Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 4664 Old 07-16-2004, 11:59 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Projectorguy1,
Check your PM.
odinala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 4664 Old 07-16-2004, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
ox1574's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed my CM 4228 this evening in the attic and I can only get 2-3 digital channels. I can get 21.1 @ 70%, 42.1 @85% (if I can get it at all), and 68.2 (which is crap anyway). When performing a digital scan on my receiver, I come up with 21.1, 42.1, 50.1, 68.1, and 68.2. - 50.1, 68.1, and 68.2 never come in. The farthest tower is 4.6 miles from my house (Crestline Park - North Mountain Brook), so I am wondering if the CM 4228 is too much and I am shooting past the towers in one directional rather than being a small multi-directional. Can anyone please shed some light on the matter given my location? Thanks.
ox1574 is offline  
post #723 of 4664 Old 07-16-2004, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ox1574


The 4228 might be too much. The 4221 is fine the the UHF stations from your area. What HD box do you have. The samsung boxes are not nearly as good with pulling in HD signals. Also the slight bit of adjustment will make a difference. Sometimes a tilt down or up will also make a difference.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #724 of 4664 Old 07-16-2004, 10:58 PM
Newbie
 
ox1574's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the 811 from Dish.
ox1574 is offline  
post #725 of 4664 Old 07-16-2004, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure how well the tuner works in the 811. We have UHF antennas all over that area and the 4221/4228 is fine even in an attic. It does take some playing with.

Dave
David Richardson is offline  
post #726 of 4664 Old 07-17-2004, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Broadband LabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My experience with the 811 has been very positive. It outperformed my Samsung OTA tuner that I started with last Fall. However, if the 811 can not get enough signal to lock, it reports 49% signal strength... It does not report anything less than 49%, which can make it difficult to tell if you are improving a no-lock situation.

I'm in a low, heavily wooded area in Pelham, but my separate UHF/VHF antennas are 50' above ground. With a CM7777, on my 811 I get all Bham digital stations solid, PAX from Gadsden, and ABC in Tuscaloosa... all without having to turn any antennas.
Broadband LabRat is offline  
post #727 of 4664 Old 07-17-2004, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
spinnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BBLabRat, I'd be interested in checking out your antenna setup, or at least seing some pics and getting some more info. Do you have compass directions for each?

I'm still in euphoric mode after spending only 2 days with my Sasem USBHDTV "wonderbox". It gives me OTA HD reception on my Dell 8500 widescreen laptop (whose screen resolution is 1680x1050 progressive). If anyone is interested in the Sasem box, PM me or check out this thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...08#post4070408

The thing is though, I only have a small rat shack UHF/VHF antenna ($10 new), and I can only get 42 and 13 digital with that (just over the mt in Vestavia - no line of sight).

I'd like to know how to set up an outside antenna to get all the digital channels, and which ones might work best - I'm considering purchasing one this weekend from celliot.

Anyone have any insight into how to best get a signal for PBS HD? Is it on VHF? Is the tower in the same direction as 42 and 13? My antenna has a round loop (UHF?) and rabbit ears(VHF?). Would it be to my advantage to remove the UHF portion to maximize the potenial to receive PBS HD on 10.1? Also does 10.2 have more/less/same HD content as 10.1?

I can get very high signals on 42 and 13 but nothing on 10.1, 10.2

~ Scott LNT5265F, PS3, JBL-CS480, HR20-100

spinnergy is offline  
post #728 of 4664 Old 07-18-2004, 12:10 AM
Member
 
BrettTRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gadsden, AL
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got e-mail from abc saying bald rock channel 9 should be live in January. Take note, he did use the word SHOULD

Mitsubishi WS 55313
Dish 811/301 w/ AEP, Voom, HD pack, Locals, OTA locals
BrettTRay is offline  
post #729 of 4664 Old 07-18-2004, 05:43 AM
Member
 
jafo9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by spinnergy

Anyone have any insight into how to best get a signal for PBS HD? Is it on VHF? Is the tower in the same direction as 42 and 13? My antenna has a round loop (UHF?) and rabbit ears(VHF?). Would it be to my advantage to remove the UHF portion to maximize the potenial to receive PBS HD on 10.1? Also does 10.2 have more/less/same HD content as 10.1?

