Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 97 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 3238 Old 01-05-2011, 06:16 AM
Member
 
sanchez13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland Ga
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsteelio View Post

Has WPBA (30.1) signal lowered for anyone else? I live in Roswell and am only getting 3 bars when I use to get 7-8 bars out of 10.


i lost the signal from this channels WPBA , i also
lost WANN - LD i hope is just a temporary or maybe the wind moved my antenna i will post when i find out
sanchez13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 3238 Old 01-05-2011, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanchez13 View Post

this channel has never been on the air and it is license to Cleveland Ga , , http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?list=0&facid=125861

"City of License" does not necessarily indicate the location of the transmission facility except that the COL must be "covered" by the signal.

The St Louis area has two stations that demonstrate this:

WBRU (COL=E. St Louis, IL) transmits from Jefferson County in Missouri, about 25-30 miles southwest of the COL.

WPXS (COL= Mt Vernon, IL) transmits from a very short tower near Breese IL, roughly halfway between St Louis and Mt Vernon. That station utilizes two highly directional panel antennas. One throws a very narrow narrow lobe over the COL, the other goes the opposite direction and covers parts of the St Louis market, presumably so they can force cable carriage in the St Louis Market.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #2883 of 3238 Old 01-05-2011, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WSKC-CD has definitely been on the air. http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun...lineup_1172239

It would not be in that list, since it comes directly from over the air.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2884 of 3238 Old 01-05-2011, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
SiliconDust shows WTBS-LD 30 (26-x) now on the air, simulcasting with WANN-LD. I suspect this is for testing purposes and will diverge once everything's settled.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2885 of 3238 Old 01-11-2011, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
pccitizen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this forum!
Am trying to understand how to pick up PBS WGTV. It seems like it was on 8-1 (virtual), and I was able to pick it up fairly well, but I recently set a DVR recording for it which did not work. On my ChannelMaster OTA box, I did a search for physical channel 8 and it showed me virtual channel 85-1 - very nice reception also. 85-1?
I am at 2800 feet (Lat 34.52, long 84.35) east of Jasper and pick up most channels to the south and southwest pretty well with a 4228.
I go to tvfool and print out my reception sheet, but it doesn't always make sense.
85-1 is nowhere to be found on this.
I did find URLwww.w9wi.com/states/GA.htmlURL
Are these repeater stations?
John
pccitizen is offline  
post #2886 of 3238 Old 01-11-2011, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by pccitizen View Post

Thanks for this forum!
Am trying to understand how to pick up PBS WGTV. It seems like it was on 8-1 (virtual), and I was able to pick it up fairly well, but I recently set a DVR recording for it which did not work. On my ChannelMaster OTA box, I did a search for physical channel 8 and it showed me virtual channel 85-1 - very nice reception also. 85-1?
I am at 2800 feet (Lat 34.52, long 84.35) east of Jasper and pick up most channels to the south and southwest pretty well with a 4228.
I go to tvfool and print out my reception sheet, but it doesn't always make sense.
85-1 is nowhere to be found on this.
I did find URLwww.w9wi.com/states/GA.htmlURL
Are these repeater stations?
John

That channel number would sort of indicate a cable channel tuner, but it's still wrong.

Call Channel Master Tech Support.

You might try a reset of the unit first, it sounds a bit scrambled.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #2887 of 3238 Old 01-11-2011, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Jasper, wouldn't you be able to pick up WNGH out of Chattsworth? It's UHF and on channel 33.
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #2888 of 3238 Old 01-12-2011, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
pccitizen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. Must be the Channel Master, but I will wait to reset it till I get my wife's programs DVR'd on 85-1.... ;-) I also saw a 91-1, Fox. Wonder what that is. Grief.
So you are saying it should STILL be 8-1, instead of 85-1.... Thot I was going crazy.
I cannot get 33 Chatsworth, must be that nasty Rich Mountain in the way.
John
pccitizen is offline  
post #2889 of 3238 Old 01-20-2011, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ChrisC47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA (ITP)
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record, this happened earlier this week:

Meredith Corp (WGCL parent co) will take over operations of Peachtree TV:
http://www.ajc.com/business/parent-o...ta-807725.html

and here's the Braves coverage angle from the Sports side:
http://blogs.ajc.com/atlanta-braves-...st-production/

I know some people who worked on Peachtree TV at Turner and this is a real punch in the gut for them.

