Orlando, FL - BHN - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 30Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18988 Old 03-27-2004, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avNeophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Central Florida Spring 2004 thread
Welcome to the new Central Florida Spring 2004 thread!

The new season is on us and that means more HD!!! Several new HD channels are in the offering and more to come later this year. Hopefully the cable and satellite services will be able to deliver them to us.

Link back to the old Central Florida Winter 2004 thread for reference:

Winter 2004 Thread

WRDQ-DT has finally returned to the air. Fox should be in HD by late summer or early fall.

Here is a list of contacts for many local stations you may want to contact if the station is experiencing technical problems or your STB is encountering problems with their signal.

Orlando station's emails:
WESH: Richard.Monn@Hearst.com
WKCF: addalia@wb18.com
WFTV/WRDQ: john.demshock@wftv.com
WKMG: Frank Torbert techquestions@local6.com or Frank Z webchannel@wkmg.com
WCEU: SCHWARB@dbcc.edu
WOFL/WRBW: Unlisted
WMFE: mike_simmons@wmfe.pbs.org
WOPX: Unknown
WBCC: padgetta@brevardcc.edu
WVEN/WOTF: aguernica@entravision.com (GM)
avNeophyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18988 Old 03-27-2004, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


. When things are not then they are supposed to fix it instantly by correcting the problem. In this case all it would have taken is for someone at BHN to change the input channel they are taking for WKMG-HD and the HD would have passed through from the correct source. BHN should have had someone monitoring things on this event in particular because they have been promoting this event left and right.

So no contractual issues stoping them from changing which channel they broadcast? And the second question is how it is going to be with all the golf games that CBS has lined up............

Also regarding the multicasting - I think that when I changed to the digital channel last night it showed the CBS game as normal which would mean that it was a 1080i upconvert. How much bandwidth does a 1080i upconvert take??? Is this the reason why the HD game looked so bad, because they wasted bandwidth not on a SD multicast, but basically by sending out two HD feeds - one with an HD game and one with an SD game or does an upconvert not take more bandwidth than an sd????
mhdiab is offline  
post #3 of 18988 Old 03-28-2004, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Doctor52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ormond Beach (Daytona Beach suburb, Orlando viewing area)
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two things:


#1) I stated this earlier in a reply, BUT, WKMG dropped their subchannels for the Florida/FSU football game, and for the Superbowl. We should assume that they will do the same for the Final Four!

#2) Is it just a gliche with me? I get an email message EVERY time someone replies to this thread. Usually, I get a message from the first reply, and the server knows not to send me anymore 'til I come back to AVS.

JD
Doctor52 is offline  
post #4 of 18988 Old 03-28-2004, 06:40 AM
Member
 
PeterShipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah same here I have been getting emails with every reply to every thread I subscribe to, I would assume they are working on something. I think it has stopped as of this morning.

Peter Shipp
ISF, HAA, SBCA, CEDIA Certified
ps@aecustom.com
PeterShipp is offline  
post #5 of 18988 Old 03-28-2004, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well today's game didn't start in hd, but as I was on the hold with the tech room they switched - if someone else called - Thanks

Finally a full game in HD - GO ACC
mhdiab is offline  
post #6 of 18988 Old 03-30-2004, 06:24 PM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFTV changed it's subchannel lineup

Old

39.1 (9.1) - WFTV-HD
39.2 (9.2) - Eyewitness News (radar/scrolling WFTV.com headlines)

This Afternoon

39.1 (9.1) - WFTV-SD (radar/scrolling WFTV.com headlines)
39.2 (9.2) - WFTV-HD

Presently

39.1 (9.1) - WFTV-DT (radar/scrolling WFTV.com headlines)
39.2 (9.2) - WFTV-HD

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #7 of 18988 Old 03-30-2004, 06:28 PM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, WBCC-DT has replaced the static screen on 30.2 (68.2) with a simulcast of 30.1 (68.1).

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #8 of 18988 Old 03-30-2004, 07:59 PM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by satpro
James are you seeing intermittent flashes of video on WFTV-DT. Some of my receivers are refusing to lock the signal. I think they have a major conflict in their maps.



WBCC-DT 30.2 is eventually going to be UCF-TV


UCF-TV was supposed to be ready next month.

Also WFTV-HD (actually an ABC problem as this was noticed on WFTS-DT as well) the background and main audio channels were reversed.

I don't really notice any flashes on WFTV-DT.

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #9 of 18988 Old 03-31-2004, 11:47 AM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correction to WFTV-DT post there were intermittent flashes this morning that I noticed on 39.2

This afternoon the channels have been realigned back to where they were!

39.1 (WFTV-HD)
39.2 (WFTV-DT)

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #10 of 18988 Old 03-31-2004, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
rich21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Melbourne,FL
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WFTV problem made it so my box refused to change channels. VERY annoying !
rich21 is offline  
post #11 of 18988 Old 03-31-2004, 05:14 PM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PC tuner card (Hauppauge WIN-TV D) did not malfunction at all yesterday although my card does not utilize PSIP (b/c the tuning comes in like 39.1 instead of 9.1, the only PSIP available is the text ID tag if the station carries).

