San Diego, CA - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1092 Old 03-08-2004, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We got a post for Fresno, but not one For San Diego. Did a search too! Anyway, here are your options. I split them into separate posts...

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1092 Old 03-08-2004, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA:

All of San Diego's Major Networks are up and running with either 720p or 1080i. Here's a run down:

ABC-HD/KGTV-DT: Location - Mt. Solidad
CH 25/10-1 - 720p. Good signal in most areas. Due to terrain, some areas of North County and East County will find this signal problematic, but not as difficult to obtain as CBS-HD.

CBS-HD/KFMB-DT: Location - Mt. Solidad
CH 55/8-1 - 1080i. Good signal in the city center. Due to terrain issues and a high channel assignment, East County Areas and North County Areas will have problems. The local affiliate is aware of the problem and is looking at adding re-transmitters in the East and North County areas to alleviate the problem.

FOX-HD/XETV-DT: Location - Tijuana BC.
CH 23/6-1/23-1 - 720p. Great strong signal. Not a problem except for those behind some hills in North County. No HD material yet, but the signal is unconverted by XETV and sent out as 720p. A PSIP problem causes the channel to map to 23-1. Several users have reported this as a problem for Directv systems that load the channels from the SAT. A simple scan will usually pick up the channel at 23-1 rather than 6-1. Due to the PSIP problem, there is no channel guide. It should be fixed by June. The components are in according to the affiliate, but the tower is in Mexico so it has to clear customs. When they put up the new transmitter, it took three months from the time it entered Customs to the time it went on line.

KUSI-??/KUSI-DT: Location - Mount Miguel
CH 18/51-1 - 1080i. Not sure why. Maginal signal, targeted at teh City Center. I think they just put the signal up because they wanted to have a signal up. Using a 14:9 format (weird) and no HD material to speak of. Many were hoping the Padre Games on Sunday would be HD OTA via KUSI, but Cox now has the strangle hold on this. Major Bummer

NBC-HD: Location - Mount Miguel
CH 40/39-1 - 1080i. Great signal, but a weak one. They will be cranking up their amps soon. Tower is to the East of the City and at a better location than ABC and CBS which are along the coast (take a hint CBS/ABC). Receiving the signal is no problem, unless you are far away due to the signal strength. No worry's in a couple of months.

PBS HD: Location - Mount Miguel
CH 30/15-1 and 15-2 - 720p and 480i - Multicast. One of the easiest feeds to attain in San Diego. Using 720p for the national HD Feed and 480i for rebroadcast of the local material. Big Bird would be proud to see how yellow he looks in digital. Thank God PBS has a separate HD Feed. Having watched PBS HD before the multicasting, I can say that there is no picture degradation as a result. PBS is proof that multicasting can be done effectively using 720p and 480i. The 480i feed looks better than digital cable's standard feed and DirecTV's local feed.

WB-HD: Location - Mount Miguel
CH 19/5-2 and 69-1 - 1080i. Great signal, but also a weak one. Focused at City Center. Also using a weird 14:9 aspect ratio most of the time and dual PSIP. It's the WB, so...

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #3 of 1092 Old 03-08-2004, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox Cable:

Cox Cable Carries the following networks and promises more in the coming months. All of their feeds are via QAM and unfortunately, even the local networks are scrambled (Update 5/3/2004: Locals should be unscrambled by Summer)

Cox currently offers:

ABC (710)
CBS (708)
Channel 4 Padres HD (704)
Discovery (735)
ESPN (703)
HBO HD (700)
INHD1 (701)
INHD2 (704 ? Moving to 702/will share 704 until October)
NBC (707)
PBS (711)
SHOW HD (740)

(With the exception of HBO/Showtime, the channel number corresponds to the analog channel in the 700 series)

Coming soon:

FOX HD (706)
WB HD (705)

Other channels likely by year end:

Cinemax
Starz!
PPV
Bravo HD

Cox claims they will have the ability to provide 24 HD channels by year end. Not sure which channels they will be though. Probably some set aside for PPV and Sports Packages and Specials like the Olympics.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #4 of 1092 Old 03-08-2004, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time Warner is also Scrambled QAM, but users have reported Unscrambled Locals. TWC will not confirm this.

