Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4471 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 05:55 AM
Newbie
 
whizbang75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am paying for expanded basic. Should I be getting ESPNHD and ESPN2HD ??
I would subscribe to a reasonable HD package if there was a way to use my TV's QAM tuner without a set top box. I totally detest set top boxes of any ilk. If I have to have one I'll look at satellite services carefully.
whizbang75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4472 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizbang75 View Post

I am paying for expanded basic. Should I be getting ESPNHD and ESPN2HD ??
I would subscribe to a reasonable HD package if there was a way to use my TV's QAM tuner without a set top box. I totally detest set top boxes of any ilk. If I have to have one I'll look at satellite services carefully.

Yes you should, but since Charter is worried about your neighbor with basic cable watching ESPNHD on his 13" CRT you can't get the channels you're paying for without a STB.
shaddix is offline  
post #4473 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I thought the whole deal with putting QAM tuners in new televisions was to help eliminate the need for proprietary cable boxes... or am I thinking of a cablecard?
Tom Servo is offline  
post #4474 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo View Post

I thought the whole deal with putting QAM tuners in new televisions was to help eliminate the need for proprietary cable boxes... or am I thinking of a cablecard?

You are thinking of cablecard, QAM is still analog signal.
shaddix is offline  
post #4475 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
whizbang75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just stopped by an Authorized Charter Retailer to look at their cable box so I can compare to the satellite receivers.
The girl out front didn't know what a set top box was and went to the back to ask a "tech". She came back and asked where I got that term.
That's when I left without further conversation.
whizbang75 is offline  
post #4476 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 10:46 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man, if only Brighthouse had espn3 I could finally cancel cable and just go OTA + this:

Microsoft signed a deal with ESPN to bring ESPN to the Xbox. You get 3500 live sporting events, with most in HD.
digduggler is offline  
post #4477 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 10:52 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizbang75 View Post

This morning's Bham News has a notice from Brighthouse that frequencies are changing for HD channels, including ESPN and ESPN2, for customers WITHOUT SET TOP BOXES who use QAM tuners.
Why Brighthouse but not Charter ?

Whoa, from what I understood these were not in the clear. Does anyone know the new frequencies? I don't get the paper and can't find it on al.com. Are they in the clear?
digduggler is offline  
post #4478 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
whizbang75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OOPS! May be my bad.
Dug in the garbage and the paper I found does not mention ESPN. Not the notice I was looking for so I may have mis-remembered.
This notice lists all the local channels for customers with digital-ready TVs and QAM tuners but without cable boxes.
Back to the drawing board.
whizbang75 is offline  
post #4479 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

Yes I have a box for now for the World Cup, but it won't be too long.
My costs ended up actually being lower for me with the box(-$5), so now Charter has the cost overhead of maintaining this CPE as well as receiving less money from the customer(and even less once Dish gets out here). A double whammy against Charter, because "customers shouldn't get free channels".

I'm confused. Are you saying that people who aren't paying for a service should get it for free?
AJR_ is offline  
post #4480 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizbang75 View Post

I would subscribe to a reasonable HD package if there was a way to use my TV's QAM tuner without a set top box.

There is. It is called Cable Card.

As long as your TV supports Cable Card, you can get encrypted HD programming from cable providers. There is no set-top needed. Although you will have to pay a rental fee for the Cable Card.
AJR_ is offline  
post #4481 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

You are thinking of cablecard, QAM is still analog signal.

The QAM modulation scheme used by cable providers is digital.

I'll include the URL to a Wikipedia article on QAM in my next post. (I haven't passed the tree post minimum yet, so I can't include links.)
AJR_ is offline  
post #4482 of 4664 Old 06-15-2010, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AJR_ is offline  
post #4483 of 4664 Old 06-16-2010, 09:15 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJR_ View Post

There is. It is called Cable Card.

As long as your TV supports Cable Card, you can get encrypted HD programming from cable providers. There is no set-top needed. Although you will have to pay a rental fee for the Cable Card.

Perhaps things have gotten better but on Brighthouse getting the cablecard properly working was a nightmare for me, so much so that I ended up canceling and just going to analog. It went out constantly and the resolution every time from support was a truck roll (requiring me to leave work) and almost every single time the issue was at the head end. And since I've left they have gone to SDV requiring a tuning adapter in addition to the cable card(I still know someone who has it and deals with the headaches).

Supposedly Charter is much much better (and no SDV).
digduggler is offline  
post #4484 of 4664 Old 06-17-2010, 01:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shaddix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJR_ View Post

I'm confused. Are you saying that people who aren't paying for a service should get it for free?

