Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 3270 Old 06-30-2005, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 4228 and 7777 from SolidSignal earlier this week and put it up. Not a significant change from my Terk TV36 and Radio Shack 10dB amp. Some of the stations register a little higher, but they weren't a problem in the first place. I can now push PAX over the house wiring, but that's not exactly a big deal to me. CBS actually seems to come in a bit worse actually. Also noticed that a lot of the stations now have a very short audio dropout several seconds after changing to a channel. Did solve the popping noise from the surround channels when changing stations either. That started when I added the RS preamp, and continues with the CM preamp.

I guess if anything, the 4228 is a significantly smaller footprint than the TV36, which is a big plus with the arrangement in the attic.
SMac770 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 3270 Old 06-30-2005, 07:03 PM
Member
 
lunoja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smac what's your location? Lots of trees or a clear view? Two story or one story?

After all these years, we've gone back to an antenna on the roof? How ironic.
lunoja is offline  
post #633 of 3270 Old 07-01-2005, 10:22 AM
Member
 
porterhaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAW View Post

Thanks for the info.

I may order. I like the idea of being able to return to a local store if it doesn't work though. One of those products that you don't know if it works for you until you actually put it up.

I do not think Dow Electronics will let you return it if it doesn't work for you. I suggest you call them first to confirm this. Good luck.

If you remember the 70's...you weren't really there!
porterhaus is offline  
post #634 of 3270 Old 07-02-2005, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Don Rombach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if channel 11 WXIA is not broadcasting a digital feed?

Strange thing is I have a steady signal strength of 90 on the Samsung 165, but I get no picture along with the dreaded "searching for signal" message. I have re-initialized the receiver to no avail. All other OTA channels are normal.

ANY suggestions would be much appreciated. Have the crew here to watch the race in HD. Bummer.

Thanks,

Don

Big D
Don Rombach is offline  
post #635 of 3270 Old 07-02-2005, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
danc8379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone in Atlanta noticed that PBS-HD is now broadcasting the same programming as the SD channel? I've never noticed this happening before. Does anyone have any insight?
danc8379 is offline  
post #636 of 3270 Old 07-03-2005, 05:27 PM
Member
 
BrettTRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gadsden, AL
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i've read in other threads where other pbs stations are also broadcasting the same thing on both channels. Something about the pbs affiliates where having a shortness of funds to do HD. This was happening alot in Florida.

Mitsubishi WS 55313
Dish 811/301 w/ AEP, Voom, HD pack, Locals, OTA locals
BrettTRay is offline  
post #637 of 3270 Old 07-04-2005, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Soundstage still being broadcast on PBS and what channel is it on?
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #638 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
danc8379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettTRay View Post

i've read in other threads where other pbs stations are also broadcasting the same thing on both channels. Something about the pbs affiliates where having a shortness of funds to do HD. This was happening alot in Florida.

I just got official word from the director of programming at WPBA that this is the case here. Starting July 1 they were being charged to carry the HD feed so that dropped it due to lack of funds. She is hopeful that they will figure something out and get it back on the air soon.
danc8379 is offline  
post #639 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sucked that 8 had the Capital 4th show in SD while 30-1 had something else on. I was hopiong to see that in HD...

CW

anybody want to come over withe a BIG ladder and hang an antenna on my new place?
Me neither.

We're selling our
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and giving the proceeds to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #640 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 10:06 AM
Member
 
porterhaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danc8379 View Post

I just got official word from the director of programming at WPBA that this is the case here. Starting July 1 they were being charged to carry the HD feed so that dropped it due to lack of funds. She is hopeful that they will figure something out and get it back on the air soon.

I was enjoying the HD programming quite a bit. IMO we ought to let our opinions be heard by WPBA. Is there a contact that we should use for this purpose?

If you remember the 70's...you weren't really there!
porterhaus is offline  
post #641 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
danc8379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by porterhaus View Post

I was enjoying the HD programming quite a bit. IMO we ought to let our opinions be heard by WPBA. Is there a contact that we should use for this purpose?

Karen Bell is the Director of Programming who e-mailed me back. Her e-mail address is karen_bell@wpba.pbs.org.
danc8379 is offline  
post #642 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
danc8379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crwaters View Post

It sucked that 8 had the Capital 4th show in SD while 30-1 had something else on. I was hopiong to see that in HD...

CW

anybody want to come over withe a BIG ladder and hang an antenna on my new place?
Me neither.