The following Channels are up and running:

700 HBO
702 Showtime
707 NBC
708 CBS
710 ABC
711 PBS-HD
712 PBS-DT (Digital Up-convert)
713 NBA -HD
744 Discovery

Currently in negotiations with Cox to Carry the Padres in HD.

Other channels and capability unknown. Time Warner was not as forthcoming as Cox was.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #5 of 1092 Old 03-12-2004, 05:08 PM
Member
 
npease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did you get the info about FOX HD (706) WB HD (705)?
npease is offline  
post #6 of 1092 Old 03-26-2004, 11:54 AM
Member
 
rheller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When the new channels become available, how long will it take COX to pass the channel along to their customers? Will it cost extra? (Example FOX)
rheller is offline  
post #7 of 1092 Old 04-09-2004, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by npease
Where did you get the info about FOX HD (706) WB HD (705)?

Fox and WB should be up in June. More premium channels in the fall. No added charge. The only reason they charge extra now is to recover box costs over the standard digital box.

8000HD from Cox will be available the 16th. It may have a price increase over the 8000 to $12.95, up from $9.95.

Pricing at Cox has come down a tad. For all channels, you can beat the premier package from Directv by about $8.00 a month with the offers they have going. $94 vs. $102 with DVR and mirror charges added in (assuming 3 tvs)

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #8 of 1092 Old 04-09-2004, 11:32 PM
Member
 
npease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is interesting info, but can you give us a source?
npease is offline  
post #9 of 1092 Old 04-11-2004, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was a tester for the 3250 and 8000HD. I've had lengthy discussions with Cox regarding equipment and programing. You'll just have to take my word on it.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #10 of 1092 Old 04-12-2004, 07:52 AM
Member
 
rheller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the new info. I'm guessing the 8000HD is a new cable box. What are its advantages? Where and how do I get one when it comes out?
rheller is offline  
post #11 of 1092 Old 04-13-2004, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
ptrubey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get a weak OTA signal from fox (23-1) in the Rancho Santa Fe area. Are people really getting strong signals from Fox these days?
ptrubey is offline  
post #12 of 1092 Old 04-13-2004, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humdinger70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally posted by rheller
Thanks for the new info. I'm guessing the 8000HD is a new cable box. What are its advantages? Where and how do I get one when it comes out?

The 8000HD is the combination hi-def set top box and personal video recorder. It records to a hard disk inside the box, with a capacity of usually 80 to 160 gigabytes (it's actually a little computer). It allows the recording and playback of both SD and HD programming. HD programming requires far more storage than SD, so you'll only be able to save a limited amount (about 7 hours worth).

The availability is dependent on your provider. You can probably sign up to get on their waiting list.
humdinger70 is offline  
post #13 of 1092 Old 04-13-2004, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ptrubey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, anyone know when NBC (40-1) will crank up their power?
ptrubey is offline  
post #14 of 1092 Old 04-14-2004, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ptrubey
Also, anyone know when NBC (40-1) will crank up their power?

Who knows. I live at the base of Miguel in East Lake Vistas and it's a non issue, but my dad has a hell of a time in La Mesa at times due to terrain. I do think they have to turn it up by year end though.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #15 of 1092 Old 04-14-2004, 08:21 AM
Member
 
rheller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
The 8000HD is the combination hi-def set top box and personal video recorder. It records to a hard disk inside the box, with a capacity of usually 80 to 160 gigabytes (it's actually a little computer). It allows the recording and playback of both SD and HD programming. HD programming requires far more storage than SD, so you'll only be able to save a limited amount (about 7 hours worth).

