Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 3287 Old 01-12-2005, 09:00 PM
Member
 
DasLonghorn02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I assume it's not worth spending money on a HDTV tuner just to get two more channels...or is it?
DasLonghorn02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 3287 Old 01-13-2005, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
tombarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you also don't get WPBA-T (21) which carriew PBS-HD, WPXA, WUVG, and WATC.

It means another box, the antenna, and switching to another input. I haven't shopped for one in years, but I guess they go for $200-300.
tombarry is offline  
post #303 of 3287 Old 01-13-2005, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdwalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's the best deal out now for an OTA ATSC receiver?

"If you never did, you should. These things are fun and fun is good."- Dr. Seuss
rdwalt is offline  
post #304 of 3287 Old 01-13-2005, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've lost digital CBS. 46-1 is gone for some reason.
Anybody else?

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #305 of 3287 Old 01-13-2005, 07:59 PM
Member
 
philipgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta suburb
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem here...I've been watching CSI in HD OTA for the last hour.

Phil G
American by birth, Mac user by choice.
philipgomez is offline  
post #306 of 3287 Old 01-13-2005, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I noticed that I have some other channels gone too. I'll have to check my antenna.

CW
had to watch CSI in SD...can you imagine?

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #307 of 3287 Old 01-14-2005, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by subspace
[b]
Because of the trees, I'm wondering if we might want to go with a longer range UHF antenna (like the Channel Master 4248 or 4228). Is there anyone that can comment on this approach? Any other suggestions? Also, do you think we'll be able to pick up the single VHF broadcast with a UHF antenna?

Thanks!

Sometimes there is no rhyme to reason with OTA. Sometimes all you can do is try.

Tall trees can give you multi-path problems which require 2 or 3 antennas with blockers to pull in all the channels. (or a rotor)

If you have a good look at the antenna farms a UHF antenna is all that is needed sometimes, even for channel 11.

If it looks like you need more than one antenna I would get some UHF platter types (bowtie) & put them in the attic.

Look for for Dow Electronics in Duluth to save money on good equip.

They also carry a wineguard that is cut specifically for channel 11 if you need it.
Wakey is offline  
post #308 of 3287 Old 01-14-2005, 12:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS was offline Wednesday.. I guess you see it's back
Wakey is offline  
post #309 of 3287 Old 01-15-2005, 01:25 AM
Member
 
jbstix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, Ga
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! It's been a while, since I've checked out this forum.
I guess b/c I haven't received any email notifications for about 2 months now!!!
Anyone else had a similar experience?
I guess out of sight, out of mind... bummer.
Glad to see the forum seems to be going strong.
Just wanted to say hello to everyone and Happy New Year.


jb
jbstix is offline  
post #310 of 3287 Old 01-15-2005, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jbstix
Wow! It's been a while, since I've checked out this forum.
I guess b/c I haven't received any email notifications for about 2 months now!!!
jb

Subscribe to this thread !
Wakey is offline  
post #311 of 3287 Old 01-15-2005, 11:05 PM
Member
 
jbstix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, Ga
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Wakey
Subscribe to this thread !


I am subscribed to this thread smartass!
That's why I was pissed that I haven't been receiving email notifications.
Nice try!
jbstix is offline  
post #312 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a while AOL was blocking my email notifications and I had to have them allow email from AVS. I don't know if this could have been your case but it was in mine. How's reception in Fayetteville. I've got great reception in Peachtree City now that I cut down some trees.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #313 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 11:09 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
We're trying to determine the best OTA HDTV market in the country. We've narrowed it down to Atlanta, Chicago, and Orlando. All three cities offer:

1) All 7 networks in HD
2) The Big 4 networks also must have DD 5.1
3) The Big 4 must have no multicasting that deteriorates the primary HD feed.
4) At least 2 of the 3 other networks must also be DD 5.1 (Atlanta has only 1 of the other 3, but has TBS in HD/DD5.1)

If you guys can provide some local insight to help narrow this down like any low power stations, local engineering problems (not flipping the switch, etc.) or anything else positive or negative that may not be reflected in the criteria mentioned above, it would be appreciated.

Post any comments here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=483294
CPanther95 is offline  
post #314 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! I'll be moving to Newnan, GA in March. I have looked through these forums for information on Charter cable, but haven't found anything. The apartments I'm moving to said that's the provider.

I have D*, and plan on keeping it for the NFL package. I just don't know what the HD is going to be like from Charter. I have an OTA antenna, but with Newnan being 38 miles SW of ATL, I don't think I stand a chance of getting a signal. It barely picks up OTA here in Orlando with me being less than 20 miles from all of the towers.

Any information is greatly appreciated!!!
BearGator56 is offline  
post #315 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe it's Comcast.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #316 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jackshakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by BearGator56
Hello! I'll be moving to Newnan, GA in March. I have looked through these forums for information on Charter cable, but haven't found anything. The apartments I'm moving to said that's the provider.

I have D*, and plan on keeping it for the NFL package. I just don't know what the HD is going to be like from Charter. I have an OTA antenna, but with Newnan being 38 miles SW of ATL, I don't think I stand a chance of getting a signal. It barely picks up OTA here in Orlando with me being less than 20 miles from all of the towers.

Any information is greatly appreciated!!!

I'm probably not the best person to answer this ... but you'll probably be in OK shape for OTA. I'm about 40 miles away, just got an ATI HDTV Wonder, and am able to get signal on a couple channels (Fox, CBS, ABC) in the 80% range even with the cheap ass antenna that comes with the HDTV Wonder. I was rather shocked.

