Erie, PA - HDTV - Page 108 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3211 of 3503 Old 04-03-2010, 07:02 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is 12.1 (nbc) and 35.1 (cbs) out tonight? or did move them?
lacubs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3212 of 3503 Old 04-03-2010, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

is 12.1 (nbc) and 35.1 (cbs) out tonight? or did move them?

They are working fine in Millcreek.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3213 of 3503 Old 04-06-2010, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This was going on from (at least) 5PM - Midnight, including the Butler/Duke national title game. There was a very annoying audio static on WSEE. I had to keep the volume turned very low or it would drive me crazy. No video problems (pixellation, stuttering, etc) whatsoever in HD...just audio. I tried watching ch. 1005 thru a converter box and digital QAM ch. 35.1 on my DVD recorder...both sounded the same.

UPDATE: The audio static problem has gone away. I watched a half hour show I recorded from Monday, April 12th that was fine. QAM reception on ch. 35.1 seems to be improving somewhat. I only had a couple of instances where there was macroblocking. It used to be every 3-5 minutes (too much to tolerate). I hope the trend continues...
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3214 of 3503 Old 04-07-2010, 07:58 PM
Member
 
kayfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple of recordings I made last night on WSEE (NCIS/NCIS LA) audio mix was a bit mucked up. No surround sound info in the rear channels and the main audio sounded more like a poorly tuned AM radio station. It's bad enough they squeeze the hell out of signal as it is, but now the audio has gone down the tubes as well. Of all the local Erie stations WSEE has to have the very worst PQ and overall poor performance. I know Lilly owns both WICU and WSEE but it seems WSEE is treated like the bastard stepchild of the 2.
Years ago the FCC had rules about dual ownership of TV stations in the same market and now it's pretty obvious why, but that was then and this is now. One can only hope that these stations get sold to another group or groups that might actually give a damn, hopefully before Brian Lilly runs them both totally into the ground.
kayfam is offline  
post #3215 of 3503 Old 04-15-2010, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For those of you who are seeing your DVR hard drive fill up fast because of HD recordings, I can recommend this 1TB external drive from Walmart:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Iomega-345...Drive/13045896

I have tried various drives, and this one works very well. You will need to have an 8300HD DVR for it to work. It won't work with the 8300HDC.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3216 of 3503 Old 04-20-2010, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3217 of 3503 Old 04-20-2010, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where did you all go? Anyway, here's a good site for info on local broadcast stations:
http://www.fcc.gov/bureaus/mb/engine....html?zipCode+
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3218 of 3503 Old 04-21-2010, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Dish caught in HD scam:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/dishbozle042010.htm

Nice...

actually I'm glad I read that, the 922 receiver is now out

may be time to call and upgrade
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3219 of 3503 Old 04-27-2010, 09:33 PM
Newbie
 
geekarmyofone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to find a resource on local DTV et al. Called the engineer at WSEE about a SSSHHH SSSHHH noise on the network feed a while back, he said he would reboot the network server and that night the noise did not appear. Tonight I have a static snapping noise on the 54-3 nova at 11:00pm. Is it just me or have you guys noticed? Think I will try to contact them tomorrow.

The engineers are generally helpful and try to explain/fix the problem; don't they have someone monitoring the feeds? One time I called about a 3 second audio sync mismatch and the dude said it was fine..right on the nose, then I suggested he turn up the audio and wow your right. He did fix it on the spot, but geeze.

Hell, I'll profread the signals for a small fee. I have multiple antenna points for troubleshooting.

I think the stereo my A/V guy has spoiled me audio wise. Wait till the video upgrade arrives...I hope he doesn't ruin me for non Blue Ray quality.

David R. Johnson
Johnson Computer Repair
GeekArmyOfOne.com
geekarmyofone is offline  
post #3220 of 3503 Old 04-29-2010, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
TVRadioLave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
David: As a former WQLN employee, I saw the TV Master Control overhaul and the monitor system installed for all 3 channels. With automation now in place, things like audio in sync will be overlooked unless it's on the primary channel or someone like you calls the station. There were 6 engineers on staff including me, now there are only two thanks to automation and state budget cuts which also cut 5 higher paid employees including the Chief Engineer.
TVRadioLave is offline  
post #3221 of 3503 Old 04-30-2010, 08:27 AM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is 12.1 and 35.1 out?
lacubs is offline  
post #3222 of 3503 Old 04-30-2010, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
geekarmyofone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of the trouble I have is not with WQLN. The other night I was getting a snapping noise in the shop on 54-3, in the house (2x4/coathanger antenna unboosted) the channel was pixelating and losing signal. I don't know why only one of their channels would have different signal quality as i assume they all come from the same tower. The majority of the time the engineers are extremely helpful and give way more information than I would have expected. Sorry to hear you were affected by the governors small minded policies.

