Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4670 Old 02-15-2004, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
MrDRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabama
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio is out of sync for me too on the Daytona 500. Thankfully it wont matter during the race since we wont see much of the announcers.

I have audio on both PBS stations but frequent drops and pixelation of the signal. This is what I have been seeing with PBS for the last 10 days or so. I think this is a PBS issue since my signal has not changed and I was getting a great feed before.
MrDRC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4670 Old 02-15-2004, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Jeremy5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mr Drc.
I have adjusted my antenna some so I can get 100% on PBS. And even at 100% strong signal I got some pixelation on PBS, so I was also assuming they are having some probs on their end.
Jeremy5150 is offline  
post #33 of 4670 Old 02-15-2004, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone figure out what the NBAHD channel (785) added to Charter's lineup this week is? Is Charter carrying the NBA All-Star Game on it tonight? I called Charter and their CSR's don't have a clue.
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #34 of 4670 Old 02-15-2004, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lo and behold, Charter is carrying the NBA All-Star Game. It is on right now on Channel 785. It still says No Data Available in the guide, but the game is on. It's funny, I was told by a Chater CSR that they were not carrying the game in HD!
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #35 of 4670 Old 02-15-2004, 09:28 PM
Member
 
BWCDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect the channel will go away soon. I think NBAHD was having a freebie to all the local cable folks for the all-star game. Strange, charter didn't advertise it or anything. Its like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.
BWCDawg is offline  
post #36 of 4670 Old 02-16-2004, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by BWCDawg
I suspect the channel will go away soon. I think NBAHD was having a freebie to all the local cable folks for the all-star game. Strange, charter didn't advertise it or anything. Its like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.

All of you guys using Charter may want call Charter Corporate and demand adding more HD. There is no excuse not to have HDnet and Hdnet movies not to mention ESPN HD by now. Most cable companies are offering East and West of the Hbo & Showtime not to mention the other channels mentioned above. If enough people call the right personnel in corporate - things may get added.

It has done wonders when all of the Directv & Dish subscribers pitched a fit when ESPN HD wasn't carried right away.
bhambrad is online now  
post #37 of 4670 Old 02-16-2004, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Its like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.

That's funny. I have always described Charter as a company whose head, arms and legs are not connected to its body. They don't have a clue about what is going on with their own company. Now, if only I could find a number for Charter's corporate offices.....
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #38 of 4670 Old 02-16-2004, 07:11 AM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found a number for Charter's corporate offices in St. Louis. I haven't called yet and have no idea how helpful it will be, but here is the number. If anyone else calls it, I would love to hear how it turned out.

314-965-0555
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #39 of 4670 Old 02-16-2004, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
Greg Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Helena, AL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have contacted their corp. offices in the past, and it does help. It took less than a week for a lady at the local B'ham office to contact me about HD. If anybody would like to contact her here is the information:

phone# 205-443-3157 ask for Elaina Pickett

Be nice and she will find out all she can. She did not have a ton of immediate answers, but she contacted enough people for me to get my questions answered. Just FYI, last time I did talk with them, ESPNHD was asking for an extra $.25 per HD subscriber for their service to be with Charter. Don't know if they have come down from that yet. The local CBS station was still in negtiations with Charter, although that was about 4 months ago, and still no CBS(damnit). Anyway, good luck. Voicing our needs does work.
Greg Smith is offline  
post #40 of 4670 Old 02-16-2004, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Greg Smith
I have contacted their corp. offices in the past, and it does help. It took less than a week for a lady at the local B'ham office to contact me about HD. If anybody would like to contact her here is the information:

phone# 205-443-3157 ask for Elaina Pickett

Be nice and she will find out all she can. She did not have a ton of immediate answers, but she contacted enough people for me to get my questions answered. Just FYI, last time I did talk with them, ESPNHD was asking for an extra $.25 per HD subscriber for their service to be with Charter. Don't know if they have come down from that yet. The local CBS station was still in negtiations with Charter, although that was about 4 months ago, and still no CBS(damnit). Anyway, good luck. Voicing our needs does work.

Thanks Greg... I will be contacting Charter soon. Hopefully others will follow.
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #41 of 4670 Old 02-17-2004, 10:05 AM
Member
 
sledford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone update the listing of HD channels in the 2nd post with their current transmission power? This would help tremendously in setting expectations of the strength of signal received at various locations.
sledford is offline  
post #42 of 4670 Old 02-18-2004, 08:43 AM
Member
 
JamieSPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maylene, Alabama
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the first week I had HD (the week before the Super Bowl) PBS was great... since, there have been no drop-outs but lots of pixelization. Sounds universal.

I have the Samsung receiver from DirecTV. One caveat... my other DirecTV recevier (a PVR) stays on all the time. The Samsung locks up and must be unplugged ("reset" in DirecTV terms) if it stays on for too long at a time... so power down when you're done watching lest you want to move TVs, racks, etc. to unplug (a real hassle).

DirecTV showed the all-star game in HD ... can't remember the channel but not one of the normally active ones. We happened to channel through when Ruben was performing.

~Jamie
------
My home theater and DVD/LD library are online:
CLICK HERE
JamieSPC is offline  
post #43 of 4670 Old 02-18-2004, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by JamieSPC
I have the Samsung receiver from DirecTV. One caveat... my other DirecTV recevier (a PVR) stays on all the time. The Samsung locks up and must be unplugged ("reset" in DirecTV terms) if it stays on for too long at a time... so power down when you're done watching lest you want to move TVs, racks, etc. to unplug (a real hassle).

Jamie...

