Orlando, FL - BHN - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 18819 Old 03-07-2007, 01:20 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH2003 View Post

From another post above, the feed can be changed from 1080i to 720p, but apparently WRBW did not invest in this format converter. Since they also show ACC football, no WRBW games will be in HD this fall. I am not supporting WRBW until they can give sports in HD.

And when the ratings go down so they do not pick up ACC Games the following year and as thus no one wants to pick up the games in Orlando, everyone can thank you for your wonderful shortsighted idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry928 View Post

If you want to help a broadcast engineer to add a piece of equipment that was not in his budget you can call up the local advertisers you see on the air during the first game and complain directly to them about the lack of HD due to the stations decision not to invest in the required receive equipment. If more than one advertiser calls the salesman at the station to complain it will eventually get to the GM who may decide to allocate the money for HD.

And after all that work, the ACC games will still not be in HD.

You would be better pressed to contact Teranex as they are a local Orlando Company, explain the situation and that it would be good PR and they might actually sell a unit if they let WRBW borrow one for 4 days so they could broadcast the game in HD.

Quite frankly, as they are owned by Fox, Teranex has certainly sold units to other Fox stations around the Country - and thus it would be a good move for Teranex to lend them one for the weekend.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 18819 Old 03-07-2007, 07:56 AM
Member
 
FLBuckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central FL
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNSB View Post

Follow-up:

It turned out that besides recording, the DVR (SA 8300HD) has a couple other features not found on their current digital cable box: PIP and HDMI (the STB had a DVI jack, but not an HDMI). Luckily the tech/installer (who turned out to be someone I knew!) had a DVR in the truck and swapped it out.

I noticed the 8300HD has a front USB port, and a couple rear 1394 Firewire ports; is it possible to 'output' thru these (say to an external hard drive), or is there some sort of 'protection' scheme in place to prevent that capability?

Yes, good points - I don't know that they affect picture quality though as you can get a DVI to HDMI cable and still be all digital. I do use the PIP in the DVR a lot. And it does buffer both programs you're watching in PIP. So for example you can have Letterman and Leno going at the same time and not miss anything. Just pause one when they go to commercial and PIP swap over to the other show and vice versa backing up or fast forwarding as necessary.

The 8300HD has an external eSATA port for an external SATA hard drive. I don't have any personal experience with it, but if you look back through this thread there is a lot of discussion by those who have used it. The major draw back is that you lose the buffering of live TV or trick play as it is called here. You can no longer pause live TV or back up. You have to start the program recording to be able to do the same thing. On the other side of the coin it increases your available record time based on how big a hard drive you attach. As far as I know there is no way to export programs from the 8300HD. If you attach an external hard drive it is coded to that particular 8300HD and will only work with it. If you have to have the 8300HD replaced for some reason everything on the external drive is lost also.
FLBuckeye is offline  
post #4953 of 18819 Old 03-08-2007, 01:44 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLBuckeye View Post

The 8300HD has an external eSATA port for an external SATA hard drive. I don't have any personal experience with it, but if you look back through this thread there is a lot of discussion by those who have used it. The major draw back is that you lose the buffering of live TV or trick play as it is called here. You can no longer pause live TV or back up. You have to start the program recording to be able to do the same thing.

That is not the case with 8300HD units in Tampa on Brighthouse.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #4954 of 18819 Old 03-08-2007, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cloud Nine
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone get any lockups? Tonight American Idol and Survivor taping have frozen my HD-DVR. I've needed to reboot 6 times.
PerfectCr is offline  
post #4955 of 18819 Old 03-08-2007, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectCr View Post

Anyone get any lockups? Tonight American Idol and Survivor taping have frozen my HD-DVR. I've needed to reboot 6 times.

I DVR'ed both. And I watched both and got no lockups.
HappyFunBoater is offline  
post #4956 of 18819 Old 03-08-2007, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cloud Nine
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man I hope I don't need to get another DVR, this would be my third.
PerfectCr is offline  
post #4957 of 18819 Old 03-09-2007, 01:16 PM
Member
 
theBlaze74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectCr View Post

Anyone get any lockups? Tonight American Idol and Survivor taping have frozen my HD-DVR. I've needed to reboot 6 times.

I cannot watch either show. They lockup for recording and for simply watching even after rebooting the box.

I have been through several boxes as well.

I have resorted to downloading the shows on usenet.
theBlaze74 is offline  
post #4958 of 18819 Old 03-09-2007, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cloud Nine
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBlaze74 View Post

I cannot watch either show. They lockup for recording and for simply watching even after rebooting the box.

I have been through several boxes as well.

I have resorted to downloading the shows on usenet.

Yeah the usenet is always a good option, and there is no fast forwarding of commercials! EasyNews.com for the win!
PerfectCr is offline  
post #4959 of 18819 Old 03-10-2007, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hakemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Offtopic: Hope Bright House is ready for today's DST! Otherwise some peoples DVR's might record an hour off..
Hakemon is offline  
post #4960 of 18819 Old 03-11-2007, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The software update in mid February was for the March time change. Remember the loss of your VCR commander?

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #4961 of 18819 Old 03-11-2007, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hakemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
oh yea, so that was what it was for (and i have a feeling i was told about it already, but forgot)...
Hakemon is offline  
post #4962 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 09:42 AM
Member
 
DKubicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DKubicki is offline  
post #4963 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice huh? She does not own an HDTV.

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #4964 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
loudo38's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKubicki View Post

http://www.tvpredictions.com/tw030907.htm

BHN should worry adding the our local Sports Networks before they worry about additional channels. Where is FSN Florida????

