New Orleans, LA - HDTV - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 8227 Old 09-08-2007, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
KebCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sore_bluto View Post

Most DIRECTV customers lease their equipment nowadays. If you are a new customer, you should be able to get a free HR20 (HD+DVR) with a 2 year commitment right now. If you move, just take it with you. DIRECTV will move your dish for free.


I'm getting ready to move, and want to get a DirecTV system, but I don't see where I can get a free HD DVR when I sign up. The offer on their website is for a $200 credit on the unit, meaning I still have to pay $199 for it. The HD box, with no DVR, is free after rebate.
KebCam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 8227 Old 09-08-2007, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
sore_bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KebCam View Post

I'm getting ready to move, and want to get a DirecTV system, but I don't see where I can get a free HD DVR when I sign up. The offer on their website is for a $200 credit on the unit, meaning I still have to pay $199 for it. The HD box, with no DVR, is free after rebate.

I've been reading reports over on dbstalk that new customers have been able to secure free HR20s and current customers have had success getting upgraded to HR20 for only the shipping fee ($19.95). But the $100 credit is the standard offer. Unfortunately, you have to call in and keep trying until you get a CSR to say, "OK, we can do that for you". (The infamous CSR roulette)
sore_bluto is offline  
post #3333 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
dcgilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Near Colfax, La.
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WDSU-DT OTA as messed up as Charter NS transmission on Sunday afternoon?
dcgilbert is offline  
post #3334 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raouliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ponchatoula, LA.
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcgilbert View Post

Is WDSU-DT OTA as messed up as Charter NS transmission on Sunday afternoon?

Yes, OTA has a weird color smearing/offset going on. Hard to watch. BTW, WDSU-DT, along with its companion channels, was off the air this morning. It might be connected, or it might be a network problem.

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin
raouliii is offline  
post #3335 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Juncti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These WDSU problems, is that what is causing that transparent blue double image I'm seeing? I was recording some of the PGA just to test my setup for later tonight and it looks horrible.

Thought I might be pulling in too much signal, but it worked fine the other night for the Saints game and I haven't changed anything.

Also, Fox HD has an incredible picture. The early game and now the afternoon game are awesome. Much better quality than the NBC feed was for Thursday's game.

Edit:

Looks like they fixed it about 15 minutes ago. Although the quality is still crap compared to the Fox games. Fox broadcast was smooth, the pans back and forth across the football field were flowing nice. This NBC feed is jittery as all hell. Very clear when there's not a lot of motion, but any action just falls apart.
Juncti is offline  
post #3336 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 05:23 PM
Member
 
supasexyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juncti View Post

I was recording some of the PGA just to test my setup for later tonight and it looks horrible.

PS. it is the PGA Tour, there is a difference.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I want to learn as much as possible about HD.
supasexyp is offline  
post #3337 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
OrleansDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KebCam View Post

I'm getting ready to move, and want to get a DirecTV system, but I don't see where I can get a free HD DVR when I sign up. The offer on their website is for a $200 credit on the unit, meaning I still have to pay $199 for it. The HD box, with no DVR, is free after rebate.

Call and try to get a deal.

I call D* and try to get a deal whenever I order a new program/system/whatever
OrleansDawg is offline  
post #3338 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Juncti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by supasexyp View Post

PS. it is the PGA Tour, there is a difference.

Not when you don't watch golf. It could be called men with sticks and balls and it wouldn't matter to me. Just needed some test HD footage to get ready for football time.

Been noticing that it seems like the major problem with the NBC coverage is only during the live game footage. The studio people seem clear and the HD commercials for their upcoming fall shows appear clear as well.
Juncti is offline  
post #3339 of 8227 Old 09-09-2007, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor Bobo View Post

Digiblur,

Are the resolution and bit rates of Dish published somewhere? Short of purchasing the service, how can someone know for sure if their HD quality is better than DirecTV?

I'd always read about HD-Light but never gave it a thought until buying a TV that truly displays the difference in provider HD quality.

Thanks.

No, they don't publish that info.