I can get very high signals on 42 and 13 but nothing on 10.1, 10.2 [/b]

antennaweb

this is a very helpful site as far a figuring out which channels are really uhf or vhf (the channel number and frequency can be very different). they also have the orientation of each station and antenna recommendations.

i use a channel master 3018 antenna and a cm 7778 preamp in my attic setup. works fairly well from off old leeds road a few miles from 459. alot of folks here are just using a uhf only antenna to get the majority of local stations (pbs included). i added vhf to get abc from tuscaloosa. i currently get abc, cbs, nbc, pbs, wb, and upn. the only station i can't seem to get is fox which doesn't really matter to me as i get it through my charter box.
jafo9 is offline  
post #730 of 4664 Old 07-18-2004, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Broadband LabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pelham, Alabama
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by spinnergy
BBLabRat, I'd be interested in checking out your antenna setup, or at least seing some pics and getting some more info.
----------------------------------------------------
See: http://dease.net/tv/tv_antennas.jpg
----------------------------------------------------
Do you have compass directions for each?
----------------------------------------------------
See: http://antennaweb.org
----------------------------------------------------
I can get very high signals on 42 and 13 but nothing on 10.1, 10.2
----------------------------------------------------
I believe 10.1 and 10.2 were off the air Sat and are still down today (Sun)
----------------------------------------------------

PS... looks like 10.1 and 10.2 are back up Sunday afternoon...
Broadband LabRat is offline  
post #731 of 4664 Old 07-18-2004, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
MrDRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabama
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by celliott
I am off Wisteria and Derby. Sometimes i can get cbs but not reliably. My email is celliott@bricebuilding.com if you need anything.

I already posted this several pages back but I helped a friend who lives in Countrywood set up a CM 4248 (I think that was the model but its an 8 bay bowtie) and he gets everything except ABC. Granted the signal is low (mid 60's to low 70's) but it does lock with a Dish 6000 receiver.

You are very close to where he lives and I would think an 8 bay bowtie may work for you instead of the directional ant.
MrDRC is offline  
post #732 of 4664 Old 07-19-2004, 05:09 AM
Member
 
celliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks MrDRC.
I think I am going to hold off for now. Maybe Charter will start carrying more channels. That and they are going to have the HD recorder in August at 10 a month. I think I will wait for it. Thanks for the info though.

Charles Elliott
Vestavia Hills
celliott is offline  
post #733 of 4664 Old 07-19-2004, 06:05 AM
Member
 
bdouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by celliott
Maybe Charter will start carrying more channels. That and they are going to have the HD recorder in August at 10 a month.

when is the last time you talked to Charter? I'm in Trussvile, and I've had the HD DVR for almost 3 weeks now. when I first called them, the CSR insisted that the HD version was not available, but after I asked her to double and triple check, she finally discovered that they did in fact have them and scheduled the install. it may be worth another call.
bdouble is offline  
post #734 of 4664 Old 07-19-2004, 06:27 AM
Member
 
charter_hsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alabaster
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently the HD DVR service is only available in areas that are fed from the SA cable TV platform.

Areas fed from the Motorola platform should have service by then end of the summer.

Regards.
charter_hsd is offline  
post #735 of 4664 Old 07-19-2004, 06:30 AM
Member
 
celliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I talked to them last week, they said that it wasnt available in Vestavia but would be in August.
celliott is offline  
post #736 of 4664 Old 07-19-2004, 04:32 PM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay. Here's the deal. I'm in Bessemer just behind the Wal-Mart on Academy Drive. Birthday came and went, and now, I've got some "hardware money" for an antenna for my Mitsi 55313 and my Sammy TS360. Antennaweb.org says I need a medium directional antenna.

What model do you all recommend? Do I need a pre-amp? Antennaweb says no. And lastly, can I get what I need for $200 or less?

Thanks, folks!
racinherby is offline  
post #737 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
racinherby:

I live 3 or 4 miles from you. I'm using a $28 radio shack UHF only antenna for the red mountain stations, a $40 Prostar UHF/VHF combo antenna for ABC, a UHF/VHF combiner, and a radio shack inline amp ($60). I have it all in the attic. Your other option is to get a UHF/VHF antenna and a rotor.