David R. Johnson
Johnson Computer Repair
GeekArmyOfOne.com
geekarmyofone is offline  
post #3223 of 3503 Old 04-30-2010, 03:20 PM
Member
 
kayfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

is 12.1 and 35.1 out?

If you're referring to the QAM channel assignments the 2 moved from 99.1 and 99.2 to 115.1 (WSEE) and 115.2 (WICU) as of sometime yesterday. You'll need to do a rescan to find them.
kayfam is offline  
post #3224 of 3503 Old 04-30-2010, 06:09 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayfam View Post

If you're referring to the QAM channel assignments the 2 moved from 99.1 and 99.2 to 115.1 (WSEE) and 115.2 (WICU) as of sometime yesterday. You'll need to do a rescan to find them.

thanks, i rescan and 12.1 is still (WICU) and 35.1 is still (WSEE) on mine TV
lacubs is offline  
post #3225 of 3503 Old 05-01-2010, 05:45 AM
Member
 
scampbell100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice. Woke up this morning to no more Versus. Looks like the "new" Suburban Erie lineup has gone into effect. Good job TWC - right in the middle of the payoffs. Guess they are going to squeeze another 5 bucks/month out of me!
scampbell100 is offline  
post #3226 of 3503 Old 05-01-2010, 06:30 AM
Member
 
scampbell100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scampbell100 View Post

Nice. Woke up this morning to no more Versus. Looks like the "new" Suburban Erie lineup has gone into effect. Good job TWC - right in the middle of the payoffs. Guess they are going to squeeze another 5 bucks/month out of me!

So I called and got the Sports Package (5/mo). Strangely enough the couldn't get VS working on it yet! Will probably cancel after the NHL season and pick it up again in the Fall.
scampbell100 is offline  
post #3227 of 3503 Old 05-03-2010, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scampbell100 View Post

So I called and got the Sports Package (5/mo). Strangely enough the couldn't get VS working on it yet! Will probably cancel after the NHL season and pick it up again in the Fall.



I'm not quite ready to join the revolt, yet, and switch to rabbit ears and netflix...but this does put me one step closer. It would be nice to save about $600 a year.

Anyway, FSN Pittsburgh will show Game 3 on Tuesday (as well as Games 6 and 7, if necessary). Just a heads up for those who aren't willing to pay the king's ransom.
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3228 of 3503 Old 05-04-2010, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelTownGuy View Post



I'm not quite ready to join the revolt, yet, and switch to rabbit ears and netflix...but this does put me one step closer. It would be nice to save about $600 a year.

Anyway, FSN Pittsburgh will show Game 3 on Tuesday (as well as Games 6 and 7, if necessary). Just a heads up for those who aren't willing to pay the king's ransom.

I think he just meant cancel the sports pack for the extra $5/month when the playoffs are done and then bring it back later, not drop TWC all together.

at least that's how I read it.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3229 of 3503 Old 05-04-2010, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

I think he just meant cancel the sports pack for the extra $5/month when the playoffs are done and then bring it back later, not drop TWC all together.

at least that's how I read it.

Yeah, I didn't mean to make it sound like scampbell was dropping TWC altogether.

I'm getting closer to that straw that broke the camel's back, though. On a brighter note, I am still getting Versus right now in East Millcreek. I'm not sure what's up with that. I'll see how things play out over the next couple of days while I watch the Penguins on FSN tonight.
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3230 of 3503 Old 05-04-2010, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

is 12.1 and 35.1 out?

I had some reception problems recently with 12.1 (NBC) -- I was just getting a grey screen (Scrambled channel / poor signal strength).

I did a full rescan to see if any channel assignments had changed -- they had not for me, either. Not only did NBC come back in fine, at 12.1, but I am no longer experiencing any poor signal strength issues on any of my QAM channels. Fox (66.1) and ABC (104.1) were always fine, but I'd get intermittent pixellation and freezing on NBC (12.1) and CBS (35.1). Not anymore.
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3231 of 3503 Old 05-04-2010, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelTownGuy View Post

Yeah, I didn't mean to make it sound like scampbell was dropping TWC altogether.

