San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 367 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10981 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
RayGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
After watching "24 live another day" I came to another possible reason KCSM dropped MHz.

I see a board of directors meeting for the College of San Mateo.

One person stands up and says "We are showing WHAT on our TV station"?

The body count on 24 is huge but there is little blood and guts and the fights end quickly.

MHz International Mystery shows lots of blood and guts and much more violence, especially the Scandinavian programs.

One series appeared to be just violence after violence.

--------------------------------------
But the real reason is ANY MONEY spent on the TV station cannot be used for their students. They want that amount to get to zero quickly.

They build KCSM for their students, today the Internet is a much better method.

SHF
Throwing out the baby with the bathwater .....
RayGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10982 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Tribolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Silicon Valley (Morgan Hill, CA and Marina, CA).
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 63
KPIX translator in Monterey?

TVGuide.com has started listed KPIX 5.1 CBS when I do a search on zip 93933 (Marina, CA, just north of Monterey). I don't think they have done this in past. Has KPIX put up a translator in the Monterey area?

Chuck
Chuck Tribolet is offline  
post #10983 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Tribolet View Post
KPIX translator in Monterey?

TVGuide.com has started listed KPIX 5.1 CBS when I do a search on zip 93933 (Marina, CA, just north of Monterey). I don't think they have done this in past. Has KPIX put up a translator in the Monterey area?

Chuck
I tried to enter 93933 into:

http://www.tvguide.com/listings/

The webpage would not accept the change.

It is unlikely as Marina is market 102 which is KION-TV CBS territory.

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php


Use :

Zap2It TV LISTINGS
http://tvlistings.zap2it.com/tvlisti....do?aid=zap2it

or

TitanTV
http://www.titantv.com/

They both do a great job, TVGuide is now in Canada and they just are out of sync with the real world.

I use the same listings as Zap2It which cost me $25 / Year to schedule automatically the captures I wish. Well, with some errors as KQED Inc. is listing all the programs on KQET (KQED+) as HD and I just opened a ticket to get that changed. How can a program made in 1955 be HD?

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 08-18-2014 at 08:58 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #10984 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Tribolet View Post
KPIX translator in Monterey?

TVGuide.com has started listed KPIX 5.1 CBS when I do a search on zip 93933 (Marina, CA, just north of Monterey). I don't think they have done this in past. Has KPIX put up a translator in the Monterey area?

Chuck
No KPIX translator in the Monterey area.
KPIX reception there may not be possible due to local co-channel usage.
Ben
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #10985 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
How can a program made in 1955 be HD?

SHF
But 1955 programs now are "ghost-free"
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #10986 of 11265 Old 08-18-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
But 1955 programs now are "ghost-free"
Sherlock Holmes: Season 1, Episode 5

The Case of the Belligerent Ghost (15 Nov. 1954)

There are several more.


SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #10987 of 11265 Old 08-21-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
No KPIX translator in the Monterey area.
KPIX reception there may not be possible due to local co-channel usage.
Ben
Sometime in the next year KTVU has to build out their 2009 construction permit for converting K29AB to digital or take the analog station off the air in a little more than a year from now. If it goes off the air it may be easier to receive KPIX in the far south.

Chuck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Calaveras is online now  
post #10988 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 02:18 PM
Member
 
kkpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
K03hy-d

Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
Audio problems on 3-1, for old mono speaker tvs.... have been fixed.
So the left audio channel is working now...
K03HY RF-3 (3-1)
Thanks. I should have fixed this earlier. I now the OMI networked TV stations more to make sure they look good. I live five miles north of Santa Rosa and don't have access to Cable, DSL, and most TV stations don't come in. I have T1 for my internet access. I had a cellular antenna up high in a redwood tree to get internet at one time. I thought to myself, I wonder if that will pick up my station. I hooked the antenna up to my TV, and would you guess that the only TV station it picks up is KFTY-LD RF 2 / Virtual 45. Now, I watch God TV every evening. We're going to put Daystar on our stations. The mux I ordered from Anywave has been excessively delayed, but to get a jump on things I'll put Daystar temporarily on the .3 channel. Please do let me know how well K03HY-D is doing signal-wise in San Francisco. It looks to me that it is tough to receive it further south than the San Fran and Oakland airports. I did also improve the uplink. Our uplink is licensed for about 90 watts input power. I had only been inputting 20 watts. I put in a new amplifier and have it at 50 watts. I'll crank up the power more, since I noticed a few glitches Wednesday morning when there was rain in Santa Rosa.

