Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 3264 Old 08-22-2006, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
blomgbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in Duluth, almost in Suwanee, and am having very difficult time with WXIA not only with OTA but with DISH reception also. It has got to be a station issue, but they need to get it fixed ASAP before football season or the new fall programming. Also, am having audio issues with DTV-2. Anyone with any influence locally needs to see what is going on. Thanks a bunch.[quote]
blomgbi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 3264 Old 08-22-2006, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have contacted WSB about this on three different occasions in the past several months as regards the sound issue. Still waiting.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1173 of 3264 Old 08-23-2006, 06:48 AM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've noticed that the OTA signal strength for WXIA has dropped significantly in the last few weeks. I live in the va highland area and used to get 100% signal strength consistently. Now it's around 76-78 although I rarely get any dropouts. I haven't changed anything on my end.
vahighland is offline  
post #1174 of 3264 Old 08-26-2006, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
spike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: decatur, ga.
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Anyone here know why wsb our abc affilate wouldn't be showing Pearl Harbor tonight?Instead we get a sd Apollo 13.
spike jones is online now  
post #1175 of 3264 Old 08-27-2006, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terence View Post

Ok i just got off the phone with one of the techs at WXIA and directed him to this thread. He said that they will be looking into the issue and he thank me for the info. I hope they can fix the problem soon, maybe it is something simple.

Still seeing the same problem mostly in the morning hours. Guess you haven't heard any news from your contact and what causes this. Would love to know the science behind this glitch.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1176 of 3264 Old 08-27-2006, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fasTLane View Post

Still seeing the same problem mostly in the morning hours. Guess you haven't heard any news from your contact and what causes this. Would love to know the science behind this glitch.

I will give WXIA a call again and this time i'm going to post their names and number so we all can lean on them. It's power in numbers, if we make them sick of us they will fix it! This goes for WSB as well, whoever has their info i say post it.

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is offline  
post #1177 of 3264 Old 08-29-2006, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
bkc82's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blomgbi View Post

I am in Duluth, almost in Suwanee, and am having very difficult time with WXIA not only with OTA but with DISH reception also. It has got to be a station issue, but they need to get it fixed ASAP before football season or the new fall programming. Also, am having audio issues with DTV-2. Anyone with any influence locally needs to see what is going on. Thanks a bunch.

Still having trouble with these? I'm getting all the digital channels from Atlanta perfectly. FYI I'm using the cheapest antenna they sell at Circuit City ~$20. It is a phillips vhf/uhf. I have the rabbit ears as short as they will go and I just pointed it in the general direction of Atlanta. I live in Alpharetta near Jones Bridge/State Bridge intersection.
bkc82 is offline  
post #1178 of 3264 Old 08-29-2006, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahighland View Post

I've noticed that the OTA signal strength for WXIA has dropped significantly in the last few weeks. I live in the va highland area and used to get 100% signal strength consistently. Now it's around 76-78 although I rarely get any dropouts. I haven't changed anything on my end.

I'm about 30 miles due south, in Stockbridge & I have noticed the same thing. This is on a D* H10. It was coming in virtually at 100% since last October, when I first put my OTA up in my Attic. I was thinking it was Sun spots or something



edit: Does anybody know when/if any other channel is going to go to HD news? Channel 11 news really sucks, but I 'm that starved for HD programming that I turn it on every morning/evening.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #1179 of 3264 Old 09-01-2006, 03:36 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terence View Post

I will give WXIA a call again and this time i'm going to post their names and number so we all can lean on them. It's power in numbers, if we make them sick of us they will fix it!

Got my fingers crossed but it looks as if the signal on 11-1 is about 20 points higher this am and glitches seem gone for the moment. Anyone concur?

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1180 of 3264 Old 09-08-2006, 06:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
RobertWood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 17,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a friend who has a place near the red star on this map...
http://maps.yahoo.com/py/maps.py?Pyt...%A0Map=Get+Map

He would like to get some OTA reception either from Atlanta or Chattanooga or elsewhere.
Is anyone reading this who is in the vicinity and has attempted to do this? And if so what were your results?

Thanks,

Bob
RobertWood is offline  
post #1181 of 3264 Old 09-08-2006, 06:59 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Threads merged.

Robert, you may want to also post in the Chattanooga and Greenville, SC threads.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #1182 of 3264 Old 09-08-2006, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mountains would negate most Atlanta reception.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1183 of 3264 Old 09-10-2006, 06:35 AM
Newbie
 
dscott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the Blue range for WSB and WXIA, no surprise since both channels are right next to one another. For the rest of the Atlanta channels I am in the violet range both UHF and VHF. Would love to get an OTA antenna so that I can pull in the local feeds and watch them in HD via my DirecTv/Tivo HR10-250. Wife of course doesn't want a large antenna on the roof. Any suggestions? BTW, I live in Newnan and the furthest station that I would want to pull in from is about 45 miles away.

