San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 387 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11581 of 11603 Old 12-15-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
maxreactance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
I noticed that two stations got hit hard by the storm. Both KRON 4 and KTNC 42 were off the air. KRON is back after power was restored to their area of the city. KTNC, the last time I checked, was still off the air.
KRON 4 lost all power and had to go off the air after trying for a while to broadcast their interminable morning newscast using flashlights for lighting.

After that, the next day, it was their last day at that address, so now they have been pretty screwed up for the last few days. I like to watch the 4.3 subchannel, most specifically the reruns of "Married With Children", but when they came back on the air they had set the aspect ratio to 16:9 anamorphic stretch cropped 4:3...brilliant!

Hopefully they'll eventually get it together in the building, but given what a low-rent operation they became after losing the NBC affiliation, I'm not holding my breath...

--
maxreactance
maxreactance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11582 of 11603 Old 12-16-2014, 01:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxreactance View Post
KRON 4 lost all power and had to go off the air after trying for a while to broadcast their interminable morning newscast using flashlights for lighting.

After that, the next day, it was their last day at that address, so now they have been pretty screwed up for the last few days.
--
maxreactance
So KRON has made their move to 900 Front Street. I knew they were moving into the ABC Broadcast Center at 900 Front Street, taking over the third floor where KGO and KSFO radio were located. (The radio stations moved to the Cumulus facility on Hawthorn Street where KNBR, KFOG, etc. are located.) KRON is now using the former KGO-TV Studio 2 where channel 7 used to do local non-news productions.

I'll have to check out their news to see what their new set looks like.

I have noticed that they no longer have 24/7 news, weather, etc. on 4-2. They are airing an SD version of 4-1 now. Antenna TV is still on 4-3.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11583 of 11603 Old 12-16-2014, 01:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Looks like the weather has hit K03HY, channel 3, on Mt. Tam. They've been off the air for several hours.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11584 of 11603 Old 12-16-2014, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Yes, you can assign markers to specific traces via the "Marker Trace" soft key. There's a brief explanation on page 2-81 of the user's manual as well as a brief mention at the top of page 2-78.
Thanks! So easy yet I didn't see it. Now is there any easy way to display the difference between say the marker on Trace1 and the marker on Trace 2? I don't see a way.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Have you used Rigol's free Ultra Spectrum software? It allows you to capture a screen shot directly to your PC via the USB connection on the back of the SA, bypassing the need to PRINT a .bmp file to the flash drive, then moving that to the PC for further usage. I use it to capture the screen, then copy it to the clipboard, then into my image editing software for naming, editing, or I can drop it straight into an Excel or Word document.
I have not tried the software. I kind of try things on an as needed basis and I hadn't felt I needed that. The TV/analyzer and computer are located in different rooms in the house which make it more difficult.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11585 of 11603 Old 12-16-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Looks like the weather has hit K03HY, channel 3, on Mt. Tam. They've been off the air for several hours.

Larry

I can tell it's off the air as KCSO is back up to SNR 28 dB instead of the usual sitting on the cliff when I'm pointed at it. The KFTY transmitter is on the air but there is no programming. The TV says there is no signal to decode but the diagnostic screen shows a 24 dB SNR.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11586 of 11603 Old 12-17-2014, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Channel 3 is still off 24 hours later. Looks like it might be something serious to be off this long.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11587 of 11603 Old 12-17-2014, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Thanks! So easy yet I didn't see it. Now is there any easy way to display the difference between say the marker on Trace1 and the marker on Trace 2? I don't see a way.
I believe you'd have use the TRACE MATH function to accomplish something similar. I don't see a way to put individual markers of a DELTA or SPAN pair on separate traces (but I haven't tried, either)

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #11588 of 11603 Old 12-17-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
maxreactance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
So KRON has made their move to 900 Front Street. I knew they were moving into the ABC Broadcast Center at 900 Front Street, taking over the third floor where KGO and KSFO radio were located. (The radio stations moved to the Cumulus facility on Hawthorn Street where KNBR, KFOG, etc. are located.) KRON is now using the former KGO-TV Studio 2 where channel 7 used to do local non-news productions.

I'll have to check out their news to see what their new set looks like.

I have noticed that they no longer have 24/7 news, weather, etc. on 4-2. They are airing an SD version of 4-1 now. Antenna TV is still on 4-3.