Note that Turner isn't selling Peachtree TV outright; they are keeping the license. There are some very good business reasons to do that

Atlanta over-the-air digital TV reference table, now with Atlanta OTA FAQ:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post16732147
ChrisC47 is offline  
post #2890 of 3238 Old 01-20-2011, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
atlcoolbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking with a reliable source recently, I am told that the New WTBS DTV 26(Prism Broadcasting) will be adding new channels soon. It looks Great American Country Music TV (GAC),Untamed Sports,a LifeStlye Ch. and poss. Ant**** TV. That would Rock!.... All Channels subject to change.
The station is working on carrying other networks as well.
*RTV maybe leaving WSB 2.2 and could poss. reappear on a new station.
atlcoolbud is offline  
post #2891 of 3238 Old 01-21-2011, 06:04 AM
Member
 
sanchez13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland Ga
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlcoolbud View Post

Speaking with a reliable source recently, I am told that the New WTBS DTV 26(Prism Broadcasting) will be adding new channels soon. It looks Great American Country Music TV (GAC),Untamed Sports,a LifeStlye Ch. and poss. Ant**** TV. That would Rock!.... All Channels subject to change.
The station is working on carrying other networks as well.
*RTV maybe leaving WSB 2.2 and could poss. reappear on a new station.


Too bad is a low power station for my area .
Here in Cleveland i used to pick up most of the low power station from Atlanta and now the signal it is so week i can hardly pick up the station WTBS or WANN
the only low power stations i get from atlanta are WKTB and WSKC
sanchez13 is offline  
post #2892 of 3238 Old 01-21-2011, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisC47 View Post

Meredith Corp (WGCL parent co) will take over operations of Peachtree TV:
http://www.ajc.com/business/parent-o...ta-807725.html

Perhaps WGCL-46 will repurpose one of their newscasts onto WPCH-17.

Peachtree TV is seen throughout Canada.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #2893 of 3238 Old 02-03-2011, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Vespa guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanchez13 View Post


Too bad is a low power station for my area .
Here in Cleveland i used to pick up most of the low power station from Atlanta and now the signal it is so week i can hardly pick up the station WTBS or WANN
the only low power stations i get from atlanta are WKTB and WSKC

Here is the channel lineup as I receive WTBS26
26.1 Country
26.2 Biz TV
26.3 Guide
26.4 Tuff Tv
26.5 Oldie Goldie
26.6 Prism
26.7 This Tv
26.8 LATV
26.9 Tr 3
26.10 JTv

All the remainder are radio stations
They might change the lineup in the future, but this is as of Thursday Feb 3
Vespa guy is offline  
post #2894 of 3238 Old 02-04-2011, 04:44 AM
Member
 
Mattswad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't believe no one has mentioned the new wtbs-ld (or wanx-ld as I've seen it listed once or twice...another name change coming?) I love the Country Network!!! It's far better than CMT or GAC!!! I hope we see more subchannels like this!!! I have yet to see anything of interest on Biz TV (26.2 and 32.1 with the guide) but that's just me, I'm sure.
Mattswad is offline  
post #2895 of 3238 Old 02-05-2011, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
atlcoolbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is too bad that WANN and WTBS do not reach deep into North Georgia due to it broadcast power of 22kw, as compared to WSB,WAGA,WXIA tv broadcasting at 1000kw. You may want to consider checking out this Denny's Antenna Service in Ithaca, MI. website for a fringe antenna system with a preamp.
They seem to be very knowlegdable and Free Shipping with a 90 day Money Back Guarantee! They help many people in the fringe areas.

Depending where you are located in Cleveland, you may have to turn your antenna toward Toccoa/Greenville.

Keep your eye on WTBS-26 as they as supposed to be adding Untamed Sports,LifeStyle Ch, poss. An**** tv!
atlcoolbud is offline  
post #2896 of 3238 Old 02-05-2011, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
atlcoolbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke with the President of AMG TV and she tells me that WYGA TV has has some recent technical problem and has been off the air, But AMG TV should resume soon! Not sure if they will resume on 16.2 where they were originally.

As for WSKC TV-22.1-22.2, I haven't been able to watch it in over 3 weeks.
I spoke with friend and he told me that they are still on the air, however they reduced there power. No reception from Buford.
atlcoolbud is offline  
post #2897 of 3238 Old 02-07-2011, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Had a call about this on this morning.

Can someone tell me if they're still on RF29 or if they've built their CP for RF50 and put it on the air?

Thanks!

