Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 118 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3540 Unread 12-30-2015, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I can really use some help! I have a large ChannelMaster antenna attached to my chimney and I need to have it removed and installed some place else.

Long story, but I removed my fireplace about 18 months ago but left the chimney. Now I'm getting leaking so I'm just going to have it removed.

The roofing company rep. told me that I have to get it taken off the chimney before they do the repair or it will come down with the chimney.

So I've got 2 weeks to find someone to do this.

I used Ed at AtlantaDigitalTV.com and he did a fantastic job, but I contacted him through his website and got no response. Anyone know what's going on?

Can anyone recommend someone in case I can't get a hold of Ed?

Thanks!
greybb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3540 Unread 12-31-2015, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by greybb1 View Post
I can really use some help! I have a large ChannelMaster antenna attached to my chimney and I need to have it removed and installed some place else.

Long story, but I removed my fireplace about 18 months ago but left the chimney. Now I'm getting leaking so I'm just going to have it removed.

The roofing company rep. told me that I have to get it taken off the chimney before they do the repair or it will come down with the chimney.

So I've got 2 weeks to find someone to do this.

I used Ed at AtlantaDigitalTV.com and he did a fantastic job, but I contacted him through his website and got no response. Anyone know what's going on?

Can anyone recommend someone in case I can't get a hold of Ed?

Thanks!
Ed is the best. Sometimes he takes a few days to get back to you because he is so swamped. Keep trying, he will get back to you. The antenna installation business is booming, and he is one of the few that still does installs in this area.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #3513 of 3540 Unread 12-31-2015, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
Ed is the best. Sometimes he takes a few days to get back to you because he is so swamped. Keep trying, he will get back to you. The antenna installation business is booming, and he is one of the few that still does installs in this area.
I found last year's email and sent him a new email. He replied right away. It's not easy to arrange for him to come out this way, Lawrenceville, but I'm willing to wait. He did such a fantastic job, took his time to make sure I got the most signals possible and must have tweaked the antenna a million times to get the reception right. He wast probably at my house for 4 hours!

I contacted Channel Master to see if they knew of anyone in this area and they wrote me back and said they don't and to hire a handy man! LOL! Come on people, I don't just need it stuck on the roof, I need it pointed in the right direction!!

I can't believe in a city as large as Atlanta there are not more people who do an install!

ETA: Having Ed do the job is so important to me that I'm changing the date of my roof repair. LOL.
yo-mama and richart like this.
greybb1 is offline  
post #3514 of 3540 Unread 01-01-2016, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by greybb1 View Post
I found last year's email and sent him a new email. He replied right away. It's not easy to arrange for him to come out this way, Lawrenceville, but I'm willing to wait. He did such a fantastic job, took his time to make sure I got the most signals possible and must have tweaked the antenna a million times to get the reception right. He wast probably at my house for 4 hours!

I contacted Channel Master to see if they knew of anyone in this area and they wrote me back and said they don't and to hire a handy man! LOL! Come on people, I don't just need it stuck on the roof, I need it pointed in the right direction!!

I can't believe in a city as large as Atlanta there are not more people who do an install!

ETA: Having Ed do the job is so important to me that I'm changing the date of my roof repair. LOL.
I was talking to Ed a couple of months ago when he was installing my neighbor's antenna (he did such good work for me that I recommended him to my neighbor) and he said the reason you don't see more people popping up doing antenna installs, especially with the boom in cord cutting, is that so few people these days are willing to climb up on your roof to do the installation. He told me that even Directv installers will no longer get on your roof to install their dish. They either mount them on the side of the house or on a pole in your yard. Ed is one of the few who will actually get on your roof to do an installation which is so important for a proper tv antenna installation.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #3515 of 3540 Unread 01-08-2016, 03:08 PM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Chs 9/12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
9.1 LaMega
9.2 Estrella
9.3 MundoMax
9.4 LATV
9.5 BizTV
9.6 Shop

12.1 ThisTV
12.2 Works
12.3 Moxie
12.4 Oldie
12.5 Shop
12.6 RetroTV
12.7 TUFFTV

RFs and VFs are the same.

