Birmingham, AL - HDTV - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 4689 Old 10-16-2004, 06:55 PM
Member
 
charter_hsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Alabaster
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Bham Slugger
What is the difference between this HD DVR and the one in the SA platform??

Currently the main differnce is the software on the box. The SA HD DVR uses the SARA software by Scientific Atlanta. The Motorola BMC9012 uses the Moxi software by Digeo.

According to many DVR users, the Moxi software is much "smarter", and more Tivo like than the SARA software on the SA HD DVR.

Avsforum has a very informative thread about the Moxi software. The threas is located at: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=412846

In the future other additional features of the BMC9012 will be enabled. For example, the BMC9012 has an built-in cable modem and Fast Ethernet port. Future software releases will enable the BMC9012 to act as a Firewall/NAT gateway. (This functionality will probably entail an additional monthly fee.)

Other software enhancements include the Moxi ticker http://www.digeo.com/assets/datasheets/ticker.pdf, which is similar to the iTV channels offered on the Sci-Atl platform, except in a more interactive format. Still other software enhancemets will include MP3 playback, Digital Photo storage and slideshows, as well as Flash based Games http://www.digeo.com/assets/datasheets/applications.pdf.

Additionally, the USB 2.0 ports on the 9012 will be enabled in future software releases. The USB ports will allow Charter to offer subscribers the Moxi PLUS hardware http://www.digeo.com/assets/datasheets/moxiPlus.pdf. The Moxi Plus will add additional hard drive capacity as well as DVD/CD read write abilities.

Regards.
charter_hsd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 4689 Old 10-16-2004, 08:51 PM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone receiving FOXHD on D*?
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1083 of 4689 Old 10-16-2004, 09:02 PM
Member
 
n8dagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rkr0923
Is anyone receiving FOXHD on D*?

Yes, channel 88.

I think you have to have the HD package and Birmingham (or a Fox O&O market) locals.

It is just the baseball games for the time being...some issue with Dish Network (crying foul) and lawyers.

Proud new father of a HR10-250! ...er, make that a HR10-400!
n8dagr8 is offline  
post #1084 of 4689 Old 10-17-2004, 08:24 AM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have the HD package and the B'Ham locals and CBS E/W and NBC E but can't get the FOX HD. Thought FOX 6 was O&O which means I should get it....right?
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1085 of 4689 Old 10-17-2004, 08:38 AM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tclove
Arxaw,

I believe that Fox will just appear for any person that lives in an O and O market. I could be wrong, but people did not call to get CBS when it was turned on.


Wrong....I had to call and order CBS and now they refuse to give me FOX
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1086 of 4689 Old 10-17-2004, 02:13 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not call for either FOX or CBS.
I currently get them both from D*.
The issue is that the FOX feed is only up for the baseball games right now. Luckily, I get it through my antenna anyway, so no big deal.
kwatson1 is offline  
post #1087 of 4689 Old 10-18-2004, 04:34 AM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bummer....I can't pull in FOX from B'ham and H'ville FOX not offering HD
guess I'll be moving
lol
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1088 of 4689 Old 10-18-2004, 08:37 AM
Member
 
n8dagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by kwatson1
I did not call for either FOX or CBS.
I currently get them both from D*.
The issue is that the FOX feed is only up for the baseball games right now. Luckily, I get it through my antenna anyway, so no big deal.

I assume you mean FOX and NBC. I, too, am getting FOX and NBC HD via DirecTV. Those are the O&O stations here in B'ham. CBS WILL NOT grant waivers, trust me on that. Fortunately they broadcast at 8 billion jigawatts (must be the flux capacitor), okay, maybe just 100K watts. Currently ONLY the baseball games are being broadcast on DirecTV (Channel 88 and 89 - 89 being for those who receive the west coast feed). If you receive B'ham locals and have the HD package then I would call a costumer service rep. and see what's up. The game looks great in HD!