Almost every place in Florida has both except for us.
loudo38 is offline  
post #4965 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
iceturkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: daytona beach
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
where is espn2hd? i've lost count of all the times i've heard through the grapevine its just around the corner? maybe, switching back to satellite wasn't the dumbest thing i've done lately. i'm a sports junkie and as much as i liked bhn, there sports is seriously lacking.

no espn2hd, no fsn florida or the hd version. yikes.
iceturkee is offline  
post #4966 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by From TVpredictions article View Post

MW: Yes...We are also looking at VOD. We may put some HDTV channels on VOD rather than have them as 24-hour networks.

Sorry, but IMO that is a dumb idea. I have zero interest in paying to watch TV buy the episode. Making HD channels VOD would be the quickest way to get me to dump cable and go back to satellite. Who cares about the potential to have the capacity for 100 channels, the question is will they use it. There is room for more HD channels right now but, it is all quiet on that front. I just hope we have ESPN2 by the time the college football season rolls around.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #4967 of 18819 Old 03-12-2007, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HappyFunBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post

Sorry, but IMO that is a dumb idea. I have zero interest in paying to watch TV buy the episode. Making HD channels VOD would be the quickest way to get me to dump cable and go back to satellite. Who cares about the potential to have the capacity for 100 channels, the question is will they use it. There is room for more HD channels right now but, it is all quiet on that front. I just hope we have ESPN2 by the time the college football season rolls around.

Does VOD necessarily mean more dollars? I'm not sure it does. I believe we have VOD for certain shows on Comedy Central, etc., that doesn't cost extra. I think free VOD would be great - it takes up less DVR space.

With all that said, I don't know what was intended when the quote mentioned VOD - free or not.
HappyFunBoater is offline  
post #4968 of 18819 Old 03-13-2007, 10:42 AM
Member
 
meteor3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
According to this post , the 4 NCAA tournament games broadcast on Thursday on WKMG will be:

Maryland-Davidson
Georgetown-Belmont
Duke-VCU
UNC-Eastern Kentucky
meteor3 is offline  
post #4969 of 18819 Old 03-13-2007, 01:32 PM
Member
 
meteor3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Friday's NCAA games:

2:45 PM - Tennessee - Long Beach St (flex feed)
9:40 PM - Florida-Jackson St. (constant feed)
meteor3 is offline  
post #4970 of 18819 Old 03-15-2007, 08:02 AM
Member
 
captaincl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Champions Gate, FL
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok... what's up with FOX this week? American Idol has switched out of HD mode in the last few minutes of BOTH episodes this week? Can anyone contact them and find out what's going on???
captaincl is offline  
post #4971 of 18819 Old 03-16-2007, 07:12 AM
Member
 
mschiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maitland, Florida
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I had the same problem with Idol. Very annoying.

-- Martin
mschiff is offline  
post #4972 of 18819 Old 03-17-2007, 01:24 PM
Member
 
theBlaze74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectCr View Post

Anyone get any lockups? Tonight American Idol and Survivor taping have frozen my HD-DVR. I've needed to reboot 6 times.

If anyone else is having this problem, The brighthouse tech just left my house. He simply ran a new cable and splitter and boosted my signal, and now everything works fine.
theBlaze74 is offline  
post #4973 of 18819 Old 03-18-2007, 03:11 PM
Member
 
Sardaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTH is going on with CBS. Both Florida games in our area have been in SD, I talk to friends in other markets and they got both games in HD. Now the Nevada vs Memphis game which is being played at the same location as both Florida games (New Orleans) is in clear HD.

Really pisses me off.
Sardaan is offline  
post #4974 of 18819 Old 03-18-2007, 03:44 PM
Member
 
meteor3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardaan View Post

WTH is going on with CBS. Both Florida games in our area have been in SD, I talk to friends in other markets and they got both games in HD. Now the Nevada vs Memphis game which is being played at the same location as both Florida games (New Orleans) is in clear HD.

Answer here. We've had constant feeds for both UF games.
meteor3 is offline  
post #4975 of 18819 Old 03-19-2007, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardaan View Post

WTH is going on with CBS. Both Florida games in our area have been in SD, I talk to friends in other markets and they got both games in HD. Now the Nevada vs Memphis game which is being played at the same location as both Florida games (New Orleans) is in clear HD.

Really pisses me off.

Must have been a problem with the local Channel 6. The game was in HD but not here for some reason.
Gator1 is offline  
post #4976 of 18819 Old 03-19-2007, 01:12 PM
Member
 
ddeloach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gator1 is correct. Game was in HD. For some reason channel 6 chose not to carry in HD. However, all other games on channel 6 were carried in HD. Odd, considering Florida has such a large following in Central Florida.
ddeloach is offline  
post #4977 of 18819 Old 03-19-2007, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by meteor3 View Post

Answer here. We've had constant feeds for both UF games.

I guess you missed this post above with a link that explains why the Gators game was not in HD.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #4978 of 18819 Old 03-19-2007, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post

I guess you missed this post above with a link that explains why the Gators game was not in HD.


I suppose it helps if you understand Flex Region and Constant Region. I don't think I get it but I would guess if the gators keep winning, at some point we will get them in HD.
Gator1 is offline  
post #4979 of 18819 Old 03-20-2007, 03:09 AM
Member
 
ddeloach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I have the Mega March Madness from DirecTv and managed to watch most of the second game in HD on one of the 700 channels. For some reason they didn't black it out.
ddeloach is offline  
post #4980 of 18819 Old 03-20-2007, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
iceturkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: daytona beach
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yep, that's correct. i watched the entire second half on channel 711 and it was in hd.
iceturkee is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off