Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 4670 Old 05-08-2004, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC guide showed up on D* but not on 52.1 but on 52 analog?
bearmur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 4670 Old 05-08-2004, 09:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bearmur
NBC guide showed up on D* but not on 52.1 but on 52 analog?

D* gets their guide info from Tribune Media Services. See the site below to contact them about listing errors.
http://www.zap2it.com/index/feedback
arxaw is offline  
post #453 of 4670 Old 05-08-2004, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Bullsteak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought an RCA UHF/VHF combo indoor amplified antenna (ANT200). Pulls in all HD channels except for ABC.

Are a lot of folks having trouble pulling in ABC or is it just me?
Bullsteak is offline  
post #454 of 4670 Old 05-08-2004, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
kyler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Shelby County, AL
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is not just you. I guess we will have to wait for some new antenna technology to get them all strong at the same time.
kyler3 is offline  
post #455 of 4670 Old 05-09-2004, 03:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Low power or distant stations are hard to receive with an indoor antenna.
arxaw is offline  
post #456 of 4670 Old 05-09-2004, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antennas have not really changed in 30 years. If you want good reception put up a good outside antenna. The new antennas are made by P.T. Barnum want-a-bes. They catch more people than signal.
bearmur is offline  
post #457 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did NBC go off the air again last night? I got no signal from them at all from around 7:00-10:00.

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #458 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xitter off no carrier.
bearmur is offline  
post #459 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
bearmur....

Any word if you guys will use black pillar bars instead of the gray? Black works better on my plasma and works better in the dark as well. I did the email comment and I sure others have as well but they are still gray.

Thanks
bhambrad is offline  
post #460 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We must need more e-mail comment. You and I may be the only ones complaining.
bearmur is offline  
post #461 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by bearmur
We must need more e-mail comment. You and I may be the only ones complaining.

LOL, Thanks - I will keep emailing!

Brad
bhambrad is offline  
post #462 of 4670 Old 05-10-2004, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I e-mailed them the last time you suggested we do that. Also, it would be nice to be able to get guide info soon.

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #463 of 4670 Old 05-11-2004, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
To answer the question on Charter HD offereings, be aware that the only locals up and running are 6 and 13. I have no idea why 42 is not on yet- we've had 6 and 13 for almost a year-but ABC just went live in the last month. All of the signals look OK, but certainly not the quality I used to get from OTA.

Anyone know what's up with channel 42 and Charter? I'm definitely leaving if we still cannot get CBS college football again this year. Last year, I was sick to go to Best Buy, Sears, etc. and see the SEC in HD, only to get home and still not have it although they were broadcasting it locally. After all, GEEZ, all they need is the stinking antenna they already have up to pull in the SD channel.

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #464 of 4670 Old 05-11-2004, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by larrimore
To answer the question on Charter HD offereings, be aware that the only locals up and running are 6 and 13. I have no idea why 42 is not on yet- we've had 6 and 13 for almost a year-but ABC just went live in the last month. All of the signals look OK, but certainly not the quality I used to get from OTA.

Anyone know what's up with channel 42 and Charter? I'm definitely leaving if we still cannot get CBS college football again this year. Last year, I was sick to go to Best Buy, Sears, etc. and see the SEC in HD, only to get home and still not have it although they were broadcasting it locally. After all, GEEZ, all they need is the stinking antenna they already have up to pull in the SD channel.

Try Directv or Voom. It really sucks that with cable you don't have an OTA option. Charter has the worst looking picture I have ever seen. Nothing beats OTA in my humble opinion.
bhambrad is offline  
post #465 of 4670 Old 05-11-2004, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I got home from work today to play with my new HD-TIVO (yes, Brad, it finally came in), and lo and behold, NBC is now mapped to 13-52 and there is a guide with HD info for the correct programs...just in time! Yesterday it was 52-1 and "Regular Schedule" that we've seen for two years. 52-1 is still there as well with no programming info. Anyone else seeing it?

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #466 of 4670 Old 05-11-2004, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yep - got 13-52 with programming and guide on my HDTivo as well. Can't tell if they fixed the PSIP clock, tho. It was way off (APT was also) when I was trying to record with the Samsung '165 and JVC DVHS deck. DirecTV provides the data for the HDTivo, so it is a non-issue for it.
hjones is offline  
post #467 of 4670 Old 05-11-2004, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the 13-52 but lost the 52-1.
bearmur is offline  
post #468 of 4670 Old 05-12-2004, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by vpn75
I am getting Charter's HD service installed on Monday and I was wondering what others thought of it. I understand they don't have a great lineup currently, but for $3/month I can live with it. I'm mainly interested in ESPN-HD and the local channels for shows like 24 and Alias.

Also, I am hoping to use DVI to connect to my TV. Is this possible with the STB Charter provides? I purchased a DVI capable in anticipation that they would not provide one. I have 2 component inputs on my TV, but they are currently being used by my XBOX and DVD player. I'd rather not have to swap out capables.

I just called about Charter HD in Homewood. I have basic digital now. They offer only four basic HDTV channels - ESPN, Discovery, NBC and Fox. There is also one Showtime and one HBO channel available if you subscribe to those premium packages. To upgrade, it would cost $14.99 for the HDTV kit (new box and cables); $50 for the install; and starting next week, a $6 per month charge.

I already have good OTA HDTV reception for NBC and Fox, not to mention CBS, which is lacking from Charter's basic lineup. I just can't see justifying the expense for two channels, especially since it's not college football season yet.

Ah well, I'll check back with them in September and see what's going on.
Kilroy is offline  
post #469 of 4670 Old 05-12-2004, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vpn75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I hope they are not raising the monthly charge. I just got it installed and they quoted me a $3/month charge for the service. I also paid $14.99 for the starter kit, but they didn't say anything about a $50 installation-fee. If they raise the subscription to $6/month, I may have to cancel until they get more of the local channels.