Proud new father of a HR10-250! ...er, make that a HR10-400!
n8dagr8 is offline  
post #1089 of 4689 Old 10-18-2004, 04:23 PM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at wits end....I moved to a zip that says I'm eligible for ALL distant network feeds. I call and they say I need a waiver in order to get FOX and NBC. I already have NBC and CBS..........wish I could get a male CSR instead of all those girls
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1090 of 4689 Old 10-18-2004, 05:42 PM
Member
 
ironwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hoover
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
charter_hsd or anyone else for that matter know why Charter hasn't added PBS HD yet. I would think this would have been one of the first and easiest to get added to the line up. And while I am asking, how about StarzHD and ABC
I also am confused how Charter was able to throw out TNT HD for the Basketball All Star game, but nothing since.

P.S. the Moxi Box has been pretty good so far, but needs much more disk space and some better space management, but I'll be sending those complaints to Digeo if I can find their suggestion box.
ironwill is offline  
post #1091 of 4689 Old 10-18-2004, 08:37 PM
Member
 
n8dagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rkr0923
I'm at wits end....I moved to a zip that says I'm eligible for ALL distant network feeds. I call and they say I need a waiver in order to get FOX and NBC. I already have NBC and CBS..........wish I could get a male CSR instead of all those girls

so you are getting B'ham locals and you do have the HD package? if so, then that makes no sense. You should be able to get NBC and FOX without even being eligable for network feeds (CBS is another story). These are both O&O which means you do not need waviers.

Proud new father of a HR10-250! ...er, make that a HR10-400!
n8dagr8 is offline  
post #1092 of 4689 Old 10-19-2004, 04:10 AM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I thought, but oh well, better leave it alone before they pull my CBS E/W. Been seeing some good NFLHD on those that I wouldn't get otherwise.
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1093 of 4689 Old 10-21-2004, 06:32 PM
Member
 
mboland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox 6 is up and running! I have never gotten a signal with FOX HD untill tonight! Did they turn up the power for this game or will this be a better FOX 6 from now on? Im sure many of you have not even checked. 6-1 on my HD Tivo is coming in loud and clear way up here in Cullman (55 miles from transmitter).
mboland is offline  
post #1094 of 4689 Old 10-21-2004, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
video3006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone receiving the baseball game in HD OTA tonight on Fox 6?
video3006 is offline  
post #1095 of 4689 Old 10-21-2004, 07:29 PM
Member
 
racinherby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 'Bama/Tennessee game in HD on CBS this Saturday?
racinherby is offline  
post #1096 of 4689 Old 10-21-2004, 07:57 PM
Member
 
mboland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by video3006
Is anyone receiving the baseball game in HD OTA tonight on Fox 6?

Look at my post just above yours about 50 min prior to your post.

I hope it's not just higher power during the game. Maybe they decided to co higher power early. WBRC 6 FOX HD OTA from 55 miles away!
mboland is offline  
post #1097 of 4689 Old 10-21-2004, 08:38 PM
Member
 
n8dagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by racinherby
Is the 'Bama/Tennessee game in HD on CBS this Saturday?

Should be...is on the DirecTV schedule.

Proud new father of a HR10-250! ...er, make that a HR10-400!
n8dagr8 is offline  
post #1098 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 03:05 AM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by video3006
Is anyone receiving the baseball game in HD OTA tonight on Fox 6?

I've been getting Fox 6 OTA for a long time. Have been watching all of the LCS games in HD.
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #1099 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 03:09 AM
Member
 
Bham Slugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by racinherby
Is the 'Bama/Tennessee game in HD on CBS this Saturday?

Confirmed on CBS Sportsline....

CBS Sports has announced its college football game schedule for the next three weeks.

Saturday, Oct. 23: Alabama at *No. 11-ranked Tennessee (3:30-7:00 PM, ET)

Saturday, Oct 30: *No. 10-ranked Georgia vs. *No. 20-ranked Florida (3:30-7:00 PM, ET)

Saturday, Nov. 6: *No. 24-ranked Notre Dame at *No. 11-ranked Tennessee (3:30-7:00 PM, ET)

Verne Lundquist and Todd Blackledge will call the games, along with reporter Tracy Wolfson. COLLEGE FOOTBALL TODAY, the Network's pre-game, halftime and post-game studio show, kicks off each weekend (3:00 PM, ET) with host Tim Brando and analyst Spencer Tillman.
All three contests will be available in HDTV.
Bham Slugger is offline  
post #1100 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
video3006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Slugger,
Not sure why I am not receiving Fox now. I also have been receiving for some time and can see the towers from my house in Hoover.
video3006 is offline  
post #1101 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 04:42 AM
Member
 
rkr0923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boaz, Alabama
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
strange, on 6-1 I get WBXX. a WB station in east tennessee
rkr0923 is offline  
post #1102 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 05:01 AM
Member
 
jafo9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mboland
Look at my post just above yours about 50 min prior to your post.