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #2898 of 3238 Old 02-07-2011, 11:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WANN remains on 29 as far as I know.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2899 of 3238 Old 02-08-2011, 12:40 AM
Newbie
 
atlcoolbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This Tv is broadcasting today on DTV 26.7 and 32.3
atlcoolbud is offline  
post #2900 of 3238 Old 02-23-2011, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Mattswad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a replacement universal remote for my Zenith DTT901 (lost my OE remote a couple of months ago) as well as a pre-amp & amp and noticed that WIRE-D3 (channel 40.3) is broadcasting Video Mix which is aparently a 24 hr hip hop/rap/soul/reggae music video channel. I have been messing with my new toys since midnight and didn't notice this until the afternoon. I don't know if they started airing it today or if this is old news but figured I'd post it. I'm not muh into rap but I must admit this is leaps & bounds above the Shake Weight & Ab-Doer infomercials formerly occupying this space. So far, I've only seen 2 commercials in 5 hours. Subchannels are getting much better here Within the past few weeks, we've had The Country Network, Biz TV, France 24, Untamed Sports & now Video Mix added with the possibility of the above mentioned networks coming in the future
Mattswad is offline  
post #2901 of 3238 Old 03-01-2011, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
orever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone able to see a picture on Univision (WUVG) 34.1 or 34.2?

Until about 2 weeks ago the signal was fine, but now I'm getting a black screen. I have rabbit ears connected through a TiVoHD. The TiVo reports the signal strength is about 70-80, so it's not a missing signal. I can see a picture on other channels with no problems, even ones with lower signal strength.

I can manually tune in to channel 48 and see the picture, but this channel doesn't exist in any channel guides (useless for TiVo purposes). I'm not sure if I'm missing something, as it was working before.

I'm in Mableton about a mile west from 285 exit 13.
orever is offline  
post #2902 of 3238 Old 03-02-2011, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Don F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northeast, Ga
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
34.1 has a strong signal in n e ga. I don't know what they are saying, but seems like alot of drama....

Tired
Don F. is offline  
post #2903 of 3238 Old 03-02-2011, 06:15 PM
Member
 
mpmartin1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here. 34.1 is coming in strong in East Cobb.
mpmartin1968 is offline  
post #2904 of 3238 Old 03-03-2011, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
orever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpmartin1968 View Post

Same here. 34.1 is coming in strong in East Cobb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don F. View Post

34.1 has a strong signal in n e ga. I don't know what they are saying, but seems like alot of drama....

Thanks for checking. I tried the antenna directly on the TV and also rebooted the Tivo, now it's working.
orever is offline  
post #2905 of 3238 Old 03-11-2011, 10:17 AM
Member
 
BeachBuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Marietta, GA ,USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am receiving a ch 56-1 in east cobb. It is playing a non-stop ad for Dish network. I am not able to receive any audio with is. Perhaps they are still working on getting setup.
An investigation about this on Wikipedia tells of an experimental station by a company that is owned by Dish network/ echostar.
Here is a paste of the Wikipedia info:


Mobile TV

Along with two stations in Seattle (KOMO and KONG), two stations in Atlanta were chosen by the OMVC to be the first four to beta test mobile DTV using the ATSC-M/H system. Ion began transmitting the service on WPXA in early 2009. Gannett is also known to be transmitting mobile LDTV versions of at least some of its four channels (11.1, 36.2, 11.3, 36.1) on WATL. Additionally, Manifest Wireless has an experimental broadcasting license on-air on RF channel 56 in Atlanta (as well as Dallas/Fort Worth and Denver), and appears to be transmitting ATSC-M/H. (There is a strong ATSC signal, but no regular MPEG-2 subchannels on it for an ATSC tuner to decode.) Manifest is a subsidiary of Frontier Wireless, which like Dish Network is owned by EchoStar.

Sleepless in Atlanta
BeachBuggy is offline  
post #2906 of 3238 Old 03-11-2011, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
ryguyrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to this so forgive me if it is a stupid question. I live in Winder and just installed a Channel Master 4228HD in my attic. I can get NBC,ABC,FOX and PBS without a problem. However I can't get CBS in, I double checked the heading and I have my antenna pointed in the right direction. I don't have an amplifier attached, do i need to get one in order to get CBS in? If so what is a good inexpensive one? Thanks
ryguyrocks is offline  
post #2907 of 3238 Old 03-12-2011, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 60
ryguyrocks:

Move the antenna somewhere else and try again. You're getting a channel-specific reflection or interference and will need to make the necessary adjustments to correct.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #2908 of 3238 Old 03-12-2011, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Don F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northeast, Ga
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
changing the location just a few feet can may a difference.. I doubt you need an amp given that the other stations are coming in without problem. 46 (real 19) has a good signal in my area, and I am about 40 miles n e of you...

Tired
Don F. is offline  
post #2909 of 3238 Old 03-13-2011, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
ryguyrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I will give that a try today. I didn't think I needed an amp since im about 30 miles away and the antenna is rated to 60 but wasn't sure.
ryguyrocks is offline  
post #2910 of 3238 Old 03-18-2011, 12:23 PM
Member
 
63rodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rydal,Ga
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know what happen to WAGA TV 5 Have not got it in 3 are 4 weeks.
63rodder is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off