San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 434 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 80Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12991 of 13007 Old 08-30-2015, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I'm not aware of any bad RG-6 cable although the loss varies a little. There are lots of places to buy cheap RG-6. If you need a 120' piece and two 20' pieces it is best to buy a spool, cut to length and put on your own connectors.

Don't buy quad shield thinking it is lower loss. It is not. Regular RG-6 is fine for 99.99% of uses.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12992 of 13007 Old 08-30-2015, 07:13 PM
Member
 
abdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
Multipath is reflections of the main signal off of objects that arrive at the at the antenna at different times and interfere with each other. Often these reflected signals appear as noise to the tuner and causes the signal not to decode because the signal-to-noise ratio is too low. Antennas mounted in attics and indoors can suffer from this more than outdoor antennas. Attic and indoor antennas are not line-of-sight locations.




That will work. You don't need to ground an antenna in the attic but you can if you want to. Grounding only protects a system from charges induced from nearby lightning strikes and not direct hits.

Chuck
I appears the antenna won't go in the attic or should I say my mind figured I could install it there BUT my 69 year old body took a look and said not worth the effort as I had extra thick Insulation installed higher R rating and it was fluffed above the trusses to hard to walk with out perhaps stepping thru sheetrock. Now on to plan B Exterior Antenna with the longer cable run.
abdiver is offline  
post #12993 of 13007 Old 08-30-2015, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdiver View Post
Now on to plan B Exterior Antenna with the longer cable run.
If you buy the bulk RG-6 and put on your own connectors, make sure that they are attached solidly. Some of the F-connectors screw on, and they're easier to install, but they don't hold well. Try to get the type that you crimp on, and then make sure that they're crimped on good. You don't want the one up at the antenna pulling loose on you.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #12994 of 13007 Old 08-31-2015, 09:45 PM
Member
 
abdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdiver View Post
I am looking to install an antenna and am asking for help as I read the Winegard HD8200U Platinum HD VHF/UHF Antenna, is a good antenna It appear to be kinda large 110 inches long as I recall. I am near the coast my old antenna finally corroded away, it was a Radio Shack (model & size unknown) years ago it finally corroded do to the salt air think I paid 40 bucks for it 20 years ago. I got a decent picture with it but at was located on my deck with a shorter cable run aprox 40 to splitter. I believe I get a strong signal here at my home.

The new installation length of coaxial is aprox

Antenna to splitter is 121 to 130 ft long
1st tv to splitter is 15 -20 ft long
2nd tv to splitter is 20 -25 ft long

I am hoping to not need a preamplifier for my antenna I have a trees about 1/4 away from the antenna and then more trees beyond that not a forest just folks landscaping etc over wise it would be a clear shot to San Francisco and beyond I have included a couple of sites below from TV Fool and Antenna Web with I hope you can pull up to see my situation. I do hope my cable lengths are not to long if I don't get a good signal I will install a preamp. I am hoping to get the antenna up 15' so the smaller it is the easier to lift the support pipe. If I could place a smaller antenna in my attic I could avoid corrosion and then have a shorter cable length Antenna to splitter is 30 to 35 ft long
1st tv to splitter is 15 - 20 ft long
2nd tv to splitter is 20 - 25 ft long

Hope I am making a bit of sence & have included the facts you require. Thanks

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e03d9851b4f61

http://antennaweb.org/Stations.aspx?...on=-122.706618
Going with placing the antenna out side with the total cable length as indicated in quote above with this tool be of use to me http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...source=inhouse
or should I just point it in the general position ( some on gave me the compass reading think it was 114 but would check, Years past I would just turn it till wife holler STOP pic is good : ) I already have lots of toys I mean tools and gadgets. Thanks
abdiver is offline  
post #12995 of 13007 Old 08-31-2015, 11:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdiver View Post
Going with placing the antenna out side with the total cable length as indicated in quote above with this tool be of use to me http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...source=inhouse
or should I just point it in the general position ( some on gave me the compass reading think it was 114 but would check, Years past I would just turn it till wife holler STOP pic is good : ) I already have lots of toys I mean tools and gadgets. Thanks
You are in an excellent reception area for OTA tv.