HDHomerun only tells me the station names, so I don't know if the call letters have transferred over.
I was curious who owns these channels, and if anyone there monitors them from a technical standpoint. I noticed issues on at least 4 channels. 12.3/12.4 have not shown anything for at least a week just blank screen. 12.7 had audio with color bars...but now seems to be fixed. 12.8 has no audio only video for a few days. There is no info on the guide only TBA, while their ch 32 has the info in the guides. Ive noticed commercials being run that are months out of date for a specific promo. Just seems like these are on auto-pilot.
yo-mama is offline  
post #3516 of 3540 Unread 01-08-2016, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by yo-mama View Post
I was curious who owns these channels, and if anyone there monitors them from a technical standpoint.
Maybe you can give them a call and find out...don't be surprised if you get no response.

DTV Innovators, LLC
5208 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
404-692-3881
richart is offline  
post #3517 of 3540 Unread 02-02-2016, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
WPBA 30 Low Signal

I was noticing a weaker than normal signal last night on WPBA channel 30. Weak enough to experience some dropouts. Has anyone else noticed this? I sent an e-mail to their engineer to see if they were having any issues but have not heard back.
richart is offline  
post #3518 of 3540 Unread 02-05-2016, 01:11 PM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just noticed that now on 9.1 is Newsmax in HD
yo-mama is offline  
post #3519 of 3540 Unread 02-16-2016, 12:10 PM
Member
 
ratman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hello any of you all having issues with moxie? I get 2 bars but it only shows green screen?

Last edited by ratman33; 02-16-2016 at 12:22 PM.
ratman33 is offline  
post #3520 of 3540 Unread 02-17-2016, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratman33 View Post
hello any of you all having issues with moxie? I get 2 bars but it only shows green screen?
As far as I know, it's been that way for weeks. It might have something to do with them possibly transitioning to a new channel.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #3521 of 3540 Unread 02-17-2016, 09:10 AM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Same here.........

GM

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is offline  
post #3522 of 3540 Unread 02-17-2016, 12:31 PM
Member
 
ratman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 12
cool I hope its a good channel when it comes out
ratman33 is offline  
post #3523 of 3540 Unread 02-19-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
ratman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratman33 View Post
cool I hope its a good channel when it comes out
lol now I get it but peoples faces are blue
ratman33 is offline  
post #3524 of 3540 Unread 04-04-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwam View Post
I have several television antennas for sale in the Atlanta area. Two ChannelMaster 4228s (original 8 bay model). One Televes DAT-75 (Yagi). One antenna custom made (Yagi) for channel 11 (NBC WXIA) which also receives quite well channel 8 (PBS). Will consider any price for any of them (individually or as a group). Buyer can pick them up - will not ship (situated in Cumming, GA).
Do you still have these antennas? I recently moved to Cumming and wanted to try OTA before I fork over any more money to Comcast.
Do they work out here? I am near Buford Dam. I consulted with Ed via email (Atlanta Digital TV) and he said my OTA reception prospects were not good. I would like to try anyway.
InternetExpert is offline  
post #3525 of 3540 Unread 04-04-2016, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by InternetExpert View Post
Do you still have these antennas? I recently moved to Cumming and wanted to try OTA before I fork over any more money to Comcast.
Do they work out here? I am near Buford Dam. I consulted with Ed via email (Atlanta Digital TV) and he said my OTA reception prospects were not good. I would like to try anyway.
You can input your address on the TV Signal Locator at TVFool and it will give you a good indication of what the signal strengths are at your location. http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=29
richart is offline  
post #3526 of 3540 Unread 04-06-2016, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Atlanta, GA - OTA

Oh no. Something bad just happened. Lights went out and about 10-15 sec later loud boom of thunder. Now I only get Ch. 11 and it's half strength.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
size14d is offline  
post #3527 of 3540 Unread 04-07-2016, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by size14d View Post
Oh no. Something bad just happened. Lights went out and about 10-15 sec later loud boom of thunder. Now I only get Ch. 11 and it's half strength.
Perhaps a nearby lightning strike caused the problem. The first thing I would check would be the grounding block.
richart is offline  
post #3528 of 3540 Unread 04-08-2016, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
Perhaps a nearby lightning strike caused the problem. The first thing I would check would be the grounding block.
Someone turned off the switch for receptacle the preamp is plugged into. Phew
size14d is offline  
post #3529 of 3540 Unread 04-08-2016, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I know this guy, he's from my home town. Good guy. Does antenna, tv mount, home theater, surround, security systems, etc.. Ed didn't call me back but William answered me almost immediately. He's out of town until this weekend, however I fixed my issue myself.

https://www.homeadvisor.com/rated.Wi....40151084.html

Edit: Ed did get back to me a couple days later. By then I figured it out.

