San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 372 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 97Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2014, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpm View Post
Hi Guys,

Remind me how to record the stream from a TV station using the HD Homerun receiver. I bought one on Trip's recommendation, but I haven't started using it yet. I think I'll need to record the ASI stream to share with Anywave to aid them in fixing the issue with their mux.

Blessings,
Keith
Since I have an iMac I use EyeTV to watch and record the output of my Home Run HD receiver. It works great! You can get the software at https://www.elgato.com/en/eyetv. I've tried the other players but they seem to have problems, working sometimes, not working other times.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2014, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
The basic RCA DTV converter box sold at Wallymart has the audio pitch function. Demonstration of this is on youtube ...keyword "Converter box sounds like atari"
But that box fails in other ways ... so I don't recommend it .... No manual input scanning.
Thank you for the input everyone. I remember that we have an old Sony TV, less than 10" screen I believe, that I put in the kitchen at our old house. It's actually inside the wall, the backside being a closet... I think I'll get that out, take it to the new house, run an extension cord up on the roof, to the mast and experiment that way...

Thanks again. A good weekend everyone.

BTW, I just tried the Antenna's Direct VFH Retrofit Kit, and was disappointed. I suppose I was spoiled on the results of the AD CS4 and now DB4e... Channel 8 is the only VHF channel I seek, and the easiest NBC get for me, as opposed everything else north, and being UHF... I actually get channel 8 from the DB4e somewhat, even though it's pointed north and being UHF. Really thought the dipole would de the trick. It does get it better, almost good enough, but at the expense of UHF channels, possibly due to the insertion loss. It's that challenging here I guess...

I have a warranty replacement RCA preamp arriving today. It's about the only dual input preamp left these days. With this, I'll have the RCA ANT751 pointing south to get channel 8, and the DB4e going northward to get everything else I can reach. I'm currently using a new CM-7777, which has more gain though, but has one input. The fun continues...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:03 PM
Member
 
kkpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Whoaaa.... Keith, what did you do? Channel 3 now drives my Sony TV crazy!

Larry
Hi Larry,

I put back in line the Anywave mux. It seems stable to me now. I ended up just with 8 sub-channels, since the quality didn't look good with 9 sub-channels. I think Anywave is working on improving their statistical multiplexing, though. Anyway, beside the audio levels not all being the same, does K03HY-D at least look okay to you and not lock up your TV?

Blessings,
Keith
kkpm is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpm View Post
Hi Larry,

I put back in line the Anywave mux. It seems stable to me now. I ended up just with 8 sub-channels, since the quality didn't look good with 9 sub-channels. I think Anywave is working on improving their statistical multiplexing, though. Anyway, beside the audio levels not all being the same, does K03HY-D at least look okay to you and not lock up your TV?

Blessings,
Keith
Sorry to report that channel 3 is locking up my Sony again. It's the same as before... picture for about 3 seconds, then it locks, goes to black for about 5 seconds, picture returns for 3 seonds, locks and on and on. I haven't been able to check the sub-channels on other TVs yet.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Keith...

The channel 3 signal is still locking on my Sony TV, but it's okay on all of my other sets.

Sub-channels 1, 2 and 3 all appear to be in the correct aspect ratio, but 4 is stretched, 5 is too skinny, 6 is stretched and 7 is too skinny.

How's it look on KFTY, Chuck? Any problems with your Sony going through the cycle that mine is?

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:53 PM
Member
 
kkpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Sorry to report that channel 3 is locking up my Sony again. It's the same as before... picture for about 3 seconds, then it locks, goes to black for about 5 seconds, picture returns for 3 seonds, locks and on and on. I haven't been able to check the sub-channels on other TVs yet.

Larry
Hi Larry,

Yikes. I don't see this issue with other TVs. My Slingbox is happy, as is my TV at my studio and my TV at home. I have a Sony TV at home. I'll pull it out and try it.

Blessings,
Keith
kkpm is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I have no idea what's causing the lock up problem on my Sony. The other day was the first time I'd ever seen that happen.

If you want to work direct via email, you can contact me at: larry@larrykenney.com

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Keith...

All of the channels on K03HY now have the proper aspect ratio:
3-1 is 4:3
3-2 is 16:9
3-3 is 4:3
3-4 is 4:3
3-5 is 16:9
3-6 is 4:3
3-7 is 16:9
3-8 is 4:3

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Last edited by Larry Kenney; 09-06-2014 at 12:33 AM. Reason: Updated information
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Might any of you know if Fry's, Best Buy, or other Bay Area store carries combiners? Searching on "UVSJ" at such stores is coming-up dry...