But things work differently now with digital tv -vs- analog that you should be aware of.
In the past, analog tv used VHF-UHF channels 2 through 69. As you creep up the channel dial, the antenna element size required gets smaller.
The largest metal elements are used for channel 2, and the smallest ones for 69.

Then digital tv came along, tv stations were broadcasting both analog & digital signals, (but not on the same VHF-UHF) channel.
So KTVU 2 for example, would transmit analog on VHF-2, and digital on UHF-44, (note that 44 UHF, requires a small antenna element -vs- VHF)
Then analog tv shuts down, and the larger antenna elements used for analog Low VHF channels (major network tv) are no longer required.

Utilizing UHF tv channels gives major network tv a huge advantage with small indoor antennas required for quality reception.
The 2-1 channel displayed on your tv is NOT the UHF-VHF channel number. It is a entered programmed display.

Today, low power community, religious, home shopping, etc .... have selected Low VHF tv channels for broadcasting. (ch 2 through 6)
ch 2 through 6 requires the largest antenna made for reception. (The exact model YOU selected)

Keep in mind that the size of it, (Element size) is designed for full tv band coverage (VHF-UHF)
It is a top of the line model. BUT if you only watch PBS tv on a UHF channel, in that case it is overkill. And would not work better then a stand alone UHF only antenna.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #12996 of 13007 Old 09-01-2015, 03:05 PM
Member
 
abdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
You are in an excellent reception area for OTA tv.

But things work differently now with digital tv -vs- analog that you should be aware of.
In the past, analog tv used VHF-UHF channels 2 through 69. As you creep up the channel dial, the antenna element size required gets smaller.
The largest metal elements are used for channel 2, and the smallest ones for 69.

Then digital tv came along, tv stations were broadcasting both analog & digital signals, (but not on the same VHF-UHF) channel.
So KTVU 2 for example, would transmit analog on VHF-2, and digital on UHF-44, (note that 44 UHF, requires a small antenna element -vs- VHF)
Then analog tv shuts down, and the larger antenna elements used for analog Low VHF channels (major network tv) are no longer required.

Utilizing UHF tv channels gives major network tv a huge advantage with small indoor antennas required for quality reception.
The 2-1 channel displayed on your tv is NOT the UHF-VHF channel number. It is a entered programmed display.

Today, low power community, religious, home shopping, etc .... have selected Low VHF tv channels for broadcasting. (ch 2 through 6)
ch 2 through 6 requires the largest antenna made for reception. (The exact model YOU selected)

Keep in mind that the size of it, (Element size) is designed for full tv band coverage (VHF-UHF)
It is a top of the line model. BUT if you only watch PBS tv on a UHF channel, in that case it is overkill. And would not work better then a stand alone UHF only antenna.
"BUT if you only watch PBS tv on a UHF channel, in that case it is overkill. And would not work better then a stand alone UHF only antenna."

OK if I wanted to get a 2nd antenna a a stand alone UHF only antenna. Which one would you suggest.

Last edited by abdiver; 09-01-2015 at 03:07 PM. Reason: clarity
abdiver is offline  
post #12997 of 13007 Old 09-02-2015, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by abdiver View Post
"BUT if you only watch PBS tv on a UHF channel, in that case it is overkill. And would not work better then a stand alone UHF only antenna."

OK if I wanted to get a 2nd antenna a a stand alone UHF only antenna. Which one would you suggest.

I'm lost. Where did you say you only wanted to watch PBS? I can't find it. I only see your list of desired stations in Post #12966 .

Where did the idea of a second antenna come from? You only need one antenna from where you are.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #12998 of 13007 Old 09-02-2015, 08:11 PM
Member
 
abdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Never si that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I'm lost. Where did you say you only wanted to watch PBS? I can't find it. I only see your list of desired stations in Post #12966 .

Where did the idea of a second antenna come from? You only need one antenna from where you are.