Blessings,
Keith
President and Engineer of One Ministries, Inc.
kkpm is offline  
post #10989 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpm View Post
Please do let me know how well K03HY-D is doing signal-wise in San Francisco.
I can't comment on that but I have had enough time now to comment on KFTY-LD. It's in here better than 99% of the time. It does vary a lot but about 22 dB SNR is average. I've seen it as high as 28 dB on occasions. The repositioning of the K03HY antenna has lessened the interference to KCSO to the point where it never overrides KCSO anymore.

My new TV Fool list shows that K02QX is predicted to have a 9 dB higher SNR than KFTY so they'll probably interfere with each other. That will be less of an issue when KFTY moves as it is predicted to be weaker. Any idea when K02QX will be on?

Chuck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Calaveras is online now  
post #10990 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
If it goes off the air it may be easier to receive KPIX in the far south.

Chuck
It will only be "easier" in places like Gilroy, & Morgan Hill.

I'm not so sure about the Monterey Market gaining anything because of it.
I sampled signals from Soledad, Salinas, & Aromas and found a similar pattern.

KICU from Monument peak (and the Monument peak stations) are difficult, but possible.
The only "Bay Area" tv tower farm areas that work there would be Loma Prieta & Monument Peak locations.
I have never seen any trace of Sutro tower there, except KGO 7 from Aromas (Near the fire station).
I have seen better results with KSBY-6 coming in down there.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #10991 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
KPIX-5 (RF-29) service to the Monterey area.
Comparing apples to apples.

Larry Kennys' location represents close proximity to Sutro tower.
I do not recall Larry ever getting Mt. Toro or Fremont Peak stations in San Francisco.

So my reception sampling experience on the Salinas valley floor .... is exactly the same as Larrys (reverse location)
Nothing from Sutro tower reaches ..... the Salinas valley floor towns.

You need some serious elevation ... mountain top location ....... for any chance of reception of KPIX and reliable everyday service.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #10992 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
"Gavilan College" .... Gilroy

My reference location for...... "End of the Line" .... ........for Sutro Tower
TV & FM

Last edited by 888CALLFCC; 08-22-2014 at 09:13 PM.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #10993 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
It will only be "easier" in places like Gilroy, & Morgan Hill.
Yes, that's what I meant. Morgan Hill has an overlap between Sutro and Fremont Peak. Too many mountains to receive Sutro in Monterey or Salinas.

Chuck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Calaveras is online now  
post #10994 of 11265 Old 08-22-2014, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
Larry Kennys' location represents close proximity to Sutro tower.
I do not recall Larry ever getting Mt. Toro or Fremont Peak stations in San Francisco.

So my reception sampling experience on the Salinas valley floor .... is exactly the same as Larrys (reverse location)
Nothing from Sutro tower reaches ..... the Salinas valley floor towns.
I have never received a signal from either Mt. Toro or Fremont Peak here in San Francisco. My antennas are at 345 feet ASL but I have a hill two blocks away that's about 40 feet higher than my antennas in that general direction to the Southeast, so I'm sure that helps block signals from that direction. I do receive the stations from the South Bay - 1, 14, 36, 48 and 54 - okay, but I don't see the translators for KTVU and KGO and I don't receive the analog station that's on channel 6.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lots of Broadcasting links and information:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out photos and info on my antennas:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Larry Kenney is offline  
post #10995 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I kindly request your input.

In Morgan Hill, in a rather tough reception location. I believe I shared my TV Fool report, but here it is again:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec2f44cdac3547

I had been using two antennas:

1. ClearStream 4 pointing at approximately 315 degrees true and
2. RCA ANT 751 aimed at approximately 170 degrees true

The only reason I have the 2nd antenna (RCA) is to get channel 8's NBC, and the ABC (8.2) is certainly nice also. Seems like overkill though...