No antenna would have gotten the Capitol 4th in HD for you in Atlanta. Looks like unless something changes, we will get NO HD from PBS anytime soon.
danc8379 is offline  
post #643 of 3270 Old 07-05-2005, 05:11 PM
Member
 
porterhaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danc8379 View Post

Karen Bell is the Director of Programming who e-mailed me back. Her e-mail address is karen_bell@wpba.pbs.org.

Thanks, I sent her a short e-mail and I encourage all others that are concerned about this situation to do likewise.

If you remember the 70's...you weren't really there!
porterhaus is offline  
post #644 of 3270 Old 07-06-2005, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody catch the the 4th of July parade in HD on WSB 2 on Monday? It look pretty good, also what's going on with channel 5 FOX? I can't get any signal, the signal strength is 49%.

Are they having any issues?

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Terence is offline  
post #645 of 3270 Old 07-06-2005, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
dcanoli1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Leroy and SMac! (Did I get those right??? I'm typing from memory, so forgive me if I got your user names wrong.)

We did take back the Toshiba (bad picture quality, among other things) and got the Sony 30XS955. I see one or two other posters also have a Sony in the XS series, and I appreciate the information about the tuner in the t.v.

BB did try and sell us one of their antennas, but I think we should stick to our guns and get the CM 4228 that so many of you are recommending. I really appreciated reading the post from a person in Dawsonville (we are in Cumming) who just installed a 4228. I am forwarding this thread on to my husband so he can get up to speed with everything you guys are talking about.

I will also take your advice and try the CM 4228 without the amplifier first. If we can't get it to work, we can always add the amplifer later.

Once we get the antenna and everything up and running, I will post again with success stories or questions or cries for help!

Thanks!
dcanoli1 is offline  
post #646 of 3270 Old 07-09-2005, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
thepicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bottom of a Gin Bottle
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcanoli1 View Post

I really appreciated reading the post from a person in Dawsonville (we are in Cumming) who just installed a 4228. I am forwarding this thread on to my husband so he can get up to speed with everything you guys are talking about.

I will also take your advice and try the CM 4228 without the amplifier first. If we can't get it to work, we can always add the amplifer later.


Fry's also has the 4228 FTTT.

Didn't I already say enough?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thepicman is offline  
post #647 of 3270 Old 07-10-2005, 12:07 PM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having trouble with NBC today? I can't get any signal at all.
lakebum431 is offline  
post #648 of 3270 Old 07-10-2005, 12:37 PM
Member
 
David Scavo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakebum431 View Post

Is anyone having trouble with NBC today? I can't get any signal at all.

I am not getting anything on 11-1 either (Suwanee, GA).

EDIT....
HD picture is now back around 3:45 PM
David Scavo is offline  
post #649 of 3270 Old 07-10-2005, 12:38 PM
Member
 
dpater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta Suburb
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I'm getting the programming up here in Kennesaw just all in SD. Hopefully the HD will pick up soon for the race.

EDIT- HD did pick up for the actual race
dpater is offline  
post #650 of 3270 Old 07-10-2005, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
dcanoli1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank goodness ch. 11 came back in time for race!

We just bought a t.v. with an HDTV tuner in it, and it's picking up all the HDTV stations Adelphia offers (a whopping THREE)! Woo! Hoo! Nascar in hi-def for FREE! Yippee!! (Go big 88!)

BTW...we bought a CM 4222 and are going to try it w/o the amp sometime next week.

Is our situation normal for a t.v. with a built-in tuner to pick up the HDTV stations offered through the local cable company without an external antenna?
dcanoli1 is offline  
post #651 of 3270 Old 07-12-2005, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A lot of times you'll find the cable companies sending their HD channels in the clear, at least those that are just the broadcast channels. Don't expect to find ESPN HD or HBO HD or the such in the clear. I can't remember if it's actually required to be in the clear like that, but I think so.

If you are in Cumming, you'll be fine. I'm up on 369 almost to Cherokee Co and the 4228 is working fine in the attic (two story house), although I had to have a preamp to use this house's existing cabling. A single 50' run from the 4228 to the tuner would have been fine, but a cable running through the hallways just wasn't long term possible. :-)

The OTA HD should look better than the feed over the cable because usually cable companies compress the OTA HD feeds to not use as much bandwidth.
SMac770 is offline  
post #652 of 3270 Old 07-13-2005, 09:53 AM
Member
 
lunoja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How was the OTA reception for everybody on Monday when the stormed rolled through? Share your experiences if you had problems, or had none........ thanks

