San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 515 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 199Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15421 of 15427 Old Today, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeekiM01 View Post
When tuning/aiming your antenna for signal strength, do you guys have a "favorite" channel to use to measure your aim to Sutro, Fremont and San Bruno?
Absolutely, ... On your tvfool listing report, use the last Green, yellow, or red station on the location you are tuning. (Example) .. So if you have all yellow and two red stations, for Sutro tower,
you pick the red stations, force tune those without scanning, Tune antenna to those, Then, scan-in the rest.
888CALLFCC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15422 of 15427 Old Today, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks!

Another noobie question... As mentioned earlier, I am getting all of the main networks with my indoor Mohu Leaf 50 antenna... ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC... I had mistakenly assumed that it was only a UHF antenna, but I just realized it's a VHF/UHF antenna...

Am I right in assuming that if I go with a bow-tie style UHF only antenna (without the VHF adapter), that I will effectively lose ABC and NBC? (KGO and KNTV)?
MikeekiM01 is offline  
post #15423 of 15427 Old Today, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
force tune those without scanning
"Force tuning" .. example tricks using a Digitalstream converter box. "Antenna mode" , etc.

1. Push the . "dot" button (or pound button) on the remote keypad. Up pops RF on the tv screen blue box. Enter RF channel.

For "antenna meter" (After RF entry)

1. Push the (star button) or meter button on the remote.
888CALLFCC is offline  
 
post #15424 of 15427 Old Today, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeekiM01 View Post
Am I right in assuming that if I go with a bow-tie style UHF only antenna (without the VHF adapter), that I will effectively lose ABC and NBC? (KGO and KNTV)?
Yes, you want a UHF-VHF antenna. The easy way to tell is UHF antenna elements are generally 1 foot or less. High VHF band antenna elements are around 2-3 feet long.
And low VHF band antennas are 8-9 feet long.

SO ... The muho leaf antenna is a UHF only antenna, using the cheap - unshielded 3 foot coax as a VHF antenna. .... Notice the cable size ? Thats Not shielded RG-6 cable.
Using the cable itself as the antenna ... is a very wimpy design of low quality. It may ... or may not work.. depending on location.
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #15425 of 15427 Old Today, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeekiM01 View Post
Am I right in assuming that if I go with a bow-tie style UHF only antenna (without the VHF adapter), that I will effectively lose ABC and NBC? (KGO and KNTV)?
Both of those channels are available on UHF from Fremont repeaters, I receive KGO and KNTV and do not have a VHF antenna. You may still want to put up VHF because KRON is going from RF 38 to RF 7 on Sutro after the repack, but it was also sold to a new owner, so who knows what content it will end up broadcasting.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #15426 of 15427 Old Today, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeekiM01 View Post
When tuning/aiming your antenna for signal strength, do you guys have a "favorite" channel to use to measure your aim to Sutro, Fremont and San Bruno?
Looking at Sutro I would also check KPIX, even though it is a 1MW transmitter. There is a low power analog station on the same channel, RF 29, in Salinas that may be a source of interference. Likely your location is better than mine relative to this and other reception problems.

Edit: if you go with a bowtie you may be able to aim 5 to 10 degrees east of SF to improve Fremont reception with little degradation of Sutro signals thanks to the broad beam. I'm betting (with your money and time, LOL) this would work and free your Tivo from antenna rotors or dual antennae with a switch . It is what I tried first, and came within a gnat's eyelash of 100% dropout-free success. But I am behind a hill with markedly worse reception conditions than you.

Lifespeed

Last edited by lifespeed; Today at 01:40 PM.
lifespeed is offline  
post #15427 of 15427 Old Today, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 5,170
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeekiM01 View Post
Thanks!

Another noobie question... As mentioned earlier, I am getting all of the main networks with my indoor Mohu Leaf 50 antenna... ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC... I had mistakenly assumed that it was only a UHF antenna, but I just realized it's a VHF/UHF antenna...

Am I right in assuming that if I go with a bow-tie style UHF only antenna (without the VHF adapter), that I will effectively lose ABC and NBC? (KGO and KNTV)?

Nobody can answer this question with any certainty. I don't understand why you're asking it anyway. If you want to receive VHF then you need an antenna designed for VHF. If you want to go UHF only and try compromise pointing then you can try a UHF only antenna. The bowtie antennas are not designed for VHF. Sometimes they work on VHF if the signal is strong enough but a paperclip will also work as an antenna if the signals are strong enough.

After I conducted a few pointing tests in the South Bay I no longer recommend compromise pointing there. Too much multipath. Even if it works for you you'll be dealing with reduced Signal Quality which may come back to bite you.

Once you have your antenna installed and receive all the stations you want you should go back and check the signal Quality of each station. It should be in mid 20's dB or 80's%. You don't want SQs <20dB because that's not enough margin to be reliable in many cases.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off