I plan on getting a better antenna in the next week or so to put in the attic, hopefully then I'll be in good shape for all of the channels.

Speaking of which, is it necessary to ground antennas that are mounted in attics?
jackshakes is offline  
post #317 of 3287 Old 01-16-2005, 09:29 PM
Member
 
jbstix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, Ga
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by plasmamaniac
For a while AOL was blocking my email notifications and I had to have them allow email from AVS. I don't know if this could have been your case but it was in mine. How's reception in Fayetteville. I've got great reception in Peachtree City now that I cut down some trees.

Reception is good at my place overall.
The only channel I can't really get is TBS.
And tonite, ABC was very spotty b/c of the high winds.
All other channels have good reception it seems, and the only factor seems to be high wind speeds.
I have some trees that I would like to come down, problem is they are right by a creek bank in my backyard (hard to get to and cut down).
I know you have a rotator on your antenna, can you tell me what setting you have it on for receiving TBS? Does it tell you actual degrees like on a compass? That might be helpful.
thanks,
jb
jbstix is offline  
post #318 of 3287 Old 01-17-2005, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a problem with the antenna and when the antenna guy fixed it he didn't get it exactly in phase with the alignment so the degrees are not an actual deviation from true north. It doesn't matter to me because I go back and forth and find the range then I subtract the lower number from the higher number, divide by 2 to get the midpoint and then go to that number and lock it in for that channel.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #319 of 3287 Old 01-17-2005, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
ahjok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Roswell GA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question:

I also had problems with ABC Sunday night -- but why would the wind affect only one channel, wouldn't they all be disrupted assuming the OTA signal strengths were comparable?
ahjok is offline  
post #320 of 3287 Old 01-17-2005, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no problems with ABC Sunday night. If there are trees between the ABC affiliate and your antenna and the wind blows then the leaves moving back and forth can cause pixellation. If the other stations are more to the right of the trees on a different angle, then the trees blowing in the wind wouldn't affect those other stations. However, ABC, NBC and Fox are very close together around Emory University if I remember correctly so if it affects ABC then it should affect all of them if they are sending out the same signal strength. I did a rescan because Channel 2 & 5 made some kind of change and the rescan helped me pick them up better.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #321 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
danc8379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone have problems with NBC OTA last night? That's one channel that I can normally get with no problems, but last night it was unwatchable due to pixellation.
danc8379 is offline  
post #322 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
oesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Channel Master 4228 antenna (UHF) with a CM7777 pre-amp in my attic. I receive Channel 11.1 (VHF-NBC Atlanta) with and without the CM7777 however I do not receive any digital UHF channels. It is connected to the combined location on the CM7777.

I have also move the antenna higher and a new location in the attic and it did improve the UHF analog channels but still no digital UHF channels. I am about 25 miles from the towers.

My present thinking is that I need to change the CM7777 default setting from "UHF-combined" to separate connections to see if the combined VHF/UHF signal is interfering with the overall UHF signal.

Anybody have any ideas?

Thanks!
oesmith is offline  
post #323 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you checked your signal strength? What is it? Sometimes you can have too strong a signal for some receivers such as the HR10-250 HD Tivo. I bought a variable attenuator from Radio Shack so that I can adjust the signal 2 DBs at at time until I get a picture. Some receivers have a "window" or "range" that they want the signal strength to be in. Just a thought.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #324 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
oesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new HDTV that has a built-in receiver. It does not give a signal strength. Since the antenna is in the attic along with the distance, I do not think that signal strength is a problem. But I will follow your suggestion and try adding an attenuator.
oesmith is offline  
post #325 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 10:15 AM
Member
 
jwarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which type of tuner do you have inthe set? My understanding is that some will need an external set top box...
jwarden is offline  
post #326 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
oesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony KD36XS955 with a built-in tuner capable of receiving over the OTA digital channels. I am receiving the VHF (channel 11.1) but no UHF digital channels. Digital scanning on these TVs take up to 50 minutes.
oesmith is offline  
post #327 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
oesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
........Full HDTV (built-in ATSC tuner for over-the-air HD reception)
oesmith is offline  
post #328 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Crwaters
Yeah, I noticed that I have some other channels gone too. I'll have to check my antenna.

CW
had to watch CSI in SD...can you imagine?

In case anybody's staying awake at night worrying about me having to watch SD, I got it fixed.
I'd been in the attic trying to seal-up my heater ducting and must have kicked my antenna. After looking at the map from antennaweb and not bing able to find my compass, I tried to re-aim the antena but apparently I was off a bunch. I got some wire, hung the antenna from a couple of beams (it's been just lying on the rafters for like five years) and aimed it using my now-found compass. Seems to be working fine now except a bunch of audio drop-outs on Fox yesterday afternoon. Haven't looked at it again today though.

Cory
Needs to be sure the Fox feed is working good for the Football game this weekend...

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #329 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cory, thanks for the update as I have been staying awake at night worrying about you having to watch SD material, so it's good to know you're back in business. Go Falcons!!!!
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #330 of 3287 Old 01-18-2005, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How's this for upsetting:
We installed a 55" Hitachi plasma on the wall of a suite at the Dome last week so they could have it for the playoff game (good so far eh?) here's the kicker...we don't have any HD in the Dome to feed it! So the POS Magnivox tv they had before actually looks a ton sharper!
Ohhh the humanity.
Pulled for the Eagles last week so I could watch the Falcons at home on my HDTV

Cory

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off