Orlando, FL - BHN - Page 630 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18871 of 18954 Old 08-10-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If you do "The Trick" on Channels 54 SD/1150 HD, The SEC Network test channel is up.

The HD version is a blank black screen but the SD one has music and The SEC Network logo on the screen.

I remember when we got The Pac 12 Network. They did a bunch of testing on the screen before launch. It was pretty cool to see.

SEC Network launches on Thursday.
Nayan and ejb1980 like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HDOrlando is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18872 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 01:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post
If you do "The Trick" on Channels 54 SD/1150 HD, The SEC Network test channel is up.

The HD version is a blank black screen but the SD one has music and The SEC Network logo on the screen.

I remember when we got The Pac 12 Network. They did a bunch of testing on the screen before launch. It was pretty cool to see.

SEC Network launches on Thursday.
hmm the PAC12 channels launched today in North Texas only in SD boo!
kevin120 is offline  
post #18873 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Kevin,

It would be nice if The Pac 12 Regionals were added outside Bakersfield so we can knock those off the list. Programming apparently does not differ much but nice to get other feeds if other games are on.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #18874 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin M. Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just a heads up in case you don't monitor BHN's DSLReports forums...

The 6 Tuner Enhanced DVR is now available in CFL. It costs $5 more per month and currently there's a one-time upgrade fee of $24.95 that's waived for now, but will apply at some point in the future.
Kevin M. Dean is offline  
post #18875 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator5000e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando/Maitland, Florida
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Apparently neither of the boxes support picture in picture. I picked mine up this morning but haven't installed it yet. I wish I had known this before. I used the PIP function a lot, especially in the fall with sports. A few people have asked Gary over there if the boxes are capable of PIP via a software/firmware update, but he hasn't responded to that question. I figured an up to date DVR with 6 tuners would have this feature. DirecTVs Genie has it. Very disappointed.
Gator5000e is offline  
post #18876 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator5000e View Post
Apparently neither of the boxes support picture in picture. I picked mine up this morning but haven't installed it yet. I wish I had known this before. I used the PIP function a lot, especially in the fall with sports. A few people have asked Gary over there if the boxes are capable of PIP via a software/firmware update, but he hasn't responded to that question. I figured an up to date DVR with 6 tuners would have this feature. DirecTVs Genie has it. Very disappointed.
Not having PIP is a deal-breaker. I use it often, especially during busy sports times and I can't believe such an important feature was left off .

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18877 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator5000e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando/Maitland, Florida
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah, I assumed it would be a standard feature on a newer DVR. The questions now is can it be added as a feature via software or it is not possible due to hardware? I posted that questions 2x on the DSL site (as did a couple of other people) but Gary hasn't responded. I really wish I could find a way to go back to DirecTV. Brighthouse is ok, but it's user interface is still years behind DirecTV. I mean if they can't add PIP, at least add features like the last four channels watched, a quick tune menu of the your 6-9 favorite channels. Favorites as it is now sucks as you have to scroll all of the ones you highlight after scrolling thru the entire line up. And with having to enter 4 number each time you want to access a new HD channel is a real pain to quick flipping to your certain channels. I DirecTVs quick tune, you would access the channel, hit a button and it added it to the quick tune popup. Not sure why BHN can't do something similar.
Gator5000e is offline  
post #18878 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
dotsdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Direct tv is missing some hd channels that we have and can watch tv durning a storm?
dotsdavid is online now  
post #18879 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post
Kevin,