Just yesterday I took-down the C4 and replaced it with a DB4e. By most accounts, the C4 is a great little antenna, and it did well for us, but FOX and CBS (2.1 and 5.1) were never very reliable. I am now seeing improved SNR's with the DB4e. It still seems to have its moments with those two channels though...

That said, I noticed that I am getting channel 8 with the DB4e (RCA antenna not connected). The SNR is around 20 to 21, and breaks-up occaissionaly though. So, finally my question...

What modification can I do the DB4e to help better secure channel 8, allowing me to ditch the RCA antenna, and essentially use one, a modified DB4e? Maybe a "simple" dipole? I was thinking such and even have some copper pipe here too...

I had been using the RCA preamp with its dual inputs, so with only one antenna input, there is much more preamp selection too. I had a new CM-7777 in the garage that I am now able to use, and I am...

Thanks for any input you might have.

Last edited by TonyB1966; 08-23-2014 at 08:29 AM.
TonyB1966 is online now  
post #10996 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
KTNC 42.4 is absent, no PSIP, no picture. Did they do anything to their signal? Been seeing a lot of them the last 2 days. Around 21db signal strength right now, haven't seen anything on 14 in many months, not even just a signal reading below the digital cliff.
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #10997 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
What modification can I do the DB4e to help better secure channel 8, allowing me to ditch the RCA antenna, and essentially use one, a modified DB4e? Maybe a "simple" dipole? I was thinking such and even have some copper pipe here too...
The DB4e is a UHF antenna. Channel 8 is on VHF. There is no mod you can perform to make the DB4e receive VHF any better than it does now, which is just an accident. It shows how strong KSBW is. You need a VHF antenna pointed to Fremont Peak.

Chuck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Calaveras is online now  
post #10998 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks Chuck for chiming-in.

I certainly know that the DB4e is a UHF antenna and that channel 8 is VHF. This antenna gets it though, as I recall other UHF antennas doing (getting higher band VHF).

I had been reading about people making modifications to UHF antennas, and here's one I just found, related to the predecessor of the DB4e, the DB4:

Ideas on how to turn a UHF antenna into a UHF/VHF antenna.

This sort of confirms that a dipole might do the trick for me. Was wondering if others here have done this or similar...

Last edited by TonyB1966; 08-23-2014 at 02:57 PM.
TonyB1966 is online now  
post #10999 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post
KTNC 42.4 is absent, no PSIP, no picture. Did they do anything to their signal? Been seeing a lot of them the last 2 days. Around 21db signal strength right now, haven't seen anything on 14 in many months, not even just a signal reading below the digital cliff.
I see KTNC ( 2 PM 8/23/2014) at it's usual not quite good enough on the two antennas that receive it.

Correction:
I checked KGO VC 7 RF 35 and it is having problems from RF 35 to Toast0's antenna.


Receiving RF 7 from across the bay appears to be fine.

http://ruka.org/~toast/atscdata/chart.php?c=7

But KEMO at ~ 97 Miles and KRCB at 75 Miles are just fine.

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 08-23-2014 at 04:47 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11000 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 69
It's pretty easy to add a dipole to the DB4e. Antennas Direct offers two options but the easy one, the clip-on VHF Retrofit Kit is out of stock (you can find it on Amazon, though). The less easy option is to use the parts from a C2 VHF upgrade kit and mount it to the DB4e. There have been several posts and photos over at DHC of this project.
TonyB1966 likes this.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #11001 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 23
ProjectSHO89, you are making your rounds today, helping yet again. Thank you.

I'm clearly ignorant... DHC?

I saw the VHF Retrofit Kit alright. Quite affordable too... I had / have a concern, but maybe it's not a valid one.

Given the connections needed in the kit, is there going to be an associated loss on the UHF side? It goes through what looks like some type of combiner. I'm really walking the line on capturing several UHF signals...

Thanks again.
TonyB1966 is online now  
post #11002 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post
KTNC 42.4 is absent, no PSIP, no picture. Did they do anything to their signal? Been seeing a lot of them the last 2 days. Around 21db signal strength right now, haven't seen anything on 14 in many months, not even just a signal reading below the digital cliff.
KTNC has been transmitting a black screen with PSIP of 42.4 for several weeks now, ever since they took the "This" movie channel off of their line up. They dropped 42.5, after removing RetroTV, but have left 42.4 up, even though it's got nothing on it.

