Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 4728 Old 04-24-2004, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an error on that page, though. The title for the Specs Table says "7775" but the specs are really for the 7777.
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 4728 Old 04-24-2004, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are waiting on the FCC for a CP. We can not even buy any more equipment until we get a CP from the FCC.
bearmur is offline  
post #423 of 4728 Old 04-25-2004, 03:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought one of these VHF only antennas this week from Warren Electronics:

http://www.warrenelectronics.com/antennas/hd4053p.htm

After comparing specs between Channel Master, Antenna Craft, and Winegard I selected the HD series. There is a less expensive line that has very close specs, but I paid the extra for the HD series, thinking it was likely built better. I put it up Friday and it is really a nice antenna.
hjones is offline  
post #424 of 4728 Old 04-25-2004, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
SteveHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pelham AL
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arxaw, thanks for the Warren antenna link - that looks like they'll have what I need. I already have a pre-amp (CM Spartan 3 - dual 300 ohm inputs) that I got Fri. from Forbes.
SteveHorn is offline  
post #425 of 4728 Old 04-25-2004, 08:12 PM
Member
 
hartwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While watching "The Practice" in HD tonight on 33-1 (which looked GREAT by the way) I totally lost the signal with about 10 minutes left in the show. Anyone know what happened to the signal? I was getting 90-95% and then nothing! I was hoping it would be back when the news came on at 10:00 but I'm still getting no signal. I hope this isn't a major problem.
hartwise is offline  
post #426 of 4728 Old 04-28-2004, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
SteveHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pelham AL
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know whether NBC is going to carry the KY derby Sat. in HD? TitanTV lists it as NON-HD, but I can't imagine why they wouldn't broadcast it in HD.
SteveHorn is offline  
post #427 of 4728 Old 04-28-2004, 08:30 PM
Member
 
hartwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw a Kentucky Derby promo tonight during The West Wing which said it would be available in High Definition.
hartwise is offline  
post #428 of 4728 Old 04-28-2004, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just curious to the Bham Voomers....

1. Can you pick up ABC and NBC via antenna on Voom? What other channels?
2. How is the sat signal?
3. How do you like the service?

Voom has just added ESPN HD and it looks like it may be time to support them. I would like to know the experiences with Voom locally.

Thanks
Brad
bhambrad is offline  
post #429 of 4728 Old 04-29-2004, 07:21 AM
Member
 
sledford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if any of you all had seen this or even if it's ok to post a link to an advocate site, but Dish is sponsoring a web site to be a consumer conduit to Congress and local newspapers to push the big carriers into passing their HDTV broadcast signals to the satellite providers. It is as follows:

www.iwantmyhdtv.com

I point it out because I think for the vast majority of us, receiving Fox will never be a reality, and the thought of not getting HD NFL broadcasts next year almost has me in tears! :-(
sledford is offline  
post #430 of 4728 Old 04-29-2004, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
SteveHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pelham AL
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hartwise, thanks - I saw the same promo. I guess you can't believe everything that titantv posts.

Steve
SteveHorn is offline  
post #431 of 4728 Old 04-30-2004, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the latest on WB in HD....

WB in HD will be available in the next few months. Thank you for your interest.

Engineering


Quoting tlove@uab.edu:

>
> Market: WTTO
> Name: Tim Love
> Phone: 934-8721
> Email: tlove@uab.edu
> Comment: When do you plan on pushing the HD signal on HD programs >on digital channel 28? Originally, it was slated for end of 2003 or
> first of 2004. There are a lot of viewers that want their WB in HD.
> THANKS SO MUCH!
>
> Tim

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #432 of 4728 Old 05-01-2004, 05:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by sledford
... I think for the vast majority of us, receiving Fox will never be a reality, and the thought of not getting HD NFL broadcasts next year almost has me in tears! :-(

FOX-HD network will be on DirecTV in all FOX Owned & Operated (O&O) station markets. It may also be available on some cable systems in O&O markets.

If you live in a non-O&O area, you can get FOX-HD & CBS-HD on DirecTV by uh, "moving" your service address (not your billing address) to a white area. See DBSForums.com for info on "moving" to a white area.

[edited to correct URL ..... sorry 'bout that]
arxaw is offline  
post #433 of 4728 Old 05-01-2004, 02:16 PM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that site tells me nothing
rkr0923 is offline  
post #434 of 4728 Old 05-01-2004, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He meant http://www.dbsforums.com/

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #435 of 4728 Old 05-03-2004, 02:06 PM
Member
 
sledford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you live in a non-O&O area, you can get FOX-HD & CBS-HD on DirecTV by uh, "moving" your service address (not your billing address) to a white area. See DBSForums.com for info on "moving" to a white area.

arxaw, while using that technique may "work" why not just do the simple thing and let the lawmakers know to change an otherwise stupid law and break down the barrier of passing HD feeds for broadcast carriers? A little bit of time spent could reap a long time benefit that as taxpayers and HD enthusiasts we rightly deserve.