I am enjoying ESPN and Discovery channel though.

PSN/XBOX Live: Destro75
BattleNet Tag: BaronessMD#1680

Steam: vpnath

Gaming PC: i7 3770K OC 4.2Ghz, 16GB RAM, EVGA GTX 670 FTW Dual-SLI

vpn75 is offline  
post #470 of 4670 Old 05-12-2004, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tclove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now NBC is mapping to 13-1 (from 13-52 yesterday) with guide info still present....FINALLY!

Tim Love
tclove is offline  
post #471 of 4670 Old 05-12-2004, 07:13 PM
Member
 
fw_fw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Helena, AL
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by larrimore

Anyone know what's up with channel 42 and Charter? I'm definitely leaving if we still cannot get CBS college football again this year. Last year, I was sick to go to Best Buy, Sears, etc. and see the SEC in HD, only to get home and still not have it although they were broadcasting it locally. After all, GEEZ, all they need is the stinking antenna they already have up to pull in the SD channel.

I asked this specific question today to the Charter VP for Alabama when I was on the phone with him for another issue I had with Charter. He said that they were in negotiations with 42, however as often happens in these negotiations is that they are having differing opinions on how much CBS HD is worth. I expressed to him with SEC football season 3 months away that it really needs to get resolved. He agrees and is hopeful, but wouldn't guarantee CBS HD being available by then.

As for just using the "stinking antenna they already have", any rebroadcaster (cable or satellite) must have contracts in place to make any broadcast channels available, including local channels that are available over the air......

Play a real game...play pinball!!!
fw_fw is offline  
post #472 of 4670 Old 05-13-2004, 05:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Kilroy
I just called about Charter HD in Homewood. I have basic digital now. They offer only four basic HDTV channels - ESPN, Discovery, NBC and Fox...

fox is not HD (won't be till this fall), so they only have 3 HD channels.
arxaw is offline  
post #473 of 4670 Old 05-13-2004, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by vpn75
I hope they are not raising the monthly charge. I just got it installed and they quoted me a $3/month charge for the service. I also paid $14.99 for the starter kit, but they didn't say anything about a $50 installation-fee. If they raise the subscription to $6/month, I may have to cancel until they get more of the local channels.

I am enjoying ESPN and Discovery channel though.

The Charter lady on the phone I talked to yesterday told me that the monthly cost was going up to $6 per month starting next week.

Maybe if you got a package deal, your $3 per month is locked for a bit, but knowing Charter, I doubt it.

arxaw, you're right. I forgot Fox is just widescreen 480p, not true HD. Yikes. Talk about sticking your little toe in the HDTV water. They should be offering the basic HDTV access for free right now if they knew anything about marketing.
Kilroy is offline  
post #474 of 4670 Old 05-14-2004, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Friday noon - NBC hd off again.
bearmur is offline  
post #475 of 4670 Old 05-14-2004, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I guess I did not know everything I needed about cable and local HD. I was under the impression that cable operators that offer HD programming "must carry" local broadcast digital channels.

Still, how long can this take? It's been almost two years since 42 went live with HD, hasn't it?

After all, they have the "stinking antenna"- sorry about that.....LOL

I WANT MY HDTV!!!!

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #476 of 4670 Old 05-14-2004, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
BTW, I bought a LARGE (rated up to the purple code on signal pickup)outdoor antenna with preamp (to put in my attic) thinking I might go back to D* if I can pull in the local HD channels. I went upstairs and hooked it to my DTC-100 left over from my D* days and got zilch, zero, nada channels, with the exception of the ABC analog feed in the direction of Anniston/Gadsden. Does this mean I probably will not get the OTAs with an antenna? Or, has receiver technology evolved much in the last two years since I had D*?

If can't get them via antenna, I'm stuck with Charter (again, I'll say they do have the best cable I have had, though)>

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #477 of 4670 Old 05-14-2004, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by larrimore
... I went upstairs and hooked it to my DTC-100 left over from my D* days and got zilch, zero, nada channels, with the exception of the ABC analog feed in the direction of Anniston/Gadsden. Does this mean I probably will not get the OTAs with an antenna? Or, has receiver technology evolved much in the last two years since I had D*?

The DTC100 is ancient 1st generation technology. OTA DTV tuners have improved a lot.

Did you aim the antenna in different directions? Do you have a preamp?
arxaw is offline  
post #478 of 4670 Old 05-15-2004, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
larrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes I have a preamp and moved the antennna a full 360. As I stated once before, I am off Hugh Daniel drive and have the mountain between me and the BHM towers. However, I have been told I should be able to pull those in. I may try VOOM and see what their installers can do with the OTA antenna.

Anyone else have VOOM in the area? Seems to be moving up since the zero down offer started.

Living the HT Dream...now in 4D.
larrimore is offline  
post #479 of 4670 Old 05-15-2004, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
kyler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Shelby County, AL
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having serious problems picking up HD OTA Signals accept for CBS 42. I have a CM 4228 installed in the attic with a CM amplifier. I just installed these with my new HR10-250 HDTIVO. I live in Eagle Point on 280 on the ridge with a straight shot to the towers except for trees. I have adjusted and rotated the antenna in so many different positions and nothing seems to really help. NBC 13 is always dropping signal. ABC I can't pick up (to be expected). Nothing I seem to do gets me NBC 13 without pixelation. Any new antenna suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Money is not an object, I just want the best antenna for my situation. Thanks in advance, Kyle
kyler3 is offline  
post #480 of 4670 Old 05-15-2004, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Take the amp out. Drag all the HD box and small TV and short cable to the attic. The 4228 is VERY VERY directional. Tilting also helps sometimes.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off