San Diego, CA - HDTV - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1095 Old 09-15-2005, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRJAZZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SAN DIEGO, CALIF
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KPBS

If this has already been mentioned, I didn't see it, however has any one else experienced all the hi def from KPBS, being down res'd to 480p? Started about 3 weeks ago. I have 3 diferent hi def sat box's in the house,plus two separate antenNa feeds, and it is doing it from all sources.

CHEERS, TC
MRJAZZZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1095 Old 09-15-2005, 07:57 PM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MRJAZZZ,
Yes the KPBS HD decoder failed about 3 weeks ago and they are awaiting a replacement to install into the system and get HD back up. There is a thread in the local hdtv.forsandiego forum where 2 of the engineers have been posting some updates.
DEIFan is offline  
post #93 of 1095 Old 09-19-2005, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
sdchrgrboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: san diego
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a question regarding OTA reception. I live in Mission Hills, just up from the 5 and Sassafrass. With my OTA antenna I am able to pull in WB, ABC, NBS, PBS, Fox and even WB out of LA. For some reason I can't get 8-1 or CBS at all or sometimes (rarely) it comes in fine like Saturday night and Sunday it came in perfect. Now today, Monday, nothing? What could be causing this problem. Do I have multipath issues? LIke I said, I am getting all the other channels form the same location as 8-1, but not 8-1 for some reason
sdchrgrboy is offline  
post #94 of 1095 Old 09-19-2005, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbailey895's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: La Costa, CA
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone found a decent installer for OTA HD in San Diego? I'm in Carlsbad, and setting up an HTPC, and would like to get a bi-directional antenna for San Diego and LA stations properly set up. Any input appreciated.
Thanx, Joel
jbailey895 is offline  
post #95 of 1095 Old 09-20-2005, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdsalsero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
sdchrgrboy,
Have you tried using http://www.antennaweb.org yet, to map the direction of the various stations relative to your house? Antennas are directional and it sounds like yours is pointed to the SE where WB, NBC, and PBS are located; Fox is to the south. ABC and CBS are to the NW and it's common to have a problem receiving them if your antenna is pointed the other direction.

jbailey895,
Sorry, I have no recommendation re installers but I will say that you might want to get two antennas, and then use a dual-input tuner like the MyHD card. That's what I'm doing as I'm directly in-between the two hilltops with the various transmitters and my main UHF antenna is too unidirectional to pickup both directions.
sdsalsero is offline  
post #96 of 1095 Old 09-20-2005, 11:23 AM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try Amerisat. I know they sell various antennas and do sat installs; maybe OTA as well? 858-505-1122
DEIFan is offline  
post #97 of 1095 Old 10-24-2005, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Parys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone. After an extended vacation (3 years) on the island of Okinawa Japan my family and I are coming back to our house in San Diego. Does anyone know if Cox offers HD with any boxes that are fireward enabled? I would like to be able to timeshift my television programming and would like to know that Dieagians are doing for HD shifting.

Jim Parys is Living the dream...
La Sirena III Theater
Jim Parys is offline  
post #98 of 1095 Old 10-24-2005, 01:32 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All Cable Companies that are up on current regulation will have a stb that has ieee 1394 support. As for being able to timeshift through a firewire port, you might find a major disappointment when you find out what 5c encryption is.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #99 of 1095 Old 10-24-2005, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Parys View Post

Hi everyone. After an extended vacation (3 years) on the island of Okinawa Japan my family and I are coming back to our house in San Diego. Does anyone know if Cox offers HD with any boxes that are fireward enabled? I would like to be able to timeshift my television programming and would like to know that Dieagians are doing for HD shifting.

Yes, Cox-SD offers the SA3250HD with Firewire port.
I'm on TWC-SD, so I haven't looked for too many reports re COX-SD, but I did see a successful report
using Firewire I/F to a MAC to record both encrypted and unencrypted digital channels:
http://hdtv.forsandiego.com/messages...html#POST18768

The SA8000HD and SA8300HD Personal Video Recorders
are used much more than D-VHS to record encrypted and unencrypted SD and HD programs.
On COX-SD, they even have the external SATA Hard Drive working. [Unfortunately, not yet on TWC-SD.]

I use SA3250HD feeding a JVC D-VHS for long term HD recording and a SA8300HD for daily timeshifting.
holl_ands is online now  
post #100 of 1095 Old 11-05-2005, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
tvscum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time Warner Cable, San Diego with Passport version 4.2 build 051 with a SA 3250HD box.