From some reading, it seems that the Pico Macom and Holland are the most desirable, with minimal insertion loss.

Ok, I just found this at Fry's, but it mentions satellite, and has no specs:

http://www.frys.com/product/2420620#detailed

Ah, this defnitely qualifies:

http://www.frys.com/product/5978774?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

If anyone can attest to the quality (4 bucks is cheaper than most), please do share...

Thanks much.
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Might any of you know if Fry's, Best Buy, or other Bay Area store carries combiners? Searching on "UVSJ" at such stores is coming-up dry...

From some reading, it seems that the Pico Macom and Holland are the most desirable, with minimal insertion loss.

Ok, I just found this at Fry's, but it mentions satellite, and has no specs:

http://www.frys.com/product/2420620#detailed

Ah, this defnitely qualifies:

http://www.frys.com/product/5978774?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

If anyone can attest to the quality (4 bucks is cheaper than most), please do share...

Thanks much.
The only useful combiners are those which combine ONE UHF antenna and ONE VHF antenna.

This one appears to be of the useful type.


The other one does not.

Remember, only ONE UHF antenna and ONE VHF antenna.

SHF
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5978774_01_prod.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	248770  
TonyB1966 likes this.
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
The only useful combiners are those which combine ONE UHF antenna and ONE VHF antenna.

This one appears to be of the useful type.


The other one does not.

Remember, only ONE UHF antenna and ONE VHF antenna.

SHF
Thank you SFischer1.

Figured that would be the one, but I had not heard of that brand before and it lists no specs. Was hoping that Holland one would do the trick, but I had my doubts...

I don't have a VHF only antenna, so I trust that this device would attenuate the UHF signals on the VFH port...

This one, by several accounts has very minimal insertion loss, but I can't seem to find it locally:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=uvsj

Maybe I'll stop at Fry's tomorrow and get that $4 combiner...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
OK, you are not understanding the word "useful". I will try again.

You receive a set of signals on antenna A and a set of signals on antenna B.

Unless, repeat, unless there are no stations that appear on both antennas then you can combine the antennas with a splitter / combiner and they are available everywhere.

But you otherwise run the risk of losing signals because the ATSC tuner cannot handle the multipath created.

In the NTSC analog days we would just ignore the ghosts, now with the ATSC tuners we may get NO VIDEO and / or NO AUDIO. NOTHING!

Yes there are people that report success, just like those who said that they went to sea on a concrete ship.

The latter can be believed as one of those ships was beached South of Santa Cruz. The former is very rare and works only when the antennas are pointed 90 degrees apart.

An A-B switch works and my system of having different tuners on each antenna works.

Multipath can appear on a single antenna and is why reports are made about some stations missing.

SHF
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post

I don't have a VHF only antenna, so I trust that this device would attenuate the UHF signals on the VHF port...

This one, by several accounts has very minimal insertion loss, but I can't seem to find it locally:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=uvsj

Maybe I'll stop at Fry's tomorrow and get that $4 combiner...
I think Fry's and Radio Shack are about the only places you'll find antenna hardware around here. Fry's probably has the best selection, but their supply varies greatly from store to store. You might find an item in one store, but none of the others, so you have to do some searching. Stephen drove all the way to Fairfield or some place up that way to a Fry's to get his CM4228 antenna a while back. There were none available locally. Radio Shack has a few items, like RF switches, connectors, coax, etc. but their selection is limited.

The best selection of electronic parts and equipment, antennas, combiners, etc. are on web sites like Solid Signal, Amazon (a surprising good supply of stuff!), Stark and Warren. There's a list of sites in the Antenna section of my Broadcasting web page linked below.

I have no idea what brand of combiners are used on my antennas. I hired an installer to put them all up, since I'm not fond of climbing on roofs and am getting too old to lift all that stuff, so I don't know what he used. They work fine tho.

If you put a combination VHF/UHF antenna into the VHF input of a combiner it will pass the VHF frequencies and block the UHF, and vise versa.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Radio Shack carries a UVSJ in all their stores. It's gold plated and you have to pay for the lights and the guy to bug you about a new cell phone and a service agreement for that battery you need, so they're fairly expensive compared to mail/online order. Catalog # 15-2586.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
There is another store in the South Bay.

HomeTech Solutions
10600 S De Anza Blvd, Cupertino, CA 95014 Phone: (408) 257-7152

http://www.hometech.com/

Quote:
21 Years In Business!
I somehow missed this store, I must have driven by ~ 100 times.