Chuck
I Never said that I was " quoting " What had posted earlier by 888CALLFCC

I am very sorry if I confused the issue by responding to 888CALLFCC post. I thought I was going to gain some info
Actually I had posted if I should buy a device
(Align Your HDTV Antenna with Ease - Pocket Antenna Signal Meter Just $29.99) see post 12994 at bottom

Again sorry for any confusion,

I am in the process of installing the Antenna (Winegard HD7694P) and cable to one tv my wife hopes I will have her tv hooked up in a day or two. I am in the middle of another job right now. Will report back once it is up and running
abdiver is offline  
post #12999 of 13007 Old 09-02-2015, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 43
By trying to figure out previous posts I found this ($70)

  • ◦Peak TV signals prior to channel scan
  • ◦Adjustable amplifier provides up to 10dB of gain
  • ◦Easy antenna aiming with audio signal feedback and 100 point aiming scale
http://www.winegard.com/sensarpro

See Thumbnail in line is way too big!

If it really has a channel selection it may be worth the money.

It goes in the wall, but why not a box?

http://www.winegard.com/help/index.p...le:2452217.pdf

SHF
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rfl-342.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	921954  

Last edited by SFischer1; 09-02-2015 at 09:02 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #13000 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 12:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,869
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Can someone help me understand why I have really good digital signals on nearly every channel (90s or better on my DirecTV box) except for KGO, which is in the 20s and 30s and unwatchable...

I'd like to be able to set up an OTA Tivo, but the reception is equally bad on that Tivo.

I don't even know where to begin

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #13001 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 01:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post
Can someone help me understand why I have really good digital signals on nearly every channel (90s or better on my DirecTV box) except for KGO, which is in the 20s and 30s and unwatchable...
What are you using for an antenna? You need a VHF antenna for channel 7 unless you're fairly close to Sutro Tower.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #13002 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post
Can someone help me understand why I have really good digital signals on nearly every channel (90s or better on my DirecTV box) except for KGO, which is in the 20s and 30s and unwatchable...

I'd like to be able to set up an OTA Tivo, but the reception is equally bad on that Tivo.

I don't even know where to begin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
What are you using for an antenna? You need a VHF antenna for channel 7 unless you're fairly close to Sutro Tower.

Larry

And you need to post your location and a link to your TV Fool report. It sound like you don't have a VHF antenna.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #13003 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 11:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,869
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 1036
Sorry, guys, I thought I had linked my report...

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e0307dff495a2

But yes, the problem is I don't have a VHF antenna. I've got one of these: http://salestores.com/chma428bouhf.html and it's been in use for ~10 years.

I'm 25 miles away apparently and I guess I never tried to access KGO in all this time -- until recently.

I am presuming my choices are:

1) Get a second antenna
2) Replace the main antenna

Is there any chance I can get the feed off of 35 from the backside? Or is that absurd?

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #13004 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post
...
1) Get a second antenna
---
Is there any chance I can get the feed off of 35 from the backside? Or is that absurd?
Wrong angle, ~ 90 degrees will not work. A small second antenna and a A/B Switch will.

TV Fool Google map
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90

Click "Show lines pointing to each transmitter"

Are you receiving NBC KNTV RF 12 VC 11? If not then a different answer is needed.

Maybe a simple change to your antenna will allow you to receive ABC KGO RF 7 VC 7. After that fix was published the new CM4228HD had the fix and mine receives RF 7 and RF 12 just fine.

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; Yesterday at 05:20 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #13005 of 13007 Old Yesterday, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post
I am presuming my choices are:

1) Get a second antenna
2) Replace the main antenna

Is there any chance I can get the feed off of 35 from the backside? Or is that absurd?

You can add a high VHF antenna but there are few choices these days. You could get an Antennas Direct C5 and a diplexer to add it in. Since you don't have LOS to Sutro Tower I recommend an antenna with some directivity to reject reflections.

RF 35 is probably strong enough from where you are but your UHF antenna is pretty directive and any stations that are far off the main lobe may have multipath issues. If you're not already receiving 35 then you'd need to point a second antenna at Fremont.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #13006 of 13007 Old Today, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Just a quick note to advise that KDTS 52.1 (RF 8) from Mt. Diablo is now in beautiful HD. I don't know when they switched from their jumpy picture, but they look great now.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is offline  
post #13007 of 13007 Old Today, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 4,101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
Just a quick note to advise that KDTS 52.1 (RF 8) from Mt. Diablo is now in beautiful HD. I don't know when they switched from their jumpy picture, but they look great now.

Larry

I thought I remembered that KDTS was a Daystar station so I checked KACA which is Daystar and it's in HD now too. The Daystar web site lists KRJR but that station is not on the air.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off