Thanks. I've preordered with COX.
rheller is offline  
post #16 of 1092 Old 05-03-2004, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
COX Update:

Now offering SA800HD. With a couple of limitations. The DVI is inop as is any other mode but 1080i. This is only temporary. There is a problem with all SA boxes in the Cox San Diego system. It's a handshake problem and they hope to have it resolved in the next few weeks. The recording method is sketchy. My box has had a couple of odd recordings one recorded only the botom half of the picture, the other had dropouts. The capacity is good. I presently have a weeks worth of HD on the drive. Sopranos, Deadwood, The Young and the Useless (wife- 5 days worth), Cold Case, Without a Trace, Frasier, CSI, CSI: Miami and a Padre game from the other night in HD (Total: 15 or more hours), my guess is that it holds 20 as I also have about 10 SD programs on there.

For non DVR, the box is the 3250HD.

You can have a DVR in one room and a 3250HD in another.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #17 of 1092 Old 05-06-2004, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
swjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Imperial Beach, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Snoopy4
Cox Cable:

Cox Cable Carries the following networks and promises more in the coming months. All of their feeds are via QAM and unfortunately, even the local networks are scrambled (Update 5/3/2004: Locals should be unscrambled by Summer)

Cox currently offers:

ABC (710)
CBS (708)
Channel 4 Padres HD (704)
Discovery (735)
ESPN (703)
HBO HD (700)
INHD1 (701)
INHD2 (704 ? Moving to 702/will share 704 until October)
NBC (707)
PBS (711)
SHOW HD (740)

(With the exception of HBO/Showtime, the channel number corresponds to the analog channel in the 700 series)

Coming soon:

FOX HD (706)
WB HD (705)

Other channels likely by year end:

Cinemax
Starz!
PPV
Bravo HD

Cox claims they will have the ability to provide 24 HD channels by year end. Not sure which channels they will be though. Probably some set aside for PPV and Sports Packages and Specials like the Olympics.


I sent an email to Cox Customer eCare asking if & when any HD channels would be unencrypted & tunable to those of us with ATSC tuners that support QAM and this was the reply (dated 5/5/04):

In the very near future we will be unencrypting ABC-HD, CBS-HD, and NBC-HD. Customers that own the required equipment will be able to access the unencrypted channels. We are putting the finishing touches on some technical adjustments and we will notify you once this option is available.

I hope they unencrypt more than just these 3 channels, where's PBS-HD?
swjones is offline  
post #18 of 1092 Old 05-06-2004, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Snoopy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably a typo. All the locals will be unencrypted including PBS and any other locals added.

More HD please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Snoopy4 is offline  
post #19 of 1092 Old 05-11-2004, 11:59 PM
Member
 
aafflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question. If I am a Cox customer with limited basic (i.e. basically free with Cox Internet given discount), and I buy the Fusion3 QAM card, will I be able to receive unencrypted local network HDTV on my PC?

If not, what package do I need? Just the digital package, or can you get digital with limited basic?

Charlie
aafflyer is offline  
post #20 of 1092 Old 05-16-2004, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the process of making an offer on a house in the north west corner of Scripps Ranch, just off Scripps Poway Parkway and Ivy Hill Dr. Unfortunately there are huge hills to the south and west looking towards central SD.

The AntennaOrg web site just shows the reception of one HDTV station at my potential new address.

What hope do I have with a good antenna and pre-amp to get all the SD OTA stations?
yngdiego is offline  
post #21 of 1092 Old 05-21-2004, 03:46 PM
Member
 
jfaaborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get about 5 channels with a bow-tie in 92064. but I am not butt up against a hill like it sounds you are. I think COX cable services that area, they have 7 or 8 HD channels.


Jon
jfaaborg is offline  
post #22 of 1092 Old 05-21-2004, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fender4645's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orinda, Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys-

I actually live in the Bay Area but a friend of mine is moving from Orange County down to Sorrento Valley (I guess it's near Del Mar?). He's moving into an apartment that is only wired for DirecTV -- no cable. He's going to buy his first HDTV and I was wondering what his options were? If I understand DirecTV correctly, if he wants to get local HD channels, he will need to get them OTA, correct? I'm a Comcast customer myself so I don't have too much experience with DirecTV.

