Chattanooga, TN - HDTV - Page 74 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2200 Old 01-09-2014, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just talked to Comcast (boy was that fun). He said if I want an HD box I will have to pay for it (and that it isn't available for another month). I'm waiting for his manager to call me.

This page says we can have HD adapter/s if we request it.
http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/limited-basic-encryption/
ColdBrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2200 Old 01-10-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I'm in Athens, but we are tied to the Chattanooga area for the most part and on the bill it did say that all locals would be encrypted on Jan 7th. On the back of the bill.
rebkell is offline  
post #2193 of 2200 Old 01-12-2014, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebkell View Post

I'm in Athens, but we are tied to the Chattanooga area for the most part and on the bill it did say that all locals would be encrypted on Jan 7th. On the back of the bill.

Yeah I looked and it was on the my November bill on their website. Some how they switched me to no paper billing. But last time they did something like this, I got several post cards and emails. I didn't get any of that this time. BTW I still haven't heard from that manager. I tried calling back on Friday, but all I got while holding for someone was a busy signal... Go figure.
ColdBrew is offline  
post #2194 of 2200 Old 01-13-2014, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally talked to a supervisor (they were useless). But she claims the only way to receive HD content now, is to pay $9 for it. Even though their web page states that it is free for 2 years.
ColdBrew is offline  
post #2195 of 2200 Old 04-18-2014, 01:52 PM
Member
 
wvvolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Comcast XFINITY On Demand is now available on TiVo Premiere and Roamio Series DVRs throughout the state of Tennessee.


http://www.tivo.com/discover/cable
wvvolfan is offline  
post #2196 of 2200 Old 11-17-2014, 07:41 AM
Member
 
frogwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any other OTA users losing NBC 3.1 signal????

Over the past month or more, my 3.1 signal is randomly losing its signal. nothing's changed with my set-up. I never had a single issue with getting perfect 3.1 reception until recently. I've got a few tvs hooked up to my amp splitter, and each one has issues with 3.1. thanks in advance for anyone's input!!!

(oh, and my antenna & amp are set up in the attic, so no chance of it getting shifted by weather.)
frogwater is offline  
post #2197 of 2200 Old 12-10-2014, 07:43 PM
Member
 
smokey982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having any issues for 53.1 and 61.1? I have an antenna run into my Dish Hopper. So I very seldom tune to the OTA channels unless the rain knocks out my satellite. So I really don't know how long those channels haven't been working. But I noticed tonight that neither is working. I ran a new scan thinking they had moved. But after the scan they disappeared completely from my guide. Anyone having issues?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
smokey982 is offline  
post #2198 of 2200 Old 01-14-2015, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Any idea of when WDSI-Fox will be back on Directv?
rebkell is offline  
post #2199 of 2200 Old Today, 08:34 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sinclair pulling a Tallahassee in Chattanooga?

RabbitEars is saying Sinclair has put a simulcast of WDSI FOX 61 on WTVC 9.2. Right now it's in SD but it could be upgraded to HD. ThisTV, which was on 9.2, is set to go to 61.3. If Sinclair goes through with this plan, Chattanooga would be the largest market (and the first Top 100 market) with a FOX affiliate on a subchannel of a Big 3 station. What would happen to 61.1? And what about WFLI 53? Could this be Tallahassee all over again?

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=22590#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=72060#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=71353#station

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is online now  
post #2200 of 2200 Unread Today, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
Sinclair pulling a Tallahassee in Chattanooga?

RabbitEars is saying Sinclair has put a simulcast of WDSI FOX 61 on WTVC 9.2. Right now it's in SD but it could be upgraded to HD. ThisTV, which was on 9.2, is set to go to 61.3. If Sinclair goes through with this plan, Chattanooga would be the largest market (and the first Top 100 market) with a FOX affiliate on a subchannel of a Big 3 station. What would happen to 61.1? And what about WFLI 53? Could this be Tallahassee all over again?

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=22590#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=72060#station
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=71353#station
Which was actually posted earlier per a member in that area (which says FOX is in HD, NOT SD
http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/wdsi-fox-61-on-wtvc-9-2.353017/

and as noted in the thread
I can see the crossover. VHF tends to travel and bend better in the mountains than UHF. SO this is for the folks who cant get 61 but can get 9
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off