San Diego, CA - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1092 Old 11-27-2007, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Try antennaweb.org.

I already have, but it doesn't exactly answer my question. I think my main question is... does being higher up (away from structures, etc.) help when factoring which OTA channels you get?
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1092 Old 11-27-2007, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
sdsalsero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinmcfluffin View Post

I'm 11 stories above the ground. My window faces Northeast.

Being so high helps but you're facing the worst possible direction. ABC and CBS are NW, Fox is SW, and the rest of SE. But being so high might allow you to get away with a simple omnidirectional UHF antenna.
sdsalsero is offline  
post #363 of 1092 Old 11-27-2007, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cctvtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You might try buying a "rabbit ear" antenna from Radio Shack and keep the packing. If you don't pick up anything you can always return it.

Be seeing you!
cctvtech is offline  
post #364 of 1092 Old 11-27-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsalsero View Post

Being so high helps but you're facing the worst possible direction. ABC and CBS are NW, Fox is SW, and the rest of SE. But being so high might allow you to get away with a simple omnidirectional UHF antenna.

****! Haha thanks.

I have the simple $8 antenna now, and won't be able to try it out until tomorrow. Stupid as I am, I already opened it. Anyway, we'll see how it does.
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #365 of 1092 Old 12-19-2007, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Erik Tracy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got TWC coming out to 'upgrade' my digital cable (Pio V1000) to HDTV and will probably be getting the 'improved' SA8300HD/C (got my fingers crossed).

Lately - last several weeks - I've noticed a very annoying problem with the downstairs digital cable - every 5 minutes or so my picture will freeze, pixelate, the audio will cut out for about a second, then everything will return to 'normal'. It happens most notably on the major broadcast channels like CBS, NBC, ABC and ESPN when watching ball games - but I've also noticed it on TNT (Lord of the Rings last week) and also PBS.

I've reset the box several times to see if that might cure the problem but alas, no, it persists.

Has anyone else been experiencing this in the San Diego area?

Could it just be my V1000 STB and the problem will magically go away when I upgrade to the HD STB?

Thanks,
Erik
Erik Tracy is offline  
post #366 of 1092 Old 12-21-2007, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdsalsero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Tracy View Post

Lately - last several weeks - I've noticed a very annoying problem with the downstairs digital cable - every 5 minutes or so my picture will freeze, pixelate, the audio will cut out for about a second, then everything will return to 'normal'.

Sounds like a loss of signal. Have the cable guy check the signal level at all your outlets. Of course, I have a similar problem and even rewiring the house (boosting the signal strength tremendously) didn't stop it. I'm on COX Cable in East County, though, and I suspect there're systemwide dropouts they don't want to admit to.
sdsalsero is offline  
post #367 of 1092 Old 01-03-2008, 02:11 PM
VoR
Member
 
VoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know when stations besides 8 will have High Definition Local News?

Why doesn't KNSD carry the HD versions of Wheel of Fortune or Jeopardy?
VoR is offline  
post #368 of 1092 Old 01-03-2008, 05:44 PM
Member
 
londawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good question. I've been tempted to email the stations engineer with those questions. I used to have his direct email, all I can find is: feedback@nbcsandiego.com
Maybe they can answer these questions.

Lon

londawg is offline  
post #369 of 1092 Old 01-09-2008, 09:44 AM
Member
 
tunaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A big company doing something illegal? Oh my gawd! No way!
tunaman is offline  
post #370 of 1092 Old 01-09-2008, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunaman View Post

A big company doing something illegal? Oh my gawd! No way!

I'm sorry, but what are you talking about?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #371 of 1092 Old 01-16-2008, 02:09 PM
VoR
Member
 
VoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by londawg View Post

Good question. I've been tempted to email the stations engineer with those questions. I used to have his direct email, all I can find is: feedback@nbcsandiego.com
Maybe they can answer these questions.

Lon

They don't seem to answer anything sent there. Going on a week +
VoR is offline  
post #372 of 1092 Old 01-29-2008, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
adamsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed on another board that TWSD has National Geographic HD now on 718. Is anyone with a Tivo and cable cards receiving this one yet?
adamsd is offline  
post #373 of 1092 Old 01-31-2008, 10:28 PM
Member
 
ebaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsd View Post

I noticed on another board that TWSD has National Geographic HD now on 718. Is anyone with a Tivo and cable cards receiving this one yet?