Check your firmware version in system info and call support. Samsung's support is awesome - there are very nice compared to others lik Sony. If it keeps locking up and u got the D* HD $399.00 deal, call D* and they'll swap it out for you. D* is really good about that. Either way it shouldn't lock up on you more than once a month. It would be normal if you had Voom but the sammy is not a cheesy STB like the Voom stb.
bhambrad is online now  
post #44 of 4670 Old 02-18-2004, 03:27 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i;ve got the samsung 360.. haven't had any problems so far except for the OTA signal meter being totally random and out of whack..

Got the silver sensor working well. good picture on PBS but no sound.. what gives with that?


Just curious, has anyone ever tried one of the RCA indoor amplified UHF/VHF antenna?? may be useful for ABC reception..
kwatson1 is offline  
post #45 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Abc3340 update-xmitter on site install has begun. Tower crew due in Friday.
bearmur is offline  
post #46 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
bearmur

THANKS!THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! THANKS!
bhambrad is online now  
post #47 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Dave Richardson--

What antenna do I need for 33/40?
bhambrad is online now  
post #48 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UHF antennas very often pick up VHF like the CM4221 and 4228. So depending on where you live and which antenna you have you might be able to pick up ABC.

VHF = Very long antenna. More range means more length.

So, we need a VHF antenna for ABC and UHF for the rest. To combine these two we need a VHF/UHF combiner /separator. Now this is in a perfect world WHEN the towers are in different locations as with us.

Attenuators are sometimes needed to help bring the signal level from both to a close level. Once brought together out of the combiner its a great idea to have that signal go into an amp to bring the overall level up. This help compensate for FOX( xmitter on tin can).

SO I might start with the CM 2001 since it's not that long of an antenna. I don't remember the model number of the combiner nor see it on CM web site but I've ordered and have about 20 from a few months ago. So I'll have to post back. Now this is my first best educated guess. I would recommend a longer VHF antenna if your situation would allow it.

I have two sets of antennas at home. One CM4228 for HD and one CM VHF/UHF omni directional for the house as I have satellite and local antenna combined and distributed to all the TVs. So my DTC=100 has both antenna inputs as it has two antenna connectors on the back for Antenna A and Antenna B. I'll let you know as soon we hear that are live.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #49 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guess I will try a CM2001. Looking at the CM website, you really have to jump up to a huge antenna to see a decent jump in VHF range. The CM2001 looks like the leanest vhf antenna with a decent range, we'll see. Anyone carry these in town?

Thanks as always for the info Dave! I guess we won't have to aim towards Montgomery anymore!
bhambrad is online now  
post #50 of 4670 Old 02-19-2004, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try the following for a VHF/UHF combiner:

http://www.winegard.com/offair/separatorsjoiners.htm

CS-7750

Its from Winegard but serves the same propose.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #51 of 4670 Old 02-20-2004, 07:59 AM
Member
 
JamieSPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maylene, Alabama
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


If it keeps locking up and u got the D* HD $399.00 deal, call D* and they'll swap it out for you. D* is really good about that.

Great tip, man. Thanks.

BTW, suddenly PBS is all beautiful again (no break-ups). Did anyone call them?

~Jamie
------
My home theater and DVD/LD library are online:
CLICK HERE
JamieSPC is offline  
post #52 of 4670 Old 02-20-2004, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
MrDRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabama
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else noticing the ultra low sound output from Fox? When I tune the channel my AV receiver reports it as -27db's and I have to turn the volume WAY up to even hear it. Most of the digital stations get flaged as +4db's.
MrDRC is offline  
post #53 of 4670 Old 02-20-2004, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Interested in Voom? They now will lease you a box for $9.50 a month. And you can get all the channels for $80.00. If they add ESPN HD and I am running out of excuses. I wish D* would get 7s launched already - too much temptation!

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=369382
bhambrad is online now  
post #54 of 4670 Old 02-20-2004, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any experience with the PROSTAR 1000 VHF/FM ANTENNA PR-5030. It costs about $55 - $60. I was thinking of using it in conjunction with my UHF only antenna to get ABC. Winguard makes it; I'm not sure about the quality of their antennas. Here's a link to their website.

http://www.winegard.com/offair/prost...myagi.htm#5030

Thanks for the input.

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #55 of 4670 Old 02-20-2004, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by bearmur
Abc3340 update-xmitter on site install has begun. Tower crew due in Friday.

bearmur...

So in all likelihood, if the weather is decent - is it possible you guys may be on-air in about a week or is that too soon?

Thanks!


BhamBrad is happy he may finally get to see Jennifer Garner in HDTV on ABC!
bhambrad is online now  
post #56 of 4670 Old 02-21-2004, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We think it will be 2 or 3 weeks. Xmitter check out will begin Monday. Antenna due in Tuesday,but rain Monday-Wednesday?
bearmur is offline  
post #57 of 4670 Old 02-21-2004, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the update.

If you have a chance - can you explain what goes in to getting one of these signals online? It is very interesting for those of us who don't know a lot about the tower and the steps that it takes to get a digital signal online.
bhambrad is online now  
post #58 of 4670 Old 02-21-2004, 03:53 PM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
awesome.....hope I can lock it in here in Boaz
rkr0923 is offline  
post #59 of 4670 Old 02-23-2004, 07:16 AM
Member
 
JamieSPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maylene, Alabama
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I wish D* would get 7s launched already - too much temptation!

Pardon my ignorance, but what is/are "7s"?

~Jamie
------
My home theater and DVD/LD library are online:
CLICK HERE
JamieSPC is offline  
post #60 of 4670 Old 02-23-2004, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MrDRC
Is anyone else noticing the ultra low sound output from Fox? When I tune the channel my AV receiver reports it as -27db's and I have to turn the volume WAY up to even hear it. Most of the digital stations get flaged as +4db's.

Getting the same problem down here in Montgomerys Fox.
Nnamd is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off