Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 120 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 3579 Old 10-26-2016, 06:54 PM
Member
 
jagerbombster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: East of Atlanta
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwam View Post
Atlanta has two VHF channels (PBS 8 and NBC 10). The new CM 4228 is not good at VHF. You might want to consider a Clearstream 4 with a VHF retrofit kit. The C4 is an easy install (both inside an attic or outside) due to its size and shape (very maneuverable). I have friends using it 30 to 40 miles from the broadcast towers (in attics). Since Georgia is a tree surrounded area, the C4 does well in this situation.

A preamp with an FM trap may well be needed at your distance. The RCA TVPRAMP1Z is a good one.
Funny you should say that.


Just installed my C4 in my attic today....it is working like a charm! Had a few channels at 98% without a preamp. Guess I'll see how it goes before adding a FM trap. So far I'm just happy I can get some channels.
jagerbombster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 3579 Old 10-26-2016, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
qam1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback. I ordered the CM-4228HD since it seems to be superior for UHF. Hopefully the meager 5dB gain for VHF won't be an issue at 20 & 25 miles for NBC and PBS. I do have a distribution amplifier.
qam1600 is offline  
post #3573 of 3579 Old 10-27-2016, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bwam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cumming,GA,USA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagerbombster View Post
Funny you should say that.


Just installed my C4 in my attic today....it is working like a charm! Had a few channels at 98% without a preamp. Guess I'll see how it goes before adding a FM trap. So far I'm just happy I can get some channels.
BTW the RCA TVPRAMP1Z has an FM Trap within it so should you need both a preamp and a trap they'd be in one box. It doesn't appear that you need a preamp.

How is the C4 doing on 8 and 10 (PBS & NBC both VHF)? Did yours come with the VHF component (long rod on top)?

Last edited by bwam; 10-27-2016 at 07:03 AM.
bwam is offline  
post #3574 of 3579 Old 10-28-2016, 06:18 PM
Member
 
jagerbombster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: East of Atlanta
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwam View Post
BTW the RCA TVPRAMP1Z has an FM Trap within it so should you need both a preamp and a trap they'd be in one box. It doesn't appear that you need a preamp.

How is the C4 doing on 8 and 10 (PBS & NBC both VHF)? Did yours come with the VHF component (long rod on top)?

Good to know about that preamp with the built in trap.

Channel 8 is hovering around 75% and 10 is around 87% so both are doing good. Mine did come with the VHF antenna.

So far so good no noticeable dropouts except a few channels that I didn't even think I'd receive.

I've gotten good signal strength currently on all the major networks and a few independents. Would love to get ION but it's a few degrees north and 72 miles away so not thinking about it right now.

Very pleased with the antennas results.
jagerbombster is offline  
post #3575 of 3579 Old 10-30-2016, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
qam1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Installed the CM-4228HD in my Marietta attic and the VHF channels NBC and PBS look great. PBS on channel 33 also comes in from 53 miles behind the antennae. I'm happy but learned a lesson the hard way that plywood should always be laid down before working in the attic. Oops.

Last edited by qam1600; 10-30-2016 at 09:52 PM.
qam1600 is offline  
post #3576 of 3579 Old 11-11-2016, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,405
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Is there any hope for me with an attic mount? I've tried the RCA yagi and the ClearStream 4 from Best Buy without an amp and have trouble with getting all the UHF with the RCA or VHF with the CS4.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf0f2731fd86

I have to thread through Kennesaw mountain and the foothills.

bryansj is online now  
post #3577 of 3579 Old 11-11-2016, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Is there any hope for me with an attic mount? I've tried the RCA yagi and the ClearStream 4 from Best Buy without an amp and have trouble with getting all the UHF with the RCA or VHF with the CS4.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf0f2731fd86

I have to thread through Kennesaw mountain and the foothills.
Try the ChannelMaster 4228HD. Kennesaw Mountain is the real wild-card. I know several people who live just north and west of it and are SOL. I also know several people in the Marietta area who use the 4228 in attic mounts with good success. The post above also mentions good success with it. As always, YMMV.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #3578 of 3579 Old 11-11-2016, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Finally, Comet TV is here! 32.6, takes the place of Family TV.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
size14d is offline  
post #3579 of 3579 Old 11-12-2016, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
bwam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cumming,GA,USA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Is there any hope for me with an attic mount? I've tried the RCA yagi and the ClearStream 4 from Best Buy without an amp and have trouble with getting all the UHF with the RCA or VHF with the CS4.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf0f2731fd86

I have to thread through Kennesaw mountain and the foothills.
TVFool shows your access numbers to be similar to mine (the NM column plus the fact that your reception is 2-edge). I have to use a good preamp. The best one I've found for these conditions is the Kitztech 500 - high powered (up to 36 db) yet very low noise figure (0.85).
bwam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off