Harrisonburg / Charlottesville, VA - HDTV - Page 121 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 3707 Old 03-11-2012, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Yo Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrTekno View Post

"I've been lucky to not have to deal with an Antenna since the early 80s when we first got cable."

Lucky? Messing with the antenna is all the fun! Well (I am guessing) at least for half (or more) of us on this forum.

Cheers,

Jeremy

Poor choice of words. My Bad.

Part of that stems from not knowing exactly what kind of gear I can get/use with my DirecTV dish to obtain locals. I *really really really* don't want to go with Comcast, though I also can't go crazy buying a lot of new equipment.

Anyone have newbie tips for getting an small profile antenna integrated with my DirecTV dish?
Yo Scott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 3707 Old 03-14-2012, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wildwillie6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bridgewater, Va.
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a good lock on 19.1 WCAV today. Meanwhile, the usually stronger 16.1 is breaking up. Is this likely a weather anomaly, or did anything happen to the signals?
wildwillie6 is offline  
post #3603 of 3707 Old 03-15-2012, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Lots of atmospheric tropo yesterday from all directions. WRHO-16 from the Tidewater area is the likely culprit.
Digital Rules is online now  
post #3604 of 3707 Old 03-17-2012, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
franklin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValleyViewer View Post

I live 12 miles north of Harrisonburg and football season has killed me, since there is no CBS....Whos arm do we need to twist to get them to rebroadcast our neighboring CBS affiliates?

Well, is there anything we can do? Can we get together and petition the FCC somehow for a more reliable CBS service?

I live 5 miles south of Staunton. I live on a hill with a clear view and have a large uhf yagi with a 7777 channel master amp and a rotator. I do not have a wimpy setup, and I have trouble getting CBS sometimes.

The main channel I get CBS on, is channel 6 in Richmond. I love this channel, especially 6.2 which has Antenna TV on it. I also get CBS on channel 19 in Charlottesville. But both of these channels are subject to weather, and about 9am to noon everyday they get weak and drop out. And if other conditions are not favorable, they will drop out.

In the valley we have 3, which is strong and has Fox on it also. Channel 29 is very strong also, so there is ABC, FOX, and NBC. If enough people get together, is there a way to bug the FCC into considering this? If they would let CBS 19 in Charlottesville have the same signal as 29, we would be golden.



Here's the channels I get on a regular basis from my location

Channel 3 in Harrisonburg
Channel 4(from Wash DC?)
Channel 6 Richmond
Channel 8 Richmond
Channel 19 Charlottesville(Both CBS and FOX)
Channel 23 (PBS but I don't know where it comes from)
Channel 29 Charlottesville
Channel 30 seems to be a duplicate of 29
Channel 35 Richmond
Channel 41 (PBS but not sure their location)
Channel 50 (I think is is from DC, but only get it when the weather is good)
Channel 51 Staunton (caution, you need a different antenna for this channel, it's really on channel 11, not uhf)
Channel 57 (I believe this is PBS in Richmond)
Channel 65 (Don't know where this is from, and only get it occasionally)
Channel 66 Wash DC (only when the weather is good)

I can get some stuff from Roanoke, but it's not strong and reliable. I have tried getting channel 7 CBS out of Roanoke, and it's a little bit worse than 6 out of Richmond.
franklin2 is offline  
post #3605 of 3707 Old 04-11-2012, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
jh6u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone else having trouble with OTA 29.1-.3 WVIR? We've been having frequent dropouts since Saturday. I was willing to blame this on the wind for the past few days, but it's flakey again tonight with calm conditions. We're ~6 miles NW of the transmitter & normally have flawless reception. All the other Cville stations are fine. My TV's signal diagnostics show signal dropouts. An email response from NBC29 said they haven't had other complaints. We're using an internal Yagi antenna- but no changes for several years.
jh6u is offline  
post #3606 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 05:53 AM
Member
 
ajamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The OTA Fox WAHU feed has always cut off the sides of the picture for me. For example, during NFL football and MLB baseball games, I can't see the entire score or game clock in the upper right hand corner.

I always thought it was because of my older TV, but I just got a newer Samsung flatscreen, and it is still happening. Every other channel is ok, and I've tried every possible aspect and zoom setting. Anyone have any ideas about what is causing the cut off picture?
ajamison is offline  
post #3607 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Are you watching 19-3 or 27-1? 19-3 is a center-cut SD simulcast. 27-1 is in HD and should have the full picture.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3608 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 10:16 AM
Member
 
ajamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
19-3. I can't get 27.1. Is there anything I can do on my TV or CM converter box to get the full picture? If not why would they broadcast a "cut" picture?
ajamison is offline  
post #3609 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamison View Post

Is there anything I can do on my TV or CM converter box to get the full picture?

Upgrade your antenna setup to receive 27-1.

Really, if you are west or north of Carters Mountain, WAHU-CD should be stronger than WCAV anyway, while if you are far enough south or east of Carters Mountain to get WCAV and not WAHU-CD, you should be able to see WRLH from Richmond for Fox-HD I would think.

