Waco / Bryan, TX - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KCEN is DD 5.1 as well. At least the KPRC logo bug is a little more discrete.
elspankdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out the KCEN bug:
LL
elspankdog is offline  
post #633 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave99ag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dang that's big!
dave99ag is offline  
post #634 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspankdog
Check out the KCEN bug:

''

You know its just a matter of time before we see the KBTX bug which will make KCEN look microscopic.
jagouar is offline  
post #635 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Ishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dave99ag
Dang that's big!

Yeah it's huge! I guess they are trying to show off their "DT" talents.... bah
Ishman is offline  
post #636 of 6509 Old 08-16-2004, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspankdog
Check out the KCEN bug:

It looks like he has got hold of some girl and is going to... Oh, you mean the one ON the TV and not UNDER it!!
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #637 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
mwesson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going to say... That plasma screen would sure look more impressive without that girly figurine thing below it...
mwesson is offline  
post #638 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Ishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mwesson
I was going to say... That plasma screen would sure look more impressive without that girly figurine thing below it...

Do you honestly feel that he has a choice in the matter?
Ishman is offline  
post #639 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
mwesson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course not, but that's exactly why we rag on him... Our assumption is that his lovely wife wants that there... of course, that is an assumption
mwesson is offline  
post #640 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, am I taking a beating. If you look carefully, you'll see a less girly picture of my lovely wife and Dat Nguyen to the right of the questioned object.
elspankdog is offline  
post #641 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
mwesson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 6 months of HD for free from D*. What a great deal. Given that I was already committed for a year with the free Tivo - it was a no brainer. It does worry me though that this means they won't be adding more HD soon. Who knows though...
mwesson is offline  
post #642 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah... you know theyre trying to appease the people for not adding more HD esp with all the promises of the new sat that seems it wont be used much for HD, after NBC, bravo I dont think they can add anymore (until their next bird that Im sure they will promise tons more HD and not deliver just like this new bird). One of the reasons I went with voom was d*'s future capacity.

I could be wrong though (they could just be trying to be nice to their subs), but this is a buisness were talking about Although if they were getting ready to add more HD it wouldnt make sense that they would want to give it away for free when people would sub like crazy when new HD was added.
jagouar is offline  
post #643 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspankdog
Man, am I taking a beating. If you look carefully, you'll see a less girly picture of my lovely wife and Dat Nguyen to the right of the questioned object.

Was that picture taken by you or a Private Investigator??
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #644 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
mwesson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man sakes alive! We aren't going to get any more pictures posted here anytime soon... HA!
mwesson is offline  
post #645 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by labmansid
Was that picture taken by you or a Private Investigator??
Sid

Don't make me take you off of my buddy list.
elspankdog is offline  
post #646 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, OK, I'll let up.
labmansid is offline  
post #647 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of new HD on D*. Here's what I recall reading in all the posts:

NBC-HD E/W - Sept 1
FOX-HD E/W - Sept 12
Bravo HD+ - Sept 21

INHD would be nice, and I remember Ken H mentioning it a few times. But who knows. Heck, D* probably doesn't have the bandwidth far all that and ST.
elspankdog is offline  
post #648 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave99ag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll get two of those channels: FOX and Bravo.

Hopefully they'll add more over time.
dave99ag is offline  
post #649 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D* should be adding fox and bravo pretty soon but I dont even see any hints about after that which leads me to think there wont be any (hence the free 6 month deal) because D* has been known to "promote" their future offerings months before they have them (fox for instance since it doenst go live till the fall and they have announced it already)... even with the new satelite they just put up (which was supposed to increase the HD offerings alot).

I know vooms next big push is going to be to get all the fox sports HD channelsas they come online. ESP with the WMV9 and new sats voom is moving too, if they can get there w/o going bankrupt they really have a good chance to get some real sub numbers.

Bravo right now is a waste but it should become quite the channel soon if they do some of what was mentioned in the bravo thread on the HDTV Programming forum.

Im suprised d* doesnt have TNT yet... it is a much better channel than bravo. They have really made the HD push lately with their movies mostly showing in HD plus the fewshows they do like "the grid" which is awesome in HD.
jagouar is offline  
post #650 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, at this point I am mainly concerned with getting the major networks on satellite, I am tired of having to rely on the weather for help on reception. We hardly watch either Bravo or TNT, so adding those doesn't do much for me, unless, as you say, they get better programming in the future. STARZ would be nice, but a lot of people that have it say not a lot of HD on it. The INHD's would be good also. Of course FSN-HD would be good for sports. My $.02.
labmansid is offline  
post #651 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by labmansid
Well, at this point I am mainly concerned with getting the major networks on satellite, I am tired of having to rely on the weather for help on reception...

I thought you were holding out for Lifetime-HD. Then you would make the move to Voom.
elspankdog is offline  
post #652 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspankdog
I thought you were holding out for Lifetime-HD. Then you would make the move to Voom.

Good gawd, your not gonan let this go are you?
jagouar is offline  
post #653 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave99ag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If not Lifetime-HD, there's always Oxygen-HD.
dave99ag is offline  
post #654 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elspankdog
I thought you were holding out for Lifetime-HD.