If this is correct, which channels (if any) will he be able to get from Sorrento Valley? Having the word "valley" in the city name doesn't give me too much hope. I don't know the area very well so I'm not sure where Mt. Solidad or Mt. Miguel is and how good of a reception he will get that far north.

Thanks for help!
fender4645 is offline  
post #23 of 1092 Old 05-25-2004, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ptrubey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He might very well be able to "see" signals from Mt. Soledad in Sorrento Valley, all depends which way his apartment faces. The trick in San Diego, I've found, is getting all the HD channels at once - some stations are still low power, so getting all of them with one or two antennas is hard.
ptrubey is offline  
post #24 of 1092 Old 06-27-2004, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
bsd107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I live in Torrey Hills, serviced by Time Warner cable. I'm about to buy my first HDTV, and I'm a little peeved with Time Warner right now.

Cox Cable is offering a deal through both Circuit City and Good Guys, where if you buy any HDTV, Cox Cable will give you one year free of HDTV cable service (including free install). Time Warner apparently has no such offer.

Also, Time Warner has no indication that it will offer Fox HD anytime soon, which is frustrating (Cox will get it this summer).

I also can't find any info from Time Warner as to when they will support CableCard (to be fair, I'm not sure what Cox's plans are for this right now).

Sure wish I had a choice of cable providers!
bsd107 is offline  
post #25 of 1092 Old 06-28-2004, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bgooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By Matt Stump -- Multichannel News, 6/28/2004 1:32:00 PM

Cox Communications Inc. said it has launched Scientific-Atlanta Inc.'s HD digital-video-recording Explorer 8010 set-top box in San Diego, with planned launches in Phoenix; Las Vegas; Oklahoma City; Gainesville, Fla.; Santa Barbara, Calif.; northern Virginia; and cities in North Carolina and along the Gulf Coast.

Cox is pricing the service at $9.95 per month, plus the lease price for the HD set-top of $9.95.

The box features a recording-space-used indicator, auto-erase of oldest recordings, an enhanced all-episode-recording feature and a copy-to-VCR function. The 8010 can record up to 80 hours of programming.
bgooch is offline  
post #26 of 1092 Old 06-28-2004, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Scripps Ranch, on the north side of Scripps Poway Parkway about a mile from the 15. Antennaweb only shows me getting one HDTV OTA signal. Is anyone in the area and getting more signals? I have a feeling the big hills between me and central SD might block most of the signals.
yngdiego is offline  
post #27 of 1092 Old 06-29-2004, 10:20 PM
Newbie
 
gina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has there been an update on Cox's unencrypting locals? I will be in SD for a few days and would like to record some shows on the WB with my Fusion.
gina is offline  
post #28 of 1092 Old 06-30-2004, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Cox cable doesn't carry the San Diego WB station in HD at all. You would have to use an antenna to receive the WB-HD station OTA.
Joxer is offline  
post #29 of 1092 Old 07-01-2004, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
boconnor55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cardiff By The Sea, California
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Snoppy4 - does the SA8010HD have a pass through like the 3250? I'd hate to give up this function...

Hitachi CMP-4202U Pro 42" HD Plasma
Samsung LN-S2338W 23" Flat Panel LCD
Sony SVR-3000 460 Hour Network DVR w/Tivo
Tivo Series Two 40 Hour
Sony RDR-GX-7
Sony RDR-GX-300
Sony RDR GX-315
boconnor55 is offline  
post #30 of 1092 Old 07-08-2004, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
copen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Snoopy4,

Any word on when the PSIP problem will be fixed on FOX XETV? Also, it seems as if a similar problem exists on the WB... an HD Tivo scan reveals 69-1, 75-1, 5-1, and 5-2. 69-1 is the only one with guide info, but when I tune to that channel, it shows no signal. The other 3 have signal, but no guide info.

BTW, in case anyone wants to know, Fox is currently transmitting 720p, as I've already seen a few shows in HiDef. Sooo glad to finally be free of the yoke of cable.

Thanks,
Dave.
copen is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off