Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 24 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 3293 Old 08-06-2005, 12:47 PM
Member
 
jbstix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, Ga
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else been having poor Fox 5.1 reception for the past week or so ?
It usually comes in fine, but lately I've had little to no signal at all.
Thanks

jb
jbstix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 3293 Old 08-06-2005, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbstix View Post

Anyone else been having poor Fox 5.1 reception for the past week or so ?
It usually comes in fine, but lately I've had little to no signal at all.
Thanks

jb

That would be me, and it's been like that for a few weeks. My signal strength is a nice 49%! I hope they get their act together before the NFL regular season starts.

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is online now  
post #693 of 3293 Old 08-11-2005, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
jack5083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can those of you in the Atlanta area please help with the type of outdoor HDTV OTA you have. I can get all the channels in HD that are available except WXIA(NBC). I have a UHF antena (DB4 Bow-Tie Antenna) that works great but it appears that NBC is broadcasted in VHF. I also have a preamp from channel master (7777) that I have not hooked up yet. Can someone please help me get NBC. I live in Loganville about half the distance between Atlanta and Athens (zip 30052). Any help on an outdoor antena that is not real noticable would be greatly appreciated.
jack5083 is offline  
post #694 of 3293 Old 08-12-2005, 04:00 AM
Member
 
cole.clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jack5083: I have the exact same problem as you and I only live about 12 miles from the WXIA transmitter (I am located in zip code 30350). I use the Winegard Square Shooter w/an amp. I have not been too concerned about being unable to receive NBC since I mainly watch sports in HD and NBC hasn't had much. But with the rumors of NBC broadcasting the Notre Dame games in HD this year, I have to get on the stick. The first thing I'm going to try is increased height. My square shooter is only about 20 ft. off the ground mounted on the side of the house. I'm going to try moving it to the attic first. In your case you may need to look at an antenna that is tuned to the VHF spectrum. My square shooter is better at UHF as is your antenna.
cole.clark is offline  
post #695 of 3293 Old 08-12-2005, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
plasmamaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Peachtree City, Ga. (25 Miles South of Atlanta)
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have heard that the CM 4228 will pick up that channel as well. Do a search in this thread with the search button up top (advanced mode) and you will find several posts about this antenna.

Here is one of the posts I found using the search function up top.

"A lot of people using UHF to get NBC are using the ChannelMaster 4228, which, while marketed as a UHF antenna, apparently picks up upper VHF very well as well. That same characteristic may or may not apply to the Silver Sensor, although your preamp test would seem to show you are getting some level of upper VHF reception."
plasmamaniac is offline  
post #696 of 3293 Old 08-12-2005, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevinw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Db 8 is able to get high band VHF as well as the 4228- BTW 4228 is available at Fry's or was a couple of weeks ago for 50 dollars.
I would thing the DB 4 should get Ch11 also. call Antenas Direct- real nice people. they may even exchange for th DB8 if you pay the differnence.
Kevinw is offline  
post #697 of 3293 Old 08-15-2005, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is your reception for 30-1?
Acording to my HD-Tivo (BTW, go call retention if you want one, they're going cheep now), I have 87-95% on all the networks but like 65% for 30-1.

CW

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #698 of 3293 Old 08-15-2005, 10:25 AM
Member
 
philipgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta suburb
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
30-1 is usually the lowest of the bunch for me also coming in at about 65%. Most of my other channels are 90-95% so we are in the same boat. I sometimes lose PBS if there is bad weather or a lot of rain in the trees.

Phil G
American by birth, Mac user by choice.
philipgomez is offline  
post #699 of 3293 Old 08-15-2005, 07:11 PM
Member
 
atlantadan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks, I'm about dive into this looking for OTA HD. Now I need an antenna.

I live in the Morningside part of Virginia-Highlands and are probably no further than 3-4 miles for Fox5, WSB, CBS46, and XIA.

Everybody tells me that an indoor rabbit ears will work. Anybody else have a suggestion of what antenna I need? Zenith Silver?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
atlantadan is offline  
post #700 of 3293 Old 08-16-2005, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
jlynwood70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live 30 miles north of Atlanta, GA. I recently purchased a CM 3020 Antenna to receive local TV broadcasts. I installed it in my attic and oriented it correctly (all Altanta stations are about 180 degrees south). I am able to receive some stations I could not previously (using rabbit ears). However, many of the stations are still very fuzzy... pretty disappointing.

I have several questions:

-Am I a good candidate for a pre-amp? Lowes (where I purchased the anetnna) has a CM Spartan 3 pre-amp. Is that ok?

