San Diego, CA - HDTV - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 02:06 PM
Member
 
crazed_z06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys.. posted this over on the new San Diego HDTV forum..


I got an email from Cox 2 weeks ago saying the new trio guide and everything were available. I immediately gave them a call and scheduled an appointment for installation. I got one Cisco 8642HDC and one 1642HDC box. The 8642 is the DVR. The install consisted of the Cox tech installing some kind of filters and activating the new boxes. He also had to call and have it setup so the 1642 was a client for the 8642. It took about 45 minutes for setup and it went very smoothly. The tech commented that this was his 3rd install.

Overall, I am satisfied with the new guide. The guide uses the entire 16:9 screen pretty efficiently. The guide is split into three boxes which can show different info. My main gripe with the new boxes is they are SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW. I mean really slow. If anyone has ever used DirecTV, it's like that. At least a 1 second lag when pressing buttons and it takes about 2 seconds to tune a new channel. Im getting used to it though.

The whole home DVR setup is pretty nice. As you would imagine, anything you've recorded on the main box can be watched on the client boxes. The best feature is the client box can record programs to the main box. So if Im in the bedroom, I can flip through the guide and record programs from the client.

The client does not have DVR functions on LiveTV (since it has no HDD to buffer). You have to hit record and then you can FF, RWD, Pause, etc.

Hmm.. what else..
You can setup different users on the boxes, so you can have different favorite channels and guide layouts per user. I now have six HD HBO channels which is great. I can now see "HBO Boxing After Dark" live on HBO East in HD. The boxes have HDMI and Component outs, but only one output can be active at a time..

Overall, Im pretty happy with the new boxes. The SLOWNESSSSS is terrible, but Im getting used to it after a couple weeks. Ive used DirecTV and Uverse Guides and this new Trio guide seems to much more efficient in how it gives you information.

Oh yea, it's $5 more per month.. the install was free


Any questions? I can try to answer them..
crazed_z06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Has anyone with a TiVo Premiere asked Cox if they can get the Plus Pak channels for the extra $5.00?

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #873 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 03:17 PM
Member
 
londawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks crazed_z06 for the info!! We have several HD DVR's in the house and this will save us a bundle, I've been waiting for this day.

londawg is offline  
post #874 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Cox is still working on RemoteDVR integration with Trio. Passport can be scheduled remotely but not Trio. RemoteDVR is coming next year with Trio along with remote scheduling and recording from the client box. Surprised to see you get free installation as most Cox customers are having to pay $75 for the install.

ricomputerguy in the Providence, RI and Hartford, CT cox threads has the Trio DVR in a Motorola system and he finds having one DVR a little bit of a stretch. He used to have 2 Motorola DVR's with Passport and would like to see a 2nd Trio DVR option. Time Warner's software allows for 2 MR-DVR's and that could really work with some multi DVR households.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #875 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by londawg View Post

Thanks crazed_z06 for the info!! We have several HD DVR's in the house and this will save us a bundle, I've been waiting for this day.

I've activated your account, so you can now post on the new forum.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #876 of 1092 Old 12-25-2010, 04:08 PM
Member
 
crazed_z06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

Cox is still working on RemoteDVR integration with Trio. Passport can be scheduled remotely but not Trio. RemoteDVR is coming next year with Trio along with remote scheduling and recording from the client box. Surprised to see you get free installation as most Cox customers are having to pay $75 for the install.

Hmm.. well, they didnt mention any fee for the install. Just got my new bill and didnt see any install charge, so I assuming it's free lol

Recording from the client box already seems to be implented. Im really wanting the remote scheduling option. That is the one feature DirecTV has that makes me jealous

EDIT: Here's video of me tuning channels so you can get a feel for how long it takes..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fXO88pYD14
crazed_z06 is offline  
post #877 of 1092 Old 12-27-2010, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazed_z06 View Post

Hmm.. well, they didnt mention any fee for the install. Just got my new bill and didnt see any install charge, so I assuming it's free lol

Recording from the client box already seems to be implented. Im really wanting the remote scheduling option. That is the one feature DirecTV has that makes me jealous

EDIT: Here's video of me tuning channels so you can get a feel for how long it takes..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fXO88pYD14

crazed_z06
What is the current Trio SW_REV (Software Revision) that you are running?


Posted 12-01-10 from Tulsa I believe. Poster also posted many screen shots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmajdan View Post

Do you know how to check what version of Trio I am running? I accessed the diag screens, but couldn't find anything that specifically said Trio. The closest thing I could find was on the first screen, under "System Description", SW_REV (Software Revision?) is 1.6.4.25012.


TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #878 of 1092 Old 12-27-2010, 05:48 PM
Member
 
crazed_z06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

crazed_z06
What is the current Trio SW_REV (Software Revision) that you are running?


Posted 12-01-10 from Tulsa I believe. Poster also posted many screen shots.

Mine also says:
SW_REV: 1.6.4.25012
crazed_z06 is offline  
post #879 of 1092 Old 12-30-2010, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XHDTV showed up on RF channel 47 (49.1) which will go HD in the future.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #880 of 1092 Old 01-01-2011, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Little accidental downtime, but it's all good!
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #881 of 1092 Old 01-05-2011, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is KSWB FOX network prime time bit rates with two sub channels today. Antenna TV and This TV


and TSReader html export file.

