Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 111 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3326 Old 03-01-2015, 01:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
Nice work! How about posting a picture of that antenna for those of us who are curious.

Here is the Pic of my Bow Tie Antenna.

Kev
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150301_025724.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	187.7 KB
ID:	576025  
kevjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3326 Old 03-01-2015, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevjr View Post
Hi all once again,

In response to futrader8 (Who I assume lives in Marietta) I have posted a pic of my 8 bow homemade antenna.

I built an 8 bay whisker bowtie antenna with basic coat hangers using the M-4 antenna design.

The bowtie has 9 inch spacing with 5.25 spacing between each other. I also swinged the whiskers approximately 2 inches forward and added chicken wire as a reflector 20 feet above ground level (Basically mounted it on my deck which is 20 feet above).

I also added into the mix a RadioShack Model: 15-369 In-Line TV Antenna Signal Amplifier.

As I stated before I am getting over 80+ channels. Granted I really only DVR and watch about 10 but in combo with my TiVo it still makes a lot of TV to watch.

Kev
Nice work. I'm impressed that you even get 16 and 32 way up in Canton.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3303 of 3326 Old 03-14-2015, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Currently live in an apartment building near 285 and 400 (Perimeter area). I have Comcast. Comcast installer put in an amplifier with multiple splits because he said the outside line was too far. The model is Commscope csapdu5vp.

I am thinking of going back to DTV and ditching Comcast except for internet. I have both Mohu Leaf and Terk HDTVa which both come with single line removable amplifiers.

My plan was to use the better of the two antennas (probably the Leaf) and run it to the cable closet to power multiple rooms. I was thinking of leaving out the two amplifiers and instead using the Commscope that Comcast left me since it has multiple splits and is more industrial. Should this work?

I would then of course have to consider my modem, which I plan to run on an individual line, I can try that without an amp, with the amp from the Terk or with the amp from the Mohu and see which one gives me the best speed.

Thoughts?
jmsnyc is offline  
post #3304 of 3326 Old 03-15-2015, 12:09 PM
Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post
I would then of course have to consider my modem, which I plan to run on an individual line, I can try that without an amp, with the amp from the Terk or with the amp from the Mohu and see which one gives me the best speed.

Thoughts?
Most likely the amp from the Terk or Mohu would not work with your modem. The cable modem is a bi-directional amplifier and has to handle signals in both directions upstream and downstream. Most TV antenna amplifiers are uni-directional.
richart is online now  
post #3305 of 3326 Old 03-15-2015, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
Most likely the amp from the Terk or Mohu would not work with your modem. The cable modem is a bi-directional amplifier and has to handle signals in both directions upstream and downstream. Most TV antenna amplifiers are uni-directional.
Ok, thanks - good to know,but would the CommScope work with the dta ? It might be overkill, I can try it first (ota) with one of the uni-directional amps, splitting it after the amp.


Actually mistaken on below - seems like I need active return, the one below is passive
Also, this seems like a cheap bi-directional amp for modem - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...H2ZDXD0QCZ2XZR

Last edited by jmsnyc; 03-15-2015 at 01:31 PM.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #3306 of 3326 Old 03-17-2015, 01:01 AM
Member
 
Mattswad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LAFF (a new broadcast comedy network will be coming to WSB-TV channel 2.3 on April 15, 2015! Great news in the sense that it is at least something to look forward to that is in English, isn't an infomercial channel or religious channel and isn't targeted towards only a specific demographic only. (IE: Men, women, blacks, Muslims, Christians, old people, foreighners, tourists, or all of the above)
Mattswad is offline  
post #3307 of 3326 Old 03-17-2015, 03:31 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Matt


LAFF on 2.3 Starting on-- 4-15-2015


Some of the shows:
The Drew Carey Show
Night Court
Empty Nest
Grace Under Fire
MarkB49 is online now  
post #3308 of 3326 Old 03-17-2015, 10:23 AM
Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattswad View Post
LAFF (a new broadcast comedy network will be coming to WSB-TV channel 2.3 on April 15, 2015!
That's good news...thanks for the heads up. With 11.3 being added recently, I guess it pushed WSB to add another sub-channel. I wonder why 17 and 46 have not added sub-channels? It seems like they are missing out on some additional ad revenue. There are a couple of programming packages they could probably pick up and run that currently air on some of the low power stations that are more difficult to receive OTP.
richart is online now  
post #3309 of 3326 Old 03-17-2015, 10:55 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
That's good news...thanks for the heads up. With 11.3 being added recently, I guess it pushed WSB to add another sub-channel. I wonder why 17 and 46 have not added sub-channels? It seems like they are missing out on some additional ad revenue. There are a couple of programming packages they could probably pick up and run that currently air on some of the low power stations that are more difficult to receive OTP.
I've read that CBS (and others) is reluctant to let its affiliates add subchannels because each subchannel added degrades picture quality because of compression. That's probably why 46, 17, and 69 don't have subchannels (all broadcast in 1080i).

In this rush to add subchannels, I wish someone would find space to add Cozi TV. We are still the largest market in the country without it.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3310 of 3326 Old 03-17-2015, 06:03 PM
Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
I've read that CBS (and others) is reluctant to let its affiliates add subchannels because each subchannel added degrades picture quality because of compression. That's probably why 46, 17, and 69 don't have subchannels (all broadcast in 1080i).