Quote:


If not why would they broadcast a "cut" picture?

Because then any time SD programming aired, it would be window-boxed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3610 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 11:19 AM
Member
 
ajamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm SW of Carter's Mountain - between Batesville and Crozet. I have a CM 4228 and have never been able to get 27.1 reliably. Short of cutting down some trees or buying/erecting a tower, I can't improve my reception enough. Oh well.
ajamison is offline  
post #3611 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamison View Post

. . .have never been able to get 27.1 reliably. . . . .I can't improve my reception enough.

27.1 was spotty for my friend in Reva as well. We replaced his 4228 with a 91XG & it is now very reliable. Fox from C'ville & Richmond come in great & DC's Fox 5 is watchable much of the time as well. The 4228 was a disappointing performer no matter what we tried.
LL
Digital Rules is online now  
post #3612 of 3707 Old 04-15-2012, 05:03 PM
Member
 
ajamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. I forgot about the XG91. Just have to break it gently to the wife that the antenna experiments may not be over . . .
ajamison is offline  
post #3613 of 3707 Old 04-16-2012, 06:17 AM
Member
 
Wallyb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a XG91 with a preamp on the northside of the town of Culpeper. I sit in a hole. The antenna is mounted on a single story house. The antenna must get a signal in that hole surrounded by evergreen trees. For the most part, I get a very watchable signal on 27.1 (low 70s range) on sets directly connected to the antenna. My Dish VIP722 OTA Module connection isn't as reliable. I get 19.1 in the 90s range and 29.1 a little lower but very strong. I also get 16.1 in the low 70s range. The PBS stations are as follows 41.1 (in the high 80s and low 90s) and 42.1 in the 70s. I have been very pleased with the XG91 and have had it up for two years. When I lived in the southside of the town of Culpeper I had an Antenna Craft HDX1000 which has a pre amp built in. It worked very well too. Just my two vents worth.

HD is the essence of life.
Wallyb47 is offline  
post #3614 of 3707 Old 04-16-2012, 06:20 AM
Member
 
Wallyb47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by franklin2 View Post

Well, is there anything we can do? Can we get together and petition the FCC somehow for a more reliable CBS service?

I live 5 miles south of Staunton. I live on a hill with a clear view and have a large uhf yagi with a 7777 channel master amp and a rotator. I do not have a wimpy setup, and I have trouble getting CBS sometimes.

The main channel I get CBS on, is channel 6 in Richmond. I love this channel, especially 6.2 which has Antenna TV on it. I also get CBS on channel 19 in Charlottesville. But both of these channels are subject to weather, and about 9am to noon everyday they get weak and drop out. And if other conditions are not favorable, they will drop out.

In the valley we have 3, which is strong and has Fox on it also. Channel 29 is very strong also, so there is ABC, FOX, and NBC. If enough people get together, is there a way to bug the FCC into considering this? If they would let CBS 19 in Charlottesville have the same signal as 29, we would be golden.



Here's the channels I get on a regular basis from my location

Channel 3 in Harrisonburg
Channel 4(from Wash DC?)
Channel 6 Richmond
Channel 8 Richmond
Channel 19 Charlottesville(Both CBS and FOX)
Channel 23 (PBS but I don't know where it comes from)
Channel 29 Charlottesville
Channel 30 seems to be a duplicate of 29
Channel 35 Richmond
Channel 41 (PBS but not sure their location)
Channel 50 (I think is is from DC, but only get it when the weather is good)
Channel 51 Staunton (caution, you need a different antenna for this channel, it's really on channel 11, not uhf)
Channel 57 (I believe this is PBS in Richmond)
Channel 65 (Don't know where this is from, and only get it occasionally)
Channel 66 Wash DC (only when the weather is good)

I can get some stuff from Roanoke, but it's not strong and reliable. I have tried getting channel 7 CBS out of Roanoke, and it's a little bit worse than 6 out of Richmond.

Channel 65 is in Ashland VA and Channel 4 is WRC TV in DC

HD is the essence of life.
Wallyb47 is offline  
post #3615 of 3707 Old 05-13-2012, 09:42 AM
Member
 
SpaceBassVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey folks,
I'm moving from a urban location in Richmond with a large, roof mounted antenna to an area near Charlottesville's downtown mall. We're going into an apartment while we house hunt, so no access for outside mounts.

Any idea what to expect - and prep for, equipment-wise?

I've got an older Terk UHF/VHF combo that's relatively small and suspect the wife will allow it to live tastefully somewhere near the TV . Will I need much more than that for the Charlottesville stations?

Do I have any hope of picking up Richmond stations? It's not very important, but would be neat.

For hardware, I'm using an HDhomerun connected to a MythTV setup.

Thanks!
SpaceBassVA is offline  
post #3616 of 3707 Old 05-13-2012, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
You'll need a decent VHF antenna for WVPT, but everything else should be easy to receive.