I'm getting closer to that straw that broke the camel's back, though. On a brighter note, I am still getting Versus right now in East Millcreek. I'm not sure what's up with that. I'll see how things play out over the next couple of days while I watch the Penguins on FSN tonight.

Shhhssshh don't say that too loud, they may hear you and come take it away!!!


lol
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3232 of 3503 Old 05-05-2010, 01:31 PM
Member
 
bosox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have TWC "Lifeline" Basic service and have been watching the network HD channels for some time now. When the outdoor temps have been below the mid 50s the picture was fine, temps in the mid 50s - mid 60s I started to see some breakups in the pictures especially 54-1 and 66-1. Now that the temps are in the 70s I've almost completely lost the networks except for 104-1. Tried to call TWC service (and then asked to speak to a supervisor) who both told me I wasn't supposed to get those channels at all and my only option was to upgrade my service and get one of their digital cable boxes. Is this correct or am I being fed some BS?

Thanks,

Ron
bosox is online now  
post #3233 of 3503 Old 05-05-2010, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosox View Post

I have TWC "Lifeline" Basic service and have been watching the network HD channels for some time now. When the outdoor temps have been below the mid 50s the picture was fine, temps in the mid 50s - mid 60s I started to see some breakups in the pictures especially 54-1 and 66-1. Now that the temps are in the 70s I've almost completely lost the networks except for 104-1. Tried to call TWC service (and then asked to speak to a supervisor) who both told me I wasn't supposed to get those channels at all and my only option was to upgrade my service and get one of their digital cable boxes. Is this correct or am I being fed some BS?

Thanks,

Ron

Sounds like typical TW crap. QAM channels are there for everyone, and they include the local HD's. But I've never seen any problems due to the temp. They did change the QAM this week, so you might want to do a rescan.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3234 of 3503 Old 05-06-2010, 10:41 AM
Member
 
bosox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a rescan last week and located all the network HD channels again before the warm weather did me in.
bosox is online now  
post #3235 of 3503 Old 05-07-2010, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like scnrfrq, I've never experienced drops in signal strength due to temperature or weather. I've heard people over the air complain about that sort of thing before...I'm not sure about satellite customers. I always seemed to get the impression that your location had more to do with the problems, but I don't know for sure.

CSR's for the cable companies have been telling people for years that they can't get any HD channels without a box. Those less informed buy the pitch and the cableco makes more money. Don't let anyone convince you that picking up channels with your TV's built in QAM tuner is somehow "stealing" cable -- it's not. Most areas (like Erie) only carry locals in HD. The government mandates that they be offered unscrambled. Anything beyond locals in HD is just the cable company being generous.
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3236 of 3503 Old 05-07-2010, 01:42 PM
Member
 
bosox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update - temps in the 50s and my HD networks are back!
bosox is online now  
post #3237 of 3503 Old 05-08-2010, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosox View Post

Just an update - temps in the 50s and my HD networks are back!

If your channels do actually vary by temp, I'd get TW right on it. I've never heard of it, and they should fix it right away for you!
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3238 of 3503 Old 05-08-2010, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recorded the first 15 minutes of 20/20 on QAM Ch 104.1 last night...the rest was just a black screen. Of course, we did have severe tstorms and tornado warnings in the area, so I wasn't too surprised I guess. ABC has always been one of my strongest signals, though. This was with a Magnovox H2160MW9 recorder by the way.
Did anyone else have problems last night?
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #3239 of 3503 Old 05-08-2010, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
shooter21198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Erie (Millcreek) Pennsylvania
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
FXP and JET were breaking up badly last night during the storms

Time Warner Cable North East Ohio
SA 4250 HDC
Let's Go Bucs!
shooter21198 is offline  
post #3240 of 3503 Old 05-10-2010, 06:07 AM
Member
 
scampbell100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

Shhhssshh don't say that too loud, they may hear you and come take it away!!!


lol

I'm calling TWC today to see what the story is. Spoke with my in-laws (who live a block away) and they still get VS without the "Sports Package". Is it possible TWC came to their senses or is it just their phased roll-out of the "new" lineup? Will post their reply.
scampbell100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off