actually the same programming as 61 but it's in SD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
smokey982 is online now  
Old 10-30-2015, 02:41 PM
Member
 
SequatchieViewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dunlap, TN
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokey982 View Post
I've got Dish and this week channel 61 changed their call letters to WTVC2 in the guide. And Dish added a channel 62. The guide for 62 shows programming from the ThisTV channel. But when you turn it to 62, it's actually the same programming as 61 but it's in SD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The good news at least for now is that I can still get the DirecTV Fox On-Demand channel but that don't help for Sports and Live events.

Do they think people want to watch a network like Fox in SD were a month from 2016!
I think its a shame that these stations aren't letting the public (viewers) know what is going on!
SequatchieViewer is offline  
Old 10-30-2015, 03:45 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokey982 View Post
I've got Dish and this week channel 61 changed their call letters to WTVC2 in the guide. And Dish added a channel 62. The guide for 62 shows programming from the ThisTV channel. But when you turn it to 62, it's actually the same programming as 61 but it's in SD.
Sounds like they're moving ThisTV to 61.1. That would be the only stream on that station as FOX is on 9.2 and MNT on 53.2. It's Tallahassee all over again.

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is online now  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My Network is also on 61-2 right now
unclehonkey is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
changes that happened overnight (per a member in that area)
FOX is on 9-2 only

51-1 CW, 51-2 MY, 51-3 MeTV
61-1 ThisTV and 61-2 Comet
unclehonkey is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 141
So, what is the deal, have we lost Fox on Directv? This is pretty ridiculous, I'm not a big Football fan or I'd be really ticked, but I do watch several shows and I'll be pretty ticked if I can't watch Gotham tomorrow night...

Never mind, I found it on Channel 10, with the wrong tv listings, what a mess. That is gonna wreak havoc with DVR recordings for sure.

Last edited by rebkell; 11-01-2015 at 01:39 PM.
rebkell is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 02:24 PM
Member
 
SequatchieViewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dunlap, TN
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebkell View Post
So, what is the deal, have we lost Fox on Directv? This is pretty ridiculous, I'm not a big Football fan or I'd be really ticked, but I do watch several shows and I'll be pretty ticked if I can't watch Gotham tomorrow night...

Never mind, I found it on Channel 10, with the wrong tv listings, what a mess. That is gonna wreak havoc with DVR recordings for sure.
What makes me mad about it all more than anything is that not one thing has been said or posted online about the changes that I have seen.

The other thing is that a major network like Fox will be broadcast in SD! Its freak'n 2016, this is Fox not some offshoot digital sub-channel oldies network like This or MeTV or something!
SequatchieViewer is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 03:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 14,974
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WTVC is running both ABC and Fox in 720p.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by SequatchieViewer View Post
What makes me mad about it all more than anything is that not one thing has been said or posted online about the changes that I have seen.

The other thing is that a major network like Fox will be broadcast in SD! Its freak'n 2016, this is Fox not some offshoot digital sub-channel oldies network like This or MeTV or something!
I'm am getting Fox in HD on channel 10 on Directv. I do agree that it's ridiculous the way the switchover has been handled and not a word anywhere about it.
SequatchieViewer likes this.
rebkell is offline  
Old 11-01-2015, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 141
The Directv guide is filling in now, still gonna have to change all the series manager settings ... etc..
rebkell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off