Larry
Set right now looks over-lit, lit from below, and leaving
lots of reflections on their big screen monitors they pose
in front of, making it almost impossible to see what's on
the screen.

Channel 4.3 is now 480i anamorphic wide-screen
WITHOUT the anamorphic flag, the latest brilliant
advance in their multi-day request to keep their oldies
channel all screwed up. I can manually select an
anamorphic wide-screen display on my living-room
flat-screen, but my ChannelMaster CECB has no
option for aspect ratio for 480i channels without
the anamorphic flag. Channel 11.2 "Cozi TV"
broadcasts with the flag so can be viewed automatically
fine on any TV or device that respects the flag (they
show a wide-screen version of "Charlie's Angels" that
is a cropped version of the original 35mm film that's
pretty good visually).

Since my stupid living-room flat-screen TV does not
respect the flag, I'm sort of better off now with it for
these SD anamorphic wide-screen channels, because
I can just set the SD channels to "full" or whatever and
mostly get what I need. Very short-sighted of the FCC
(have these words ever been spoken?) not to require all
TVs to respect an anamorphic (or zoom) flag for SD
channels.

--
maxreactance
maxreactance is offline  
post #11589 of 11603 Old 12-18-2014, 01:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxreactance View Post
Channel 4.3 is now 480i anamorphic wide-screen WITHOUT the anamorphic flag, the latest brilliant
advance in their multi-day request to keep their oldies channel all screwed up.
maxreactance
It's interesting how different model TVs react so differently from each other. My 6 year old Sony does a great job of adjusting the width of the picture. As channel 11.2 changes, it follows. On KOFY there are both 4:3 and 16:9 sub-channels and other stations have varying widths and it adjusts properly. It adjusts 60-3 to wide screen, for example, but leaves 60-2 4:3. My Panasonic, a newer TV by three years, doesn't make the changes as required and I'm constantly having to use the "WIDTH" button to make the picture the right size. Several programs that are 480i are in a 16:9 format now, but not all stations are sending out the pictures that way. Some stations are sending out the 16:9 pictures in 4:3 format, so it's the opposite of the stretched problem and everyone is skinny, but at least I can make an adjustment and make it the right size. The ones that drive me crazy are the pictures that are stretched wide when they should be 4:3. There's no way to reduce the 16:9 to 4:3.

I also have the problem occasionally when I get an on-screen note advising that the size cannot be adjusted for this channel. What? Why not?

I hope that some day all of the stations will send out their programming in the proper size and that all TVs follow along and show the programming in the proper size, but I'm not holding my breath.

Larry
SF

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11590 of 11603 Old 12-18-2014, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxreactance View Post
Set right now looks over-lit, lit from below, and leaving
lots of reflections on their big screen monitors they pose
in front of, making it almost impossible to see what's on
the screen.

Channel 4.3 is now 480i anamorphic wide-screen
WITHOUT the anamorphic flag, the latest brilliant
advance in their multi-day request to keep their oldies
channel all screwed up.
Since my stupid living-room flat-screen TV does not
respect the flag, I'm sort of better off now with it for
these SD anamorphic wide-screen channels, because
I can just set the SD channels to "full" or whatever and
mostly get what I need.
--
maxreactance
I fixed the KRON 4-3 problem by re-scanning, and now seems ok.
But for the last 2 days, "Sanford and Son" was not set right.
Expanded on one tv, and squished on another.
I never need to adjust those settings, ... so KRON screwed up.

Speaking of screw ups, K03HY is still off the air, and has been dumped with my re-scan.

KNTV aka ... NBC bay area, NBC/3, Newschannel11, ... has a problem of news anchors walking off the 4 x 3 view area.
Looks like s****t watching on a tube tv. But what do you expect from KNTV ?
Hey KNTV, .. tons & tons of tube tvs still working!
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #11591 of 11603 Unread 12-18-2014, 05:12 PM
Member
 
maxreactance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
I fixed the KRON 4-3 problem by re-scanning, and now seems ok.
But for the last 2 days, "Sanford and Son" was not set right.
Expanded on one tv, and squished on another.
I never need to adjust those settings, ... so KRON screwed up.

Speaking of screw ups, K03HY is still off the air, and has been dumped with my re-scan.