In this rush to add subchannels, I wish someone would find space to add Cozi TV. We are still the largest market in the country without it.
CBS is now allowing subchannels. The CBS owned WCBS in New York has a subchannel now on 2.2 carrying the Decades network. With improvements in MPEG and Variable Bit Rate encoding we will probably see more subchannels. In the 19.4Mbit/s bitstream of a TV channel, you can have either a 1080i or 720p bitstream at 19 Mbit/s -or- with a slight decrease to 15 Mbit/s you can add a 480p or 480 subchannel at about 3.8 Mbit/s with very little change in the quality of the main channel video.
richart is online now  
post #3311 of 3326 Old 03-18-2015, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
otbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WGCL(46) bringing back 46-2 for college basketball or something else? I just noticed WGCL-SD while flipping channels.
Hey its Cozi!

Last edited by otbuzzard; 03-18-2015 at 10:36 AM.
otbuzzard is offline  
post #3312 of 3326 Old 03-18-2015, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by otbuzzard View Post
Is WGCL(46) bringing back 46-2 for college basketball or something else? I just noticed WGCL-SD while flipping channels.
Hey its Cozi!
Aw man, you got me all excited about nothing. All I have on 46-2 is a blank screen. They must have yanked Cozi down pretty quickly. Besides, there is nothing on Rabbitears about Cozi coming to 46-2, and they are pretty on top of those things.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3313 of 3326 Old 03-19-2015, 04:12 AM
Newbie
 
otbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
Aw man, you got me all excited about nothing. All I have on 46-2 is a blank screen. They must have yanked Cozi down pretty quickly. Besides, there is nothing on Rabbitears about Cozi coming to 46-2, and they are pretty on top of those things.
It's nothing there now but I swear yesterday I caught the end of Starsky and Hutch...well they cut out the closing credits. When Charlie's Angels started they showed the wgcl station id and about 15 minutes later it went back to a black screen and its been nothing since. Maybe its some unofficial launch or testing.
otbuzzard is offline  
post #3314 of 3326 Old 03-19-2015, 04:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Interesting. Meredith tested COZI on WHNS in Greenville a few months ago. There has not been an appearance since then.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3315 of 3326 Old 03-19-2015, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Doesn't look like any Meredith stations carry Cozi at the moment. Hopefully this test means it's coming sometime in the near future. Would be a nice addition.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3316 of 3326 Old 03-20-2015, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Grit is coming to 46-3, but no word on what might occupy 46-2.

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/8...-katz-diginets

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3317 of 3326 Old 03-20-2015, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Grit is coming to 46-3, but no word on what might occupy 46-2.

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/8...-katz-diginets

- Trip
My money is on Cozi.

Last edited by Futrader8; 03-22-2015 at 10:29 AM.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3318 of 3326 Old 03-22-2015, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As of this morning, my TiVo is showing guide data for Cozi TV on 46-2, but there is still a blank screen. Maybe it goes live tomorrow? I dunno.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3319 of 3326 Old 03-22-2015, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A few years ago.
46.2 was for the college basketball in 2009 I think it was.


My LG did pick it up on 3-20-15. Like you said 46.2 had a Blank picture on it.
I hope it is COZI.


MarkB
MarkB49 is online now  
post #3320 of 3326 Old 03-22-2015, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Go to zap2it.


I Did hit the preferences, how bout 46.2 and 46.3 !!


MarkB
MarkB49 is online now  
post #3321 of 3326 Old 03-23-2015, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi Guys,

Cozi TV is coming soon to your stations

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/8...eight-stations
LMckin is offline  
post #3322 of 3326 Old Today, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Decades channel is owned by CBS and Weigel Broadcasting.
Will this be on 46.3 ?


The Decade channel will show "Mega-Blocks " of shows.Most of there list is very similar
to antenna and metv . I did notice "The Invaders"-1966 on the Decades list.
wiki has good info on Decades.
MarkB49 is online now  
post #3323 of 3326 Old Today, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkB49 View Post
The Decades channel is owned by CBS and Weigel Broadcasting.
Will this be on 46.3 ?


The Decade channel will show "Mega-Blocks " of shows.Most of there list is very similar
to antenna and metv . I did notice "The Invaders"-1966 on the Decades list.
wiki has good info on Decades.
No. Already been announced that 46.3 will be Grit.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3324 of 3326 Old Today, 09:32 AM
Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
Hi Guys,

Cozi TV is coming soon to your stations

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/8...eight-stations
I think I heard Futrader8 screaming with delight way up here in Acworth when the announcement about Cozi was made.
richart is online now  
post #3325 of 3326 Old Today, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Futrader8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was actually screaming "it's about time!" Lol. I'm kind of excited about getting Grit as well. Looks like a pretty interesting line up, for guys at least.
richart likes this.
Futrader8 is online now  
post #3326 of 3326 Old Today, 12:25 PM
Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
I was actually screaming "it's about time!" Lol. I'm kind of excited about getting Grit as well. Looks like a pretty interesting line up, for guys at least.
It will be interesting to see if all the new additions spur 17 and 69 to add some sub-channels now. With newer technologies it is possible to add an SD sub-channel without degrading the signal quality of their main channel.

There a couple of sub-channels that I like on 32 but the quality is so poor that they are not very easy to watch. I wonder why they provide so much content at such poor quality? Looks like cutting back on the sub-channels so as to have better video quality would put them at a better marketing advantage to sell spot time.
richart is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off