I'm getting CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, PBS, WB, UPN.

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #738 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 03:00 PM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

What kind of signal strength are you seeing? What receiver are you using?
racinherby is offline  
post #739 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With a Sony HD200, I'm getting very strong signals for CBS, NBC, WB, PBS, UPN (85%-95%). Fox is weak (40%) but very stable. I almost never have pixilation problems (only in severe weather). A larger UHF only antenna would probably help with that. With ABC, I get a solid 65-70% signal.

To get the Fox and ABC signals the those levels and stability took alot of tweeking in the attic.

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #740 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
racinherby:

This is the UHF only that I'm using.

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D2160

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #741 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 04:11 PM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Tom. You're the man. How bulky is your setup?
racinherby is offline  
post #742 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 04:28 PM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And one more thing, Tom. What model of Prostar do you have? I can't find one for $40.
racinherby is offline  
post #743 of 4664 Old 07-20-2004, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
racinherby:

Sorry, it wasn't a Prostar. It was an Antennacraft 5885 - I pretty sure it's considered a near fringe antenna.

Here's a link:

http://antennacraft-tdp.com/ColorKing.htm


I got it locally at Hoopers on 280. They had several in the back. I just went in there and asked the guy for near fringe vhf/uhf antenna. My set up is pretty bulky. The uhf only antenna isn't that big, but the combo antenna is huge. Once I folded it out in the attic, it barely fit. I installed them myself. I just hung a PVC pipe straight down from the rafters, then mounted the antennas on the pipe. If you use a similar set up, mount the UHF only antenna on top. If the combo antenna is on top, it will cause terrible signal fluctuation. At least it did for me.

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #744 of 4664 Old 07-21-2004, 07:20 AM
Member
 
jafo9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by THancock

I just hung a PVC pipe straight down from the rafters, then mounted the antennas on the pipe.

just a note from my experience. i used PVC pipe initially but i mounted it to the "floor" of my attic. after a few days the weight of my combo antenna and the heat had warped the PVC pipe so it was pointing up by about 20 degrees. i replaced it with a 5 ft metal section from forbes and problem solved. obviously if you mount it to the top this won't be an issue.
jafo9 is offline  
post #745 of 4664 Old 07-24-2004, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
spinnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a long shot, but if anyone's up early on a Saturday morning, are you getting a very weak signal on CBS? Its usually my strongest signal (2nd to Fox ironically) and I'm getting around 4-7db, when I'm usually pulling around 20db. All my other digital channels (except NBC) seem fine.

~ Scott LNT5265F, PS3, JBL-CS480, HR20-100

spinnergy is offline  
post #746 of 4664 Old 07-24-2004, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checked 42.1. I have normal signal.
bearmur is offline  
post #747 of 4664 Old 07-24-2004, 06:05 AM
Member
 
celliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spinnergy,

How did the antenna work out?

Charles
celliott is offline  
post #748 of 4664 Old 07-24-2004, 11:02 AM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any recommendations on where I can spend my money on an antenna around town? I'm looking for somewhere where the sales people know a little bit about what they talking about and a place that isn't insanely high.
racinherby is offline  
post #749 of 4664 Old 07-24-2004, 08:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
spinnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might try a radio shack "double bow tie" UHF first. For starters, It's only $15 and is a very well respected UHF antenna (all Bham digitals are UHF so this antenna is capable of receiving them all - you'll need a powerful VHF antenna if you hope to pick up ABC from Tuscaloosa.)

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...Fid=930%2D0998

The reason I say this is perhaps its best to start on the cheap, then spend more money if you absolutely have to. For what it's worth, I got lucky and found a used Channel Master antenna from a user on this forum (celliot) - maybe you'll have similar luck.

~ Scott LNT5265F, PS3, JBL-CS480, HR20-100

spinnergy is offline  
post #750 of 4664 Old 07-25-2004, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Bearmur: Glad to see guide data on 33-1 now - much easier to record on the HDTIVO now. Thanks! Seems to have one bug - I am seeing two 33-1's (one with guide data and one without) and one 33-2 with the HD guide data.

Anyway, keep up the good work.
hjones is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off