-Electircal Lines - My main power lines coming into the house are very near my antenna. How problematic is that?

-I do not have foil-backed insullation in my attic, but my antenna is oriented in a gabled part of the roof that has a brick exterior. Is that a problem?

-My have about an 80 ft. run of coax cable to my TV set. I am using the quad shied RG6 cable.

-Attic installation tips - How far does the anetnna need to be from the floor and ceiling.

Any advice would be apprecieated.
jlynwood70 is offline  
post #701 of 3293 Old 08-17-2005, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 35
You would be much better off with the antenna outside, not in the attic. Antennas inside the attic (or, generally, anywhere inside a house) only get about 5% of the available signal. Add in the noise that exists indoors, from electrical appliances, computers, etc, and they are nearly worthless.

Are you talking about Digital or Analog, or both? You mentioned channels being "fuzzy".
Digital TV would be, mostly, all-or-nothing. They will be either excellent, or non-existant, or sometimes blocky (when the signal is right on the edge of dropping below threshold).

Some of the Atlanta stations are VHF, some are UHF.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #702 of 3293 Old 08-18-2005, 11:00 AM
Member
 
jonnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Roswell, Georgia
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sear's has the Zenith Silver sensor, it is great for the price (~$40).

I also hooked up a 12db amp from Phillips (got that at Walmart) and hooked it up at the receiver end. I have about 50 feet of coax between the amp and the antenna, it is all inside my house (near a window).

Without the amp, the antenna was so-so, but with the amp, I am pretty much getting everything (with a minor turning of the antenna now and then).

PBS is the weakest station right now, but since they no longer offer anything HD, it does not matter much at all.

NBC, CBS, FOX, and WB/UPN are all good and will be getting better when the new season of HDTV shows and football start up. NASCAR is really good in HDTV.

p.s. I live in West Roswell, 30075
jonnad is offline  
post #703 of 3293 Old 08-21-2005, 12:42 PM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else having problems with TBS (17.1). I have a Dish Network 942 HD Receiver and the channel used to come in, but stopped sometime in the past couple of weeks. Anyone else seeing this or have any ideas why this might be happening? Also I should note that the signal strength is unchanged (in the 90's out of 100), but the channel will not lock.
lakebum431 is offline  
post #704 of 3293 Old 08-22-2005, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No TBS problem here (D* HD Tivo). How about trying to remove the channel from your list and re-scan for channels.
CW

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #705 of 3293 Old 08-22-2005, 02:59 PM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I think it is a Dish 942 problem.
lakebum431 is offline  
post #706 of 3293 Old 08-22-2005, 09:20 PM
Member
 
feeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I between Newnan and Peachtree city, going to get the CM 4228. Anybody else in this area using the CM in the attic?

Thanks!
feeth is offline  
post #707 of 3293 Old 08-23-2005, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdwalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone having problems with NBC 11.1? Last night the signal completely disappeared.

"If you never did, you should. These things are fun and fun is good."- Dr. Seuss
rdwalt is offline  
post #708 of 3293 Old 08-23-2005, 07:19 AM
Member
 
philipgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta suburb
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was coming in for me. The only problem I have with NBC 11.1 is that the audio drops out for a second or so ever 30-40 seconds when they have SD programing on. As soon as they switch to an HD program the sound is great. Anyone have a clue on that one?

Phil G
American by birth, Mac user by choice.
philipgomez is offline  
post #709 of 3293 Old 08-23-2005, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oxothuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakebum431 View Post

Is anyone else having problems with TBS (17.1). I have a Dish Network 942 HD Receiver and the channel used to come in, but stopped sometime in the past couple of weeks. Anyone else seeing this or have any ideas why this might be happening? Also I should note that the signal strength is unchanged (in the 90's out of 100), but the channel will not lock.

I was just about to ask a similar question. I'm helping my sister in Marietta to set up digital TV, using a Samsung SIR-T151. Signal strength is fine (the LED is solid green and the "meter" on the CheckSignalStrength menu shows 4 bars) but no picture or sound. Removing/re-scanning doesn't seem to help.

Anyone else with a Samsung STB who is still getting TBS?

