Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 03:48 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is ABC's feed up? I am looking on 33-1, 33-2 and not finding anything. Of course, I don't have the right antenna.

Was using the Silver Sensor hoping to pick it up. I am able to pick up all channels with it so far.
Is it available right now to test??

Thanks,
kwatson1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
try to tune in 5-1. That is the "native" channel.
bhambrad is offline  
post #303 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 05:30 PM
Member
 
danog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The silver sensor is UHF only and you'll need VHF.
danog is offline  
post #304 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by danog
The silver sensor is UHF only and you'll need VHF.

Good point. I didn't pick up on that. Doh!
bhambrad is offline  
post #305 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I went to Rat Shack and bought a combo-VHF/UHF antenna to connect to my Radio Shack pre-amp (just to see if I could pull ABC in since my CM 4228 saw nothing). With my CM 4228 and pre-amp, I have been able to pick up all B'ham stations including Fox with few dropouts. When I connected the Rat Shack antenna to the preamp, I was able to get a signal for ABC, but only at 5%. I moved that sucker everywhere. I disconnected the preamp and was able to get 21% in a spot, but that was it. I have a CM 7777 preamp being delivered tomorrow. What suggestions do you guys have for me to try with regards to another antenna (which one should I get)? I think it odd that I can get all of the UHF stations and can get hardly any signal on a VHF which supposedly travels farther and is easier to receive.

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #306 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Scottie367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bham, AL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I saw that it was documented, but I'm still not getting sound on 33-2. Other than that, I'm getting a pretty solid signal in the Highland Lakes Subdivision, which is pretty amazing since I'm "behind" Double Oak Mountain.

-SM
Scottie367 is offline  
post #307 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have not got the sd audio fixed yet. I get the signal at 84 miles away but the signal pixelates some. I think I may have ghosting problems . I may need a better vhf antenna. A sony hd 300 might help but my wife would kill me.
bearmur is offline  
post #308 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:04 PM
Member
 
chill903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scottie, keep us posted on your ability to get signal... I live down the mountain (in the Narrows) farther away, and I'm curious what kind of HDTV signals I'll get when I decide to pull the trigger on a new home theater system.

Even my wife loves HD.
chill903 is offline  
post #309 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:07 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
need a good cheap VHF antenna recommendation.

I am able to pull all UHF witht the silver sensor. I have another Radio shack antenna laying around but thin it is UHF only as well.

Thanks.
kwatson1 is offline  
post #310 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by bearmur
We have not got the sd audio fixed yet. I get the signal at 84 miles away but the signal pixelates some. I think I may have ghosting problems . I may need a better vhf antenna. A sony hd 300 might help but my wife would kill me.

bearmur....

I have a Zenith 520 for sale!

84 miles away - that is awesome!
bhambrad is offline  
post #311 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by kwatson1
need a good cheap VHF antenna recommendation.

I am able to pull all UHF witht the silver sensor. I have another Radio shack antenna laying around but thin it is UHF only as well.

Thanks.

Channel Master 2001 is under $30 via the web. Works well.
bhambrad is offline  
post #312 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brad

How is the combiner working out?

Going to order the 2001 ant this week.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #313 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:18 PM
Member
 
paul9290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

To partially answer for him, in Anne Arundel County we have the choice of Millennium or Comcast. My own choice to continue to stick with Millennium even while they haven't offered HD until now is because Millennium is a small company with responsive employees who offer good customer service. The channel offerings (again, leaving HD out of the equation) are pretty much identical, yet a digital cable package with Millennium's full channel offerings including all premium channels PLUS cable modem service is about $110 month - about $50 cheaper than Comcast. But even if the price was higher for Millennium, I still would not go with Comcast because of their HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE customer service, the *3* different occasions over the last four years that they have ripped up my Millennium feed because "someone" told them that I wanted Comcast (the same thing has happened to my neighbor twice) and the weekly sales calls that went on for months despite repeatedly telling them to put me on their do-not-call list. They only stopped after complaints to the FCC and Anne Arundel Cable Commisioner.

So if Millennium is only rolling out 4 channels at launch of their HD service, that's fine with me.

-A



Hmmm....I guess people have different experiences, for I am satisfied with the service and cost of service. They bugged me about signing up, but I would just hang up on them(Comcast). Though one day for whatever reason(My DTV subscription was about to end..could have been the factor) I decided to hear their offer and it was too sweet to pass up. Same service you stated but for a whole lot less....Though when they hike it up beyond $110 I'll go elsewhere....Cheers, Paul
paul9290 is offline  
post #314 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 07:19 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks brad..

but I'd rather not have to install an outdoor or attic antenna for 1 VHF channel when all the UHF channels come in perfectly with an indoor antenna. Will maybe have to try some of the radioshack indoors.. dunno.
kwatson1 is offline  
post #315 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
bearmur....

What are the chances of changing the sidebars to black? I can't speak for everyone else but I really like black.
bhambrad is offline  
post #316 of 4667 Old 04-12-2004, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by David Richardson
Brad

How is the combiner working out?

Going to order the 2001 ant this week.

Dave

Works great! Thanks again David!

I really like the CM 2001 - it is so much easier to move than the big RS antenna I have and it actually looks cool. The huge RS antenna barely got a signal. I actually get a much better signal with FOX now with the combiner hooked up. I am very sold on CM pre-amps, combiners and antennas - they make a huge difference.

Much thanks for the help David!

Brad
bhambrad is offline  
post #317 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Scottie367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bham, AL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chill903
Scottie, keep us posted on your ability to get signal... I live down the mountain (in the Narrows) farther away, and I'm curious what kind of HDTV signals I'll get when I decide to pull the trigger on a new home theater system.