KNTV aka ... NBC bay area, NBC/3, Newschannel11, ... has a problem of news anchors walking off the 4 x 3 view area.
Looks like s****t watching on a tube tv. But what do you expect from KNTV ?
Hey KNTV, .. tons & tons of tube tvs still working!
Re-scanning had nothing to do with it, I didn't re-scan
anything, they just keep changing the aspect ratio. Now
they are back to 4:3 SD like before, and I assume it will
stay that way...

KNTV is probably the worst offender for not remaining
4:3 safe throughout their programming, but get used to
it, because you're hosed at lot of times if you don't use
the letterbox option on your converter box for 16:9 HD.
I still have my trusty Mitsubishi tube TV below my
flat-screen in the living room, and use the tube TV
preferentially to watch old 4:3 SD content, as well as
a kind of poor man's picture-in-picture, but rarely watch
16:9 HD programming on it (Jeopardy! is a nightly
exception, but it's fully 4:3 safe and who the hell wants
to see Alex Trebek's moustache in HD?)...

--
maxreactance
maxreactance is offline  
post #11592 of 11603 Unread 12-18-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
maxreactance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
It's interesting how different model TVs react so differently from each other. My 6 year old Sony does a great job of adjusting the width of the picture. As channel 11.2 changes, it follows. On KOFY there are both 4:3 and 16:9 sub-channels and other stations have varying widths and it adjusts properly. It adjusts 60-3 to wide screen, for example, but leaves 60-2 4:3. My Panasonic, a newer TV by three years, doesn't make the changes as required and I'm constantly having to use the "WIDTH" button to make the picture the right size. Several programs that are 480i are in a 16:9 format now, but not all stations are sending out the pictures that way. Some stations are sending out the 16:9 pictures in 4:3 format, so it's the opposite of the stretched problem and everyone is skinny, but at least I can make an adjustment and make it the right size. The ones that drive me crazy are the pictures that are stretched wide when they should be 4:3. There's no way to reduce the 16:9 to 4:3.

I also have the problem occasionally when I get an on-screen note advising that the size cannot be adjusted for this channel. What? Why not?

I hope that some day all of the stations will send out their programming in the proper size and that all TVs follow along and show the programming in the proper size, but I'm not holding my breath.

Larry
SF
They would do so if the FCC required them to do so, it
would be like commanding that all DVD players would
automatically "up-scale" to 16:9, but no such law exists,
or if it does, my Sony TV breaks it...

If you are getting some weird message about no option
available, it may be some default setting on you 16:9
TV interfering with your desire to change the aspect
ratio for a SD channel for some reason.

The worst for me was when ION was showing "Married
With Children" in 16:9 anamorphically stretched. I could
ONLY watch it on my old tube TV by using the "Full"
mode on the converter box, and it still looked like crap...

Channel 4.3 is now in regular 4:3 SD mode as before
the move, so they finally fixed that problem. Funny
though to see that the station promos on the station were
actually in 16:9 for the day or so they had it set to
anamophically squeezed. The lighting on the news sets
on 4.1 have improved greatly as well in the last few days,
not as much front/under lighting and less reflections on
the monitors. It's actually an improvement over the
old place now that they've got everything working
properly...

--
maxreactance
maxreactance is offline  
post #11593 of 11603 Unread Yesterday, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
KDTV and KFSF have been having PSIP problems today. The engineers might be working on it, because the stations keep flipping between their PSIP channels and transmitter channels. Sometimes KDTV is showing up as 51 rather than 14, and KFSF is showing up as 34 rather than 66.

There is nothing on channel 66-4 (34-4) where Grit TV should be.

K03HY channel 3 from Mt. Tam is still off the air.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html


Last edited by Larry Kenney; Yesterday at 05:55 PM. Reason: Added info
Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11594 of 11603 Unread Yesterday, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
KDTV and KFSF have been having PSIP problems today.
Larry
KTNC has been using the RF channel for MONTHS.
I can't recall my tv ever placing them on 42-1 etc.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #11595 of 11603 Unread Today, 01:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
KTNC has been using the RF channel for MONTHS.
I can't recall my tv ever placing them on 42-1 etc.
Interesting... KTNC always shows up as 42 on all of my TVs and tuners. I've never seen it shown as being on 14 except for my HD HomeRun which only uses the transmitter channel for reception.

Tuners vary so much it's amazing!

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11596 of 11603 Unread Today, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Interesting... KTNC always shows up as 42 on all of my TVs and tuners. I've never seen it shown as being on 14

Tuners vary so much it's amazing!