My 3250HD box is displaying grey sidebar borders for the 4:3 ratio. I am unable to change the sidebars to black because, as far as I know, the Passport software does not allow access the border settings. (Pressing and holding the "select" button does not work, and simultaneously pressing "guide" and "info" does not work either).

Is there some trick that allows access to the sidebar border settings (with Passport)?

Thanks!
tvscum is offline  
post #101 of 1095 Old 11-06-2005, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvscum View Post

Time Warner Cable, San Diego with Passport version 4.2 build 051 with a SA 3250HD box.

My 3250HD box is displaying grey sidebar borders for the 4:3 ratio. I am unable to change the sidebars to black because, as far as I know, the Passport software does not allow access the border settings. (Pressing and holding the "select" button does not work, and simultaneously pressing "guide" and "info" does not work either).

Is there some trick that allows access to the sidebar border settings (with Passport)?

Thanks!

Sorry, NO.
As a Plasma owner, I prefer grey to minimize uneven burnin over time.
holl_ands is online now  
post #102 of 1095 Old 11-17-2005, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Well, here's a new one...

Possible loss of ABC programming on Time-Warner Cable in the San Diego area within the next few weeks? Is this true or someone's idea of a sick joke?

Link here: http://timewarnerdoesnotcare.com

Lots of talk on this in the Time-Warner thread at hdtv.forsandiego.com forum site.
humdinger70 is offline  
post #103 of 1095 Old 11-17-2005, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Well, it looks like it's for real, because the following was posted on the 10news.com web site.

It's available on the 10news.com main page and from the linked page is a link to the "Time Warner Does Not Care" web site (remove the '@10news' in the URL).

Link here: http://www.10news.com/station/5347903/detail.html

This is utterly disgusting corporate greed!!
humdinger70 is offline  
post #104 of 1095 Old 11-17-2005, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Well, as Emily Litella (Gilda Radner) used to say during Weekend Update on SNL...

"Never Mind!"

I was just watching 10 News at 5:35 PM today, and the KGTV station manager has announced that (after a deluge of e-mails), an agreement has been reached with Time-Warner and there will NOT be a loss of programming from ABC.

Good news for a change...
humdinger70 is offline  
post #105 of 1095 Old 11-20-2005, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
elaclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard when/if Channel 8 is going to upgrade their audio to Dolby? It's not that big of a deal to just tune in KCBS in LA, but you'd think that if KSWB can afford to do it, that our CBS affiliate could.....

Ed
elaclair is offline  
post #106 of 1095 Old 12-09-2005, 03:19 PM
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KPBS - audio dropouts

I'm getting periodic audio dropouts with KPBS. There not quite regular but occur about 1-2 second intervals and last only an instant. The same setup used to get this station fine but that was years ago. I noticed the glithes a while ago and just stopped watching the channel.

Does anyone else experience audio dropouts with KPBS?

Mark
mdv is offline  
post #107 of 1095 Old 12-09-2005, 03:29 PM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No audio dropouts for me, but I haven't been watching much since they lost HD service a few months back. As I read in the hdtvforsandiego.com forum, they have finally received a new HD encoder and were working on its installation. It's possible your prolem is related to that.
DEIFan is offline  
post #108 of 1095 Old 12-09-2005, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff_DML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ok for me OTA but I dont watch it as much since their HD decoder has been down.
Jeff_DML is offline  
post #109 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 01:23 AM
Member
 
mwofsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im in carlsbad also and looking for a good antenna solution.. per antennaweb.org, i need a large multi-directional antenna???? where do I find one and how much do you think it will cost me???

thanks for your help!!!

i strive to figure out what the heck i am doing
mwofsd is offline  
post #110 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am in San Marcos on the very west edge of town.

I have a Winegard HD9095P with an AP-8275 preamp. I bought both at Amerisat in San Diego. Less than $200 and in stock! The antenna is on a 15 foot mast mounted on the end of the peak of my two story house where I used to have a ham antenna. Up about 30 feet. I am using the same Yaesu rotator. I have about 80 feet of RG-6 running to my DVICO HD card.

At most times, I can receive some 20 HD stations in LA and in SD. KCET is 24/7 wide screen HD 1080i and is awesome. KOCE and KLCS come in very good also.

In SD, KSWB and KGTV are the strongest but I can also get XETV, KFMB, KPBS, and KNSD.

You will definitely need a rotator if you want both LA and SD stations.

I have all the stations I am receiving listed in two Word documents if you are interested. I am not sure how to attach them here.