Reread what I wrote. If people who are paying for services won't get them unless a negligible amount of people who aren't paying get them for free, then yes those people should get them for free.
Dwight Schrute described Charter's position the best when he said "Better a thousand innocent men are locked up than one guilty man roam free."

You aren't Umatter2Charter are you?
shaddix is offline  
post #4485 of 4664 Old 06-17-2010, 06:12 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tracked down that Bham news, for those interested starting July 14th the new QAM channels for Brighthouse will be:

WPXH ION HD 80-1
WTTO-HD 80-2
FOX HD 81-1
WCFT HD 81-2
WABM-HD 82-1
WIAT-HD 82-2
PBS HD 83-1
WVTM HD (NBC) 83-2
WUOA-HD 85-1
digduggler is offline  
post #4486 of 4664 Old 06-17-2010, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

Reread what I wrote. If people who are paying for services won't get them unless a negligible amount of people who aren't paying get them for free, then yes those people should get them for free.

But we don't know if expanded basic subscribers were ever supposed to get ESPN HD & ESPN 2 HD unencrypted in the first place. The carriage agreement between Charter and ESPN is private.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

You aren't Umatter2Charter are you?

No, I'm a Charter cable subscriber in Calera, AL.
AJR_ is offline  
post #4487 of 4664 Old 06-17-2010, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
AJR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digduggler View Post

Supposedly Charter is much much better...

I doubt it.
AJR_ is offline  
post #4488 of 4664 Old 07-14-2010, 06:54 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brighthouse QAM have moved today (although curiously ABC did not for me)
digduggler is offline  
post #4489 of 4664 Old 07-17-2010, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Smacky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hoover Alabama
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would some one else with Charter cable please look and see if your Speed HD is working? Mines been out all day.

Xbox Live ID Slick Tide 1

PS3 ID SlickTide1
Smacky is offline  
post #4490 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm able to get some of the Birmingham locals from my house in Wetumpka with a Winegard HD8200. (only at night and early morning) My strongest signals are Fox 6, 68-1 and 13-1. However, last night I got Fox 6 on 6-1 and 50-1. I know the frequency is 50 and the virtual is 6-1 but it showed up on both channels. Did something change to Fox 6? Are they now airing on two channels?

Also, the Winegard has a 100 mile range and is rated for channels 2-69 but I can't get ABC 33/40, ION or WUOA. Are those lower power or harder to get signals?

Thanks!
jtrippe is offline  
post #4491 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
4bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Clay County, Alabama
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post

I'm able to get some of the Birmingham locals from my house in Wetumpka with a Winegard HD8200. (only at night and early morning) My strongest signals are Fox 6, 68-1 and 13-1. However, last night I got Fox 6 on 6-1 and 50-1. I know the frequency is 50 and the virtual is 6-1 but it showed up on both channels. Did something change to Fox 6? Are they now airing on two channels?

Also, the Winegard has a 100 mile range and is rated for channels 2-69 but I can't get ABC 33/40, ION or WUOA. Are those lower power or harder to get signals?

Thanks!

I have the same antenna (and a Channel Master 7777 preamp) on a tower with a rotor...the ABC 33 transmitter is not on Red Mountain, but is more towards Tuscaloosa (as is WUOA), and the ABC 40 transmitter is in the Anniston/Oxford area.

If you can't rotor to those directions it's unlikely you will be able to receive them..

Dish 622 DVR, B'ham locals via Dish, Montgomery locals OTA, Winegard on 70' tower + CM7777 preamp
4bama is offline  
post #4492 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post

I'm able to get some of the Birmingham locals from my house in Wetumpka with a Winegard HD8200. (only at night and early morning) My strongest signals are Fox 6, 68-1 and 13-1. However, last night I got Fox 6 on 6-1 and 50-1. I know the frequency is 50 and the virtual is 6-1 but it showed up on both channels. Did something change to Fox 6? Are they now airing on two channels?

Also, the Winegard has a 100 mile range and is rated for channels 2-69 but I can't get ABC 33/40, ION or WUOA. Are those lower power or harder to get signals?

Thanks!

The VHF low channels are notoriously hard to get, which may explain your lack of WUOA on RF channel 6. They're broadcasting from Red Mountain, though, like some of the other major TV stations.

ABC 33/40's two transmitter sites are well out of the immediate area. The Tuscaloosa site switched from RF 5 to RF 33 to get off VHF low due to reception issues. But being so far out of the area I doubt you'll ever see anything from it (I live in central Mississippi and have gotten it on skip, though, so anything is possible.) The east Alabama transmitter site is in St Clair County on RF 9.