Larry
It will not advance to 42-1 on all my "Digitalstream" converter boxes.
Simply shows 14-1 through 14-4
With 14-4 displaying "Escape"
This box I believe has a "LG" chip inside as the tuner.
I have replaced bad capacitors on this box, on the power board.
This brand / type of box fails after about 1 to 3 years with a bad capacitor on the power board.
When you get the dim ...."Green light of death" ... and no powering on. Its a bad capacitor.

On my "Magnavox" it shows up as 42-1 through 42-3
with 42-1 & 42-2 it displays "spanish"
42-3 displays "english"

The "Magnavox" has crashed a few times when I tuned K03HY.
But not recently with all the subchannels.

My battery tv displays 42-1 SF, 42-2 SA, 42-3 works.

All plugged into the same antenna system.

Last edited by 888CALLFCC; Today at 03:51 AM.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #11597 of 11603 Unread Today, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Kgo

Is anyone experiencing pixelating problems with KGO today? I'm seeing terrible pixelating problems today. I'm trying to figure out if it's their problem or my problem. I'm not seeing this on any other stations. My TV shows SNR 19 dB and 0 errors. There are no dropouts on the spectrum analyzer and no noise visible below the channel. It comes and goes. It'll be terrible and then it'll be fine for awhile. It looks just like the picture I see on KFTY when there are link problems.

Zero errors tends to indicate it's their problem.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11598 of 11603 Unread Today, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
Is anyone experiencing pixelating problems with KGO today? I'm seeing terrible pixelating problems today. I'm trying to figure out if it's their problem or my problem. I'm not seeing this on any other stations. My TV shows SNR 19 dB and 0 errors. There are no dropouts on the spectrum analyzer and no noise visible below the channel. It comes and goes. It'll be terrible and then it'll be fine for awhile. It looks just like the picture I see on KFTY when there are link problems.

Zero errors tends to indicate it's their problem.

Chuck
There was a report on HDTV-in-SFbay a few minutes ago:

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...messages/30425

Quote:
It's about 3:30pm on Saturday. Thought I'd check out the college game (Colo vs Utah) and 7 was pixelating really bad (OTA). 5 and 9 were fine, as well as everything else. Ideas anyone?
SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11599 of 11603 Unread Today, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxreactance View Post
KRON 4 lost all power and had to go off the air after trying for a while to broadcast their interminable morning newscast using flashlights for lighting.

After that, the next day, it was their last day at that address, so now they have been pretty screwed up for the last few days. I like to watch the 4.3 subchannel, most specifically the reruns of "Married With Children", but when they came back on the air they had set the aspect ratio to 16:9 anamorphic stretch cropped 4:3...brilliant!

Hopefully they'll eventually get it together in the building, but given what a low-rent operation they became after losing the NBC affiliation, I'm not holding my breath...

--
maxreactance
How many people remember the good old days, when KRON was the NBC affiliate and the Bay Area had two ABC affiliates--KGO and second-tier KNTV. I know, I am showing my age, but those were the days!
sted is online now  
post #11600 of 11603 Unread Today, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
How many people remember the good old days, when KRON was the NBC affiliate and the Bay Area had two ABC affiliates--KGO and second-tier KNTV. I know, I am showing my age, but those were the days!
ABC, NBC follies

The Official AVS Antenna and Related Hardware Topic!

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11601 of 11603 Unread Today, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Watching channel 7 from 4:50 to 5:05 pm I didn't see any pixelating at all, so either it's an intermittent problem or they fixed it.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11602 of 11603 Unread Today, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Watching channel 7 from 4:50 to 5:05 pm I didn't see any pixelating at all, so either it's an intermittent problem or they fixed it.

Larry

There was another post the other day that suggests that the problem is further up the chain to actual game.


I checked the Inform-commercial at ~ 4:05 and it was fine.


SHF


SFischer1 is online now  
post #11603 of 11603 Unread Today, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
How many people remember the good old days, when KRON was the NBC affiliate and the Bay Area had two ABC affiliates--KGO and second-tier KNTV. I know, I am showing my age, but those were the days!
I certainly remember it, and it doesn't seem to be that long ago. I remember watching The Tonight Show with Jay Leno on KRON 4 on my first HDTV after I got it. Now that I think about it, I guess that was a while ago, afterall... at least 14 years! I bought that set in 2000. It's still working and looks as good as it did back then. The tuner in it is terrible compared to the ones you get today, though.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off