I just checked their signal strength and it's about normal at 23 to 24 dB SNR here, so I don't think they've changed anything.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lots of Broadcasting links and information:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out photos and info on my antennas:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Larry Kenney is offline  
post #11003 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 0
newbie here, I'm looking for some help from your knowledgeable group. I just put an AD91xg on my roof a few days ago, everything was fine & dandy till this morning, there was lighting storm and heavy rain all channel Are coming extremely weak I use a winegard preamp ap 269 on the 91xg w/ 60ft rg6. I get red light on amplifer when plugged like always. I get a stronger signal with the preamp off than plugged on. I visually looked at the balun box from afar on the 91xg it seems ok. No damage seen on balun or preamp. question is could it be box balun on the 91xg that shorted out? or preamp? if it is the balun can I call antennadirect for replacement this antenna suppose to have lifetime warranty. any help would be appreciated.

ps I really enjoy reading your posts kenney, calavera adtech are extremely knowledge chaps
ed

Last edited by uhfyagi; 08-23-2014 at 05:35 PM.
uhfyagi is offline  
post #11004 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
is there going to be an associated loss on the UHF side? It goes through what looks like some type of combiner.
There will be a small insertion loss, probably less than 1 dB.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #11005 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
I get red light on amplifer part like it is always. I get a stronger signal with the preamp disconnected than with it on.
The red light is just the power supply indicator. That doesn't mean the amp is working, though. If you remove the amplifier (completely!) and signals improve, the amplifier has fried, it's not the antenna.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #11006 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
There will be a small insertion loss, probably less than 1 dB.
Well, I guess I'll need to decide if that minimal loss is worth it to get better VHF reception on channel 8. If I had plenty of signal strength to spare, it would not be much of a consideration... Thanks again.
TonyB1966 is online now  
post #11007 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I just put up a Clearstream 2 VHF/UHF antenna 22ft above the ground using a RCA preamp in Turlock today. It is pointed at 108 degrees magnetic (Meadow Lakes antenna farm, Fresno).

I was most impressed with KTNC's signal strength. It was one of the strongest stations, off the back side of the antenna. KTNC 42 (rf 14) is VERY strong in Turlock, guess I am just to close to the mountatins to get it at my house reliably.

Josh

Last edited by Theducksfan2010; 08-23-2014 at 11:31 PM.
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #11008 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
UHFYagi... I agree with ProjectSHO89. If you get better signals without the amp, the antenna is okay. The power from the lightning fried your amp. Sorry!

Where are you? You surely aren't in the San Francisco Bay Area. We haven't had a thunderstorm in ages.

And thanks for the compliment.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lots of Broadcasting links and information:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out photos and info on my antennas:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Larry Kenney is offline  
post #11009 of 11265 Old 08-23-2014, 11:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post
I just put up a Clearstream 2 VHF/UHF antenna 22ft above the ground using a RCA preamp in Turlock today. It is pointed at 108 degrees magnetic (Meadow Lakes antenna farm, Fresno).

I was most impressed with KTNC's signal strength. It was one of the strongest stations, off the back side of the antenna. KTNC 42 (rf 14) is VERY strong in Turlock, guess I am just to close to the mountatins to get it at my house reliably.
I think KTNC has the widest coverage of any station in Northern California. They transmit from atop Mt. Diablo at 3156 feet HAAT with a clear shot over the Sacramento and Central Valleys and much of the San Francisco Bay Area as well. Can you believe that they're running on low power, too, due to interference with mobile radio? They're at just 12 kW, not the 40 kW that they're licensed for. I wonder how far up and down the valley they reach.

Larry
Theducksfan2010 likes this.

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lots of Broadcasting links and information:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Check out photos and info on my antennas:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by Larry Kenney; 08-23-2014 at 11:40 PM. Reason: Change of power KTNC is running. I said 25 kW, it's only 12 kW.
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #11010 of 11265 Old 08-24-2014, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How has the earthquake affected area broadcasters and viewers?

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off