It would be nice if The Pac 12 Regionals were added outside Bakersfield so we can knock those off the list. Programming apparently does not differ much but nice to get other feeds if other games are on.
hmm actually the programming does vary a lot now this morning around 2 am there were like 5 or 6 different replays classic football games going on at the same time on the various regional PAC 12 networks. Don't know why DirecTV doesn't just make the regionals SD nationwide and the main PAC12 feed in HD nationwide and do spot beams for the regional networks or something like put them on their western arc only lol for HD feed for in market areas too easy isn't it ;0 !
kevin120 is offline  
post #18880 of 18954 Old 08-12-2014, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator5000e View Post
Apparently neither of the boxes support picture in picture. I picked mine up this morning but haven't installed it yet. I wish I had known this before. I used the PIP function a lot, especially in the fall with sports. A few people have asked Gary over there if the boxes are capable of PIP via a software/firmware update, but he hasn't responded to that question. I figured an up to date DVR with 6 tuners would have this feature. DirecTVs Genie has it. Very disappointed.
which model do you have? the DCX3600 or the Samsung version? I know the DCX3600 can do PIP they just didn't add support for it in the guide as of yet as does the DCX3400M, DCX3200M and DCX3510M boxes that Motorola TWC/Bright House areas carry.
kevin120 is offline  
post #18881 of 18954 Old 08-13-2014, 06:51 AM
Member
 
yimitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nayan View Post
Not having PIP is a deal-breaker. I use it often, especially during busy sports times and I can't believe such an important feature was left off .
Consider yourself lucky. To my knowledge, us Michiganders have never had PIP on any box. It's never been supported on any of the various STBs and DVRs we've had over the years. I can see our latest DVR respond to the PIP buttons on the remote (light blinks on the unit), but nothing happens.
yimitz is online now  
post #18882 of 18954 Old 08-13-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Really? Wow. I guess we are the lucky ones then as that's the feature I use most of all. I thought all boxes were the same feature-wise.

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18883 of 18954 Old 08-13-2014, 08:43 AM
Member
 
yimitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nayan View Post
Really? Wow. I guess we are the lucky ones then as that's the feature I use most of all. I thought all boxes were the same feature-wise.
It might be a system thing. There's always been some subtle differences between the Florida systems and us. May be a leftover from the old TWC days up here too. (shrug)
yimitz is online now  
post #18884 of 18954 Old 08-13-2014, 09:20 PM
Member
 
diesel32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lake Mary,FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BH just announced that ESPN Gameplan/Fullcourt will be available to Sports Pass customers without subscription. Doesn't say if those will be HD channels
I smell a price increase coming
diesel32 is offline  
post #18885 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 01:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
SEC Network SD/HD is up in the guide on 54/1150.

The channel officially launches at 6 PM.

On The ESPN Packages, The Gameplan stuff I usually find on the local fox affiliate and it is worthless in only SD.

I do hope they eventually do ESPN Classic in HD.

Hopefully, Sports Pass does not go up any more but it probably will. I only get it for 17 weeks for that RedZone Channel though.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #18886 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel32 View Post
BH just announced that ESPN Gameplan/Fullcourt will be available to Sports Pass customers without subscription. Doesn't say if those will be HD channels
I smell a price increase coming
hmm considering TWC has including the channels as part of the Sports Pass for over a year and no increases I say no price increase. TWC is just removing the PPV option for the channels and making them a part of the Sports Pass nothing is changing price wise other than the ESPN Gameplan/Fullcourt will cease to Exist as a PPV standalone on TWC and Brighthouse. It was in my TWC area's notice for August 21st as the drop date of the PPV versions of these channels.
kevin120 is offline  
post #18887 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
SEC Network has launched in my area

seems that the HD version is SDV while SEC Network SD and SEC Network 2 SD are not SDV and are on 309MHz. this is for my area in North Texas. I believe TWC is going to make the SD versions available on digital adapters hence probably it was easier to make the SD versions available on the digital adapter than the HD version and SECN2 in SD lol.
kevin120 is offline  
post #18888 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
We now also have NBC Live Extra full up, which is awesome .

I'm thinking that BHN is forging full-steam ahead with everything in case the merger does go through between TWC & Comcast. Or at least it seems that way.

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18889 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:24 AM
Member
 
dotsdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It looks like they added a overflow channel for sec network
dotsdavid is online now  
post #18890 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by dotsdavid View Post
It looks like they added a overflow channel for sec network
Yes they did . Lot's of good stuff for those who like college sports!