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #12 of 18988 Old 03-31-2004, 05:32 PM
Member
 
PeterShipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by james32746
UCF-TV was supposed to be ready next month.

Interesting, I had not heard WBCC is going to be run by UCF. I go to UCF and had been told by the guy that started the communications school that UCF did not want a TV station because of all it takes to run a station. Any more info on this? Will they move the studio to the Orlando campus? If so I may have a contact that could make a good future CFHDS tour.

Peter Shipp
ISF, HAA, SBCA, CEDIA Certified
ps@aecustom.com
PeterShipp is offline  
post #13 of 18988 Old 03-31-2004, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Spriteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


... I refuse to push HD using WKMG after this and guess what BHN you probably lost out on some money because I had several people coming over to help them in the decision making of getting an HDTV and digital cable - nice job now I will badmouth WKMG instead

Not to beat a dead horse, but I need to chime in again about the CBS/WKMG issue from last week. Sorry if I left the impression that the poor quality picture from BHN was some how Greg's fault -- not my intention. I have been participating in this forum for a while now and I for one appreciate Greg's contributions. I always look forward to what he has to say and I believe he tells it like it is.

The point I was trying to get across has to do with the "perception" of BHN by the "average" end user perhaps not unlike myself. The "average" customer of BHN doesn't care if the problem with the picture/audio coming into their house is BHN's fault, WKMG's fault, or the main CBS broadcasters fault. Since we (the customer) interface directly with BHN and pay BHN monthly fees, we perceive it as a BHN problem. This "perception" of poor quality from BHN can lead some of BHN's customers to say "adios" to cable and try something else. I would think that BHN would be concerned about this since they are in this business to make money (nothing wrong with that BTW).

I would hope/wish that BHN would convey this displeasure to CBS (or any other provider of cable content to BHN). Why would BHN be willing to pass along a "dumbed down" signal (or no HD signal at all with respect to some of the NCAA tourny games last week)? It makes YOU look BAD BHN. It reflects on YOU. Last time I checked, the "HD" in "HDTV" stood for "high-definition" -- not "hum drum".

If I'm watching a golf ball flying through the air at a rapid rate of speed next week during the CBS Masters broadcast and all I see is macro blocking and motion blurring instead of a little white ball, maybe I shold be contacting the sponsors of that CBS broadcast and let them know why I turned off the tv during an event that they are paying CBS millions of dollars to sponsor. Maybe that will get CBS's attention!?
Spriteman is offline  
post #14 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
gmclaughlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I've held back from commenting on this in order to make sure I really knew what had happened. My experience has shown that first reports are nearly always inaccurate, and that's been reinforced by this issue.

But Spriteman really hit the nail on the head. What I've found about why it happened doesn't matter. What does matter is that between BHN and WKMG, we jointly failed our customers on this. Period.

We know why, and those lessons, while unimportant here, will go a long way to preventing it from happening again.

My apologies that it happened. We've got a great relationship with the folks at WKMG, and together we will continue to make HD better in Orlando.

Greg
gmclaughlin is offline  
post #15 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 06:02 AM
mwk
Senior Member
 
mwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greg, any chance on getting espn hd in time for the NHL playoffs.

Mike
mwk is offline  
post #16 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 06:56 AM
Member
 
NewtoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again to whoever it was that let me know about the $399 'DVI upgrade' to the new Toshiba model. Just to pass on a little more info...I asked if this upgrade would still be available when this year's models come out later in the year, but was told by the CSR Supervisor that this would be ending in May (take it for what it's worth of course).

Also, I was presented with an additional offer when I called. Currently I have the Toshiba 57H82 and for the $399, they were going to deliver a brand new 57H83 and take my old tv with them. OR, for $599, they would deliver a 57HX83 'Cinema Series' in replacement of my old TV...now correct me if I'm wrong, but this sounded like too good of a deal to pass up to replace my tv with about a year and a half of use with a brand new upgraded tv with more up-to-date technology??? Any reviews on the 'Cinema Series' tvs out there?

Just wanted to pass along for any other interested Toshiba owners...
NewtoHD is offline  
post #17 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
dgmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Greg, let me echo mwk here. When is BHN getting ESPN HD!! Also, why don't we get Fox Sports Florida? Being a transplanted Red Sox fan, it drives me nuts having all the Sox-DRays games blacked out and not have a channel that shows them! My friend one appartment complex over has Adelphia and has the station, so I always have to pester him to go over and watch them.
dgmayor is offline  
post #18 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 11:08 AM
Member
 
TopQuark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone with BHN, after asking whether the Firewire port on my Pace box was now active or not. The friendly customer service lady said it MIGHT be active, but she wasn't allowed to tell me. Then she went on to tell me that if I tried to use it I would be responsible for any "damages" to the box, because BHN did not support the use of firewire. I expressed some scepticism about this "policy" and mentioned the FCC mandate, after which she put me on hold to ask her supervisor for guidance. When she came back she repeated her claim that the firewire port was "dangerous" to use because of "incompatible voltages". I swear to God that's exactly what I was told.
TopQuark is offline  
post #19 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Barry928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We know the firewire box is going to be the SA3250HD so the PACE 550 box will not have an active 1394 port.