Just do it!
sledford is offline  
post #436 of 4728 Old 05-04-2004, 06:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did both.
arxaw is offline  
post #437 of 4728 Old 05-04-2004, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
kyler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Shelby County, AL
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just entered into the fabulous world of HDTV with my new HR10-250 HDTIVO. I am a little confused, is ABC 33/40 broadcasting in High Def? They are not listed on Titan TV as being High Def. I will be installing my HDTIVO and an over the air antenna on wednesday so I was curious what to expect. Is there a better place for us Birmingham people to find updated programming info. Thanks for any help you can give me, Kyle
kyler3 is offline  
post #438 of 4728 Old 05-04-2004, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Kyle...

Where did you find a tivo????
bhambrad is offline  
post #439 of 4728 Old 05-04-2004, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
kyler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Shelby County, AL
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine from Weak knees online. It came today. Rapid Satellite in Miami may have some more in stock too.
kyler3 is offline  
post #440 of 4728 Old 05-05-2004, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Broadband LabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by kyler3
I am a little confused, is ABC 33/40 broadcasting in High Def? They are not listed on Titan TV as being High Def.

Yes, ABC is transmitting HD on channel 5.1 when the network material is in HD. The switch to HD is done manually in their studio, and sometimes they forget to switch it... like Sunday on "Unbreakable". I called the newsroom and asked them to tell the MCR to flip the switch. The nice girl who answered said they were not transmitting in HD yet. I assured her that they were, and she promised to tell the MCR. Two minutes later, the program switched to HD.

I also noticed that Titan TV does not yet show what's in HD on ABC 5.1.

This link will help you see what shows are in HD.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=164671

Cheers,
Broadband LabRat is offline  
post #441 of 4728 Old 05-05-2004, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
kyler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Shelby County, AL
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the info, Kyle
kyler3 is offline  
post #442 of 4728 Old 05-06-2004, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Jambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hoover, AL
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else want to chime in before I start randomly calling?

Quote:


Originally posted by Jambo

...does anyone have the name of a trustworthy D* installed here in town?
...

Thanks!
Jamie

Jambo is offline  
post #443 of 4728 Old 05-06-2004, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK, I will start by saying that I'm a fairly new resident of B'ham and Charter has the best(SD) cable I have ever had, but I am really frustrated with the lack of HD locals! Since all they need is an antenna to receive the signal, why don't we have CBS, ABC, etc. yet? Also, other Charter markets have HDNet and it's listed on their website- why not us? And, while we are at it- where is that HD DVR?

I am thinking about going back to D* (which I had when living in Florida), but I am concerned about the antenna thing. Anyone using an antenna in The Cove/Greystone Farms/Mount Laurel area on the downside of the mountain? I back up to the mountain and I doubt I'll get a signal, but I would be willing to try D* or VOOM if I can get the local signals with an antenna.

Also, I checked on the D* website and put my address in and it says I'm eligible for distant local CBS service? Anyone getting CBS HD via D* in my area? If that's a mistake, what can I do to get CBS HD if I really can't recieve a signal via antenna?

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #444 of 4728 Old 05-06-2004, 08:51 PM
Member
 
danog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats up with NBC tonight? Leno in SD?
danog is offline  
post #445 of 4728 Old 05-06-2004, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
larrimore

We have several customers in your area. An attic antenna works great. My favorite Channel master 4228 for PBS, NBC, UPN, WB, CBS. Since ABC (VHF) just came on line I haven't added any antennas for that as it would be more or less in a north west direction.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #446 of 4728 Old 05-06-2004, 10:55 PM
Newbie
 
mikebmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Homewood, Al
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, i currently live in Homewood and am preparing to upgrade to HDTV (finally). I was hoping someone could recommend a good indoor antenna for my location (if there is one). I would really like to pick up the HD signals being broadcast, especially since Charter offers so few channels. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Mike
mikebmitchell is offline  
post #447 of 4728 Old 05-07-2004, 06:42 AM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in Crestwood and using the famous Zenith Silver Sensor. I get all channels available, even FOX.

Currently, I don't get ABC because it is VHF and the Silver Sensor is UHF only. You may want to fiddle with some of the Radioshack UHF/VHF antennas, they may get everything for you including ABC.
kwatson1 is offline  
post #448 of 4728 Old 05-07-2004, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
mikebmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Homewood, Al
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One other question. What type of STB do I need to connect to the antenna? Thanks again,

Mike
mikebmitchell is offline  
post #449 of 4728 Old 05-07-2004, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vpn75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I am getting Charter's HD service installed on Monday and I was wondering what others thought of it. I understand they don't have a great lineup currently, but for $3/month I can live with it. I'm mainly interested in ESPN-HD and the local channels for shows like 24 and Alias.

Also, I am hoping to use DVI to connect to my TV. Is this possible with the STB Charter provides? I purchased a DVI capable in anticipation that they would not provide one. I have 2 component inputs on my TV, but they are currently being used by my XBOX and DVD player. I'd rather not have to swap out capables.

PSN/XBOX Live: Destro75
BattleNet Tag: BaronessMD#1680

Steam: vpnath

Gaming PC: i7 3770K OC 4.2Ghz, 16GB RAM, EVGA GTX 670 FTW Dual-SLI

vpn75 is online now  
post #450 of 4728 Old 05-07-2004, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mikebmitchell
... What type of STB do I need to connect to the antenna?

An OverTheAir (OTA) STB. See the STB Synopsis thread here. In that thread, scroll down to the Over The Air DTV/HDTV STBs. You can order one online or buy one locally at Sears, Circuit City, Best Buy, etc.
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off