My cable provider is Netflix
oxothuk is offline  
post #710 of 3293 Old 08-24-2005, 02:05 PM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is interesting. So far I have only heard of problems with TBS for the Dish 942 users. I wonder if they changed something at the station that has screwed us up. Anyone know how to find out this information?
lakebum431 is offline  
post #711 of 3293 Old 08-24-2005, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Michael Mitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxothuk View Post

I was just about to ask a similar question. I'm helping my sister in Marietta to set up digital TV, using a Samsung SIR-T151. Signal strength is fine (the LED is solid green and the "meter" on the CheckSignalStrength menu shows 4 bars) but no picture or sound. Removing/re-scanning doesn't seem to help.

Anyone else with a Samsung STB who is still getting TBS?

Mine has been out too. I tried rescanning several times today but still couldn't get it.
Michael Mitten is online now  
post #712 of 3293 Old 08-26-2005, 07:28 AM
Member
 
tmackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Newnan - I am thinking about the same setup (CM 4228). A neighbor down the street has the 4228 mounted on his roof and he get a great signal.

Let me know how the attic setup works out - my suspicion is that it will need to be outside.
tmackie is offline  
post #713 of 3293 Old 08-26-2005, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
storminorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: DAWSONVILLE,GEORGIA
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried putting my 4228 in the attic and when I moved it outside I got a much better signal,
Dawsonville

don't bend over in the garden granny....them taters got eyes
storminorm is offline  
post #714 of 3293 Old 08-28-2005, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I lost ch 17 (TBS) OTA today, and i tried doing several scans to get it back to no avail. 17 was my strongest ch coming in at 92%!

Anybody else having this problem?

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is online now  
post #715 of 3293 Old 08-28-2005, 07:09 PM
Member
 
feeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmackie View Post

I live in Newnan - I am thinking about the same setup (CM 4228). A neighbor down the street has the 4228 mounted on his roof and he get a great signal.

Let me know how the attic setup works out - my suspicion is that it will need to be outside.

I can't hear you.....It will work in the attic, it will work in the attic...

I got some tall trees behind my house too which just happens to be northbound.
feeth is offline  
post #716 of 3293 Old 08-29-2005, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chivs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Atlanta reception, here's what I've noticed recently.

Fox 5.1, has been erratic lately. Used to come in around 90+% and now seems to fluctuate between 40-90 causing dropouts.

TBS 17.1 has disappeared, but strangely 22.2 has appeared on the channel list which looks like it is TBS.

This is with a D* Hughes box.

Ken English posted earlier that attic antennas are worthless. I have to disagree. I live in 30076 and had a local company try to mount an external antenna a few years ago. They tried 3 different mounting points and 4 antennas before giving up, but leaving the wiring behind.

Considering I had mediocre reception using a crappy Terk antenna on top of the old TV I refused to give up and went to Lowes to pick up their ChannelMaster medium range antenna with amplifier. I mounted this in the attic, pointed south, and have 90% strength on all the major stations. YMMV.

Andrew

Andrew Chilvers
TheaterTek Inc.
Chivs is offline  
post #717 of 3293 Old 08-29-2005, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx Andrew!

I thought i was the only one having problems with Fox 5.1, the reception at 30058 has been hit or miss. One thing i notice with Fox 5.1, at 10:00 pm you are sure to get a strong signal. I wonder if they boost the signal for their news broadcast, b/c i never have any issues in that time frame.

I notice a new ch 20.? when scanning for TBS 17.1, but i deleted it. I will re-scan when i get home tonight and see it that is TBS 17.1 now.

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is online now  
post #718 of 3293 Old 08-29-2005, 09:15 AM
Member
 
MITS55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TBS (17.1) has been out on my 942 about two weeks now. It was the strongest station. I wave written three emails to TBS asking what they changed, but in two
weeks, nothing back from them. It comes in fine on my 921 off the same antenna.
I sure wish someone would fix this. I used to watch a lot of TBS in HD.
MITS55 is offline  
post #719 of 3293 Old 08-29-2005, 09:52 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have any experience or problems with installing OTA HDTV near high-tension power lines?
vahighland is offline  
post #720 of 3293 Old 08-30-2005, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
greenhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Roswell, somewhat elevated, right on the river. So, I have a pretty clear shot to the towers. I have the 4228 per the earlier suggestions, and it is mounted on a pole in a bucket of quikrete (I live in an apartment)

In any case, I get around 88-93% for NBC, CBS, FOX, WB and TBS. And, when I first got the antenna installed I was getting between 65-75% on ABC...which was generally good enough. But now, I get almost nothing for them. Do I need to get an amp? Or, is ABC having problems? I have also tried spinning the antenna (since it is in a bucket) around 20 degrees...no luck. According to antennaweb, all of my signals should come in between 180 and 188 degrees.
greenhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off