Visit the orlandodigital.tv website
Central Florida ISF Calibration

Barry928 is offline  
post #20 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 03:21 PM
Member
 
PeterShipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah there is not even any type of 1394 connector on the 550HD

Peter Shipp
ISF, HAA, SBCA, CEDIA Certified
ps@aecustom.com
PeterShipp is offline  
post #21 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 03:37 PM
Member
 
LukeSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new word on when this new hdtv recorder from brighthouse will be comming out ?

Thanks!
LukeSky is offline  
post #22 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 03:44 PM
Member
 
LukeSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Toshiba DVI upgrade deal....can someone please tell me more about this ???



Thanks!
LukeSky is offline  
post #23 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 03:55 PM
Member
 
LukeSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind on the DVI upg, I just called, and my 57h81 isn't included with the promotion. They said it wouldn't accept the card to upgrade it.
LukeSky is offline  
post #24 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 05:14 PM
Member
 
james32746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Mary, FL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I saw that somewhere but of course probably I am wrong about this. WBCC will still be run by Brevard CC and UCF will only have a subchannel on WBCC-DT. Daytona Beach CC has a similar arrangement on WCEU-DT.

As well:

Seminole CC and Valencia CC will be sharing a subchannel on WMFE-DT when WMFE goes from 2 channel multicasting to 4 channel multicasting. Actually they only get one day of access for that subchannel and then it goes to other local organizations and government agencies on other days. This was per WMFE's website.

James Westerfield
Lake Mary, FL
james32746 is offline  
post #25 of 18988 Old 04-01-2004, 08:14 PM
Member
 
thess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, it's my first night with BHN after a couple of years of DirecTV.

I'm of course loving the HD channels, especially Discovery HD Theater, but is it normal that all the non-digital channels (i.e., the stuff in the 70s and below) looks so awful? I'm used to everything looking pretty much the same on DirecTV so the huge variance really stands out.

It's very... grainy. Makes me really wish the SciFi channel was digital.

Also, I was getting some pixelation and sound dropouts in HD, specifically Discovery that I can remember... Does that happen a lot?
thess is offline  
post #26 of 18988 Old 04-02-2004, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
dgmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grainy picture is normal for any standard definition channel. It's a low resolution signal being displayed on a high resolution monitor. It shows all the imperfections. The higher digital channels I believe are upconverted to at least 480p, which is why they look "normal".
dgmayor is offline  
post #27 of 18988 Old 04-02-2004, 06:09 AM
Member
 
TopQuark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by PeterShipp
Yeah there is not even any type of 1394 connector on the 550HD

There absolutely IS a 1394 on the front of my 550HD, and after a follow-up call BHN said it is indeed active.
TopQuark is offline  
post #28 of 18988 Old 04-02-2004, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
gmclaughlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TopQuark,

Obviously we have at least two customer service representatives that need to admit when they don't know the answer to a technical question --

Despite what you were told in the second call, there is NOT a 1394 connector on the Pace 550HD set-top. The port that you're looking at on the front of your set is a USB connection, put there for potential future applications that may or may not ever be developed (future proofing). It is not 1394.

The mandate says we have to provide a 1394-capable box to any customer who requests on. It does not say that we have to make all boxes 1394 capable, nor could we retrofit the existing box population.
I posted in an earlier thread that we would be deploying a version of the S/A 3250 to meet this requirement.

Finally, I'm very disappointed in what this box will do, and if you swap your Pace for one, you'll want the Pace back. Trust me. But PM me if you want to get on the list to get one.


Others: ESPN HD -- still in the negotiators hands, so no further word. It could be next week, it could be a year from now. These things are impossible to speculate on. Fox Sports -- we don't carry it and probably won't.

Greg
gmclaughlin is offline  
post #29 of 18988 Old 04-02-2004, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Thats Classified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys...just wanted to confirm with someone that you're getting the Orlando area locals in HD via Directv. I'm about to get the HD equipment and want to make sure I'll get the locals in HD using the OTA.

Thanks.
Thats Classified is offline  
post #30 of 18988 Old 04-02-2004, 10:51 AM
Member
 
TopQuark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gmclaughlin
...there is NOT a 1394 connector on the Pace 550HD set-top. The port that you're looking at on the front of your set is a USB connection...

Wow! I'm glad I haven't spent any money on a 1394 card for my PC yet! (or worse- a DVR with firewire input). There is no way I'd give up the Pace box at this point in time- I'm just too in love with the DVI output. Thanks for the heads-up.

Something else the BHN rep said was interesting: "...high-def PVR is supposed to be out by the end of the year, but I can tell you that it may be out sooner. Like around the summer time...".

Of course I can't believe a word of it considering their recent accuracy, BUT she did say she was putting me on a list to be notified when it was ready- which they haven't been willing to do before yesterday.

All-in-all I have been very satisfied with BHN cable service. No sat dish for me just yet
TopQuark is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off