The owners wife sold my antenna installer two VHF/UHF Diplexer Mixers for $10.24.

That was NOT what was needed, the antenna installer grabbed one of my no-name normal splitters when the VHF/UHF one would not work. When the eight way splitter did not work he grabbed my Channel Master 3418 eight (8) outlet Multimedia Drop Amplifier. I had not used it for fear of overload by the existing UHF amp. No signs of problems with the new low-noise preamp. (Splitter is between the preamp and the CM3418.)

Nani's new antenna system. post # 6682
San Francisco, CA - OTA

Quote:
I drove from Sunnyvale to Fry's Roseville (333 Miles round trip) to get the CM4228HD.

In the dark I looked out the wrong side of my van trying to see the new Eastern span of the Bay Bridge.
SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 09-06-2014 at 08:16 PM.
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 12:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Keith...

All of the channels on K03HY now have the proper aspect ratio:
3-1 is 4:3
3-2 is 16:9
3-3 is 4:3
3-4 is 4:3
3-5 is 16:9
3-6 is 4:3
3-7 is 16:9
3-8 is 4:3

Larry
The soundtrack for 3-8 appears to be KORB-FM 88.7
888CALLFCC is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
How's it look on KFTY, Chuck? Any problems with your Sony going through the cycle that mine is?
Here's what I see this morning on KFTY: (Channel, Status, TV Screen Mode)

45.1, Okay, Normal
45.2, Okay, Full
45.3, Skinny, Normal (Needs to be set to Full)
45.4, Okay, Normal
45.5, Okay, Full
45.6, Okay, Normal
45.7, Okay, Full
45.8, Okay, Normal

I was unaware that the station could change the mode on my TV. "Normal" or "Full" screen modes are being set automatically. I thought that was strictly under my control. No issues here with 45.3.

BTW, I'm seeing some minor link dropouts this morning.

Chuck
Calaveras is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
OK, you are not understanding the word "useful". I will try again.

You receive a set of signals on antenna A and a set of signals on antenna B.

Unless, repeat, unless there are no stations that appear on both antennas then you can combine the antennas with a splitter / combiner and they are available everywhere.

But you otherwise run the risk of losing signals because the ATSC tuner cannot handle the multipath created.

I should point out for TonyB1966 that you can do that but you'll introduce 3.5 dB loss. You want to use a UVSJ (a UHF/VHF diplexer) which should have <0.5 dB loss, not a common splitter.

Chuck
Calaveras is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
All, sorry, I've seen these posts come in, but it's sometime tough for me to respond on college football Saturday...

Also, apologies in advance for not addressing all the feedback provided, if that were to happen...

Indeed, I was not aware of HomeTech "here" in Cupertino! Pretty cool website too. I'll make it point to go there as we go to Cupertino fairly regularly (wife likes Chinese and Taiwanese food, stores, etc). Any of you guys remember a store called "Quement" in Santa Clara or San Jose? Not sure what happened to them, but they had some really neat stuff...

After some additional reading, including a UVSJ thread here on AVS, not all are created equal. Tests have shown the Pico Macom to be desirable, especially when compared to the RS one/s. Apparently the Hollands UVSJ is equally as good, and I guess Solid Signal uses it as a substitute for that reason:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=UVSJ

The reviews on the RS were certainly not that compelling:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103923

It's a good 5 minute read, and somewhat entertaing too, lol: Pico Macom UVSJ Combiner VS . . . . ?

Kudos to ProjectSHO89 for standing his ground...

I have never used or had reason to use a UVSJ before. That said, the RCA preamp has served that purpose for us, as it has separate VHF and UHF input, each side attenuating the other, like a UVSJ.

So, I decided to just wait a few days, and ordered through Solid Signal...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
...
Any of you guys remember a store called "Quement" in Santa Clara or San Jose? Not sure what happened to them, but they had some really neat stuff...
...
When they closed their store on Bascom Ave. they moved to near Anchor Electronics and had no display area.

They now have merged with a national chain as their name does not appear on their website.

I have more "things" from Quement than from Fry's.

SHF
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
When they closed their store on Bascom Ave. they moved to near Anchor Electronics and had no display area.

They now have merged with a national chain as their name does not appear on their website.

I have more "things" from Quement than from Fry's.

SHF
I remember it as a little boy only, my dad taking me there to get tubes for his equipment, TVs and other stuff... At one point when I was a little older, I got a HAM license, and found myself there a fair amount...