The HD quality is a little better than DirecTV.
digiblur is offline  
post #3340 of 8227 Old 09-10-2007, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lacombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sportman's Paradise
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a commercial advertising the new NBC shows in HD on cox. any info on this???

Cichlids are my HD
Technology is my hobby
PSN/LIVE: LaCoMBo78
lacombo is offline  
post #3341 of 8227 Old 09-10-2007, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hedonist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC's coverage of the PGA is horrible because all their handheld camera shots following the golfers are only 16x9 and not HD. Coupled with their poor tracking of motion shots for the HD cameras they do have makes it a very nasty experience.

With yesterday's color shift it was so bad I didn't even bother to check to see if their football coverage was any better.

XBL: AJ in HD
PSN: AJ_in_HD
Hedonist is offline  
post #3342 of 8227 Old 09-10-2007, 08:32 AM
Member
 
quango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laredo, TX
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They fixed it partway through Football Night in America aka the pregame show; the game was fine, although typical NBC (it's not just WDSU, it was always equally bad in St. Louis for me) pixelriffic on action shots. It only was affecting the network feed; the local stuff in commercials didn't have the weird color smearing going on.

lacombo: I saw the same; the one I saw looked like a generic Cox national ad (I think it also had a Fox HD logo). If I were bored I'd send a complaint about deceptive advertising to the FTC.
quango is offline  
post #3343 of 8227 Old 09-10-2007, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
OrleansDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedonist View Post

NBC's coverage of the PGA is horrible because all their handheld camera shots following the golfers are only 16x9 and not HD. Coupled with their poor tracking of motion shots for the HD cameras they do have makes it a very nasty experience.

With yesterday's color shift it was so bad I didn't even bother to check to see if their football coverage was any better.

All HD Sports coverage on NBC is downright terrible
OrleansDawg is offline  
post #3344 of 8227 Old 09-10-2007, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lacombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sportman's Paradise
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quango View Post

lacombo: I saw the same; the one I saw looked like a generic Cox national ad (I think it also had a Fox HD logo). If I were bored I'd send a complaint about deceptive advertising to the FTC.

just saw it again during MNF and it had HD in bold with the peacock symbol next to it but not WDSU, so I guess it would be just a national generic commercial.

Cichlids are my HD
Technology is my hobby
PSN/LIVE: LaCoMBo78
lacombo is offline  
post #3345 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
tedgodfrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok please Help me.. Am I losing my mind or am I just getting old.. When WDSU-Dt channel came back OTA I coulda have sworn that there Local NEWS was in fulL HD like ABC news is. But now WDSU is only a digital feed. Any help would be great!! thanks
tedgodfrey is offline  
post #3346 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
sore_bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgodfrey View Post

Ok please Help me.. Am I losing my mind or am I just getting old.. When WDSU-Dt channel came back OTA I coulda have sworn that there Local NEWS was in fulL HD like ABC news is. But now WDSU is only a digital feed. Any help would be great!! thanks

The only thing I can ever remember them saying was "WDSU now broadcasting in HD." I can not remember any mention of news in HD.
sore_bluto is offline  
post #3347 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
nolaitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have DirecTV's HR20 and WDSU-DT doesn't show up (Searching for signal). Is there a way to scan for OTA signals? I followed the manual and the 'scan channels' doesn't show up? Any ideas?

Thanks,
Greg
nolaitguy is offline  
post #3348 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrettStah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 3,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolaitguy View Post

I have DirecTV's HR20 and WDSU-DT doesn't show up (Searching for signal). Is there a way to scan for OTA signals? I followed the manual and the 'scan channels' doesn't show up? Any ideas?

Thanks,
Greg

Nope, can't scan! But I have it just fine, so you must have some weirdness going on. I suggest making sure that you have the latest software update (reboot, press the 0-2-4-6-8 buttons one at a time as soon as the blue ring lights appear), calling DirecTV, etc.

Brett

I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.
BrettStah is offline  
post #3349 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolaitguy View Post

I have DirecTV's HR20 and WDSU-DT doesn't show up (Searching for signal). Is there a way to scan for OTA signals? I followed the manual and the 'scan channels' doesn't show up? Any ideas?