Last edited by size14d; 05-12-2016 at 06:21 PM.
size14d is offline  
post #3530 of 3540 Unread 04-23-2016, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone else in west Cobb having issues with 46's sq going up and down right now? So annoying.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
size14d is offline  
post #3531 of 3540 Unread 04-24-2016, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Atlanta, GA - OTA

Tonight I'm getting zero signal strength for the 36 channels. Dread rescanning, so many channels to hide afterward, lol.

EDIT: They're back.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
size14d is offline  
post #3532 of 3540 Unread 05-01-2016, 03:32 PM
Member
 
eq2675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having OTA signal issues with Fox 5 Atlanta?

We are up in Acworth and it started about 3 days ago.
eq2675 is offline  
post #3533 of 3540 Unread 05-02-2016, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by eq2675 View Post
Anyone else having OTA signal issues with Fox 5 Atlanta?

We are up in Acworth and it started about 3 days ago.
I am near downtown Acworth and the only issue I noted was on 5.1. It would glitch for just a half-second repeatedly--just a brief streak through the picture and a bit of audio noise. I had 100% signal strength and 100% signal quality at the time. Checking on their sub-channels 5.2 and 5.3 I noticed none of the glitching. I would expect the glitching issue to be on their end.

Or are you experiencing another issue?
richart is offline  
post #3534 of 3540 Unread 05-02-2016, 09:05 AM
Member
 
eq2675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much for the reply

Yes, it's 5.1, 5.2, and 5.3

I usually get 5+ out of 10 signal strength bars for WAGA. Strangely 36 and 69 are coming in much better now. 5.1 drops down to 1 bar sometimes.

Here is what I know.

WAGA support says there is nothing on there end. Quick email reply BTW.

Both of our post 2010 digital Samsung TV's have the issue. No other TV's on the antenna

My antenna is in the attic with an AC powered booster. I may need to troubleshoot.
eq2675 is offline  
post #3535 of 3540 Unread 05-02-2016, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Do you have any trees in the signal path that have grown since last year and may be interfering? Could your antenna have been bumped and is not pointing just right?

A friend was having some problems with VHF reception and traced it down to a LED light bulb that was causing interference.
richart is offline  
post #3536 of 3540 Unread 05-02-2016, 04:55 PM
Member
 
eq2675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great suggestions.

It will probably be a week till I get so tired of the issue that I really troubleshoot it, just hoping it goes away. Ha, ha.

Our house is pretty well wired with WiFi and about 20 devices, among other things that could be causing the issue.
eq2675 is offline  
post #3537 of 3540 Unread 05-02-2016, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Very doubtful that wifi could be causing an issue. It's frequency range is well above that of channel 5. My friend turned off all the breakers in his house except for the TV (he did not have an amp) and then turned the breakers back on one by one until the problem occurred and then traced it to the LED lamp. I have also heard of cases where it was interference from high intensity lamps, door bell transformers and electric blankets.
richart is offline  
post #3538 of 3540 Unread 05-12-2016, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by size14d View Post
I know this guy, he's from my home town. Good guy. Does antenna, tv mount, home theater, surround, security systems, etc.. Ed didn't call me back but William answered me almost immediately. He's out of town until this weekend, however I fixed my issue myself.

https://www.homeadvisor.com/rated.Wi....40151084.html
Well I just called him for a quote to install an antenna on my roof. I tried to get up there and it scared the ever livin poop out of me so I'm going to leave it to an expert.
There is a direcTv dish up there and I simply wanted to mount my new clearstream 4E at the ridgeline and move the coax from the dish to the clearstream, then hook my tv up in the basement. Easier said than done.
size14d likes this.
InternetExpert is offline  
post #3539 of 3540 Unread 05-12-2016, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by InternetExpert View Post
Well I just called him for a quote to install an antenna on my roof. I tried to get up there and it scared the ever livin poop out of me so I'm going to leave it to an expert.
There is a direcTv dish up there and I simply wanted to mount my new clearstream 4E at the ridgeline and move the coax from the dish to the clearstream, then hook my tv up in the basement. Easier said than done.
I'll update my post, Ed did get back to me a couple days later.
size14d is offline  
post #3540 of 3540 Unread 05-25-2016, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by size14d View Post
I'll update my post, Ed did get back to me a couple days later.
Well, that guy never called me back like he said he would so I wound up getting my neighbor to help me. Mounted the Clearstream 4V in the attic and am getting at least a couple dozen channels along with FM radio stations. No amp, either.
InternetExpert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off