I hope it's not just higher power during the game. Maybe they decided to co higher power early. WBRC 6 FOX HD OTA from 55 miles away!

i tried again last night with some hope after reading the above posts. no OTA fox. i'm less than 20 miles from the tower. i get the analog feed clear as a bell. being able to watch all the alcs and nlcs in HD sorta makes charter worth it. should be a good series. go sox.
jafo9 is offline  
post #1103 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 07:49 AM
Member
 
mboland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called Fox 6 to ask about the HD broadcast and he told me that they have done nothing different and it was purely atmospheric conditions that enabled me to receiver the signal last night when in the past I was not able to.

My TiVo was recording CSI and Without a Trace while I was watching the OTA HD game and I was not able to test the off air signal strength until after the game. In the past I have gotten absolutely nothing from Freq 50. Not even a blip. Last night it was staying just above 50 with a very consistent signal. So good that pixilation was rare. Maybe once every 10 min for a second or two. Going from absolutely nothing to a locked signal is amazing. The guy from Fox 6 said it could be something that I see a lot of during the winter months. I can only hope. I was sure they upped the power but he assured me that nothing had changed other than the atmospheric conditions.

I hope we all have more success with Fox OTA HD!
mboland is offline  
post #1104 of 4689 Old 10-22-2004, 01:52 PM
Member
 
teverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pelham, AL
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here. I am about 12 miles from the tower in Pelham. Fox 6.1 comes and goes, signal strength hovers right at 50%. I have a CM4228 in the attic and a CM 7777 preamp. Neighbor put his antenna on the roof and gets it fine. I am not ready to do that.
teverson is offline  
post #1105 of 4689 Old 10-23-2004, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
dsmith35124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pelham, AL
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any info on these 21.2 questions?

When might programming show up in the DirecTV TiVo guide? After 3 (?) weeks and a re-scan on Thursday it still shows "Regular Programming?" This is the main problem since it makes TiVo programming a hassle. But also, has the problem with the picture being off-center (black stripe at the bottom of HD broadcasts) been identified? Has the problem with the sound level (very low) been identified?

On the plus side, I have to say that WTTO has done a great job at throwing the switches when they're supposed to (assuming that they're still switching manually.) I haven't noticed a single lapse yet.
dsmith35124 is offline  
post #1106 of 4689 Old 10-24-2004, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
THancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL.
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone lost the signal on ABC 33.1? Just wanted to make sure that it wasn't just me.

Tom
THancock is offline  
post #1107 of 4689 Old 10-24-2004, 05:39 PM
Member
 
hartwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No signal at all right now on 33-1, 33-2, 5-1 or 5-2 for ABC. Anyone know what's going on??? Sunday nights are great for ABC HD and nothing! Please come on before 8:00. I was actually going to watch ABC for a couple of hours instead of the baseball game on Fox HD but that may change now.

Gary
hartwise is offline  
post #1108 of 4689 Old 10-24-2004, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bearmur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Munford, Al.
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xmitter is off? Control room cut it back on but it will not stay. I told them to call the Windom Springs engineer so he could go check it.
bearmur is offline  
post #1109 of 4689 Old 10-24-2004, 06:56 PM
Member
 
mboland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC HD Down!

WHEW! Just glad it was not me. Those "Desperate Housewives" sure do look better in HD. Maybe they will have it ready for MNF
mboland is offline  
post #1110 of 4689 Old 10-25-2004, 05:58 PM
Member
 
kwatson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC down for me.. NO MNF in HD!?!?!?!

bah
kwatson1 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off