Thanks,
Greg

Don't you love it.... no ability to scan. You have to take the maps that DirecTV sends you. So if it gets messed up you have to wait for them to fix the maps.
digiblur is offline  
post #3350 of 8227 Old 09-11-2007, 09:57 PM
Newbie
 
nolaitguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettStah View Post

Nope, can't scan! But I have it just fine, so you must have some weirdness going on. I suggest making sure that you have the latest software update (reboot, press the 0-2-4-6-8 buttons one at a time as soon as the blue ring lights appear), calling DirecTV, etc.

Fixed it . . . downloaded new software, WDSU works again. Thanks
nolaitguy is offline  
post #3351 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 07:26 AM
Member
 
bdwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kenner, LA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone with DirecTV notice that Fox's HD feed is now available?
bdwill is offline  
post #3352 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
TiVoFishMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One half mile due west of the Abita Brewery
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TiVoFishMan is offline  
post #3353 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 08:35 AM
Member
 
bdwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kenner, LA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Excellent! I have the new threads from this discussion e-mailed to me everyday and didn't even notice that from a few days ago.

Just to throw my 2 cents into the 4 day old discussion...OTA looks a little sharper than D*. Finally getting Fox thru D* will further allow me to procrastinate taking the radio shack antenna out of my living room and moving it upstairs into the attic.
bdwill is offline  
post #3354 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
OrleansDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngarre2 View Post

Fox 8 is now HD on *D....no more need for an antenna wooohooo

I DID NOT SEE THIS

yesssss!!!!!!

Anybody know what happened? D* just sign them on or something?
OrleansDawg is offline  
post #3355 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
TiVoFishMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One half mile due west of the Abita Brewery
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrleansDawg View Post

I DID NOT SEE THIS

yesssss!!!!!!

Anybody know what happened? D* just sign them on or something?

Yes, D* just recently arrived at a re-transmission agreement with FOX8.

The details of retransmission agreements and information about what transpired in the negotiations are always closely held secrets.

I have a guess as to why it took so long, but I could be way off: FOX8's owner, Emmis Communications, which once owned dozens of TV stations, is in the process of divesting themseves of TV stations. Only two remain to be sold, FOX8 and a station in Honolulu (the CBS affiliate there, IIRC). I suspect that since Emmis is trying to sell FOX8, holding re-transmission negotiations was simply a low priority for them.

To Emmis' credit however, they've by no means financially or technologically neglected the station while they've been trying to sell it. FOX8 was by a long margin the first station in New Orleans to broadcast their news in HD (a really expensive upgrade, to say the least) and they've been aggressive in obtaining the highest rated syndicated shows (Jepordy, Wheel of Fortune, People's Court, etc.)
TiVoFishMan is offline  
post #3356 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
sore_bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm getting 99 signal on 103(b) xp11! D10 is in position and transmitting. Bring on the new HD channels!
sore_bluto is offline  
post #3357 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
tedgodfrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But my main problem with D-TV is that when you call a CR you go to some place other then here in the USA and they can not even speak english.. WTF!!!!!!
tedgodfrey is offline  
post #3358 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 04:59 PM
sjv
AVS Special Member
 
sjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Orleans' North Shore-beautiful St. Tammany Parish LA
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgodfrey View Post

But my main problem with D-TV is that when you call a CR you go to some place other then here in the USA and they can not even speak english.. WTF!!!!!!

Get used to that, buddy! I've been talking to someone in India or the Phillipines for years with Dell and a lot of other "major" companies.
sjv is offline  
post #3359 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Tiger Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Metairie
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sore_bluto View Post

I'm getting 99 signal on 103(b) xp11! D10 is in position and transmitting. Bring on the new HD channels!

Yep! This is what we've all been waiting for. I can't stand the anticipation any longer.
Tiger Tony is offline  
post #3360 of 8227 Old 09-12-2007, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
sore_bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check out this page at directv.com:
http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global...setId=P4360042
sore_bluto is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off