The channel lineup on the TWC San Diego web site says " National Geographic HD (Coming Feb.13)."
ebaker is offline  
post #374 of 1092 Old 02-03-2008, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 48
A chilling reason for OTA signals being degraded lately:
http://earthsignals.com/add_CGC/kabc_tv_ice.htm
holl_ands is offline  
post #375 of 1092 Old 02-04-2008, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
sdsalsero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

A chilling reason for OTA signals being degraded lately:
http://earthsignals.com/add_CGC/kabc_tv_ice.htm

Isn't that LA?
sdsalsero is offline  
post #376 of 1092 Old 02-06-2008, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I am looking for anyone who has experience trying to receive SD/HD UHF signals from Mt. Wilson. There are over two dozen digital UHF signals broadcast from that location.

Any successes? What antenna did you use, and where are you located? Any failures? What antenna(s) did you try and where are you located?

I am about 1 block from a 100ft bluff overlooking the ocean in Encinitas and have a clear look to Mt. Wilson. Any opinions of my chances? Thanks!
domino92024 is offline  
post #377 of 1092 Old 02-06-2008, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi:

I have been using this antenna and preamp for LA with a rotor from Western San Marcos for the last 3 years. According to Google Earth, we are at about 600 feet above sea level.

Winegard HD9095P
Winegard AP-8275

The list of stations received here follows:

 

TV GUIDE TO STATIONS AVAILABLE NORTH.doc 56.5k . file
LL

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #378 of 1092 Old 02-08-2008, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ennui View Post

Hi:

I have been using this antenna and preamp for LA with a rotor from Western San Marcos for the last 3 years. According to Google Earth, we are at about 600 feet above sea level.

Winegard HD9095P
Winegard AP-8275

The list of stations received here follows:

You realize that next February KABC, KCAL, KTTV, KCOP, KFMB, and KGTV (among others) will transition to VHF transmission? That is a UHF only antenna, right? What are your plans then?
domino92024 is offline  
post #379 of 1092 Old 02-08-2008, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cctvtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
For best UHF reception in deep fringe, try this:

DB8 Multidirectional HDTV Antenna


For the absolute longest VHF range, get separate low (ch. 2-6) and high (ch. 7-13) antennas like:

Blonder Tongue Low Band VHF Antenna (BTY-LP-LB)


Blonder Tongue High Band VHF Antenna (BTY-LP-HB)


For best satellite reception, try this:



If you want to get everything, try this:

Be seeing you!
cctvtech is offline  
post #380 of 1092 Old 02-08-2008, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I still have the VHF/UHF antenna and preamp I was using before for LA (prior to 2000). It was mounted in the same place and worked great. Even Santa Barbara Channel 3 came in sometimes.

I actually put it up to get the LA PBS stations: 24, 28, 50 and 58.

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #381 of 1092 Old 02-08-2008, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ennui View Post

I still have the VHF/UHF antenna and preamp I was using before for LA (prior to 2000). It was mounted in the same place and worked great. Even Santa Barbara Channel 3 came in sometimes.

I actually put it up to get the LA PBS stations: 24, 28, 50 and 58.

I might just get a good high-band VHF and pre-amp. My UHF system was due to go up on Monday before I saw the new chart.
domino92024 is offline  
post #382 of 1092 Old 02-19-2008, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFMB responded to me today by stating that their temporary move of the DTV signal to channel 7 has been approved. Here is an article about the temporary setup:

http://www.sbe36.org/index.php?optio...d=211&Itemid=1

The power levels for the "experimental phase" seem to be very high at "only" 47kW for now, increasing to 140kW after the old 55 antenna is retired. Considering that the DTV 8 allotment for 2/18/09 is only 14.9kW, something seems off. Do they need that much more power for a temporary side mount? It is supposed to have a deep null towards KABC 7 in LA, but I will be interested to see the polar plot, when available.

In any event, I'm not optimistic about pulling a VHF DTV signal at my parent's downtown condo, which currently receives 55 just fine.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #383 of 1092 Old 02-19-2008, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimboG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My wife and I just bought a first floor condo in Carmel Valley, about one mile east of I-5 (directly east of Del Mar). I'm a little worried about the null spot on KFMB-DT's new VHF channel 7. Hopefully we will be able to receive CBS HD programming despite the null to the northwest of Mount Soledad.

By the way, why did the San Diego community decide to go with the dedicated forum instead of using a thread on AVS Forum? I've lurked a little on the hdtv.forsandiego.com site before. It doesn't seem like the site has quite enough of a critical mass for comments and responses, possbily due to the proliferation of sub-forums. Not trying to criticize, it just seems different than the Washington, DC thread or the local thread in cities where there is a common enemy (Denver thread discussing sCare tactics, etc).

