Harrisonburg / Charlottesville, VA - HDTV - Page 125 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3721 of 3731 Old 01-20-2017, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 5,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamison View Post
I'm west of Cvill (near Crozet) and for years got all the locals just fine with a CM 4228 mounted a few hundred feet from my house, up on little hill on a metal pole. In the past year, I started having dropouts with CBS and FOX. I thought it was due to trees growing up that the antenna was pointed towards.

I moved the antenna up on the side of my house as far as I felt comfortable going up the ladder - it was now much farther back from the trees. All of the stations increased in strength except that I then lost ABC (WVAW).

1) Anyone see anything from my setup that could explain the loss of ABC? I do have a metal roof on the house and was wondering if that was somehow interfering.

2) Would it be worth to try and get the antenna up above the roof line? If so, how far given that it is metal?

TV Fool report - http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4f45242c9af


I had my CM4228 installed on a pole in my attic and couldn't for the life of me to get all our locals at once. I would turn the antenna slightly and would get all locals except FOX. Turn it again slightly - got all the locals except NBC. Pulled it off of the pole and it now rest on top of some Rubbermaid containers with one side leaning against the roof rafters. Get all locals plus at times Richmond stations...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3722 of 3731 Old 01-28-2017, 06:39 AM
Member
 
KC4JGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajamison View Post

I moved the antenna up on the side of my house as far as I felt comfortable going up the ladder - it was now much farther back from the trees. All of the stations increased in strength except that I then lost ABC (WVAW).

2) Would it be worth to try and get the antenna up above the roof line? If so, how far given that it is metal?

[/B]
I would get that above the roof! Install an eves mount for the mast. Good luck!

Steve KC4JGC
KC4JGC is offline  
post #3723 of 3731 Old 01-28-2017, 08:35 AM
Member
 
ajamison's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC4JGC View Post
I would get that above the roof! Install an eves mount for the mast. Good luck!
Any problem with using the J-mount instead? I could mount it right below the peak with a 10' mast.
ajamison is offline  
 
post #3724 of 3731 Old 02-08-2017, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Want to cut cable...

Hi all. I live in Bridgewater and have ditched dish. The only thing I want to do is get fox, CBS, and nbc for sports. What's the best way to do it with attic, if possible? Thanks
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3725 of 3731 Old 02-08-2017, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HI Willie. I'm in Bridgewater as well, and ditched DISH. I'm trying to get just the major networks for sports. Would prefer an attic antenna and could use some advice. Have smart TV, so I just need a solid antenna that's $50 or so, that will do the job. Any help would be awesome. Thanks,
Scott
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3726 of 3731 Old Today, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Hello?

Okay, it's been two weeks since I asked a simple question. Does no one ready this thread, even though there are responses on the same day I posted, or just not care to help a totally inexperienced person?
Thx
Scott
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3727 of 3731 Old Today, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 60
as it says in the sticky threads

NEXT: For antenna issues of ANY kind. Even if you can't possibly imagine location mattering, do this ANYWAY: Go to TVFool.com and include a LINK ..I repeat.. a LINK to your TVFool report. Please use street addresses and not lat/lon. Most of us don't have time to go plug that in and see where you are. Your exact address will not display when you use a TVFool link. Plus, with a link, we can click on stations to get more information. Can't do that with an image.

If you don't do this, you're going to be asked to, anyway, and that costs time. No two points in the US are exactly the same, so the answer to nearly all antenna questions will be different in different locations.


So I will ask "please post your tvfool"

www.tvfool.com
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3728 of 3731 Old Today, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It will not let me, as I'm too new. Tried doing that the first post.
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3729 of 3731 Old Today, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guess I have to spam useless msgs to have enough to post
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3730 of 3731 Old Today, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bridgewater, va
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Alright.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4e7a3fa107c
Last try to post. If it's blocked, I'll just guess with Amazon ratings

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Ordered this one, because of reviews and desire to put in the attic.

Last edited by ScottBatten; Today at 01:45 PM. Reason: adding info
ScottBatten is offline  
post #3731 of 3731 Old Today, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 60
This is the perfect reason why we ask for tvfool reports. I tried a generic tvfool for your town (which usually puts it in the center of said town) and my results showed way better than what yours showed. This shows that location is critical (also shows that less than a mile can make a huge difference). Here is what I mean. A generic tvfool at 20 feet.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3de6a41abe7c3eb 0

Did you put a elevation like 20 feet? (even when I put 0 feet I still get better results)

Anywho for the antenna that might work. You have a VHF station (PBS) and I've used that antenna before (I'm in Minneapolis, MN) and VHF isnt the best on it. UHF works pretty well but if you try and turn one panel to one direction and one to another you do lose signal.

Can you try and post it with a height? Like 20 feet or something? The key thing is most of the stations (WHSV ABC and the LP CBS/FOX station) are really low on the list. So putting it in the attic you will lose up to 1/2 of the signal which will probably result in bad signal.
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off