 

kswb2011Jan05.zip 3.4658203125k . file
jeff2631 is offline  
post #882 of 1092 Old 01-09-2011, 10:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Here is KSWB FOX network prime time bit rates with two sub channels today. Antenna TV and This TV

and TSReader html export file.

Any chance you could snag HTML for KSDX-LD 9 and KPBS 30? It would be much appreciated.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #883 of 1092 Old 01-09-2011, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Any chance you could snag HTML for KSDX-LD 9 and KPBS 30? It would be much appreciated.

- Trip
Here is KPBS. I've never received KSDX since I don't have a VHF antenna pointed there.


TSReader export html zip

 

kpbs2011Jan09.zip 2.388671875k . file
jeff2631 is offline  
post #884 of 1092 Old 01-09-2011, 11:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Thanks!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #885 of 1092 Old 01-12-2011, 09:34 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congrats to Channel 10 for finally putting their subchannel to good use. TheCoolTV has music videos like Channel 69 used to have. San Diego tv is getting exciting. No excuses to pay for cable now !
JoeM is offline  
post #886 of 1092 Old 01-12-2011, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Congrats to Channel 10 for finally putting their subchannel to good use. TheCoolTV has music videos like Channel 69 used to have. San Diego tv is getting exciting. No excuses to pay for cable now !

Yes, I was holding out waiting for a sub-channel with music videos.
domino92024 is offline  
post #887 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Congrats to Channel 10 for finally putting their subchannel to good use. TheCoolTV has music videos like Channel 69 used to have. San Diego tv is getting exciting. No excuses to pay for cable now !

I didn't even know KGTV had a digital subchannel prior to the arrival of "TheCoolTV".

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #888 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

I didn't even know KGTV had a digital subchannel prior to the arrival of "TheCoolTV".

They have an Azteca channel on 10-15 and also on analog 39 which is redundant, at least here in the South Bay as we get both Aztecas (and they have Smackdown which 10-15 doesn't) from TJ.
JoeM is offline  
post #889 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 01:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

They have an Azteca channel on 10-3 and also on analog 39 which is redundant, at least here in the South Bay as we get both Aztecas (and they have Smackdown which 10-3 doesn't) from TJ.

If I recall correctly, Azteca America on KGTV is mapped to 10-15.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Here is KPBS. I've never received KSDX since I don't have a VHF antenna pointed there.

TSReader export html zip

Not to bother you again, but could I get a new KGTV? I'd like to see how the configuration has changed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #890 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 01:09 PM
Member
 
paco1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

If I recall correctly, Azteca America on KGTV is mapped to 10-15.

Yes, that is correct.
paco1986 is offline  
post #891 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
If I recall correctly, Azteca America on KGTV is mapped to 10-15.



Not to bother you again, but could I get a new KGTV? I'd like to see how the configuration has changed.

- Trip
Here is KGTV now with two subchannels.


And the TSReader htm export file.

 

kgtv2011Jan13.zip 2.716796875k . file
jeff2631 is offline  
post #892 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Thanks.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #893 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Here is KGTV now with two subchannels.


And the TSReader htm export file.

Am I correct in my assumption that KGTV-DT has dropped their main HD channel to 11.16 Mbps? They were around 14.9-15.1 Mbps. That's quite a drop!
domino92024 is offline  
post #894 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 11:40 PM
Member
 
sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tsreader - KSDX-LD.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

 

ksdx-tsreader.zip 1.6689453125k . file
sandog is offline  
post #895 of 1092 Old 01-13-2011, 11:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Awesome. Thanks!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #896 of 1092 Old 01-14-2011, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Am I correct in my assumption that KGTV-DT has dropped their main HD channel to 11.16 Mbps? They were around 14.9-15.1 Mbps. That's quite a drop!

It seems to be variable around 11 and 13 but it's not real good.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #897 of 1092 Old 01-14-2011, 02:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

It seems to be variable around 11 and 13 but it's not real good.

Interesting--it seems variable on a program-by-program basis. I have 3 episodes of V on my TiVo; two of them, a reprise of the final episodes of the beginning of the season, aired back to back on a Sunday, are 6.42 GB in length and the one which aired this week is 6.38 GB, all averaging about 14.2 Mbps for 60 minutes. This week's Private Practice is 4.97 GB, averaging 11.2 Mbps for 59 minutes. Last week's Private Practice was 6.52 GB, for an average of 14.7 Mbps for 59 minutes and this week's Castle was 6.34 Mbps, averaging 14.3 Mbps for 59 minutes. They may just be using a sophisticated VBR encoder, yielding a lower bit rate for content with less visual complexity.

Remember that KGTV is broadcasting 720p, 13% fewer pels/sec than 1080i, so "real good" is a bit different for them than for KFMB or KSND.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #898 of 1092 Old 01-14-2011, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Interesting, I have seem to have noticed that ESPN on ABC produced sporting events picture quality seems to have gone downhill over the last couple of years on KGTV. I know for a while ESPN has had picture quality issues on their cable network. Now with KGTV running 2 subchannels, this cant help with regards to picture quality.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #899 of 1092 Old 01-14-2011, 12:24 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody remember the name of the video music sub-channel that was on kswb (69) ?
JoeM is offline  
post #900 of 1092 Old 01-14-2011, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Daranman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Anybody remember the name of the video music sub-channel that was on kswb (69) ?

It was "The Tube", which went out of biz 1 Oct 2007

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Tube_Music_Network
Daranman is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off