Orlando, Central FL - BHN/Spectrum - Page 478 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 234Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14311 of 20096 Old 03-31-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
mgsports,

I know that but people posted in one of Hal Boedeker's blogs about Bright House mentioning it. It was a few years ago.
HDOrlando is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14312 of 20096 Old 03-31-2012, 03:16 PM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks and he does sometimes for Comcast and Comcast do changes every month like TWC and BHN do.
mgsports is offline  
post #14313 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
We should be getting Retro TV Network back around 9 am or 10 am (That is when it seems stuff goes live on launch days) on channel 1061.

Maybe then we will find out the mystery of why it will be in the HD section and not the mid-400's that those subchannels were moved too a year and a half ago. Could WKMG somehow be showing some local HD programming on it? We shall see.
HDOrlando is offline  
 
post #14314 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Anyone have Retro TV Network up on 1061 yet?
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14315 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
allowiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post

Oh but technically it could have been unavailable. What is the channel number for those shows. If they are SDV there are RARE moments when boxes haven't properly updated and are pointing to the wrong servers (this is a very non technical description of a highly technical problem). One way to avoid this is to turn the box off at night (don't remove power just turn it off).

I think you are on to something. I have several channels that won't come in at all and the box says "not available" for an IP address. I'll go to your site and post information for you. Thanks.
allowiches is offline  
post #14316 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post

Anyone have Retro TV Network up on 1061 yet?

Yes if you punch in the number but it's not in the guide yet

I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Nayan is online now  
post #14317 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
This is way OT but on April 9th the Orlando Sentinel will be going behind a paywall like Florida Today and other newspapers have done. The reason I am mentioning it here is I know a few of us read Hal's TV column and it's not known if the blogs will count towards the monthly limit.

I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Nayan is online now  
post #14318 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Nayan: Hopefully, we will know why it will be in the HD section soon.

Let's hope not on Hal's blog but good thing I am a Sentinel subscriber.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14319 of 20096 Old 04-01-2012, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Wolfpanther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post

Anyone have Retro TV Network up on 1061 yet?

It's in the Guide on Channel 463 still as LATV but the guide info for RTV starts on Monday.
Wolfpanther is offline  
post #14320 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 05:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Wolfpanther,

It is indeed and there is RTV programming. So, it does look like LATV is gone.

The big mystery now is why it is also slated to be in the HD section?
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14321 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
allowiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BHNTech: I put a post at DSL reports forum for you yesterday. I have a little more information. Since I had shows set to record last night that I didn't want to lose, I rebooted the box by unplugging it around 7:30. It took three tries to get it to boot. The first two got stuck right away displaying Alt and the screen saying "Accessing information." Sorry I don't remember the exact term. Anyway after the successful reboot, it had an IP address and it recorded all shows properly last night. I'll check for an IP address each evening. That should solve my problem temporarily until we figure out why it loses access to the network? Thanks again!
allowiches is offline  
post #14322 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by allowiches View Post

BHNTech: I put a post at DSL reports forum for you yesterday. I have a little more information. Since I had shows set to record last night that I didn't want to lose, I rebooted the box by unplugging it around 7:30. It took three tries to get it to boot. The first two got stuck right away displaying Alt and the screen saying "Accessing information." Sorry I don't remember the exact term. Anyway after the successful reboot, it had an IP address and it recorded all shows properly last night. I'll check for an IP address each evening. That should solve my problem temporarily until we figure out why it loses access to the network? Thanks again!

Got your msg and replied

~All truth goes through three phases. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as self-evident. - Arthur Schopenhauer ~
BHNtechXpert is offline  
post #14323 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post

Wolfpanther,

It is indeed and there is RTV programming. So, it does look like LATV is gone.

The big mystery now is why it is also slated to be in the HD section?

Speaking of HD channels TWC did announce one new HD channel today! Azteca America HD in North Texas on a channel that is TBA. This will be OTA Azteca America (KAZD) HD. That will bring me to 135 HD channels and the Greenville system to 99.

Nothing else really yet this week yet find out tommorow and (wednesday for NYC and east coast TWC systems)

HDOrlando here is the schedule for Legal notice each month for TWC so you can take a look at them for yourself this is when they go in the papers but might not web update right away:
Hawaii (HI) 1st and 3rd monday of each month
Texas (TX, Anthony NM part of (El Paso) system 1st and 3rd monday each month
East (NY, ME, MA, NH, NC, SC, VA, AL) 1st and 3rd wednesday each month (Started last month)
Midwest (KY, OH, KS, MO, NE, PA, WI, WV, IL, IN) 2nd and 4th friday of each month
West and Mountain West (CA, ID, WA, CO, AZ) 1st and 3rd tuesday of the month except gunnison which is every 1st and 3rd wednesday of each month
this does not include the insight systems or KY-TN TWC systems that were New Wave Communications
kevin120 is offline  
post #14324 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Hakemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone else having problems streaming Netflix at night on their Road Runner? Netflix streams only about 5-6Mbps on HD shows, and it keeps rebuffering, even when the PS3 is the only thing on, on the network.. YouTube is also having rebuffering problems again, on all my computers. But all speed tests show fine.
Hakemon is offline  
post #14325 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 11:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
2 new small glitches with Navigator.