I certainly will. I am getting almost no dropouts, maybe a slight blip in the sound every 10 minutes or so. I have very small RS UHF Yagi in the front landscape (Highland Lakes just loves that ya know) and just combined in via my CM 7777 amp a verrryyy old Terk t50 antenna that I had in the garage and bam, got the signal. I'm now getting a very solid signal on all digital channels in the b'ham market except the dreaded Fox, which I get zilch on. I will say that I recently went to the Hughes HTL-HD receiver, mainly because of the reviews I had heard on it's ability to overcome ghosting, which at this point, I would agree with. I previously had a Sammy TS160, which I definately do not like now that I have seen the alternative.

-SM
Scottie367 is offline  
post #318 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
auburn97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


ABC 33-1 and 33-2 being received in Tuscaloosa with 90-95 signal strength! I have an older Radio Shack VHF/UHF combo antenna with a Channel Master preamp, pointed towards Red Mountain, and get great signals for CBS, NBC, PBS and UPN. WB comes and goes. Now if FOX 6 would just increase their power!

Hartwise-
I am unable to get any PBS signal and only a marginal NBC signal where I live in Tuscaloosa- is your antenna on a rotor? I have a CM4228 in my attic positioned at 70 deg. What type of CM preamp you have? My CM4228 is connected to a CM7777. I want to add a small antenna (rabbit ears, etc.) in the attic for VHF reception.
I figure I can combine the UHF and VHF antennas at the 7777.
auburn97 is offline  
post #319 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 02:46 PM
Member
 
hartwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by auburn97
Hartwise-
I am unable to get any PBS signal and only a marginal NBC signal where I live in Tuscaloosa- is your antenna on a rotor? I have a CM4228 in my attic positioned at 70 deg. What type of CM preamp you have? My CM4228 is connected to a CM7777. I want to add a small antenna (rabbit ears, etc.) in the attic for VHF reception.
I figure I can combine the UHF and VHF antennas at the 7777.

My antenna is outside on a rotor but I never move it. I tried a CM4228 outside but was unable to get NBC or PBS with it so I went back to my old antenna in a new position closer to the ground and get them great. I also have a Channel Master 7777 preamp. I would think a small antenna combined with the 4228 and the 7777 would easily get you ABC 33-1 but I think a good yagi antenna is probably needed for NBC and PBS. If you'd like to talk more about this email me at:

hartwise@comcast.net
hartwise is offline  
post #320 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD 5.1 is on now, when ABC is broadcasting in hd. Right now it is a manual switch so be patient with our operators as they learn. Harris made our automation and they can not find anyone that can program it to switch the hd yet.
bearmur is offline  
post #321 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will there be anyone in the control room on the weekends to flip the switch? If they forget, is there a number that we should call to remind them?

Thanks!

Tim

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #322 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes.
bearmur is offline  
post #323 of 4667 Old 04-13-2004, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD on ABC looks great, but I'm only getting DD 2.0 (not 5.1). Anyone else getting 2.0?

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #324 of 4667 Old 04-14-2004, 08:11 AM
Member
 
teverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pelham, AL
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not getting anything on 5 or 33. Guess I have to go antenna shopping.
teverson is offline  
post #325 of 4667 Old 04-15-2004, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
SteveHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pelham AL
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bearmur,
Are they at a point where 5.1 is going to be up on a regular schedule so that we can start aiming antennas, buying new ones, adding preamps, fussin' and cussin' trying to get all the channels on at the same time? I'd hate to spend time aiming a hot attic antenna only to discover that ABC is not even on the air.
Strangely though Iv'e begun to receive Fox - they must have cranked it up a bit.
SteveHorn is offline  
post #326 of 4667 Old 04-15-2004, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 5 (33-1,33-2) is on full time 24-7.
bearmur is offline  
post #327 of 4667 Old 04-15-2004, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Broadband LabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On 33-01, I noticed tonight on Stephen King's Kingdom Hospital that the audio was just a tiny bit behind the video... very small amount but sometimes noticeable... checked it on all the other local digitals to rule out my equipment, and all others appeared perfect...

Signal strength is excellent in Pelham (36 miles away) with a small vhf/uhf rat shack antenna and cm 7777 at 50'...
Broadband LabRat is offline  
post #328 of 4667 Old 04-15-2004, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
athensresident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm located in Athens, Alabama about 92 miles from the Channel 5 transmitter. Given the directional signal of ABC 3340, what are the chances of me pulling it in? The local Huntsville ABC affiliate has no plans to pass HDTV at any time in the near future. What kind of antenna might get it? Of all of the B'ham analog channels, 33 comes in the best. I get WIAT-DT fairly regulaly at night with a 8 bay CM UHF antenna. Also, when will the channel 9 tower (anniston) go on?
athensresident is offline  
post #329 of 4667 Old 04-16-2004, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Broadband LabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe bearmur posted that channel 5's coverage was calculated to be slightly better than 33.

My experience with 5 is that it's easier to receive a strong signal from 5 than on 33. IMO, if you receive 33 at all, then 5 should work fine for you as well.

If you have a vhf antenna, why not point it at 5, hook up a good mast mounted preamp, and give it a try???

Cheers,
Broadband LabRat is offline  
post #330 of 4667 Old 04-16-2004, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Jambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hoover, AL
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone done an attic mount south of town and getting good reception. I'm in Riverchase and was going to try the CM 2001 route just to see what I could get, but my house is north-facing, with 33/40's tower soutwest of me and the other towers to my north.

Also, in light of the fact that I don't seem to have a top-to-bottom floor chase in the house, does anyone have suggestions on getting the coax from the attic to the basement where the Leviton distribution panel is?

Thx,
Jamie
Jambo is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off