Houston, TX - Comcast / DBS - Page 333 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9961 of 9971 Old 08-29-2016, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Paw Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mpeg4

Looks like Comcast is moving forward with implementing MPEG4 in the Houston area. I received a letter from them today stating that incompatible equipment needs to be replaced by 10/26/16.
Paw Paw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9962 of 9971 Old 08-29-2016, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c1courtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paw Paw View Post
Looks like Comcast is moving forward with implementing MPEG4 in the Houston area. I received a letter from them today stating that incompatible equipment needs to be replaced by 10/26/16.
A quick note on this. Many of the Comcast areas that have switched, Comcast has started downgrading a number of the 1080i channels when going to MPEG4 (h.264) they're re-encoding them as 720p.

http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Non-X1-...784744#M183460

I'm no longer in the Houston area as I now live in Sacramento, CA last fall and this affected us recently. They're claiming it's a good thing going all 'Progressive' but when you de-interlace to 1080p which is the right thing to do, and then down-res to 720p you loose a lot of graphic fidelity that will never be recovered no matter how good your TV/AV Equipment up-res's the result.

Samsung PN64D550 (Home Theater Setup)
Denon AVR-3808CI - Mirage FRx Speakers
Samsung UN50H6350 (Living Room)
Yamaha HTR6130 - Polk RTi/CSi Speakers
Samsung UN32EH5000 (Master)
c1courtney is offline  
post #9963 of 9971 Old 08-30-2016, 09:23 AM
Member
 
erikstormtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paw Paw View Post
Looks like Comcast is moving forward with implementing MPEG4 in the Houston area. I received a letter from them today stating that incompatible equipment needs to be replaced by 10/26/16.
What would be an example of incompatible equipment?

Last edited by erikstormtrooper; 08-30-2016 at 09:28 AM.
erikstormtrooper is offline  
post #9964 of 9971 Old 08-30-2016, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well one example might be the SA8300 which I have from way, way back and worked fine till Saturday and now doesn't show a picture. Talking to tech support and "resetting" the box does nothing; and they didn't mentioned changing out the box. I came to this necro thread suspecting that they might have rolled over to mpeg4 in my area (The Woodlands) and neglected to tell us. What is happening now in terms of getting xfinity "the nice box with the decent GUI" when you only do cable TV? Do they still give you the POS box because you aren't double or triple play?
jqmn is offline  
post #9965 of 9971 Old 08-30-2016, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Paw Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikstormtrooper View Post
What would be an example of incompatible equipment?

The TiVo Series 1, Series 2 and oldest Series 3 boxes will not work with MPEG4. Also, as pointed out above, the older Comcast equipment will not support MPEG4.


If you are still using a CableCard plugged directly into the back on your TV it probably will not support MPEG4 but that will vary between manufacturers.
Paw Paw is offline  
post #9966 of 9971 Old 08-30-2016, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c1courtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paw Paw View Post
The TiVo Series 1, Series 2 and oldest Series 3 boxes will not work with MPEG4. Also, as pointed out above, the older Comcast equipment will not support MPEG4.


If you are still using a CableCard plugged directly into the back on your TV it probably will not support MPEG4 but that will vary between manufacturers.
Just a side note: TiVo Series 1 is officially no longer supported by TiVo (I believe as of this week) as they switch over to Rovi's guide system which they couldn't update the SW on them.

Samsung PN64D550 (Home Theater Setup)
Denon AVR-3808CI - Mirage FRx Speakers
Samsung UN50H6350 (Living Room)
Yamaha HTR6130 - Polk RTi/CSi Speakers
Samsung UN32EH5000 (Master)
c1courtney is offline  
post #9967 of 9971 Old 09-01-2016, 06:53 AM
Member
 
erikstormtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are the HD DTRs affected by this MPEG4 issue?

I got the letter yesterday about upgrading equipment. The letter includes a 4-digit channel you visit on each cable box that tells if it needs to be replaced. One of my DVRs (an older RNG 200) does need to be switched out. But I was unable to even pull up the channel on the DTRs since they only seem to like 3-digit channels.
erikstormtrooper is offline  
post #9968 of 9971 Old 09-01-2016, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
c1courtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikstormtrooper View Post
Are the HD DTRs affected by this MPEG4 issue?

I got the letter yesterday about upgrading equipment. The letter includes a 4-digit channel you visit on each cable box that tells if it needs to be replaced. One of my DVRs (an older RNG 200) does need to be switched out. But I was unable to even pull up the channel on the DTRs since they only seem to like 3-digit channels.
I'd suspect so. I'd call them or better yet, just go swap the equipment out so that you've got the latest STBs available. You need to swap out the DVR anyway.

Samsung PN64D550 (Home Theater Setup)
Denon AVR-3808CI - Mirage FRx Speakers
Samsung UN50H6350 (Living Room)
Yamaha HTR6130 - Polk RTi/CSi Speakers
Samsung UN32EH5000 (Master)
c1courtney is offline  
post #9969 of 9971 Old 09-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I had a tech come out because I thought the reception by my old box (SA8300HD) was going bad due to the "transition"-- "Channel will be Available Momentarily", macro-blocking, sound but no picture, etc. The tech said yes, and I needed to swap out the box; did I get "the letter". Yes, here it is, can I get a new box? He checked, the answer came back no; unless you had multiple services you were going to get an out of date box. His words, not mine. So now I have a brand, old Cisco box. Gotta love this company.
cube799 likes this.
jqmn is offline  
post #9970 of 9971 Old 09-14-2016, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toms River, New Jersey
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1courtney View Post
Just a side note: TiVo Series 1 is officially no longer supported by TiVo (I believe as of this week) as they switch over to Rovi's guide system which they couldn't update the SW on them.
It's not that they couldn't, they just didn't want to waste the resources writing the code for it when newer equipment were already out. According to TiVo. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=542602

Opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of my employer or its associated companies.
Mike Wolf is offline  
post #9971 of 9971 Old 09-14-2016, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toms River, New Jersey
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1courtney View Post
I'd suspect so. I'd call them or better yet, just go swap the equipment out so that you've got the latest STBs available. You need to swap out the DVR anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikstormtrooper View Post
Are the HD DTRs affected by this MPEG4 issue?

I got the letter yesterday about upgrading equipment. The letter includes a 4-digit channel you visit on each cable box that tells if it needs to be replaced. One of my DVRs (an older RNG 200) does need to be switched out. But I was unable to even pull up the channel on the DTRs since they only seem to like 3-digit channels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqmn View Post
I had a tech come out because I thought the reception by my old box (SA8300HD) was going bad due to the "transition"-- "Channel will be Available Momentarily", macro-blocking, sound but no picture, etc. The tech said yes, and I needed to swap out the box; did I get "the letter". Yes, here it is, can I get a new box? He checked, the answer came back no; unless you had multiple services you were going to get an out of date box. His words, not mine. So now I have a brand, old Cisco box. Gotta love this company.
Sorry for the inconveniences ya'll are experiencing. If you have any problems during or about the MPEG4 transition, please post your concerns here http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Non-X1-...4/td-p/2577643

Opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of my employer or its associated companies.
Mike Wolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off