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18891 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nayan View Post
Yes they did . Lot's of good stuff for those who like college sports!
do you guys get the overflow channel in HD? I don't and neither does the rest of the TWC footprint :/
kevin120 is offline  
post #18892 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin120 View Post
do you guys get the overflow channel in HD? I don't and neither does the rest of the TWC footprint :/
Yes we do, which is a surprise.

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18893 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 08:17 AM
Member
 
yimitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDOrlando View Post
SEC Network SD/HD is up in the guide on 54/1150.

The channel officially launches at 6 PM.

Up here in Michigan too on channels 166/366. No sign of any overflow channel though, either we mid-westerners aren't getting it or they're still working on that part.
yimitz is online now  
post #18894 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
dotsdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Indy has a overflow in hd
dotsdavid is online now  
post #18895 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I've added The overflow channel to the chart.

I'm on the channel right now for The SEC Network's Launch in just under a minute.
Nayan likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #18896 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 150
My son is pretty excited over it .

I'm a 'hooker' and a knitter. I guess that makes me bi-stitchual :).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Nayan is online now  
post #18897 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 07:04 PM
Member
 
dotsdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
we have the sec network but we can't watch it on watchespn yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	199.5 KB
ID:	212713  
dotsdavid is online now  
post #18898 of 18954 Old 08-14-2014, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator5000e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando/Maitland, Florida
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
A little off topic from the sec network. Has anyone gotten one of the new samsung 6 tuner DVRs from BHN? I picked mine up Wednesday and I feel I am seeing a different quality picture on the screen. Maybe it's just characteristic on Samsung DVRs - I have never used one before - but the picture is not a bright and vibrant as the Cisco that the Sammy replaced. When the guide is pulled up it looks washed out and not as deep color wise. I compared it to my standard non-DVR HD box and the non- DVR box has a better picture to me.

Just for reference I have a 65" Panny Plasma that had a wonderful picture with the Cisco 4782.

I was just wondering if anyone else who has gotten the Sammy has noticed anything similar about the picture.

I would also be curious about the picture quality of the Arris 6 tuner but apparently it's not available here in central Florida.

So please chime in with any thoughts. Even if you think I'm crazy.

Thanks.
Gator5000e is offline  
post #18899 of 18954 Old 08-15-2014, 04:47 AM
Member
 
samsterdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator5000e View Post
A little off topic from the sec network. Has anyone gotten one of the new samsung 6 tuner DVRs from BHN? I picked mine up Wednesday and I feel I am seeing a different quality picture on the screen. Maybe it's just characteristic on Samsung DVRs - I have never used one before - but the picture is not a bright and vibrant as the Cisco that the Sammy replaced. When the guide is pulled up it looks washed out and not as deep color wise. I compared it to my standard non-DVR HD box and the non- DVR box has a better picture to me.

Just for reference I have a 65" Panny Plasma that had a wonderful picture with the Cisco 4782.

I was just wondering if anyone else who has gotten the Sammy has noticed anything similar about the picture.

I would also be curious about the picture quality of the Arris 6 tuner but apparently it's not available here in central Florida.

So please chime in with any thoughts. Even if you think I'm crazy.

Thanks.
Definitely not crazy. I had an older Cisco that died. Got a Sammy. Not only was the picture duller, it didn't respond very well either. After tries with other boxes, I eventually was able to secure a Cisco 8742HDC. The picture has never been better. Even samsterette, who never makes comments about the picture, noticed the difference.
samsterdog is offline  
post #18900 of 18954 Old 08-15-2014, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Gator5000e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando/Maitland, Florida
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks, Samsterdog. I feel better. When I posted this over on the DSL site, it was kind of like, "yeah buddy, whatever". I guess no one else noticed any difference. But your reply makes me feel better. I think I will use the Samsung over the weekend, but more than likely will be trading it in and go back to the Cisco 8742.
Gator5000e is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off