Look forward to hearing anyone's insight on getting reliable DTV reception from all of the San Diego stations and hopefully most or all of the LA stations.

Jim

Free over the air HDTV + Tivo HD + Netflix for Blu-ray and streaming = Bliss
JimboG is offline  
post #384 of 1092 Old 02-19-2008, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff_DML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am just about mile west of you, I am keeping my fingers crossed on the NULL spot too.

I think we are pretty active on the san diego forum We pretty much just do on topic discussion so that might seem why it is a little slow.
Jeff_DML is offline  
post #385 of 1092 Old 02-20-2008, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Bad news for TWC San Diego subscribers....

Navigator is being rolled out on February 26. I just got a flyer in the mail today notifying us of the cutover. Same info on the TWC-San Diego web site.

300,000 (give or take a few thousand) are about to have new nightmares (and DirecTV a few more customers).

FYI, I'm in the area just south of Montgomery Field, so I'm in the regular TWC area (not North County area but they'll be affected also).
humdinger70 is offline  
post #386 of 1092 Old 02-20-2008, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_77 View Post

KFMB responded to me today by stating that their temporary move of the DTV signal to channel 7 has been approved. Here is an article about the temporary setup:

http://www.sbe36.org/index.php?optio...d=211&Itemid=1

The power levels for the "experimental phase" seem to be very high at "only" 47kW for now, increasing to 140kW after the old 55 antenna is retired. Considering that the DTV 8 allotment for 2/18/09 is only 14.9kW, something seems off. Do they need that much more power for a temporary side mount? It is supposed to have a deep null towards KABC 7 in LA, but I will be interested to see the polar plot, when available.

In any event, I'm not optimistic about pulling a VHF DTV signal at my parent's downtown condo, which currently receives 55 just fine.

I just wish KFMB would stop placing their annoying "CBS 8....HD" badge on the vertical bars of all 4:3 programming on their HDTV channel. Geez, don't they realize that we are trying to forget that the bars are there to begin with? My black level makes the vertical and horizontal bars the same shade of black. Then KFMB goes and spoils the effort. Geez....
domino92024 is offline  
post #387 of 1092 Old 02-24-2008, 07:21 PM
Member
 
ebaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by humdinger70 View Post

Bad news for TWC San Diego subscribers....

Navigator is being rolled out on February 26. I just got a flyer in the mail today notifying us of the cutover. Same info on the TWC-San Diego web site.

300,000 (give or take a few thousand) are about to have new nightmares (and DirecTV a few more customers).

FYI, I'm in the area just south of Montgomery Field, so I'm in the regular TWC area (not North County area but they'll be affected also).

I'm in the same area, Mission Village/Serra Mesa. I found a lot of gibberish on the TWC-San Diego web site about Navigator, but couldn't find where it said Feb 26. Could you post a link to that page? Thanks
ebaker is offline  
post #388 of 1092 Old 02-25-2008, 09:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebaker View Post

I'm in the same area, Mission Village/Serra Mesa. I found a lot of gibberish on the TWC-San Diego web site about Navigator, but couldn't find where it said Feb 26. Could you post a link to that page? Thanks

Someone posted on hdtv.forsandiego.com that he'd seen that February 26th date in a paper letter that he received in snail-mail (here). Apparently the letter came with a brochure about all of the great new features of Navigator. It'll be interesting to see if everyone looses their saved recordings .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #389 of 1092 Old 02-26-2008, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Navigator was pushed to TWC San Diego customers during the early morning hours of February 26. I saw it at 7:00 AM PST. Changed the default power-on channel on my box from my set of 707 back to 0 (ShopNBC). I was able to make changes to go back to 707. It looks like it saved some of my series recordings settings, but it looks like it changed them - those that were set only to record a specific time to all times.

There is good news, you can change the priority of a series once you set it. Also beware that new series recordings get the top priority instead of the bottom priority.

I also found that there are channels for recordings that aren't on the guide. Example: Battlestar Galactica shows up on channels 57, 1157 and 1217. Neither of those high channel numbers show up in the guide.

The guide also is the TV Guide version.

I think I'm going to have to watch over the next week or so and also retrain the machine to re-capture the shows I want. Also later as some series aren't on there because they haven't aired in a while (Dancing With The Stars).

It's as if I just got a new DVR and it doesn't know what I watch.
humdinger70 is offline  
post #390 of 1092 Old 02-26-2008, 08:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Didn't get it here in Kearny Mesa. humdinger70, do you have an 8300HD or HDC?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off