• A variation on the stop/save/delete screen not going away when rewinding at the end of the program. This time stopped, deleted, live tv came on, but the stop screen for the deleted program stayed.

• Twice since the update, I've turned on the box and all the GUI screens like List, Info overlay and Guide have been squished inward. For example the video on the corner of the Guide screen is in the correct position, but the actual right edge of the guide is pushed in a few inches leaving the video extending out further to the right. Usually turning off the box and turning it back on clears it.

So... Navigator.... keeping you on your toes with new and bizarre glitches.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #14326 of 20096 Old 04-02-2012, 11:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakemon View Post

Anyone else having problems streaming Netflix at night on their Road Runner? Netflix streams only about 5-6Mbps on HD shows, and it keeps rebuffering, even when the PS3 is the only thing on, on the network.. YouTube is also having rebuffering problems again, on all my computers. But all speed tests show fine.

I was noticing some Youtube buffering issues the other night. Haven't really checked back to see if it cleared up.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #14327 of 20096 Old 04-03-2012, 04:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Kevin,

Great eye and thanks for that tip.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14328 of 20096 Old 04-03-2012, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Also, noticed that while the DVR -> AVR -> TV HDMI blinking is much improved it still occasionally comes back. For example, if I leave the DVR paused for a while and the screensaver kicks in. Sometimes when I start playing again the HDMI blinks on and off in the audio. My usual fix for the blink is to turn off the DVR, switch my AVR to an inactive source, wait a few seconds and then switch back to the DVR source and turn it back on.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #14329 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
allowiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My wife has pointed out an occasional bug in the new software. If you are watching a recorded show it gets to a point where you can't FF anymore. Usually somewhere after the halfway point. When you hit FF it jumps to the end as if it played to the end and gives you the option to delete, save, play again, resume, etc. You cannot FF from any point beyond that point in the show. This is happening randomly and on both of our DVRs.
allowiches is offline  
post #14330 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
It looks like RTV is only going to be on 463 replacing LATV.

Anyone still able to punch it in on 1061 and if so, any stretch o vision or anything?
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14331 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
For those of you still experiencing the recording of old episodes as new issue I need you to send me an email to bhntechxpert@mybighthouse.com with following information:

Box Model:
Channel:
Program:
Time and Date:
Your Service Area:
Your Modem MAC:

Emails that are missing any of the above information will not be accepted so please have complete information.

Thank you...

~All truth goes through three phases. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as self-evident. - Arthur Schopenhauer ~
BHNtechXpert is offline  
post #14332 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
No, it's gone from 1061 so I wonder if it was a mistake as I did have it a couple days ago.

I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Nayan is online now  
post #14333 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Nayan,

I am betting it was a mistake too. Glad that mystery is solved.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14334 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
And our next notice will probably say something about the switch of Planet Green to Destination America on Memorial Day. I officially cancelled Florida Today so we'll need eyes out there .

I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Nayan is online now  
post #14335 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Nayan,

Good thing the notices are at the ends of the month.

I'll check the Wed-Fri paper but we will need other people as well.

That change will be there hopefully with a small HD update.

Anyone else willing to check the notices? We will need as many eyes as possible.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #14336 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
allowiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post

For those of you still experiencing the recording of old episodes as new issue I need you to send me an email to bhntechxpert@mybighthouse.com with following information:

Box Model:
Channel:
Program:
Time:
Your Service Area:
Your Modem MAC:

Emails that are missing any of the above information will not be accepted so please have complete information.

Thank you...

Before I waste your time, what is supposed to trigger a show as a new show? Is it when it says "NEW" in the guide? We are getting shows that only schedule to record AFTER we have watched the original recording. My wife does all this stuff so I get my reports second hand.
allowiches is offline  
post #14337 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by allowiches View Post

Before I waste your time, what is supposed to trigger a show as a new show? Is it when it says "NEW" in the guide? We are getting shows that only schedule to record AFTER we have watched the original recording. My wife does all this stuff so I get my reports second hand.

If you have selected NEW EPISODES ONLY in your scheduled recording and the box records old episodes as well I want to know about it through the process above.

~All truth goes through three phases. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as self-evident. - Arthur Schopenhauer ~
BHNtechXpert is offline  
post #14338 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
allowiches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post

If you have selected NEW EPISODES ONLY in your scheduled recording and the box records old episodes as well I want to know about it through the process above.

One other question, do you need the recordings to remain scheduled or can we cancel them and still report them?
allowiches is offline  
post #14339 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by allowiches View Post

One other question, do you need the recordings to remain scheduled or can we cancel them and still report them?

For now leave them scheduled please...

~All truth goes through three phases. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as self-evident. - Arthur Schopenhauer ~
BHNtechXpert is offline  
post #14340 of 20096 Old 04-04-2012, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Hakemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How do I report shows that aren't even on my series manager, like Deadliest Catch, that somehow get recorded? Last odd recording was that last week but this week it hasn't done anything else yet.
Hakemon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off