Thanks for any suggestions.

David
dscott72 is offline  
post #1184 of 3264 Old 09-10-2006, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel Master 4228 w/ amp pulls in all that Atlanta offers at 30 miles away. Might work for you. Antenna is not terribly large either.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1185 of 3264 Old 09-10-2006, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
dscott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would I need a seperate antenna to pull in the VH channels?
dscott72 is offline  
post #1186 of 3264 Old 09-10-2006, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oxothuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dscott72 View Post

Would I need a seperate antenna to pull in the VH channels?

In theory, yes. But in practice there is only one digital VHF channel (WXIA, broadcasting on channel 10) and most people find that the CM4228 has enough gain in the high-VHF band to pull it in.

If and when WGTV ever gets their digital signal on the air it will also be in the high-VHF band.

My cable provider is Netflix
oxothuk is offline  
post #1187 of 3264 Old 09-10-2006, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WXIA-DT is the only VHF channel I am receiving and this antenna does fine at my location about 30 mi. east of Atlanta.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1188 of 3264 Old 09-11-2006, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
dscott72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about WSB? I know WXIA is in the VHF range, but wouldn't WSB fall in that range as well?
dscott72 is offline  
post #1189 of 3264 Old 09-11-2006, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSB is frequency 39 which is UHF.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1190 of 3264 Old 09-13-2006, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WXIA-DT is pixellating something horrible this morning with a light rain here. What is the deal with this channel? For the last week it was problem free till this AM.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1191 of 3264 Old 09-13-2006, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdwalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where's your antenna? Raingutters full of water in front of your antenna could cause a loss in signal.

"If you never did, you should. These things are fun and fun is good."- Dr. Seuss
rdwalt is offline  
post #1192 of 3264 Old 09-13-2006, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Meave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having troublw with the OTA signal with Discovery HD 114.10? It's saying Not Authorized?

BTW I'm in Sandy Springs and I'm using the built in tuner in my Sony HD set straight from the cable.
Meave is offline  
post #1193 of 3264 Old 09-13-2006, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
DDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta GA,USA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meave View Post

Is anyone having troublw with the OTA signal with Discovery HD 114.10? It's saying Not Authorized?

BTW I'm in Sandy Springs and I'm using the built in tuner in my Sony HD set straight from the cable.

There are some messages in the Yahoo Groups ahdtv forum where some folks with Comcast have complained about losing Discovery HD. I have it with the digital silver package and mine is still there. I am guessing that they may have made a move to restrict this to certain service levels but that is just a guess.
DDisney is offline  
post #1194 of 3264 Old 09-13-2006, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdwalt View Post

Where's your antenna? Raingutters full of water in front of your antenna could cause a loss in signal.

Gutters are well below the antenna and a light rain is all we have had. All other channels are strong. Did you not have any problem with this channel earlier today?

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1195 of 3264 Old 09-15-2006, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
spike jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: decatur, ga.
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I was checking Titan tv listings for today(9/15/2006) and noticed that at 10:30 am on WPBA 21.1 is a show in HD. I know they previously they had HD programming, I haven't ever seen any on channel 30.
spike jones is online now  
post #1196 of 3264 Old 09-15-2006, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdwalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It won't be broadcast here in Atlanta in HD until somebody coughs up some dough.

"If you never did, you should. These things are fun and fun is good."- Dr. Seuss
rdwalt is offline  
post #1197 of 3264 Old 09-15-2006, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want to see HD on WPBA then get up early and watch a kid's show called Boobah if it is still being telecast.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1198 of 3264 Old 09-16-2006, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
charlie r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anybody having trouble with ch 11 (10.1), I have not been able to pick them up for a couple of weeks. Everything else comes in fine.I'm in Marietta using a cm4228 on a rotor.
charlie r is offline  
post #1199 of 3264 Old 09-16-2006, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
fasTLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coming in fine here in Gwinnett; 92 signal strength with a 4228 w/amp. This channel has had inconsistencies with signal of late. Could still be working out bugs in the system.

~~~ Happy Viewing ~~~

_____________________
fasTLane is offline  
post #1200 of 3264 Old 09-19-2006, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
baldini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in the southern part of Peachtree City, right next to Starrs Mill school complex. I am 33 miles from the towers. I've got pine trees all around. I mounted a Radio Shack Model: VU-90 XR in my attic. This is your father's antenna. The kind he still has on his house. Picks up signals really well with a cheap Radio Shack 20dB amp. The antenna is mounted behind my furnace because it has to be. Worst signal is PBS at 58. Get occassional unlocks, maybe once every 10 minutes. Since there is nothing on PBS I watch, I can live with it. All other channels 76 plus. 11.1 at 98. Love the HD content. Counldn't be happier. Thanks for all the input on this site.
baldini is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off