Richmond reception varies wildly depending on your exact location, but I wouldn't expect too much with an indoor antenna at any location. Richmond is simply too far away.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3617 of 3707 Old 05-22-2012, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wildwillie6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bridgewater, Va.
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody having trouble picking up WHSV-DT 3 tonight (RF 49)? I'm not getting it, but my complex antenna system isn't so easy to troubleshoot.
wildwillie6 is offline  
post #3618 of 3707 Old 07-10-2012, 09:21 PM
Member
 
CmdrTekno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone seeing an issue on the massanutten translator for nbc29?

RF 30.

The signal seems to lock with great signal strength and then loses lock about every 10 seconds.

I am not having an issue with the primary feed off Carter's mountain.

Thanks,

Jeremy
CmdrTekno is offline  
post #3619 of 3707 Old 07-11-2012, 02:07 PM
Member
 
29Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Massanutten translator lost an amplifier during the recent storm and is running at reduced power. A replacement amp is on its way. Sorry for the inconvenience.

29Guy
29Guy is offline  
post #3620 of 3707 Old 07-17-2012, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
CBS Coming to the Valley

I don't frequent this particular board, but I saw news where Gray Television (WHSV's owner) is adding CBS this fall.

The story here -

http://www.whsv.com/home/headlines/CBS_Signs_Affiliation_Agreement_with_TV-3_for_New_Station_WSVF_162720686.html

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #3621 of 3707 Old 07-17-2012, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wildwillie6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bridgewater, Va.
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The central Shenandoah Valley gets CBS!

but details are lacking, including what OTA frequency will be used.

http://www.whsv.com/home/headlines/CBS_Signs_Affiliation_Agreement_with_TV-3_for_New_Station_WSVF_162720686.html
wildwillie6 is offline  
post #3622 of 3707 Old 07-17-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Do they still have any translators for DC stations in the Shenanndoah Valley region? I know WUSA-9 used to have some, which is CBS. And I think WRC-4 and WTTG-5 as well. And the DC stations used to be carried on cable/sat in this area. And in the analog era, some of the main signals, especially 4, could be received in parts of the valley if I remember correctly. And maybe even Baltimore, but not sure.
tylerSC is offline  
post #3623 of 3707 Old 07-17-2012, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwillie6 View Post

The central Shenandoah Valley gets CBS!
but details are lacking, including what OTA frequency will be used.
http://www.whsv.com/home/headlines/CBS_Signs_Affiliation_Agreement_with_TV-3_for_New_Station_WSVF_162720686.html

Since the callsigns were weird (not the ones we're use to) I looked on the fcc website

looks like 43 at 15kw
http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?list=0&facid=168447

looks like they already have a 25 that is analog?
http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?list=0&facid=57912
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3624 of 3707 Old 07-17-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The channel 43 permit has expired. I e-mailed to inquire about what they will be doing.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3625 of 3707 Old 07-30-2012, 03:39 AM
Member
 
janiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is channel 29NBC this morning? No signal at all.
janiegirl is offline  
post #3626 of 3707 Old 07-30-2012, 05:03 AM
Newbie
 
Valley-viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering the same thing as well. Went searching for answers today and found your posts. I emailed the channel if I get an answer I'll let you know.
Valley-viewer is offline  
post #3627 of 3707 Old 07-30-2012, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
Valley-viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Station emailed and said they were having transmitter problems today. However I've had it happen many times and only in the morning.
Valley-viewer is offline  
post #3628 of 3707 Old 07-30-2012, 03:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Are you watching on 30-1? If so, you're probably receiving interference from WSLS in Roanoke.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3629 of 3707 Old 07-30-2012, 04:42 PM
Member
 
janiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
29 came back on about 10a.m., thanks Valley-Viewer. The last few days I've gotten stations from all over, especially at dawn and dusk (near Sperryville with ancient outdoor antenna): WSKY 4, WVBT 43, and WGBS 7 Hampton roads; WFXB 43 Myrtle Beach?, a channel 2 UNC, along with all the Richmond stations.
janiegirl is offline  
post #3630 of 3707 Old 08-06-2012, 06:24 AM
Member
 
nealc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved to Crozet from Roanoke and am trying to get HD locals with an indoor antenna. I have a Terk HDTVI and a Channel Master CM 3410 amplifier. Without the amplifier I could pick up 29.1 -.2 and -.3 and 41.1 -.2 and -.3. After adding the amp, 41 went away. I haven't been able to tune in 16, 19 or 27 at all. I have the antenna hooked in to a DIrecTV AM21 tuner and an HR-34 HMC receiver. Does anyone have any advice for me? I would like to avoid putting an outdoor antenna in as I am renting, but I do have an old Channel Master CM3010 I could probably put up. I just can't figure out why adding the amp made reception worse. I looked on antennaweb and it said I should be able to receive all of the Charlottesville channels on Carter Mtn. without a problem with a small indoor antenna, especially with an amplifier. I have no obstructions close to the house either. Any help anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!

Neal
nealc is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off