That's what you get for thinking when you aren't used to it!!
labmansid is offline  
post #655 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 10:12 PM
Newbie
 
neuendri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to get some advice from someone local who knows what they are doing and heard this is the place to find it...

I live in the Shenandoah subdivision, one block South of Barron Rd. I have a large (100" or so) combo antenna in my attic and can get KBTX and KAMU with my Dish 811 no problem. Last winter, on a few cold, clear nights, I was barely able to pull in KCEN from Waco. It would drop the audio and freeze up, but it was there. Here are my questions, and any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

1) Would an amp help?

2) My boss is very familiar with antenna as he is into HD and gets Houston channels from his Grimes County home and used to be into shortwave. He suggested I use a setup similar to his -- a Winegard 8-bay bowtie (PR 8800) for UHF and a 5 or 10 element Yagi (Jarrod 5Y9S or 10Y9S) tuned to ch 9 pointed at Waco for KCEN.

Do either of these sound like they would help? I realize getting on the roof would be best, but I'm not interested in doing that at this time.

Thanks,
neuendri

-- richardn

Equipment:
Dish 811/522
OTA for KBTX
Sony KP-53HS10
neuendri is offline  
post #656 of 6509 Old 08-17-2004, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey neuendri, I also live off of Barron Rd. I used to have an attic mount like you, and while I had no luck with the Houston stations, I was able to pull in KCEN at around 60-75% signal strength in the evenings. I used a Channel Master 3020 and Spartan preamp from Lowe's. Since then, I've upgraded to an external antenna and had much better luck at both Houston and KCEN. dave99ag also uses a CM 3020 in his attic and has been able to pull in Houston stations in the evening, but he has had no luck with KCEN. Attic mounts are tricky, and from my experiences and what I've heard from mwesson and dave99ag, it's seems like a lot of luck is involved from this far out.

If possible I would recommend an external antenna. I understand if you don't want a huge tower, but if you could get right above the roof-line with no obstructions, it would be far better than an attic mount. I think labmansid tried a CM UHF #bay bowtie (CM 4228?) like you mentioned and had poor results with Houston stations. He, jagouar, and I all use Televes DAT75 UHF yagis for Houston. I also have a Winegard YA1713 highband VHF for KCEN and KAMU. I also believe we all use CM7777 VHF/UHF preamps.

Brian
elspankdog is offline  
post #657 of 6509 Old 08-18-2004, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave99ag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
neuendri,
Like Brian said, I have a CM 3020 and Spartan preamp from Lowe's mounted in my attic. I never had much luck aiming for Waco, so I decided to shoot for Houston. I live off of Graham, so I'm just a bit north of you.

NBC and CBS come in well at night and so-so in the daytime. ABC and FOX aren't as reliable. I'm waiting for D* to add them as they're both owned and operated stations in Houston. KBTX comes in fine, so I have a backup for CBS. I also pickup KAMU even though the antenna is pointed in the opposite direction.

I'm afraid to try to pickup Waco again since I got Houston on my first antenna position. I think it's a crapshoot when aiming these things in an antenna. I'd like to mount outside for better reception, but my wife isn't too keen on that idea.

Glad to see another area HD user. Most of us have D*, some Cox and one Voom. It'd be good to have an E* user posting.
dave99ag is offline  
post #658 of 6509 Old 08-18-2004, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
neuendri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dave99ag,

Are you in a two-story house? I'm on about the highest lot in Shenandoah, but only a single-story. I'm not sure I can get approval from the HOA or my wife to go with an outside antenna.

Brian,

Thanks for the info... I think I need to consider going to seperate UHF and VHF antennas to improve my reception. I just hate to lay out a bunch of cash and not get anything in return for it.

Thanks again and hopefully you will see a posting of my success in the near future,
neuendri

-- richardn

Equipment:
Dish 811/522
OTA for KBTX
Sony KP-53HS10
neuendri is offline  
post #659 of 6509 Old 08-18-2004, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
dave99ag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
neuendri,
I'm in a one-story house. I'd definitely try a pre-amp with your antenna. I doubt I could get anything without mine.
dave99ag is offline  
post #660 of 6509 Old 08-18-2004, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, neuendri, an HOA can't keep you from putting up an antenna, although I understand wives can be tougher. The only thing about the 8-bay bowtie is I don't think anyone locally carries them (you could check with Mid-State Electronics locally), so if it didn't work you may not be able to return it. I did try one from a place in Temple that let me return it, but that was a bit of a hassle, and I wasn't real impressed with it's performance for our predicament, although it is possible the Houston stations are operating at higher power now than when I tried it. One thing in it's favor, however, is it does have a lower profile visibly compared to a big yagi, especially if you can put it against a chimney or wall. If you are at a fairly high elevation as you say, you might have a shot at Houston's UHF digitals that way.
KCEN on the other hand, you are looking at a fairly large VHF or combo antenna. I use the same Winegard YA1713 highband VHF as Brian for KCEN, but reception is still somewhat unreliable, although I probably need to play with aiming some more (it's not on a rotor).
Welcome and good luck!!
labmansid is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off