I wonder what this Quement is in Santa Clara:

http://www.manta.com/c/mtxjylj/quement-electronics

Looks like I linked to the wrong AVS thread earlier regarding combiners. My bad. It's this one:

The Best Uhf-vhf Combiner

Last edited by TonyB1966; 09-07-2014 at 04:27 PM.
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Quement Electronics
2328 Walsh Avenue
Santa Clara, CA 95051 - View Map
37.369420 -121.967000 Phone: (408) 998-5355

Quement Electronics
Where 2350 Walsh Ave, Santa Clara , CA
Call (408) 998-5355
Web Quement Electronics Website
Tags Small Business Services

Santa Clara CA
4699 Old Ironside Drive
Suite 190
Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone: (408) 970-8090
Fax: (408) 970-8098

Quement is soon to disappear, the last is what comes up for their website, "Master Electronics".

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 09-07-2014 at 04:46 PM.
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yup, I saw that...

http://www.masterelectronics.com/

I just ordered an "old" Winegard UVSJ, the CS-7750.
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Yup, I saw that...

http://www.masterelectronics.com/

I just ordered an "old" Winegard UVSJ, the CS-7750.
My CS-775 must then be ancient.

In my hand, soon to be returned to where the rest of my splitters and cables that were replaced.

SHF
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Apparently this is Winegard's replacement of the CS-7750:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=cc7870

That doesn't make sense though as it doesn't do the same thing, as far as I can tell...
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Apparently this is Winegard's replacement of the CS-7750:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=cc7870

That doesn't make sense though as it doesn't do the same thing, as far as I can tell...
Where did you see that as a replacement? Somebody does not understand what I said above about two UHF or two VHF antennas.

Checking it appears that the Winegard CS-7750 is no longer stocked by any place I would trust.

As my CS-775 is not waterproof AFAIK or can tell so I would suggest you look for a different product.

I still am wondering what exact antennas you are planning to use. Reading past posts I have trouble understanding.

SHF
SFischer1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 12:22 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
Where did you see that as a replacement? Somebody does not understand what I said above about two UHF or two VHF antennas.

Checking it appears that the Winegard CS-7750 is no longer stocked by any place I would trust.

As my CS-775 is not waterproof AFAIK or can tell so I would suggest you look for a different product.

I still am wondering what exact antennas you are planning to use. Reading past posts I have trouble understanding.

SHF
On the eBay listing for the CS-7750:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Winegard-CS7...item2ecba13072

Almost 1/2 way down it reads "This item has been replaced by the CC-7870."

The lister doesn't understand, and I like to hope he doesn't plan to send me the CC-7870...

I'd be putting the UVSJ in the attic.

Oh, 2 antennas connected as ADTech drew-up in this post:

Preamp Injector / Inserter Location

UHF is the DB4e. VHF will come from an RCA ANT751. These are currently going through a dual input (VHF & UHF) RCA preamp. However, I get better results in this tough location when using the CM-7777 preamp, but the newer model only has one input...

The TV Fool report for this location: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d24344cdac3547

Last edited by TonyB1966; 09-08-2014 at 12:35 AM.
TonyB1966 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 01:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I was unaware that the station could change the mode on my TV. "Normal" or "Full" screen modes are being set automatically. I thought that was strictly under my control.
Chuck
I noticed the automatic changes a long time ago when KCSM added their 16:9 screen on 60.3. Since then several other local stations have added 480i 16:9 sub-channels mixed in with 480i 4:3. KOFY 20, for example, has HD on 20.1, 4:3 SD ME-TV on 20.2 and 16:9 SD Vietnamese programs on 20.3 and 20.4.

Some of the sub-channels that should be 16:9 are being sent out 4:3, so everyone looks skinny. On those you have to manually change to 16:9.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 101
The Winegard CC-7870 is nothing more than a common splitter, it is not a UVSJ(http://www.winegard.com/kbase/kb_tip...um=00000000291). It's a 20 year old design. It has one port that's DC-pass through and has a plastic case with a mast clamp for mounting on the mast near the antenna(s).

You can buy a much better splitter for 5 bucks at Home Depot if you don't need the DC-Pass (that would cost $8) or the mast clamp and plastic box.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 838 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
When they closed their store on Bascom Ave. they moved to near Anchor Electronics and had no display area.

They now have merged with a national chain as their name does not appear on their website.

I have more "things" from Quement than from Fry's.

SHF

Do you remember Manny in ham section of the store who wouldn't let us teenagers touch any of the equipment?

When Frank Quement died that was the end of the store.

Chuck
Calaveras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
taboola here
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off