The ION affiliate, WPXH, broadcasts on RF channel 45 from a site near Oneonta, up around Highland Lake. Their coverage area barely reaches Columbiana, so it's definitely a long shot from Wetumpka.

As for Fox 6 showing up on two channels, my TV (a Sony) is bad about doing that on weak stations. Sometimes it will fail to map it to the correct virtual channel at all.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #4493 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone heard anything on ABC 33/40 doing local news in hd???

Any plans for WTTO 21 showing syndicated programs in hd??
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #4494 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses. I may try a rotor. I can get ABC and WUOA on rre occassions. Tonight the rest of the signals are really booming though. Fox 6 is around 90% and the rest are upper 70's. The antenna is in the attic so I bet I could get much better results outside.
jtrippe is offline  
post #4495 of 4664 Old 08-17-2010, 07:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddix View Post

You are thinking of cablecard, QAM is still analog signal.

?

QAM is digital modulation.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4496 of 4664 Old 08-20-2010, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
slowmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bham, AL
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Traditionally, 33 HD has always been a holy grail of sorts for me in that I could not register any signal at all regardless of tuners tried. When they boosted their VHF signal after the initial conversion date, I was finally able to receive & watch the channels but with some sporadic tiling.

I anxiously awaited their switch to UHF assuming that I would easily get that signal given my recent experience with the boosted VHF signal and the perception that UHF is preferable for long distances.

However since they switched to UHF, I've been unable to get any signal at all. I suspect I'm getting interference from CBS and WABM given that those broadcasts are on 30.1 and 36.1 and that I'm very near Red Mtn with the Tuscaloosa towers only 30 degrees apart directionally.

Meanwhile, I can get ABC 40's VHF signal if I rotate my UHF 8-bay towards that direction but I then get some tiling / instability on the Red Mtn broadcasts.

I've given up on ABC. It really doesn't have anything worthwhile to watch anyway.
slowmo is offline  
post #4497 of 4664 Old 08-20-2010, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
4bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Clay County, Alabama
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowmo View Post

Traditionally, 33 HD has always been a holy grail of sorts for me in that I could not register any signal at all regardless of tuners tried. When they boosted their VHF signal after the initial conversion date, I was finally able to receive & watch the channels but with some sporadic tiling.

I anxiously awaited their switch to UHF assuming that I would easily get that signal given my recent experience with the boosted VHF signal and the perception that UHF is preferable for long distances.

However since they switched to UHF, I've been unable to get any signal at all. I suspect I'm getting interference from CBS and WABM given that those broadcasts are on 30.1 and 36.1 and that I'm very near Red Mtn with the Tuscaloosa towers only 30 degrees apart directionally.

Meanwhile, I can get ABC 40's VHF signal if I rotate my UHF 8-bay towards that direction but I then get some tiling / instability on the Red Mtn broadcasts.

I've given up on ABC. It really doesn't have anything worthwhile to watch anyway.

VHF frequencies will travel much further and bend better over mountains and other obstacles than UHF frequencies...the lower the frequency the better the reception, if transmitter power is about the same. You do need a good VHF/UHF combination antenna...UHF-only antennas will not provide a strong signal from VHF channels.

Back in the early days of broadcast TV even the lower channel VHF frequencies were coveted by all TV stations....Channel 2 would reach much farther than channel 13... then along came UHF...channels 14 and up will not reach as far as any VHF channel, give equal amounts of power. VHF will also "skip" better than UHF.

Dish 622 DVR, B'ham locals via Dish, Montgomery locals OTA, Winegard on 70' tower + CM7777 preamp
4bama is offline  
post #4498 of 4664 Old 08-24-2010, 08:17 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's probably all contracting publicity, but ESPN's agreement with Brighthouse ends on Sept 2nd and they still haven't worked out a deal. It's possible Brighthouse won't have ESPN for the beginning of football season If they lose ESPN for any extended period of time I will cancel in a heartbeat.
digduggler is offline  
post #4499 of 4664 Old 08-26-2010, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I saw this in the Huntsville thread so I thought I'd repost it here. APT is reporting that they are going to upgrade their facilities so they can record and playback HD programming.

This means more HD for us and hopefully an end to the sometimes weirdly distorted pictures we've had to put up with in the past. Yay!
Tom Servo is offline  
post #4500 of 4664 Old 08-30-2010, 07:38 AM
Member
 
digduggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet! Thanks for the update. Sometime watching their programming is painful.
digduggler is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off