After all these years, we've gone back to an antenna on the roof? How ironic.
lunoja is offline  
post #653 of 3270 Old 07-13-2005, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had some pixellation and video breakup from time to time in Peachtree City but that is to be expected when you receive 6.5 inches of rain in a 36 hour period.
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #654 of 3270 Old 07-13-2005, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
storminorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: DAWSONVILLE,GEORGIA
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The wind blew thru here, Dawsonville, knocked down 6 big hardwoods but they were away from the house and turned my 4228 completely around, had to climb up on the roof and turn it back. The last big gust to come thru knocked it completely down so now I've got it anchored better. I'm still amazed at the great reception I get with the 4228 and 7777amp. BRING ON FOOTBALL!!

don't bend over in the garden granny....them taters got eyes
storminorm is offline  
post #655 of 3270 Old 07-13-2005, 07:55 PM
Member
 
dpater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta Suburb
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by storminorm View Post

The wind blew thru here, Dawsonville, knocked down 6 big hardwoods but they were away from the house and turned my 4228 completely around, had to climb up on the roof and turn it back. The last big gust to come thru knocked it completely down so now I've got it anchored better. I'm still amazed at the great reception I get with the 4228 and 7777amp. BRING ON FOOTBALL!!

Pretty much the same thing happened to me. One of the holds on my antenna broke and it fell over, luckily it stayed in the roof. Had to go up and replace both anchors and aim the antenna again. This antenna has been throught a lot with the hail storms of a few years past and now being knocked over. Still works great though.
dpater is offline  
post #656 of 3270 Old 07-13-2005, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
Freds76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my CM 4228 on top of the roof (in Gwinnett) and loving it. getting everything clear. Of course was wondering about this pba business. Its a shame that they cut the HD, I was realy enjoying it. Here is what we get for a big "tax cut"!!!

Hope they bring it back soon. Thank you guys for posting this info so I didnt have to mess with my tuner and bang my head against the wall for too long.

By the way if this is of interest for anyone, I just added the Voom package for $5 more to my dish package and its so so, maybe its worth $5 per month to see the "eye over the france" every once in a while.

Fred
Freds76 is offline  
post #657 of 3270 Old 07-14-2005, 08:15 AM
Member
 
vanrags's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I live in Marietta, GA.

Hooked up my Sony KF-50WE610 to the Dish 811 yesterday. With this kind of setup, how do I get the HD local channels ?. Do I need a OTA antenna ?. Or the signal I receive are in HD ?.

Sorry, may be a dumb question, but thought I would get this clarification

Thanks
Raghav
vanrags is offline  
post #658 of 3270 Old 07-14-2005, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SMac770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dish may provide you locals via satellite, but they won't be HD. You will need a UHF antenna and run it to that 811 tuner box. You would need to check in the Dish and Sat forums to see if maybe you could just run it into a multiswitch (?) if you already have one so you don't have to run another coax to the 811.

Your sony is a KF, not a KDF, so it does not have an ATSC tuner built-in, but your 811 does, although I don't know anything about how it would compare to something like the LG LST-4200A DTV tuner that I use.

I said UHF. NBC is on channel 10, which is still VHF, but the ChannelMaster 4228 UHF antenna picks up 10 fine, so others might as well.
SMac770 is offline  
post #659 of 3270 Old 07-14-2005, 08:19 PM
Member
 
vanrags's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks SMac,

Today I went out and bought 2 OTA antennas. A Philips MANT510 and a Zenith Silver Sensor.

With the Philips I barely got 4 channels, but the Zenith got me about 7. The list is below:

ABC 2-01 === picture appears in 4:3 indicating no HD ?.
Fox 5-01 ==== same as above
Fox 5-02 =====same as above
NBC 11-01 == flips btween 16:9 and 4:3 ?. What could be the cause ?.
34-01 == Error
43-01 === Error
CBS 46-01 === great picture
63-01 thru 63-04 church channels

I have to investigate to see if I can get some more channels from the ones at the start of this thread, but maybe my location may be a hinderence...

I am certainly going to keep the Silver Sensor, but may return this (Fry's $40.00) and get it from Amazon ($23.00). Amazon also has a amplifier for this antenna. Would that help ?. Where would you connect the amplifer ?.

Please let me know.

Thanks,
VanRags
vanrags is offline  
post #660 of 3270 Old 07-15-2005, 07:23 AM
Member
 
lunoja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not all programming on an HD channel is in HD. Networks still only show major primetime shows in HD. Check titantv.com to see what's HD and what's not. OR checkhd.com.

Most shows that show up 4:3 are not HD. Shows that automatically come in at 16:9 are most likely HD. The others are digitally broadcast, but just not HD. Get yourself a preamp and you'd get more channels. OR a CM4228.

After all these years, we've gone back to an antenna on the roof? How ironic.
lunoja is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off