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #111 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
TV GUIDE TO STATIONS AVAILABLE, NORTH


Channel Call Network Direction RF Signal, notes
2.1 KCBS CBS 340 60 Strong, usually 100% +.
4.1,2 KNBC NBC 350 36 80%; 2 is wx
5.1,2 KTLA 350 31 65%; weak
7.1,2,3 KABC ABC 340 53 80%; 3 is radar
9.1 KCAL 340 43 75%
11.1 KTTV FOX 350 65 70%
13.1 KCOP 335 66 50%, weak
18.1 KSCI Indl 340 61 70%
22.1 KWHY Spanish 338 42 70%, Long Beach
24.1 KVCR PBS 340 26 95%
28.1,2 KCET PBS 340 59 95%
30.1,2,3,4 i Ind 350 38 75%; 2 is PAX, 3 is Worship, 4 is Faith
34.1 KMEX Spanish 350 35 80%
46.1 KFTR Spanish 350 29 75%
50.1,2,3 KOCE PBS 340 48 90%; 2 & 3 are more
56.1 KDOC Ind 340 32 50%, weak; Anaheim
58.1,2,3,4 KLCS PBS 340 41 75%
62 KRCA Spanish 340 68 50%

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #112 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
TV GUIDE TO STATIONS AVAILABLE, SOUTH

Channel Call Network Direction RF Signal, notes
5.1,2 KSWB WB 150 19 90%
6.1 XETV FOX 170 23 70%
8.1 KFMB CBS 180 55 95%
10.1 KGTV ABC 180 25 100%
15.1,2 KPBS PBS 150 30 65%
39.1 KNSD NBC 150 40 70%

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #113 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 09:25 PM
Member
 
mwofsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks Ennui!!!

what is the lowest % you feel makes the video not worth watching?

Did you have it installed? Or is their instructions on how to do it? If you had it installed, do you remember who you used and how much they charged you? I have a tile roof.

i strive to figure out what the heck i am doing
mwofsd is offline  
post #114 of 1095 Old 12-11-2005, 09:30 PM
Member
 
mwofsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there are power lines behind my house... does anyone know if they will effect the signal?

i strive to figure out what the heck i am doing
mwofsd is offline  
post #115 of 1095 Old 12-12-2005, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Ennui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
With the DVICO Fusion card I am using, the video starts dropping out at about 65%.

I installed the antenna and preamp myself. You might try Amerisat if you want an installation.

The easiest for me was at the end of the peaked roof (we have tile also). I cut two 2 inch angle irons and spaced them about 8 inches vertically across the end of the peak. I bolted them to the 2x12 (?) wood face plate existing with carriage bolts. I made holes for u-bolts to fasten the lower pipe to the two angles for supporting the rotor. I put a bolt in also to keep the pipe from turning on starts and stops.

I have some pics I could send you if give me your email address. Power lines will not help but depending on their height and your antenna height you might be OK.

The best advice is to get the antenna and preamp and give it a try. You could wait for the rotator until after you see what you get.

FYI, Google Earth program says my antenna is at 615 feet above sea level. (30 feet above my 585 foot ground level.)

Good luck.

99.5% Dark Matter
Ennui is offline  
post #116 of 1095 Old 12-16-2005, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
Mark In Cardiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie Here,
Hope I posted in correct place.I have a new direct-tv h-10 hd box and an off air for local hd.However I was told by the installer that I wouldn't get nbc hd(olympics) or Fox(nfl ect).Anyone know if i should/can switch providers to get them.Or if I can purchase a better antenna for local HD's.
Mark in Cardiff(encinitas ca by san diego)
Mark In Cardiff is offline  
post #117 of 1095 Old 12-16-2005, 10:53 PM
Member
 
gelcoatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Heartland USA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out the resources at:

www.antennasdirect.com

there will be link to locate where the broadcast antennas are for the local stations and how far they are from your address. Once you find out how far you are from each you can select an appropriate antenna. You may also want to check out any broadcast towers in Orange, San Bernadino, and LA counties. Also, check for the local forums here at AVS for each of these counties as well as San Diego where you are located.

jim o who has spent about half his life in San Diego
gelcoatman is offline  
post #118 of 1095 Old 12-17-2005, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
Mark In Cardiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.Can I get the Direct TV'speople to install a better antenna if I buy one?
Mark In Cardiff is offline  
post #119 of 1095 Old 12-17-2005, 11:58 AM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark,
If the DirecTV installers can't help try Amerisat out of Clairemont Mesa. For help with the antenna selection, try asking on http://hdtv.forsandiego.com It is a local forum with a lot of people here in SD using OTA, I'm sure someone can help.
DEIFan is offline  
post #120 of 1095 Old 12-17-2005, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
Mark In Cardiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help!
Mark In Cardiff is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off